DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 28 January 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 18 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The § 112(b) rejection of claim 4 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Publication No. CN110288945A (published Sept. 27, 2019) (hereinafter “Peng”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0199282 (filed Dec. 14, 2021) (hereinafter “Syu”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Peng discloses: A display panel (FIG. 1/15, depicting a display panel 100, Translation of CN110288945A at 10) comprising:
a substrate including a main display area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a second display area 2, Translation of CN110288945A at 5), a component area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a first display area 1, Translation of CN110288945A at 5), and a non-display area in a periphery of the main display area and the component area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a non-display area NA, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
a main pixel electrode in the main display area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein in the second display area 2, each of the second display units 42 includes a pixel electrode 421, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
a main thin film transistor in the main display area of the substrate and electrically connected to the main pixel electrode (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the second display area 2 includes a second pixel circuit 52 electrically connected to the pixel electrode 421);
an auxiliary pixel electrode in the component area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein in the first display area 1, a first display unit 41 includes a pixel electrode 411, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
an auxiliary thin film transistor in the non-display area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the non-display area NA includes a first pixel circuit 51, Translation of CN110288945A at 5); and
a connection wiring in the non-display area and electrically connecting the auxiliary thin film transistor to the auxiliary pixel electrode (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a connection line 610 in the non-display area NA electrically connecting the first pixel circuit 51 and the pixel electrode 411, Translation of CN110288945A at 6).
Peng does not specifically disclose wherein the main pixel electrode and the auxiliary pixel electrode each include a multilayer.
In the same field of endeavor, Syu discloses a conductive composite including a multilayer (FIGS. 2/6, depicting a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]). Regarding the multilayer conductive composite configuration, Syu states in [0005]: “The aforementioned flexible transparent conductive composite film performs high optical transmittance, flexibility and low sheet resistance which represent the advantages of the current composite film.” Syu further states in [0028]: “The second sample of this embodiment shows 75% or higher transmittance, 3 Ω/sq or lower sheet resistance and 6 mm or lower critical radius of curvature.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng by substituting the multilayer configuration of Syu in order to provide the pixel electrodes with increased flexibility and reduced sheet resistance. See Syu [0005], [0028].
Moreover, the substitution of the multilayer configuration of Syu would result in a configuration wherein the connection wiring has a same structure as the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the connection line 610 would have a same structure, e.g., being formed as a layer structure, as the ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu).
Regarding independent claim 18, Peng discloses: A display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (FIG. 1/15, depicting a display panel, Translation of CN110288945A at 10); and
an electronic element below the display panel (FIGS. 1/15, photosensitive element 200 behind display panel 100, Translation of CN110288945A at 10),
wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate including a main display area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a second display area 2, Translation of CN110288945A at 5), a component area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a first display area 1, Translation of CN110288945A at 5), and a non-display area in a periphery of the main display area and the component area (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a display substrate including a non-display area NA, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
a main pixel electrode in the main display area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein in the second display area 2, each of the second display units 42 includes a pixel electrode 421, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
a main thin film transistor in the main display area of the substrate and electrically connected to the main pixel electrode (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the second display area 2 includes a second pixel circuit 52 electrically connected to the pixel electrode 421, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
an auxiliary pixel electrode in the component area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein in the first display area 1, a first display unit 41 includes a pixel electrode 411, Translation of CN110288945A at 5);
an auxiliary thin film transistor in the non-display area of the substrate (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the non-display area NA includes a first pixel circuit 51, Translation of CN110288945A at 5); and
a connection wiring in the non-display area and electrically connecting the auxiliary thin film transistor to the auxiliary pixel electrode (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting a connection line 610 in the non-display area NA electrically connecting the first pixel circuit 51 and the pixel electrode 411, Translation of CN110288945A at 6).
Peng does not specifically disclose wherein the main pixel electrode and the auxiliary pixel electrode each include a multilayer.
In the same field of endeavor, Syu discloses an electrode including a multilayer (FIGS. 2/6, depicting a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]). Regarding the multilayer electrode configuration, Syu states in [0005]: “The aforementioned flexible transparent conductive composite film performs high optical transmittance, flexibility and low sheet resistance which represent the advantages of the current composite film.” Syu further states in [0028]: “The second sample of this embodiment shows 75% or higher transmittance, 3 Ω/sq or lower sheet resistance and 6 mm or lower critical radius of curvature.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng by substituting the multilayer configuration of Syu in order to provide the pixel electrodes with increased flexibility and reduced sheet resistance. See Syu [0005], [0028].
