DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Chinese foreign priority document(s) 202110018493.1, submitted under 35
U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on August 33, 2023 and placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed July 6, 2023, September 25, 2024 & January 2, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11, drawn to a battery pack, classified in H01M 10/6554, in the reply filed on May 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 will be examined.
Claims 12-16 are withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 & 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 would be allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art is silent to the battery pack, wherein: the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cores stacked in a front-rear direction of a vehicle and the plurality of branch channels extends in the front-rear direction of the vehicle; the liquid inlet is connected to a front side of the liquid cooling plate body; the peripheral liquid inflow channel is bifurcated at the position of the liquid inlet to form a left peripheral liquid inflow channel and a right peripheral liquid inflow channel, wherein rear sides of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel communicate with the inlets of the plurality of branch channels; and the effluent liquid collecting channel is located at the front side of the liquid cooling plate body and is spaced apart from the peripheral liquid inflow channel; and a cooling liquid is bifurcated after being fed via the liquid inlet and then flows through the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel; and the cooling liquid is subsequently combined at the rear side of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel, then flows through the plurality of branch channels into the effluent liquid collecting channel, and flows out from the liquid outlet.
The prior art, such as JIANG CN111864309A, teaches battery pack (battery pack; See the Abstract), comprising: a liquid cooling plate (cold plate; See the Abstract), and a battery stack (battery module; Fig. 1), wherein: the battery stack comprises at least one battery module (battery module; Fig. 1); and the liquid cooling plate comprises a liquid cooling plate body (cold plate holds liquid coolant; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), a liquid inlet (old plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), and a liquid outlet (a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract), wherein the liquid cooling plate body defines a liquid cooling circuit, (the cold plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow, a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract) the liquid cooling circuit comprises: a peripheral liquid inflow channel (Fig. 2), an effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2), and an intermediate channel (Fig. 2)communicating between the peripheral liquid inflow channel and the effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2); the liquid inlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the peripheral liquid inflow channel (liquid inlet and peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2); and the liquid outlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the effluent liquid collecting channel (liquid outlet and effluent liquid collecting channel; Fig. 2); and wherein the peripheral liquid inflow channel encircles an edge of the liquid cooling plate body (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2), and the intermediate channel is located at an inner side of the peripheral liquid inflow channel (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; the intermediate channel is located at an inner side; Fig. 2).
However, the reference does not teach or suggest: the peripheral liquid inflow channel is bifurcated at the position of the liquid inlet to form a left peripheral liquid inflow channel and a right peripheral liquid inflow channel, wherein rear sides of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel communicate with the inlets of the plurality of branch channels. Therefore, he instant claim would be allowably over the prior art of record.
Claim 6 would be allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art is silent to the battery pack, wherein: the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cores stacked in a left-right direction of a vehicle, and the plurality of branch channels extends in the left-right direction of the vehicle; the liquid inlet is connected to a front side of the liquid cooling plate body; the peripheral liquid inflow channel is bifurcated at the position of the liquid inlet to form a left peripheral liquid inflow channel and a right peripheral liquid inflow channel, wherein a left section of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel communicates with the inlets of a plurality of branch channels at a left side, and a right section of the right peripheral liquid inflow channel communicates with the inlets of a plurality of branch channels at a right side; and the effluent liquid collecting channel is located at a middle position of the liquid cooling plate body in a front-rear direction and is spaced apart from the peripheral liquid inflow channel; and a cooling liquid is bifurcated after being fed via the liquid inlet and then flows through the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel; and the cooling liquid then flows through the plurality of branch channels at the left and right sides into the effluent liquid collecting channel, and flows out from the liquid outlet.
The prior art, such as JIANG CN111864309A, teaches battery pack (battery pack; See the Abstract), comprising: a liquid cooling plate (cold plate; See the Abstract), and a battery stack (battery module; Fig. 1), wherein: the battery stack comprises at least one battery module (battery module; Fig. 1); and the liquid cooling plate comprises a liquid cooling plate body (cold plate holds liquid coolant; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), a liquid inlet (old plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), and a liquid outlet (a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract), wherein the liquid cooling plate body defines a liquid cooling circuit, (the cold plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow, a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract) the liquid cooling circuit comprises: a peripheral liquid inflow channel (Fig. 2), an effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2), and an intermediate channel (Fig. 2)communicating between the peripheral liquid inflow channel and the effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2); the liquid inlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the peripheral liquid inflow channel (liquid inlet and peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2); and the liquid outlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the effluent liquid collecting channel (liquid outlet and effluent liquid collecting channel; Fig. 2); and wherein the peripheral liquid inflow channel encircles an edge of the liquid cooling plate body (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2), and the intermediate channel is located at an inner side of the peripheral liquid inflow channel (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; the intermediate channel is located at an inner side; Fig. 2).
