DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3 – 15 and 18 – 20 are pending in the application with claims 2, 16 and 17 being cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of figs. 2, 3 and 4: “140” should read --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Independent claim 1 already incorporates these exact limitations verbatim in its main body. Thus, dependent claims 7 and 8 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 15 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliston, Thomas (US 4,494,415 – herein after Elliston) in view of Bennitt et al. (US 4,872,395 – herein after Bennitt).
In reference to claim 1, Elliston teaches a positive displacement reciprocating pump (10, see fig. 1) comprising (see figs. 3-4):
a crank member (120+130, see fig. 7) rotatable about a central axis (134/132, see fig. 3); and
a wrist pin assembly (assembly formed of components 141, 70, 148, 153, 157, 156; see fig. 3) pivotably coupled (via 141, see fig. 7) to the crank member (120+130), the wrist pin assembly
operable to translate in a first direction (in view of fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and a second direction (in view of fig. 4: “second direction” being in ↑ direction) as the crank member rotates, the wrist pin assembly including:
a wrist pin (148) having a body (body being an inherent feature) extending along a wrist pin axis (in view of fig. 4: “wrist pin axis” being in ↔ direction);
a plunger assembly (assembly comprising of 84+80+82+81) directly coupled to the wrist pin assembly (see fig. 4: component 84 of the plunger assembly is seen “directly coupled” to component 156 of the wrist pin assembly), the plunger assembly translates along a central axis (in view of fig. 4: “central axis” being in ↨ direction or in view of fig. 3: “central axis” being in ↔ direction) in the first direction and the second direction as the crank member rotates, the plunger assembly including:
a pony rod (84), the pony rod translating in the first direction (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and the second direction (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↑ direction) along a longitudinal axis (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: axis being in ↨ direction) of the pony rod as the crank member rotates; and
a pump section (26, see fig, 1) pressurized by the plunger assembly moving in the first direction (viewed as ← direction in view of fig. 1) and depressurized by the plunger assembly moving in the second direction (viewed as → direction in view of fig. 1);
a connecting rod (141) pivotably attached to the crank member (120+130);
a housing (70) extending between a crank member end (end closer to the crank member; in view of fig. 4: this end being a top end of 70) and a piston rod end (end closer to the piston rod; in view of fig. 4: this end being a bottom end of 70), the connecting rod (141) extending from the crank member (120+130) and into the housing (70) through the crank member end (top end of 70); and
a crosshead (150=153+156) installed within the housing (70), the crosshead (150) operable to translate (see col. 7, lines 62-65) within the housing (70) between the crank member end (top end of 70) and the piston rod end (bottom end of 70);
wherein the wrist pin (148) is installed within the crosshead (150), the connecting rod (141) pivotably attached to the wrist pin to translate the wrist pin and the crosshead within the housing in the first direction (in view of fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and the second direction (in view of fig. 4: “second direction” being in ↑ direction) as the crank member rotates.
Elliston remains silent on the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the wrist pin has “a pony rod attachment interface integrally formed with the body, the pony rod attachment interface being the sole structural interface between the wrist pin and the plunger assembly” and wherein the plunger assembly including the pony rod is “directly and exclusively coupled to the pony rod attachment interface such that axial loads are transmitted from the wrist pin directly to the pony rod without passing through any portion of the crosshead”.
However, Bennitt teaches the positive displacement pump (see disclosed figure and col. 1, lines 6-15), comprising a wrist pin (40) having a body (body being an inherent feature) and a pony rod attachment interface (44) integrally formed with the body, the pony rod attachment interface being the sole structural interface between the wrist pin and the plunger assembly; wherein a plunger assembly (portion/component 16 of the plunger assembly seen in the figure) including a pony rod (16) is directly and exclusively coupled to the pony rod attachment interface such that axial loads are transmitted from the wrist pin directly to the pony rod without passing through any portion of a crosshead (14) [see col. 1, lines 63-67: “Member 22 has a borehole 24 formed therethrough in which to accommodate a portion of the piston rod 16. Borehole 24 is unthreaded and, as shown, is the only penetration of the crosshead 14; it only slidably receives the rod 16” and see col 2. lines 25-27: “Use of this invention provides for a more direct load transfer between the connecting rod 32 and the piston rod 16”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the crosshead assembly in the positive displacement reciprocating pump of Elliston for provision of the pony rod attachment interface within the wrist pin as taught by Bennitt for “(a) simple manufacture, greater service life, and exhibiting less inertia, weight and friction, and (b) which accommodates for direct coupling, hence direct load transfer, between the piston rod and the connecting rod assembly”, as recognized by Bennitt (see col. 1, lines 10-15).
Elliston, as modified, remains silent on the positive displacement reciprocating pump wherein the pony rod attachment interface “extending radially outward from an outer surface of the body”.
In Bennitt, the pony rod attachment interface comprises a tapped hole (46) on the wrist pin (40) and a threaded end (48) on the pony rod (16). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the threaded end (i.e. protruding cylindrical structure with threads) on the wrist pin and the tapped hole (i.e. threaded hole) on the pony rod in the modified positive displacement reciprocating pump of Elliston as a matter of design choice since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Thus, Elliston, as modified, teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the pony rod attachment interface (cylindrical component with threaded end) extending radially outward from an outer surface of the body (body of the wrist pin) [in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: axial direction of the wrist pin is considered to be in ↔ direction while radial direction of the wrist pin is in considered to be in ↨ direction].