Moreover, the substitution of the multilayer configuration of Syu would result in a configuration wherein the connection wiring has a same structure as the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the connection line 610 would have a same structure, e.g., being formed as a layer structure, as the ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu).
Regarding claim 19, Peng in view of Syu further discloses wherein the auxiliary pixel electrode includes a first lower layer, a first intermediate layer on the first lower layer, and a first upper layer on the first intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the pixel electrode 411 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that the lowest ITO layer would be a first lower layer, a lowest Ag layer would be a first intermediate layer, and a second lowest ITO layer would be a first upper layer, located on the lowest Ag layer, which is a first intermediate layer).
Peng does not specifically disclose wherein the connection wiring includes a second lower layer, a second intermediate layer on the second lower layer, and a second upper layer on the second intermediate layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Syu discloses a conductive composite including a multilayer (FIGS. 2/6, depicting a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]). Regarding the multilayer conductive composite configuration, Syu states in [0005]: “The aforementioned flexible transparent conductive composite film performs high optical transmittance, flexibility and low sheet resistance which represent the advantages of the current composite film.” Syu further states in [0028]: “The second sample of this embodiment shows 75% or higher transmittance, 3 Ω/sq or lower sheet resistance and 6 mm or lower critical radius of curvature.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng by substituting the multilayer configuration of Syu for the connection line 610 configuration of Peng as modified by Choi in order to provide the connection line 610 with increased flexibility and reduced sheet resistance. See Syu [0005], [0028].
Moreover, the substitution of the multilayer configuration of Syu would result in a configuration wherein the connection wiring includes a second lower layer, a second intermediate layer on the second lower layer, and a second upper layer on the second intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the connection line 610 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that the lowest ITO layer would be a second lower layer, a lowest Ag layer would be a second intermediate layer, and a second lowest ITO layer would be a second upper layer, located on the lowest Ag layer, which is a second intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 20, Peng in view of Syu further discloses wherein the second intermediate layer of the connection wiring is integrally formed with the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the connection line 610 is overlaps with and contacts the pixel electrode 411 such that the connection line 610, and all of the layers forming the connection line 610 as modified by Syu and Choi, are integrally formed with the pixel electrode 411 and all of the layers forming the pixel electrode 411 as modified by Syu).
Peng in view of Syu does not specifically disclose wherein the second intermediate layer of the connection wiring has a same thickness as the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode.
Regarding the relative thicknesses of the intermediate layers, however, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to improve the transparency and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to reduce the resistance of the layers and meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 thicker than the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 equal in thickness to that of the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, or making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 thinner than the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 equal in thickness to that of the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411.
Claims 2-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Syu, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0193758 (filed Dec. 23, 2020) (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 2, Peng in view of Syu does not specifically disclose wherein the connection wiring includes a same material as a material forming the auxiliary pixel electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses a display device including a connection wiring (FIG. 7, e.g., transparent electrode line TEL, [0090]), wherein the connection wiring is formed from a transparent metal (FIG. 7, [0090]: “[T]he transparent area anode TAN may include a transparent metal 142 such as ITO. In this case, the transparent area electrode line TEL may include only the transparent metal 142.”). Regarding formation the transparent electrode line, in [0131], Choi states: “Also, the transparent area electrode lines TEL may include a transparent metal. Accordingly, comparing with the related art, a transmittance of the transparent area AA1 may be enhanced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng by substituting the transparent metal material of Choi in order to increase the transmittance of the first display area 1 of Peng. See Choi [0131].
Moreover, substitution of the transparent metal material of Choi would result in a configuration wherein the connection wiring includes a same material as a material forming the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; Choi FIG. 7; the ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu would include a same material, ITO, as the transparent metal connection line 610 of Peng, as modified by Choi).
