DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 116919246 A) in view of Li et al. (CN 114680743 A).
Regarding claim 1, Dai discloses a cleaning robot, comprising: a housing (12) enclosed to form a mounting chamber and provided with a dust outlet (24/25); a dust box (17) arranged in the mounting chamber and configured to collect dust, wherein the dust box is provided with a dust collection port (A) and a dust extraction port (B), wherein the dust collection port and the dust extraction port are respectively disposed on opposite sides of a centerline (X) of the dust box; and a dust extraction duct (18/24), wherein one end of the dust extraction duct communicates with the dust extraction port (B) and the other end of the dust extraction duct communicates with the dust outlet of the housing (25). While Dai clearly shows the components of the cleaner, Dai does not show or disclosed the specific structure of the dust box (separate from the cleaner). Li discloses another very similar cleaning robot, also having a dust box (10) defining a dust collection port (12) and dust extraction port (13) wherein the dust box comprises a windward plate (defining the dust collection port therethrough), a first side plate, and a second side plate, and the first side plate and the second side plate are arranged opposite each other and connected to the windward plate, wherein the dust collection port is disposed on the windward plate and a center of the dust collection port is nearer to an end of the windward plate away from the dust extraction port than to an end of the windward plate closer to the dust extraction port (as seen in Fig. 3, 6 and 11; disclosed to provide an airflow during emptying of the dust box that passes from the collection port to the side of the box away from the extraction port, along the entire length of the bottom surface of the box and out the extraction port, to optimize removal of debris from the box to improve recovery rate of the dust box assembly; Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the dust box of Dai with similar defining structure, including the windward plate having the collection port therein, and first and second side plates to enclose the dust box, as well as providing the collection port nearer to an end of the windward plate that is opposite the extraction port, than the end of the windward plate closer to the extraction port, as taught by Li, to improve/optimize the removal of debris from the dust box (which will still be effective for the extraction port location taught by Dai, when providing the airflow taught by Li across the length of the bottom surface of the dust box from one end towards the opposite end defining the extraction port). Further, when providing the walls taught by Li, the configuration shown by Dai, will provide the dust extraction port is disposed on the first side plate, wherein the first side plate comprises a first plate surface and a second plate surface, the first plate surface and the second plate surface are connected with an included angle formed therebetween, wherein the dust extraction port is disposed on the second plate surface, and wherein a side of the first plate surface away from the second plate surface is connected to the windward plate.
Regarding claim 2, Dai discloses a fan (disclosed but not numbered; appears to be positioned at D above, to provide the required airflow), wherein the fan is inherently arranged on one side of the dust box (any location would be considered on a side) and is configured to form a dust collection airflow, the dust collection airflow running through the dust box (also inherent to operate as intended); wherein the dust box comprises the windward plate (as discussed supra), the windward plate facing towards an in-flow direction of the dust collection airflow (as defined by the term “windward”) and the dust collection port is an inlet for the dust collection airflow into the dust box.
Regarding claim 4, the structure disclosed by Dai provides the center of the fan located on a centerline (Y) of the housing, the centerline of the dust box is offset (angularly) from the centerline of the housing, and the center of the dust collection port is arranged near the centerline of the housing (the location taught by Li if still considered to be near/close to the centerline of the housing).
Regarding claim 5, the structure disclosed by Dai and Li, the dust box further comprises a filter screen (again, shown but not discussed for Dai, and disclosed as 19 for Li, which is relied upon for the specific structure of the dust box) arranged between the windward plate and the fan; a side of the second plate surface away from the first plate surface is connected to the filter screen (as shown by Li), wherein the first plate surface is perpendicular to a filter surface of the filter screen, the dust extraction port is disposed on the second plate surface, and wherein the included angle between the first plate surface and the second plate surface is a first included angle θ1, satisfying: 90°≤θ1 ≤ 180°.