However, the reference does not teach or suggest: a left section of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel communicates with the inlets of a plurality of branch channels at a left side, and a right section of the right peripheral liquid inflow channel communicates with the inlets of a plurality of branch channels at a right side;. Therefore, he instant claim would be allowably over the prior art of record.
Claim 7 would be allowable based on dependency to claim 6.
Examiners Note: the allowable limitation of claim 3 is a broader scope than the more particular arrangement of claim 6, but both require the general arrangement of : claim 3. Including: the peripheral liquid inflow channel is bifurcated at the position of the liquid inlet to form a left peripheral liquid inflow channel and a right peripheral liquid inflow channel, wherein rear sides of the left peripheral liquid inflow channel and the right peripheral liquid inflow channel communicate with the inlets of the plurality of branch channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG CN111864309A.
With respect to claim 1, JIANG teaches battery pack (battery pack; See the Abstract), comprising: a liquid cooling plate (cold plate; See the Abstract), and a battery stack (battery module; Fig. 1), wherein: the battery stack comprises at least one battery module (battery module; Fig. 1); and the liquid cooling plate comprises a liquid cooling plate body (cold plate holds liquid coolant; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), a liquid inlet (old plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow; Fig. 2 & See the Abstract), and a liquid outlet (a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract), wherein the liquid cooling plate body defines a liquid cooling circuit, (the cold plate is provided with a total inlet channel for cooling medium to flow, a total outlet channel for cooling medium flowing out and a plurality of cooling modules for connecting the main channel and the total outlet channel; Fig. 2 & Abstract) the liquid cooling circuit comprises: a peripheral liquid inflow channel (Fig. 2), an effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2), and an intermediate channel (Fig. 2)communicating between the peripheral liquid inflow channel and the effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2); the liquid inlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the peripheral liquid inflow channel (liquid inlet and peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2); and the liquid outlet is connected onto the liquid cooling plate body and communicates with the effluent liquid collecting channel (liquid outlet and effluent liquid collecting channel; Fig. 2); and wherein the peripheral liquid inflow channel encircles an edge of the liquid cooling plate body (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; Fig. 2), and the intermediate channel is located at an inner side of the peripheral liquid inflow channel (edge of cooling plate is encircled in two corners of the bottom channel of the peripheral liquid inflow channel; the intermediate channel is located at an inner side; Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 2, the intermediate channel comprises: a plurality of branch channels (Fig. 2), wherein an inlet of each of the branch channels communicates with the peripheral liquid inflow channel (Fig. 2), and an outlet of each of the branch channels communicates with the effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2); and the inlets of the plurality of branch channels are arranged at intervals along the peripheral liquid inflow channel (Fig. 2), and the outlets of the plurality of branch channels are arranged at intervals along the effluent liquid collecting channel (Fig. 2).
JIANG does not teach or suggest: the peripheral liquid inflow channel covers an edge of a top surface of the battery stack (claim 1); the intermediate channel covers a middle area of the top surface of the battery stack (claim 1).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the peripheral liquid inflow channel covering an edge of a top surface of the battery stack of JIANG, in order to improve cooling efficiency of the battery. The skilled artisan recognizes that channel arrangement, positioning/location and size directly effects cooling rate of the battery. Furthermore, change in size of essential working parts of a device is prima face obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the intermediate channel covering a middle area of the top surface of the battery stack (claim 1). it would have been obvious in the battery stack of JIANG, in order to improve cooling efficiency of the battery. The skilled artisan recognizes that channel arrangement, positioning/location and size directly effects cooling rate of the battery. Furthermore, change in size of essential working parts of a device is prima face obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 & 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG CN111864309A in view of ZHOU et al. CN-211350776-U, and further in view of WANG et al. WO-2020252846-A1 (hereinafter referred to as WANG WO ‘846), and even further in view of WANG et al. CN-209016236-U (hereinafter referred to as WANG CN ‘236).