Regarding claim 3, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the auxiliary pixel electrode (FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein in the first display area 1, a first display unit 41 includes a pixel electrode 411) includes a first lower layer, a first intermediate layer on the first lower layer, and a first upper layer on the first intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the pixel electrode 411 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that the lowest ITO layer would be a first lower layer, a lowest Ag layer would be a first intermediate layer, and a second lowest ITO layer would be a first upper layer, located on the lowest Ag layer, which is a first intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 4, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein a thickness of the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode is 100 Å or more and 150 Å or less (Syu FIGS. 2/6; [0019]: “The conductive layer 20 may be the transparent conductive metal oxides, such as ITO, AZO, GZO, IGZO, IZO or the combinations thereof. The metal layer 30 may be the high conductivity metal material, such as Au, Ag, Cu, Al, Ti or/and combination compounds thereof. On the other hand, the flexible transparent conductive composite film 1 is required to perform a high transmittance. Therefore, in the multilayer structure 2 of the present embodiment, the thickness of metal layer 30 which combines with the conductive layer 20 is preferred to be 20 nm or less.”).
Regarding claim 5, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the first upper layer and the first lower layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode include ITO, IZO, AZO, or GZO, and the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode includes Ag (Syu FIGS. 2/6, disclosing wherein the conductive layers 20 are formed from transparent conductive metal oxides, such as ITO, AZO, GZO, IGZO, IZO or the combinations thereof, and the metal layers 30 are formed from high conductivity metal material, such as Au, Ag, Cu, Al, Ti or/and combination compounds thereof, [0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Peng in view of Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the connection wiring includes a second lower layer, a second intermediate layer on the second lower layer, and a second upper layer on the second intermediate layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Syu discloses a conductive composite including a multilayer (FIGS. 2/6, depicting a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]). Regarding the multilayer conductive composite configuration, Syu states in [0005]: “The aforementioned flexible transparent conductive composite film performs high optical transmittance, flexibility and low sheet resistance which represent the advantages of the current composite film.” Syu further states in [0028]: “The second sample of this embodiment shows 75% or higher transmittance, 3 Ω/sq or lower sheet resistance and 6 mm or lower critical radius of curvature.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng by substituting the multilayer configuration of Syu for the connection line 610 configuration of Peng as modified by Choi in order to provide the connection line 610 with increased flexibility and reduced sheet resistance. See Syu [0005], [0028].
Moreover, the substitution of the multilayer configuration of Syu would result in a configuration wherein the connection wiring includes a second lower layer, a second intermediate layer on the second lower layer, and a second upper layer on the second intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the connection line 610 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that the lowest ITO layer would be a second lower layer, a lowest Ag layer would be a second intermediate layer, and a second lowest ITO layer would be a second upper layer, located on the lowest Ag layer, which is a second intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 8, Peng in view of Syu and Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the second intermediate layer of the connection wiring has a same thickness as the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode.
Regarding the relative thicknesses of the intermediate layers, however, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to improve the transparency and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to reduce the resistance of the layers and meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 thicker than the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 equal in thickness to that of the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, or making the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 thinner than the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the second intermediate layer of the connection line 610 equal in thickness to that of the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411.
Regarding claim 9, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the second intermediate layer of the connection wiring includes a same material as the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; the connection line 610 and the pixel electrode 411, as modified by Choi and Syu, would each a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the second intermediate layer of the connection wiring is integrally formed with the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the connection line 610 is overlaps with and contacts the pixel electrode 411 such that the connection line 610, and all of the layers forming the connection line 610 as modified by Syu and Choi, are integrally formed with the pixel electrode 411 and all of the layers forming the pixel electrode 411 as modified by Syu).
Regarding claim 11, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein each of the second lower layer and the second upper layer of the connection wiring includes a same material as the first lower layer and the first upper layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; the connection line 610 and the pixel electrode 411, as modified by Choi and Syu, would each a five-layer multilayer structure 2 having an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure, [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the second lower layer and the second upper layer of the connection wiring are integrally formed with the first lower layer and the first upper layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode, respectively (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9, depicting wherein the connection line 610 is overlaps with and contacts the pixel electrode 411 such that the connection line 610, and all of the layers forming the connection line 610 as modified by Syu and Choi, are integrally formed with the pixel electrode 411 and all of the layers forming the pixel electrode 411 as modified by Syu).
