DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2023, 10/06/2023, and 12/19/2023 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
No limitations were interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a pressure is gradually reduced” in line 6. The term gradually” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, it is unclear when the pressure is considered to be gradually/abruptly reduced. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “a pressure is continuously reduced”. Support is found in at least Fig. 4. Claims 16 and 20 recite similar limitations, so the claims are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 1 recites “the pressure” in line 11. Claim 1 recites “a pressure” in line 6 and “an arterial pressure” in line 10. It is unclear whether the recitations in line 11 refer to “a pressure” or “an arterial pressure”. The Examiner suggests amending the recitation of “a pressure” in line 6 of claim 1 to be “an applied pressure”. For the purposes of examination, “the pressure” in line 11 will be interpreted to be “the applied pressure”. Claims 2, 4-6, 16, 17, 19, and 20 recite similar limitations, so the claims are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 2-15 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claims 17-19 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 16.
Claim 4 recites “indicating, as the blood flow timing, a timing at which the one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times”. Claim 1 recites “indicating, as a blood flow timing, a timing at which a blood flow generated at one or more locations of a blood vessel downstream of an aorta is detected for each heartbeat when the one or more locations is compressed while a pressure is gradually reduced”. Claim 1 recites that the blood flow timing is indicated to be a first timing. Claim 4 recites that the blood flow timing is indicated as a different timing. It is unclear how a “timing” indicated as one thing can also be indicated as another different thing. The specification includes a description of an embodiment in ¶ [0117] of the published application, but there is no description of how the blood flow timing can be indicated as two different things. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted such that the blood flow timing is obtained while the one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time. Claim 5 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 5 recites “the sensor data includes data indicating, as the blood flow timing, a timing at which the one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure starts to be reduced at different rates each time and the pressure is reduced at a constant rate after a heartbeat at which the blood flow is detected, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times”, which is so grammatically awkward that the meaning is indefinite. How does a pressure start to be reduced at a constant rate while also being reducing at different rates each time? What is being indicated as the blood flow timing? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons provided below which are in line with the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 241, p 74618, December 16, 2014), the July 2015 Update on Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 80, No. 146, p. 45429, July 30, 2015), the May 2016 Subject Matter Eligibility Update (Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 88, p. 27381, May 6, 2016), the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, p. 50, January 7, 2019), and the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 89, No. 137 p. 58128, July 17, 2024).
The analysis of claim 16 is as follows:
Step 1: Claim 16 is directed to a process, which is a statutory category.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea in the form of a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Additionally or alternatively, claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea in the form of mathematical algorithms and/or formulas.
In particular, claim 16 recites the following limitations:
[A1]: acquiring sensor data indicating, as a blood flow timing, a timing at which a blood flow is detected for each heartbeat when the one or more locations is compressed (a skilled artisan is capable of reading a printout of sensor data and mentally identifying blood flow timings);
[B1]: recording a value of the pressure corresponding to each blood flow timing (a skilled artisan is capable of memorizing a value of a pressure corresponding to the blood flow timings);
[C1]: correcting the value of the pressure corresponding to each blood flow timing included in an inspiration period of a respiration cycle (a skilled artisan is capable of mentally adjusting pressure values of each blood flow timing during an inspiration period; also see at least ¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of the published specification regarding the mathematical nature of the correction);
[D1]: estimating a change in an arterial pressure over time by referring to the acquired sensor data and the recorded and corrected value of the pressure (a skilled artisan is capable of mentally estimating an arterial pressure by using the sensor data and corrected values).
These elements [A1]-[D1] of claim 16 are directed to an abstract idea because they are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are mere steps that are capable of being mentally performed with the aid of pen and paper for the reasons listed above. Additionally or alternatively, the element [C1] are directed to an abstract idea because it is directed to mathematical algorithms and/or formulas for the reason listed above.
Step 2A - Prong Two: Claim 16 does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
[A2]: compressing one or more locations of a blood vessel downstream of an aorta while a pressure is gradually reduced;
[B2]: detecting with a sensor, for each heartbeat, a blood flow generated at the one or more locations.
The elements [A2]-[B2] do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Specifically, the elements [A2]-[B2] amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.04(d); MPEP 2106.05(g). For example, the element [A2] is performed in order to gather data for the mental analysis steps. The element [B2] is mere data gathering using a generic sensor.
Accordingly, each of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
[A2]: compressing one or more locations of a blood vessel downstream of an aorta while a pressure is gradually reduced;
[B2]: detecting with a sensor, for each heartbeat, a blood flow generated at the one or more locations.