JIANG teaches a battery pack as described in the rejection recited herein above:
JIANG does not teach or suggest: a thermally conductive structural adhesive, a bottom structural adhesive and a tray, wherein the liquid cooling plate, the thermally conductive structural adhesive, the battery stack, the bottom structural adhesive and the tray are stacked sequentially from top to bottom; and the tray comprises a square frame, a front anti-expansion beam arranged on a front frame of the square frame, and a rear anti-expansion beam arranged on a rear frame of the square frame, wherein a front end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from the front anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core; and a rear end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from the rear anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (claim 4); the thermally conductive structural adhesive comprises a front-flow-path structural adhesive and a rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive arranged in a front-rear direction, the front-flow-path structural adhesive and the rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive are bonded between the top surface of the battery stack and a bottom surface of the liquid cooling plate body; and the coefficient of thermal conductivity of the front-flow-path structural adhesive is smaller than that of the rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 5);a thermally conductive structural adhesive, a bottom structural adhesive and a tray, wherein: the liquid cooling plate, the thermally conductive structural adhesive, the battery stack, the bottom structural adhesive and the tray are stacked sequentially from top to bottom; and21 the tray comprises a square frame, wherein a left end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a left frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core, and a right end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a right frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (claim 8); the thermally conductive structural adhesive comprises a left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive, an intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive, and a right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive arranged sequentially in a left-right direction, the left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive, the intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive, and the right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive are bonded between the top surface of the battery stack and a bottom surface of the liquid cooling plate body, and the coefficient of thermal conductivity of the intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive is smaller than that of the left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive and the right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 9); a heat preservation layer wrapping around an outer surface of the tray (claim 10); the application area of the bottom structural adhesive is not greater than the area of a bottom surface of the battery stack; and the bottom structural adhesive comprises a plurality of structural adhesive strips spaced from each other (claim 11).
ZHOU teaches it is well known in the art to employ: a tray (tray 3; Fig. 11; claims 4 & 8) comprising a square frame (square frame; Fig. 11), a front anti-expansion beam arranged on a front frame of the square frame (front anti-expansion beam; Fig. 11), and a rear anti-expansion beam arranged on a rear frame of the square frame (a rear anti-expansion beam; Fig. 11; claim 4):
WANG WO ‘846 teaches it is well known in the art to employ: a thermally conductive structural adhesive (thermally conductive insulating glue may be thermally conductive silica gel, which has good insulation and thermal conductivity; Detailed ways, paragraph 19; claim 4 & 8); a bottom structural adhesive (structural adhesive can be one of epoxy resin, polyurethane, modified silane, acrylic, and silicone rubber added with inorganic thermally conductive filler, such as alumina; Detailed ways, paragraph 19; claim 4 & 8).
WANG CN ‘236 teaches it is well known in the art to employ: a front end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from the front anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core; and a rear end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from the rear anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (a battery module, provided with a heat-conducting absorbing layer and the aerogel layer, and the bag shaped structure packaging the aerogel layer formed by mica, realizing the radiating problem of the battery unit adjacent the surface, it can separate the heat propagating cell unit between the aerogel layer and mica, but also can buffer the expansion battery unit is generated between adjacent battery cells; See the Abstract; claim 4); a left end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a left frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core, and a right end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a right frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (a battery module, provided with a heat-conducting absorbing layer and the aerogel layer, and the bag shaped structure packaging the aerogel layer formed by mica, realizing the radiating problem of the battery unit adjacent the surface, it can separate the heat propagating cell unit between the aerogel layer and mica, but also can buffer the expansion battery unit is generated between adjacent battery cells; See the Abstract; claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a tray comprising a square frame with a front anti-expansion beam arranged on a front frame of the square frame, and a rear anti-expansion beam arranged on a rear frame of the square frame of ZHOU, in the battery pack of JIANG, in order to secure the batteries in place. The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Furthermore, with respect to the liquid cooling plate, the thermally conductive structural adhesive, the battery stack, the bottom structural adhesive and the tray are stacked sequentially from top to bottom (claim 4 & 8); it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to a thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 4 & 8); and a bottom structural adhesive (claim 4 & 8); it would have been obvious to employ the thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 4 & 8); and a bottom structural adhesive of WANG WO ‘846, in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU, in order to secure the batteries in place. The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Furthermore, WANG WO ‘846 teaches one surface of the single cell batteries and the upper cover are bound and connected one to the other by means of a structural adhesive, and the other opposite surface of the single cell batteries and the bottom plate are bound and connected one to the other by means of a heat conductive structural adhesive. See the Abstract. WANG WO ‘846 also teaches a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160, and the other narrow surface of the single cell 150 is bonded to the upper cover 120 by a structural adhesive 161. See Detailed ways, paragroup 13. Therefore, WANG WO ‘846 shows the adhesives can be located in multiple locations throughout the battery system.
