Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098).
Claim 1
George (2019/0063921) discloses an interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180); a chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110); a magnetic docker (Fig. 2, Ref. 200) configured to separably dock the apparatus (Fig. 2, Ref. 110) in an attachment device (Fig. 2, Ref. 220; carrying case); a first distancing laser a second distancing laser (See Fig. 4, Ref. 400 has two lasers); and processing circuitry (Fig. 4, Ref, 420) configured to: receive, from the at least one of the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s), laser distance data; calculate, from the laser distance data a distance reading (Para. 0029); and update the interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180) to display the distance reading (Para. 0029), wherein the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s) are disposed within the chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110).
George (2019/0063921) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the interactive is a touchscreen. HAMMERER (2020/0081098) shows that it is known to provide a touchscreen (Para. 0079) for a handheld laser distance meter. It would have been obvious to modify the device of George (2019/0063921) with the touchscreen of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing the user with an enhanced experience similar to a smartphone, therefore providing faster navigation and simplified menu access.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) and in further view of EP 3467541.
Claims 2, 3
George (2019/0063921) when modified with HAMMERER (2020/0081098) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a connection port configured to electrically connect the apparatus to the attachment device and exchange data with the attachment device. EP 3467541 shows that it is known to provide a connection port (Fig. 2a, Ref. 18) configured to electrically connect the apparatus (Fig. 2a, Ref. 10) to the attachment device (Fig. 2a, Ref. 20) and exchange data with the attachment device (Page 4, Para. 4) or a battery (Fig. 2A, Ref. 15), and the connection port (Fig. 2a, Ref. 18) is further configured to electrically connect the apparatus (Fig. 2a, Ref. 10) to a power source to charge the battery (Fig. 2a, Ref. 15) for a sensor module for measuring distance. It would have been obvious to modify the device of George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) with the connection port or a battery listed above with that of EP 3467541 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing data transfer or power transfer for convenience, safety, and stability, which therefore can prevent data corruption during transfers or charging irregularities.
Claim 9
George (2019/0063921) when modified with HAMMERER (2020/0081098) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a digital level, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: calculate, from the digital level, a level reading; and update the interactive screen to display the level reading. EP 3467541 shows that it is known to provide a digital level (Fig. 2a, Ref. 20; inclination sensors), and the processing circuitry is further configured to: calculate, from the digital level, a level reading; and update the interactive screen to display the level reading (Pages 4-5, Para. 8-1) for a sensor module for measuring distance. It would have been obvious to modify the device of George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) with the digital level of EP 3467541 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing a more accurate and efficient way to determine and record angles and slopes, therefore making the distance measuring more accurate.
Claim 10
George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) and in further view of EP 3467541 discloses the claimed invention except for an antenna configured to digitally connect to the attachment device and exchange data with the attachment device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify George (2019/0063921), HAMMERER (2020/0081098) and EP 3467541 with communications antenna since it was well known in the art that that using an antenna to transmit information allows the device to me more portable and therefore allowing it to be used in different applications. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098).
Claim 4
George (2019/0063921) when modified with HAMMERER (2020/0081098) discloses the claimed invention except for the interactive screen is surrounded by a weatherproofing seal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) with a waterproof seal since it was well known in the art that using a waterproofing seal around the screen protects the electronics from moisture damage, therefore making the device more rugged. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claims 5-8
George (2019/0063921) when modified with HAMMERER (2020/0081098) discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus further having a center punch, a capacitive sensor configured to find wall studs, a flashlight, or a friction strip configured to facilitate contact between the chassis and a working surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify George (2019/0063921) in view of HAMMERER (2020/0081098) with the elements listed above since it was well known in the art that adding additional elements like a center punch or others improves the function and design of the apparatus, therefore increasing its function for doing different applications. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541.
Claim 11
George (2019/0063921) discloses an interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180); a chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110); a first distancing laser a second distancing laser (See Fig. 4, Ref. 400 has two lasers); and processing circuitry (Fig. 4, Ref, 420) configured to: receive, from the at least one of the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s), laser distance data; calculate, from the laser distance data a distance reading (Para. 0029); and update the interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180) to display the distance reading (Para. 0029), wherein the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s) are disposed within the chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110).
George (2019/0063921) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a mounting point configured to separably dock the apparatus in an attachment device; a connection port configured to electronically connect the apparatus to the attachment device and exchange laser distance data with the attachment device. EP 3467541 shows that it is known to provide a mounting point (Fig. 2a, Ref. 18, 28) configured to separably dock the apparatus (Fig. 2a, Ref. 10) in an attachment device (Fig. 2a, Ref. 20); a connection port (Fig. 2a, Ref. 18) configured to electronically connect the apparatus (Fig. 2a, Ref. 10) to the attachment device (Fig. 2a, Ref. 20) and exchange laser distance (the sensor is a distance measuring device and therefore would be obvious the data transmitted to the computing unit would be the laser distance data) data with the attachment device (Page 4, Para. 4) for a sensor module for measuring a distance to an object. It would have been obvious to combine the device of George (2019/0063921) with the docking and connection port of EP 3467541 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing data transfer for convenience, safety, and stability, which therefore can prevent data corruption during transfers.