Regarding claim 13, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the main pixel electrode includes a third intermediate layer and a fourth intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the pixel electrode 421 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that a lowest Ag layer would be a third intermediate layer, and a highest Ag layer would be a fourth intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 14, Peng in view of Syu and Choi further discloses wherein the main pixel electrode includes a third lower layer below the third intermediate layer, a fifth intermediate layer between the third intermediate layer and the fourth intermediate layer, and a third upper layer on fourth intermediate layer (Peng FIGS. 1/2/3/9; Syu FIGS. 2/6; depicting wherein the pixel electrode 421 would have an ITO/Ag/ITO/Ag/ITO structure of the five-layer multilayer structure 2 of Syu, such that a lowest ITO layer would be a third lower layer below the lowest Ag layer, which would be a third intermediate layer, a second from lowest ITO layer would be a fifth intermediate layer between the lowest Ag layer, which would be a third intermediate layer and the highest Ag layer, which would be a fourth intermediate layer, and a highest ITO layer would be a third upper layer, located on the highest Ag layer, which would be a fourth intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 15, Peng in view of Syu and Choi does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the fourth intermediate layer of the main pixel electrode is greater than a thickness of the third intermediate layer.
Regarding the relative thicknesses of the intermediate layers, however, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to improve the transparency and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to reduce the resistance of the layers and meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including making the fourth intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421 thicker than the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, making the fourth intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421 equal in thickness to that of the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, or making the fourth intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421 thinner than the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the fourth intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421 to be thicker than that of the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421.
Regarding claim 16, Peng in view of Syu and Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the third intermediate layer of the main pixel electrode has a same thickness as the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode.
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to improve the transparency and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to reduce the resistance of the layers and meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including making the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411 thicker than the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, making the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411 equal in thickness to that of the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, or making the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411 thinner than the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the first intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 411 to be equal in thickness to that of the third intermediate layer of the pixel electrode 421.
Regarding claim 17, Peng in view of Syu and Choi does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the fourth intermediate layer is 800 Å or more and 1000 Å or less.
In the same field of endeavor, Syu discloses in [0020]: “Furthermore, the five-layer structure as shown in FIG. 2, the thicknesses of the first and the last conductive layer 20 may be about 30 nm to 50 nm. The thickness of the middle conductive layer 20 is about 70 nm to 100 nm. The thickness of the metal layer 30 is about 5 nm to 20 nm.” Syu further discloses in [0021]: “[A] person having ordinary skill in the present art should understand that the thicknesses of aforementioned conductive layer 20 and metal layer 30 are the preferred embodiment and the practical thickness may be adjusted for the transmittance or flexibility needs.” Thus, noted in Syu, the thickness of the Ag metal layer is a result-effective variable for optimizing transparency and flexibility, as well as production time and resistance.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the fourth intermediate Ag layer of the five-layer structure of Syu, as applied to the pixel electrode 421 of Peng, identified by Syu as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a thickness ranging from 800 Å or more and 1000 Å or less in order to achieve a desired balance between transparency and flexibility, as well as production time and resistance as disclosed in Syu in [0020] and [0021]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Syu and Choi, and further in view of Japanese Publication No. JP2006342416A (published Dec. 21, 2006) (hereinafter “Hasegawa”).
Regarding claim 6, Peng in view of Syu and Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the first intermediate layer of the auxiliary pixel electrode includes In of 0.4 at% or more and 1 at% or less.
In the same field of endeavor, Hasegawa discloses an electrode film comprising Ag as well as In in an amount ranging from 0.005 to 2 at%. Regarding the Ag-In alloy, Hasegawa states: “The thin film of the present invention is further alloyed by adding at least one metal element selected from In, Sn and Zn (hereinafter referred to as “Group A metal element”) to the ternary Ag-based alloy component. And a quaternary Ag-based alloy. In this quaternary Ag-based alloy, the content of the group A metal element can be 0.005 to 2.0 at%, preferably 0.1 to 1.5 at%, respectively. By adding these group A metal elements, the corrosion resistance of the obtained Ag-based alloy can be improved.” Translation of JP2006342416A at 4.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Peng, as modified by Syu and Choi by substituting the intermediate layer material with the Ag-In alloy of Hasegawa in order to increase the corrosion resistance of the pixel electrode 411. See Translation of JP2006342416A at 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813