Regarding claim 6, Dai and Li both disclose robotic cleaners having the dust box as discussed supra, with Li further disclosing that the box comprises an upper cover plate (15) and a lower box body (although not numbered, the dust box obviously includes a lower box body to complete the box and contain collected debris as intended), the upper cover plate is arranged above the lower box body, wherein the windward plate, the first side plate, the second side plate and the filter screen are arranged between the upper cover plate and the lower box body, and the windward plate, the first side plate, the second side plate, the filter screen, the lower box body and the upper cover plate enclose to form the dust box; and wherein the windward plate extends in a direction gradually away from the lower box body, forming an avoiding space is between the windward plate and the lower box body (as seen in Figs. 3-5 and 7 of Li). Li also discloses that the cleaner includes a cleaning roller brush (44), and shows the cleaning roller brush located immediately adjacent to the avoiding space (1), which would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to most effectively remove debris from the brush and also maximizing the interior of the dust box, by providing the additional space extending over the roller brush, as shown. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the robot of Dai with a similar cleaning roller brush, positioned as shown by Li, immediately adjacent to the avoiding space of the dust box to most effectively remove debris from the brush and also maximizing the interior of the dust box.
Regarding claim 7, Dai further discloses that the dust extraction duct comprises a first duct section (18) and a second duct section (24), the first duct section is connected to the second duct section; wherein an end of the first duct section away from the second duct section is connected to the dust extraction port, an end of the second duct section away from the first duct section is connected to the housing, wherein an included angle is formed between the first duct section and the second duct section, and the second included angle is θ2, satisfying: 90°<θ2 ≤ 180° (shown to be approximately 135°, similar to the applicant’s disclosed invention).
Regarding claim 8, Dai further discloses that a portion (C) of the dust extraction duct located at the connection between the first duct section and the second duct section defines an arc-shape.
Regarding claim 11, Dai further discloses a cover (25), the cover is rotatably covered onto the dust outlet (via the flexible connector, as disclosed in English language translation, “the sealing cover 25 may be made of a soft rubber material, and as shown in FIG. 5, only the upper end of the sealing cover 25 is fixed to the box body 21, and the lower end thereof is in a free state”), and the covering area of the cover is larger than the opening area of the dust outlet (inherently larger than the outlet to be capable of covering the outlet by overlapping all boundaries of the outlet).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 116919246 A) in view of Li et al. (CN 114680743 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Bo (WO 2020/007377 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Dai appears to show some form of cover at the dust extraction port of the dust box, and Li discloses that the dust extraction port (13) may include a one-way valve (20), in the form of a pivotable flap. Bo discloses another similar cleaning robot, also having a dust box with a dust extraction port for being emptied by a base station, and teaches that the dust extraction port comprises a sealing frame (space surrounding the dust extraction port, having a sealing material 222), the sealing frame is arranged at the dust extraction port; and wherein the cleaning robot comprises a pivot-cover (204; similar to the flap of Li), and the pivot-cover covering the dust extraction port and is rotatably connected to the sealing frame, which will function as a similar one-way valve to cover the extraction port during normal cleaning operation to prevent spillage of collected debris, while also allowing the cover to open during extraction of dust from the dust box by the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the sealing frame disclosed by Bo to the pivot cover disclosed by Li, to similarly cover the extraction port during normal cleaning operation to prevent spillage of collected debris while also sealing the interface of the cover with the dust box to prevent loss of suction pressure within the box, and allowing the cover to open during extraction of dust from the dust box by the base station.
Regarding claim 10, Bo further discloses that the pivot-cover comprises a cover body and a pivot, the pivot is rotatably connected to the sealing frame, and the cover body is connected to the pivot; and wherein the pivot-cover further comprises a torsion spring (205), the torsion spring is sleeved onto the pivot (as seen in Figs. 10-11), and the torsion spring is configured to provide a closing torque when the cover body is rotated to be opened.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 116919246 A) in view of Li et al. (CN 114680743 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yi et al. (2023/0210332).
Dai and Li both disclose that the dust extraction duct connects to the dust extracting port of the dust box, but fails to disclose a sealing ring. Yi discloses another similar cleaning robot, also having a dust box with a dust extraction port engaged with a dust extraction duct for being emptied by a base station, and teaches that a seal ring may be provided between portions of the dust extraction duct (paragraph 49; disclosed as dust collection channels 131 and 132, but functioning as dust extraction channels in the same manner as Dai, Li and the current invention), which will be understood by anyone of ordinary skill in the art to be desirable for preventing any suction loss (via leakage between portions of the duct) to optimize airflow during evacuation of debris from the dust box. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide similar sealing ring(s) between additional connections along the dust extraction duct, as taught by Yi, including the interface between the dust extraction duct and the dust extracting port of the dust box, to prevent suction to optimize airflow during evacuation of debris from the dust box.
Claims 13, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 116919246 A) in view of Li et al. (CN 114680743 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of KR 2025-0162862 (to be referred to hereinafter as “KR862”).