The elements [A2]-[B2] do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Specifically, the elements [A2]-[B2] amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.05(g). The element [A2] is performed in order to gather data for the mental analysis steps. The element [B2] is mere data gathering using a generic sensor. Additionally, the elements [A2], [B2] are well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, US 2013/0023777 A1 (Tokko) discloses a conventional electronic sphygmomanometer includes detecting a pulse produced by an artery with a pressure sensor via the cuff in a process of gradually reducing the cuff pressure (¶ [0002]).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Independent claims 1 and 20 recite mirrored method and non-transitory storage medium limitations and are not patent eligible for substantially similar reasons.
Claim 1 recites “a control unit”, and claim 20 recites “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to execute a process”. Simply reciting the elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception and do not qualify as significantly more because these elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - See MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, the elements are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93).
Claims 2-15 depend from claim 1, and they recite the same abstract idea as claim 1. Claims 17-19 depend from claim 16, and they recite the same abstract idea as claim 16. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process or mathematical algorithm) and/or append abstract ideas (that is, the claims only recite limitations that add further mental processes or mathematical algorithms) except for the following limitations.
Claim 10 recites “the control unit is configured to generate a trained model for acquiring an estimated value of the LVEDP by performing machine learning using at least a part of the estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time”. However, the element does not amount to a practical application or significantly more because the element is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Additionally the element is well-understood, routine and conventional as evidenced by US 2020/0121221 A1 (Hendricks) which discloses, in ¶ [0106], “Methods of generating a machine learning model will be well known to the skilled person. Typically, this comprises obtaining training data comprising example input data (here: accumulated amount) and example output data (here: risk level), generating estimated output data by processing the example input data with a machine learning model (e.g. initialized with random parameter values) and modifying the machine learning model to minimize the difference between the estimated output data and the example output data.”
Claim 14 recites “a sensor configured to detect the blood flow”. Claim 15 recites “an inflation portion configured to compress the at least one location”. However, the elements do not amount to a practical application or significantly more because the element is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, the element is well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, US 2013/0023777 A1 (Tokko) discloses a conventional electronic sphygmomanometer includes detecting a pulse produced by an artery with a pressure sensor via the cuff in a process of gradually reducing the cuff pressure (¶ [0002]).
In view of the above, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 12, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0265163 A1 (Marmor) (cited by Applicant).
With regards to claims 1, 16, and 20, Marmor teaches an arterial-pressure estimation apparatus (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0113] depict a device 150 for the noninvasive determination of ventricular pressure and related values; ¶ [0085] discloses generation of an ascending arterial pressure waveform), method (¶ [0129] discloses algorithms to control and monitor device 100, sonic sensor 110, and blood-flow sensor 130 and displaying an arterial wave with relevant data points; Figs. 3-4 depict methods for non-invasively determining ventricular pressure and related values), and non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to execute a process (¶ [0129] discloses a processing unit 120 including processing components, memory components and other components related to processing) comprising: a control unit (¶ [0129] discloses a processing unit 120 including processing components, memory components and other components related to processing) configured to: acquire sensor data indicating, as a blood flow timing, a timing at which a blood flow generated at one or more locations of a blood vessel downstream of an aorta is detected for each heartbeat when the one or more locations is compressed while a pressure is gradually reduced (¶¶ [0075]-[0076], [0085] depict a determining a time delay between opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles (e.g., a time delay between an R wave on an electrocardiogram and a brachial pulse) during gradual deflation of a pressure cuff, which indicates that the blood-flow breakthrough times are acquired); record a value of the pressure corresponding to each blood flow timing (¶¶ [0078]-[0079] depict iteratively determining pressure values with respect to time to create a portion of a waveform graph, e.g., a portion of the graph in Fig. 1; ¶ [0085] discloses plotting a plurality of cuff pressure measurements against corresponding time delays between the opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles; ¶ [0188] and Fig. 7 depict plotting points corresponding to the disclosure of Fig. 1); correct the value of the pressure corresponding to the blood flow timing included in an inspiration period of a respiration cycle (¶¶ [0059], [0091] discloses graph 10 is normalized such that systole, as defined in some instances, begins at origin 30, and origin 30 coincides with LVEDP. ¶¶ [0188]-[0193] disclose the determination of a delay (i.e., the normalization) for arriving at a pressure curve. ¶¶ [0188], [0210] discloses measuring, for example, twenty heart strokes or measuring over the course of twenty seconds – wherein the twenty heart strokes or twenty seconds necessarily includes data points that include an inspiration period); and estimate a change in an arterial pressure over time by referring to the acquired sensor data and the recorded and corrected value of the pressure (¶ [0193] depicts a new function can be determined that may accurately reflect the pressure curve at the aorta wherein the new polynomial has points corrected from the empirical value to account for a known delay, wherein the new function amounts to the change in the arterial pressure over time).