With respect to a front end face of the battery stack being spaced apart from the front anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core; and a rear end face of the battery stack being spaced apart from the rear anti-expansion beam by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (claim 4); a left end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a left frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core, and a right end face of the battery stack is spaced apart from an inner wall of a right frame of the square frame by a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core (claim 8); it would have been obvious to employ the a buffer layer capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery core WANG CN ‘236, in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846, in order to reduce radiating problems of batteries in vehicles (See WANG CN ‘236 BACKGROUND). The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Regarding the space positioning of the battery stack, front anti-expansion beam and a buffer layer, left frame and right frame it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846 and WANG CN ‘236, in order to reduce radiating problems of batteries in vehicles (See WANG CN ‘236 BACKGROUND). WANG CN ‘236 a battery module, provided with a heat-conducting absorbing layer and the aerogel layer, and the bag shaped structure packaging the aerogel layer formed by mica, realizing the radiating problem of the battery unit adjacent the surface, it can separate the heat propagating cell unit between the aerogel layer and mica, but also can buffer the expansion battery unit is generated between adjacent battery cells. See the Abstract. Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the thermally conductive structural adhesive comprises a front-flow-path structural adhesive and a rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive arranged in a front-rear direction, the front-flow-path structural adhesive and the rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive are bonded between the top surface of the battery stack and a bottom surface of the liquid cooling plate body; and the coefficient of thermal conductivity of the front-flow-path structural adhesive is smaller than that of the rear-flow-path highly thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 5); it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846 and WANG CN ‘236, in order to secure the batteries in place. The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Furthermore, WANG WO ‘846 teaches one surface of the single cell batteries and the upper cover are bound and connected one to the other by means of a structural adhesive, and the other opposite surface of the single cell batteries and the bottom plate are bound and connected one to the other by means of a heat conductive structural adhesive. See the Abstract. WANG WO ‘846 also teaches a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160, and the other narrow surface of the single cell 150 is bonded to the upper cover 120 by a structural adhesive 161. See Detailed ways, paragroup 13. Therefore, WANG WO ‘846 shows the adhesives can be located in multiple locations throughout the battery system. Lastly, WANG WO ‘846 teaches the structural adhesive can be one of epoxy resin, polyurethane, modified silane, acrylic, and silicone rubber added with inorganic thermally conductive filler, such as alumina; ad thermally conductive insulating glue may be thermally conductive silica gel, which has good insulation and thermal conductivity. See Detailed ways, paragraph 19. Therefore it would be reasonable to expect different coefficient of thermal conductivities. As to the positioning of the adhesives, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the thermally conductive structural adhesive comprising a left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive, an intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive, and a right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive arranged sequentially in a left-right direction, the left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive, the intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive, and the right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive are bonded between the top surface of the battery stack and a bottom surface of the liquid cooling plate body, and the coefficient of thermal conductivity of the intermediate lowly thermally conductive structural adhesive is smaller than that of the left highly thermally conductive structural adhesive and the right highly thermally conductive structural adhesive (claim 9); it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846 and WANG CN ‘236, in order to secure the batteries in place. The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Furthermore, WANG WO ‘846 teaches one surface of the single cell batteries and the upper cover are bound and connected one to the other by means of a structural adhesive, and the other opposite surface of the single cell batteries and the bottom plate are bound and connected one to the other by means of a heat conductive structural adhesive. See the Abstract. WANG WO ‘846 also teaches a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160, and the other narrow surface of the single cell 150 is bonded to the upper cover 120 by a structural adhesive 161. See Detailed ways, paragroup 13. Therefore, WANG WO ‘846 shows the adhesives can be located in multiple locations throughout the battery system. Lastly, WANG WO ‘846 teaches the structural adhesive can be one of epoxy resin, polyurethane, modified silane, acrylic, and silicone rubber added with inorganic thermally conductive filler, such as alumina; ad thermally conductive insulating glue may be thermally conductive silica gel, which has good insulation and thermal conductivity. See Detailed ways, paragraph 19. Therefore it would be reasonable to expect different coefficient of thermal conductivities. As to the positioning of the adhesives, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to a heat preservation layer wrapping around an outer surface of the tray (claim 10); it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846 and WANG CN ‘236, in order to improve thermal management. ZHOU teaches insulating treatment in the battery system. See Specific implementation examples, paragraph 2. Regarding wrapping around the tray, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the application area of the bottom structural adhesive is not greater than the area of a bottom surface of the battery stack; and the bottom structural adhesive comprises a plurality of structural adhesive strips spaced from each other (claim 11); it would have been obvious in the battery pack of JIANG in view of ZHOU and WANG WO ‘846 and WANG CN ‘236, in order to secure the batteries in place. The skilled artisan recognizes that the battery system elements must be stabilized for optimal functioning. Furthermore, WANG WO ‘846 teaches one surface of the single cell batteries and the upper cover are bound and connected one to the other by means of a structural adhesive, and the other opposite surface of the single cell batteries and the bottom plate are bound and connected one to the other by means of a heat conductive structural adhesive. See the Abstract. WANG WO ‘846 also teaches a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160, and the other narrow surface of the single cell 150 is bonded to the upper cover 120 by a structural adhesive 161. See Detailed ways, paragroup 13. Therefore, WANG WO ‘846 shows the adhesives can be located in multiple locations throughout the battery system. Regarding application area of the bottom structural adhesive, change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723