Regarding claim 13, Dai discloses the cleaning robot, as discussed supra, and further discloses a base station that the robot is configured to connect to for automated emptying of the dust box of the robot. However, Dai fails to disclose any specific structure of the base station. KR862 discloses a very similar cleaning robot, also having a dust box configured to be emptied by a base station, and teaches that the base station comprises a management compartment (211), the management compartment is configured to store the cleaning robot; wherein the base station further comprises a dust collection bag (261; disclosed as a dust bag) and a dust collection pump (fan 264), the dust collection pump is connected to the dust collection bag, a dust suction inlet (2115) is further disposed in the management compartment, the dust suction inlet is connected to the dust collection bag (via duct 263). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar base station for the cleaning robot of Dai, to empty the dust box as disclosed, to provide a cleaning system capable of automatically emptying the dust box to allow the robot cleaner to continue cleaning after filling the dust box.
Regarding claim 14, similar to claim 2 as discussed supra, Dai discloses a fan (disclosed but not numbered; appears to be positioned at D above, to provide the required airflow), wherein the fan is inherently arranged on one side of the dust box (any location would be considered on a side) and is configured to form a dust collection airflow, the dust collection airflow running through the dust box (also inherent to operate as intended); wherein the dust box comprises the windward plate (as discussed supra), the windward plate facing towards an in-flow direction of the dust collection airflow (as defined by the term “windward”) and the dust collection port is an inlet for the dust collection airflow into the dust box.
Regarding claim 16, similar to claim 4 as discussed supra, the structure disclosed by Dai, Li and KR862 both disclose that the center of the fan is located on a centerline (Y) of the housing, the centerline of the dust box is offset (angularly) from the centerline of the housing, and the center of the dust collection port is arranged near the centerline of the housing (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 above).
Regarding claim 17, similar to claim 5 as discussed supra, the structure disclosed by Dai, Li and KR862 the dust box further comprises a filter screen (again, shown but not discussed for Dai, and disclosed as 19 for Li and 161 for KR862, which is relied upon for the specific structure of the dust box) arranged between the windward plate and the fan; a side of the second plate surface away from the first plate surface is connected to the filter screen (as shown by KR862), wherein the first plate surface is perpendicular to a filter surface of the filter screen, the dust extraction port is disposed on the second plate surface, and wherein the included angle between the first plate surface and the second plate surface is a first included angle θ1, satisfying: 90°≤θ1 ≤ 180°.
Regarding claim 18, similar to claim 6 as discussed supra, Dai and Li both disclose robotic cleaners having the dust box as discussed supra, with Li further disclosing that the box comprises an upper cover plate (15) and a lower box body (although not numbered, the dust box obviously includes a lower box body to complete the box and contain collected debris as intended), the upper cover plate is arranged above the lower box body, wherein the windward plate, the first side plate, the second side plate and the filter screen are arranged between the upper cover plate and the lower box body, and the windward plate, the first side plate, the second side plate, the filter screen, the lower box body and the upper cover plate enclose to form the dust box; and wherein the windward plate extends in a direction gradually away from the lower box body, forming an avoiding space is between the windward plate and the lower box body (as seen in Figs. 3-5 and 7 of Li). Li also discloses that the cleaner includes a cleaning roller brush (44), and shows the cleaning roller brush located immediately adjacent to the avoiding space (1), which would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to most effectively remove debris from the brush and also maximizing the interior of the dust box, by providing the additional space extending over the roller brush, as shown. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the robot of Dai with a similar cleaning roller brush, positioned as shown by Li, immediately adjacent to the avoiding space of the dust box to most effectively remove debris from the brush and also maximizing the interior of the dust box.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the system of claim 13, comprising the robot of Dai, with the base station of KR862 as discussed supra, will also provide the structure of claims 19 and 20, as discussed for claims 7 and 8 above, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10 August 2026, with respect to the rejections of all pending claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, over the same previously applied Dai and KR 862 references and additionally in view of Li et al., as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of Zhang et al. (CN 120770738 A) and Ryu et al. (KR 10-2025-0138687) disclose cleaning robots having similar structure and function as the applicant’s claimed invention. Additionally, Seokman et al. (KR 2022-0146292) discloses a robotic cleaner having a dust box that has very similar structure to the applicant’s claimed dust box, and may be applicable as additional teaching to modify the box of Dai to more closely align with the structure of the disclosed dust box of the current application.
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 24 August 2026