With regards to claim 6, Marmor further teaches the sensor data includes data indicating, as a cardiac output timing, a timing at which a cardiac output is detected for each heartbeat (¶¶ [0075]-[0076], [0085] depict a determining a time delay between opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles (e.g., a time delay between an R wave on an electrocardiogram and a brachial pulse) during gradual deflation of a pressure cuff, which indicates that a timing of the opening of the aortic valve is detected); and the control unit is configured to estimate the change in the arterial pressure over time according to a time difference between the cardiac output timing and the blood flow timing indicated by the sensor data and the recorded and corrected value of the pressure corresponding to each blood flow timing (¶ [0085] discloses plotting a plurality of cuff pressure measurements against corresponding time delays between the opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles; ¶ [0188] and Fig. 7 depict plotting points corresponding to the disclosure of Fig. 1; ¶ [0193] depicts a new function can be determined that may accurately reflect the pressure curve at the aorta wherein the new polynomial has points corrected from the empirical value to account for a known delay, wherein the new function amounts to the change in the arterial pressure over time).
With regards to claim 7, Marmor further teaches the control unit is configured to estimate a left ventricular end-diastolic pressure (LVEDP) based on an estimation result of the estimated change in the arterial pressure over time (¶ [0194] discloses that LVEDP can be derived from this new function; see ¶¶ [0194]-[0209]).
With regards to claim 8, Marmor further teaches the control unit is configured to: estimate an arterial pressure waveform as the change in the arterial pressure over time (¶¶ [0193]-[0194] discloses the new function is an isovolumetric pressure curve of the aorta); estimate a left ventricular pressure waveform according to the estimated arterial pressure waveform (¶ [0199] discloses an end diastolic pressure being a function having a waveform); and acquire an estimated value of the LVEDP based on the estimated left ventricular pressure waveform (¶ [0209] discloses calculation of LVEDP based on the EDP waveform).
With regards to claim 11, Marmor further teaches control unit is configured to present an estimated value of the LVEDP to a user (¶ [0032] discloses an output for outputting data derived from the polynomial function describing blood pressure at the aorta; ¶ [0135] discloses displaying data and/or output from device 150; ¶¶ [0193]-[0194] discloses deriving LVEDP from the polynomial).
With regards to claim 12, Marmor further teaches control unit is configured to estimate a parameter related to intracardiac hemodynamics based on an estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time. (¶¶ [0055]-[0058] discloses the determination of isovolumetric contraction time (IVCT) which is the period of left ventricular mural tension in addition to the period of rising cavitary pressure within the left ventricle; ¶ [0062] discloses calculation of IVCT based on the temporal points of Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0200]-[0205] depict calculation of IVCT).
With regards to claim 14, Marmor further teaches an arterial-pressure estimation system comprising: the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 1 (see the above analysis regarding claim 1); and a sensor configured to detect the blood flow (¶¶ [0079]-[0080] teaches a stethoscope, other listening device, doppler devices, may be used to determine the first brachial artery flow past the deflating cuff).
With regards to claim 15, Marmor further teaches an inflation portion configured to compress the at least one location (¶¶ [0079]-[0080] depict a deflating pressure cuff or sphygmomanometer arm cuff).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0265163 A1 (Marmor) (cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 2016/0220195 A1 (Abu-Tarif) and in view of US 11,504,013 B1 (Young)
With regards to claim 4, Marmor teaches the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 1. See the above rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102. Marmor further teaches that the sensor data includes data indicating, as the blood flow timing, a timing at which the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat (¶¶ [0075]-[0076], [0085] of Chen depict a determining a time delay between opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles (e.g., a time delay between an R wave on an electrocardiogram and a brachial pulse) during gradual deflation of a pressure cuff, which indicates that the blood-flow breakthrough times are acquired).
Marmor is silent regarding whether the one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times; and the control unit is configured to match a timing at which the pressure starts to be reduced with the respiration cycle.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring blood pressure, Abu-Tarif teaches one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ [0021]-[0023] disclose varying a deflation rate (steps 226-228) based on HR as determined in block 208 or 224; ¶¶ [0018]-[0019] depict determination of HR based on pressure pulse signals for a number of cardiac pulses). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression of the one or more locations of Marmor to incorporate that it is performed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times as taught by Abu-Tarif. The motivation would have been to optimize the speed and accuracy of the determination of blood pressure (¶ [0010] of Abu-Tarif).