Claim 12
George (2019/0063921) discloses the laser distance data comprises a first axis laser distance reading (Fig. 4, Ref. 400, 190; vertical laser) and a second axis laser distance reading (Fig. 4, Ref. 400, 190; horizontal laser).
Claim 13
George (2019/0063921) discloses the first axis laser distance reading is measured by a first axis measurement laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400; vertical laser) disposed on the attachment device (Fig. 2, Ref. 110) and the second axis laser distance reading (Fig. 4, Ref. 400; horizontal laser) is measured by a second axis measurement laser disposed on the attachment device (Fig. 2, Ref. 110).
Claim(s) 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541.
Claim 14
George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 discloses the claimed invention except for the mounting point comprises a screw treading. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine George (2019/0063921) and EP 3467541 with the screw threading since it was well known in the art that using a screw threading for mounting improves stability of the device. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 16
George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 in view of discloses the claimed invention except for the interactive screen is surrounded by a weatherproofing seal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine George (2019/0063921) and EP 3467541 with a waterproof seal since it was well known in the art that using a waterproofing seal around the screen protects the electronics from moisture damage, therefore making the device more rugged. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claims 17-18
George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus further having a center punch, a capacitive sensor configured to find wall studs, a flashlight. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine George (2019/0063921) and EP 3467541 with elements listed above since it was well known in the art that adding additional elements like a center punch or others improves the function and design of the apparatus, therefore increasing its function for doing different applications. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3467541 in view of CN 105492864.
Claim 15
George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a magnetic mounting point configured for docking. CN 105492864 shows that it is known to provide a magnetic mounting point (Fig. 2, Ref. 85) configured to separably dock the apparatus (Fig. 2, Ref. 61) for a distance measuring device. It would have been obvious to combine the device of George (2019/0063921) and EP 3467541 with the magnetic docker of CN 105492864 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing a connection with improved repeatability and maximum force connection, therefore improving stability of the measuring device.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 and in further view of CN 105492864.
Claim 19
George (2019/0063921) discloses an interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180); a chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110); a magnetic docker (Fig. 2, Ref. 200) configured to separably dock the apparatus (Fig. 2, Ref. 110) in an attachment device (Fig. 2, Ref. 220; carrying case); a first distancing laser a second distancing laser (See Fig. 4, Ref. 400 has two lasers); and processing circuitry (Fig. 4, Ref, 420) configured to: receive, from the at least one of the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s), laser distance data; calculate, from the laser distance data a distance reading (Para. 0029); and update the interactive screen (Fig. 2, Ref. 180) to display the distance reading (Para. 0029), wherein the first distancing laser and the second distancing laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400’s) are disposed within the chassis (Fig. 2, Ref. 110).
George (2019/0063921) when modified with EP 3467541 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a threaded screw mounting point configured to separably lock the apparatus to the attachment device. CN 105492864 shows that it is known to provide a threaded screw mounting point (Fig. 6, Ref. 177) configured to separably lock the apparatus (Fig. 6, Ref. 170) to the attachment device (Fig. 6, Ref. 176) for a distance measuring device. It would have been obvious to modify the device of George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3467541 with the threaded screw of CN 105492864 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing a connection with improved repeatability and maximum force connection, therefore improving stability of the measuring device.
George (2019/0063921) when modified by CN 105492864 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a connection port configured to electronically connect the apparatus to the attachment device and exchange laser distance data with the attachment device. EP 3467541 shows that it is known to provide a connection port (Fig. 2a, Ref. 18) configured to electronically connect the apparatus (Fig. 2a, Ref. 10) to the attachment device (Fig. 2a, Ref. 20) and exchange laser distance data (the sensor is a distance measuring device and therefore would be obvious the data transmitted to the computing unit would be the laser distance data) with the attachment device (Page 4, Para. 4) for a sensor module for measuring a distance to an object. It would have been obvious to modify the device of George (2019/0063921) in view of CN 105492864 with the connection port of EP 3467541 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing data transfer for convenience, safety, and stability, which therefore can prevent data corruption during transfers.
Claim 20
George (2019/0063921) discloses the laser distance data comprises: a first axis laser distance reading measured by a first axis measurement laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400; vertical laser) disposed on the attachment device (Fig. 4, Ref. 110); and a second axis laser distance reading measured by a second axis measurement laser (Fig. 4, Ref. 400; horizontal laser) disposed on the attachment device (Fig. 4, Ref. 110).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the response on pages 2-3, applicant respectfully takes the position that in claims 11-13, 19-20 the prior art fails to disclose laser distance data is exchanged with the attachment device. It is the office’s position that the sensor module Ref. 20 of EP 3 467 541 transmits distance data to the computing unit Ref. 13 for calculations of the distance or to be displayed. Therefore, reading on the claimed limitation of an attachment device that exchanges laser distance data. EP 3 467 541 clearly discloses two elements Ref. 10 and Ref. 20 that can be attached to one another for transferring data and therefore the modification of George (2019/0063921) in view of EP 3 467 541 and in further view of CN 105492864 reads on the claimed invention. The claims remain rejected as indicated in the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 April 8, 2026