DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated June 7, 2026, in which claims 1, 6-8, 10, 12 and 17-19 were amended, has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the term “and” is missing in the limitation “…the first wiring part (and) the first via part are connected…” in lines 7-8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0262738) [Hereafter “Lee”] in view of Ting et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0264873) [Hereafter “Ting”] and Kang (U.S. Pub. 2014/0210087).
Regarding claim 1, Lee [Fig.2] discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a first interconnection structure [314]; and
a second interconnection structure including a first wiring part [324/325] electrically connected to the first interconnection structure [314], a first hard mask pattern [327] on the first wiring part, and a first via part [V21] connected to the first wiring part through the first hard mask pattern.
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first wiring part and the first via part are connected as a single layer. However, Ting [Figs.8B,9B] discloses a semiconductor device wherein the first wiring part [trench portion of interconnect structure 416] and the first via part [via portion of interconnect structure 416] are connected as a single layer. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the first wiring part and the first via part are connected as a single layer, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first wiring part is wider than the first interconnection structure at a connection where the first wiring part and the first interconnection structure are connected. However, Kang [Fig.25] discloses a semiconductor device wherein the first wiring part [142] is wider than the first interconnection structure [BC] at a connection where the first wiring part and the first interconnection structure are connected. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the first wiring part is wider than the first interconnection structure at a connection where the first wiring part and the first interconnection structure are connected, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2-5, 8, and 17, Lee [Fig.2] discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the second interconnection structure comprises:
a barrier layer [322]; and
a metal layer located in the barrier layer and including the first wiring part [324/325] and the first via part [334/V21];
wherein the barrier layer includes metal nitride [Para.62] and the metal layer includes tungsten (W) [Para.65];
wherein the second interconnection structure includes a metal layer including the first wiring part [324/325] contacting the first hard mask pattern [327] and the first via part [V21];
wherein the metal layer includes molybdenum (Mo) [Para.65];
further comprising a substrate [100/311];
wherein a first direction is parallel to a surface of the substrate, and a second direction is orthogonal to the surface of the substrate;
wherein the first wiring part [324/325] has a first width in the first direction and a first height in the second direction, the first via part [V21] has a second width in the first direction at a connection where the first wiring part and the first via part are connected, and a magnitude of the first width and a magnitude of the first height are greater than a magnitude of the second width [Fig.2];
further comprising a circuit [100,200] electrically connected to the first interconnection structure [300] [Fig.1].
Regarding claim 6, Lee [Fig.2] substantially discloses a semiconductor device,
further comprising a substrate;
wherein a first direction is parallel to a surface of the substrate, and a second direction is orthogonal to the surface of the substrate;
wherein the first wiring part has a first width in the first direction and a first height in the second direction, the first via part has a second width in the first direction at a connection where the first wiring part and the first via part are connected.
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein a magnitude of the second width is greater than a magnitude of the first height. However, Ting [Figs.7-9] discloses and makes obvious various relative shapes and sizes of the first wiring part [trench portion of interconnect structure 416] and the first via part [via portion of interconnect structure 416]. Ting [Fig.7D] discloses a magnitude of the second width [at connection region] is greater than a magnitude of the first height [h1]. It would have been obvious to use provide wherein a magnitude of the second width is greater than a magnitude of the first height, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the first wiring part has a first width and a first height, the first via part has a second width. Lee fails to explicitly disclose the second width at a connection where the first wiring part and the first via part are connected, and the second width is greater than the first width. However, Ting [Fig.9B] discloses a semiconductor device wherein the second width at a connection where the first wiring part [414/416] and the first via part [714] are connected, and the second width is greater than the first width [Fig.9B]. It would have been obvious to provide the relative widths as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0262738) [Hereafter “Lee”] in view of Ting et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0264873) [Hereafter “Ting”] and Kang (U.S. Pub. 2014/0210087), as applied above and further in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0336269) [Hereafter “Tseng”].
Regarding claim 9, Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first wiring part includes a void. However, Tseng [Fig.11] discloses a semiconductor device wherein the first wiring part [238] includes a void [2380]. Tseng [Para.27] discloses and makes obvious various deposition processes may form voids in the interconnect structure. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the first wiring part includes a void, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s amendments to the claims and/or arguments were persuasive. Additional reasons for allowance were provided in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejected claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art is considered analogous art and discloses at least some of the claimed subject matter of the current invention.
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898