In reference to claim 3, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the connecting rod (141) comprises (see figs. 3-4):
a crank side section (top section in view of fig. 4) comprising:
a crank side attachment interface (top surface) configured to attach the connecting rod (141) to the crank member (120+130); and
a wrist pin side section (bottom section in view of fig. 4), the wrist pin side section opposite the crank side section, the connecting rod (141) extending longitudinally between the crank side section and the wrist pin side section (extending in ↨ in view of fig. 4), the wrist pin side section comprising: a wrist pin side attachment interface (bore that receives the wrist pin 148).
In reference to claim 4, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the wrist pin (148) is installed into the wrist pin side attachment interface to couple the wrist pin to the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 5, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the crosshead (150) is hollow such that the wrist pin side section (bottom section) of the connecting rod (141) is configured to fit within the crosshead, the crosshead (602; see figs. 5-7) comprising:
a first aperture (left aperture in left boss 157; see fig. 4); and
a second aperture (right aperture in right boss 157; see fig. 4), the first aperture concentrically aligned with the second aperture such that a vertical axis (horizontal axis in view of fig. 4) of the first aperture and the second aperture are orthogonal to a central axis (vertical axis in view of fig. 4) of the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 6, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein (as evident from fig. 4) at least a portion of the wrist pin (148) extends into the first aperture and the second aperture when the wrist pin is installed within the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 7, Elliston, as modified, teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the wrist pin comprises: a pony rod attachment interface (per Bennitt) integrally formed with a body of the wrist pin and extending radially outward from an outer surface of the body (as discussed above in rejection of claim 1).
In reference to claim 8, Elliston, as modified, teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the pony rod (viewed as 84 in Elliston) directly and exclusively coupled to the pony rod attachment interface (per Bennitt) of the wrist pin (148; in Elliston) such that axial loads are transmitted from the wrist pin directly to the pony rod without passing through any portion of the crosshead (as discussed above in rejection of claim 1), the pony rod operable to translate in the first direction (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and the second direction (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↑ direction) along a longitudinal axis (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: axis being in ↨ direction) of the pony rod as the crank member rotates.
In reference to claim 9, Elliston, as modified, teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the plunger assembly comprises:
a piston rod (82; in Elliston) removably coupled to the pony rod (84; in Elliston) opposite (in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: opposite in ↓ direction) the pony rod attachment interface (per Bennitt), the piston rod extending into the pump section to pressurize and depressurize the pump section (in Elliston); and a clamp (80; in Elliston) configured to couple the piston rod to the pony rod.
In reference to claim 10, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the connecting rod (141), the housing (70), the crosshead (150), and the plunger assembly (assembly comprising of 84+80+82+81) are installed substantially horizontally (rotate fig. 3 by 90° in clockwise direction: the claimed components being installed in claimed horizontal/axial direction of the pump is taught).
In reference to claim 11, Elliston teaches a wrist pin assembly (assembly comprising of following claimed elements) comprising (see figs. 3-4):
a connecting rod (141) pivotably attached to a crank member (120+130);
a housing (70) extending between a crank member end (end closer to the crank member; in view of fig. 4: this end being a top end of 70) and a piston rod end (end closer to the piston rod; in view of fig. 4: this end being a bottom end of 70), the connecting rod (141) extending from the crank member (120+130) and into the housing (70) through the crank member end (top end of 70);
a crosshead (150=153+156) installed within the housing (70), the crosshead (150) operable to translate (see col. 7, lines 62-65) within the housing (70) between the crank member end (top end of 70) and the piston rod end (bottom end of 70);
a wrist pin (148) installed within the crosshead (150), the connecting rod pivotably attached to the wrist pin to translate the wrist pin and the crosshead within the housing in a first direction (in view of fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and a second direction (in view of fig. 4: “second direction” being in ↑ direction) as the crank member rotates;
the plunger assembly (assembly comprising of 84+80+82+81) coupled to the wrist pin (148) and extending from the wrist pin through the piston rod end (bottom end of 70) [in view of fig. 4: the asserted plunger assembly extends in ↓ direction], the plunger assembly translates along a central axis (in view of fig. 4: “central axis” being in ↨ direction or in view of fig. 3: “central axis” being in ↔ direction) in the first direction and the second direction as the crank member rotates, wherein the plunger assembly comprises:
a pony rod (84), the pony rod operable to translate in the first direction (in view of fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↓ direction) and the second direction (in view of fig. 4: “first direction” being in ↑ direction) along a longitudinal axis (in view of fig. 4: axis being in ↨ direction) of the pony rod as the crank member rotates.
Elliston remains silent on the wrist pin assembly, wherein the wrist pin comprises “a pony rod attachment interface integrally formed with the body of the wrist pin, the pony rod attachment interface being the sole structural interface between the wrist pin and the plunger assembly” and wherein the pony rod is “directly and exclusively coupled to the pony rod attachment interface such that axial loads are transmitted from the wrist pin directly to the pony rod without passing through any portion of the crosshead”.
However, Bennitt teaches the wrist pin assembly (see disclosed figure and col. 1, lines 6-15), comprising a wrist pin (40) having a body (body being an inherent feature) and a pony rod attachment interface (44) integrally formed with the body, the pony rod attachment interface being the sole structural interface between the wrist pin and the plunger assembly; wherein a plunger assembly (portion/component 16 of the plunger assembly seen in the figure) including a pony rod (16) is directly and exclusively coupled to the pony rod attachment interface such that axial loads are transmitted from the wrist pin directly to the pony rod without passing through any portion of a crosshead (14) [see col. 1, lines 63-67: “Member 22 has a borehole 24 formed therethrough in which to accommodate a portion of the piston rod 16. Borehole 24 is unthreaded and, as shown, is the only penetration of the crosshead 14; it only slidably receives the rod 16” and see col 2. lines 25-27: “Use of this invention provides for a more direct load transfer between the connecting rod 32 and the piston rod 16”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the crosshead assembly in the wrist pin assembly of Elliston for provision of the pony rod attachment interface within the wrist pin as taught by Bennitt for “(a) simple manufacture, greater service life, and exhibiting less inertia, weight and friction, and (b) which accommodates for direct coupling, hence direct load transfer, between the piston rod and the connecting rod assembly”, as recognized by Bennitt (see col. 1, lines 10-15).
Elliston, as modified, remains silent on the wrist pin assembly wherein the pony rod attachment interface “extending radially outward from an outer surface of the body”.
In Bennitt, the pony rod attachment interface comprises a tapped hole (46) on the wrist pin (40) and a threaded end (48) on the pony rod (16). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the threaded end (i.e. protruding cylindrical structure with threads) on the wrist pin and the tapped hole (i.e. threaded hole) on the pony rod in the modified wrist pin assembly of Elliston as a matter of design choice since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Thus, Elliston, as modified, teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the pony rod attachment interface (cylindrical component with threaded end) extending radially outward from an outer surface of the body (body of the wrist pin) [in view of Elliston’s fig. 4: axial direction of the wrist pin is considered to be in ↔ direction while radial direction of the wrist pin is in considered to be in ↨ direction].
In reference to claim 12, Elliston teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the connecting rod (141) comprises (see figs. 3-4):
a crank side section (top section in view of fig. 4) comprising:
a crank side attachment interface (top surface) configured to attach the connecting rod (141) to the crank member (120+130); and
a wrist pin side section (bottom section in view of fig. 4), the wrist pin side section opposite the crank side section, the connecting rod (141) extending longitudinally between the crank side section and the wrist pin side section (extending in ↨ in view of fig. 4), the wrist pin side section comprising: a wrist pin side attachment interface (bore that receives the wrist pin 148).
In reference to claim 13, Elliston teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the wrist pin (148) is installed into the wrist pin side attachment interface to couple the wrist pin to the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 14, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein the crosshead (150) is hollow such that the wrist pin side section (bottom section) of the connecting rod (141) is configured to fit within the crosshead, the crosshead (602; see figs. 5-7) comprising:
a first aperture (left aperture in left boss 157; see fig. 4); and
a second aperture (right aperture in right boss 157; see fig. 4), the first aperture concentrically aligned with the second aperture such that a vertical axis (horizontal axis in view of fig. 4) of the first aperture and the second aperture are orthogonal to a central axis (vertical axis in view of fig. 4) of the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 15, Elliston teaches the positive displacement reciprocating pump, wherein (as evident from fig. 4) at least a portion of the wrist pin (148) extends into the first aperture and the second aperture when the wrist pin is installed within the crosshead (150=153+156).
In reference to claim 18, Elliston, as modified, teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the plunger assembly (assembly comprising of 84+80+82+81) comprises:
a piston rod (82) removably coupled to the pony rod (84) [in view of disclosure in col. 5, lines 3-37: coupling 80 that is present between piston rod 82 and pony rod 84 is removable] opposite (in view of fig. 4: opposite in ↓ direction) the pony rod attachment interface (per Bennitt) of the wrist pin (148), the piston rod extending and retracting with the pony rod; and a clamp (80) configured to couple the piston rod (82) to the pony rod (84).
In reference to claim 19, Elliston teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the connecting rod (141), the housing (70), the crosshead (150), and the plunger assembly (assembly comprising of 84+80+82+81) are installed substantially horizontally (rotate fig. 3 by 90° in clockwise direction: the claimed components being installed in claimed horizontal/axial direction of the pump is taught).
In reference to claim 20, Elliston teaches the wrist pin assembly, wherein the housing (70) is fluidically sealed (in view of presence of seal 160; see col. 8, line 17 and fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot. The amendment to independent claims 1 and 11 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, the prior arts have been re-evaluated and re-applied to these claims, in view of newly found and relied upon reference of Bennitt.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Buck, Michael (US 4,824,342) teaches a piston pump comprising a floating wrist pin 36 with an interface 44 coupled to a shaft 38 of the plunger assembly.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746