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring blood pressure, Young teaches a control unit is configured to match a timing at which the pressure starts to be reduced with the respiration cycle (Col. 13, lines 19-31 disclose pressure ramp on the cuff can be controlled such that blood pressure measurements are taken only during a certain period (e.g., inhalation period), thereby enhancing the blood pressure measurement). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure reduction of the above combination of Marmor in view of Abu-Tarif to occur during a certain period of the respiration cycle as taught by Young. The motivation would have been to enhance pressure measurement (Col. 13, lines 19-31 of Young).
With regards to claim 5, Marmor teaches the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 1. See the above rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102. Marmor further teaches that the sensor data includes data indicating, as the blood flow timing, a timing at which the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat (¶¶ [0075]-[0076], [0085] of Chen depict a determining a time delay between opening of the aortic valve and the sensed blood-flow breakthrough from multiple cardiac cycles (e.g., a time delay between an R wave on an electrocardiogram and a brachial pulse) during gradual deflation of a pressure cuff, which indicates that the blood-flow breakthrough times are acquired).
Chen is silent regarding whether the one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times; and the control unit is configured to match a timing at which the pressure starts to be reduced with the respiration cycle.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring blood pressure, Abu-Tarif teaches one or more locations is compressed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time and the pressure is reduced at a constant rate after a heartbeat at which the blood flow is detected, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ [0021]-[0023] disclose varying a deflation rate (steps 226-228) based on HR as determined in block 208 or 224; ¶ [0022] indicates that making the deflation rate is constant if the determined HR is constant; ¶¶ [0018]-[0019] depict determination of HR based on pressure pulse signals for a number of cardiac pulses). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression of the one or more locations of Marmor to incorporate that it is performed multiple times while the pressure is reduced at different rates each time and the pressure is reduced at a constant rate after a heartbeat at which the blood flow is detected, and the blood flow is detected for each heartbeat in each of the multiple times as taught by Abu-Tarif. The motivation would have been to optimize the speed and accuracy of the determination of blood pressure (¶ [0010] of Abu-Tarif).
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring blood pressure, Young teaches a control unit is configured to perform control to match a timing at which the pressure starts to be reduced with the respiration cycle (Col. 13, lines 19-31 disclose pressure ramp on the cuff can be controlled such that blood pressure measurements are taken only during a certain period (e.g., inhalation period), thereby enhancing the blood pressure measurement). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure reduction of the above combination of Marmor in view of Abu-Tarif to occur during a certain period of the respiration cycle as taught by Young. The motivation would have been to enhance pressure measurement (Col. 13, lines 19-31 of Young).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0265163 A1 (Marmor) (cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 7 above, in view of US 10,729,337 B2 (Liu)
With regards to claim 9, Marmor teaches the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 7. See the above rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. §102. Marmor is silent regarding whether the control unit is configured to input the estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time to a trained model and acquires an estimated value of the LVEDP from the trained model.
In the same field of endeavor of determining blood pressure measurements, Liu teaches inputting an estimation result of a change in the arterial pressure over time to a trained model and acquires an estimated value of the LVEDP from the trained model (Col. 2, lines 1-18 depict determination of LVEDP from a machine learning model based on a plurality of signals including at least one signal correlated with left ventricular blood pressure and at least one signal correlated with timing of heartbeat cycles of said subject’s heart; Col. 6, lines 22-31 depict the at least one signal correlated with left ventricular blood pressure corresponds to peripheral artery blood pressure). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the determination of LVEDP of Marmor to incorporate inputting an estimation result of a change in the arterial pressure over time to a trained model and acquires an estimated value of the LVEDP as taught by Liu. Because both the models of Marmor and Liu are capable of determining LVEDP, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 10, Marmor teaches the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 7. See the above rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. §102. Marmor is silent regarding whether the control unit is configured to generate a trained model for acquiring an estimated value of the LVEDP by performing machine learning using at least a part of the estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time.
In the same field of endeavor of determining blood pressure measurements, Liu teaches generating a trained model for acquiring an estimated value of the LVEDP by performing machine learning using at least a part of the estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time (Col. 2, lines 1-18 depict determination of LVEDP from a trained machine learning model based on a plurality of signals including at least one signal correlated with left ventricular blood pressure and at least one signal correlated with timing of heartbeat cycles of said subject’s heart; Col. 6, lines 22-31 depict the at least one signal correlated with left ventricular blood pressure corresponds to peripheral artery blood pressure). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the determination of LVEDP of Marmor to incorporate that it uses a trained model for acquiring an estimated value of the LVEDP, the train model generated by performing machine learning using at least a part of the estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time as taught by Liu. Because both the models of Marmor and Liu are capable of determining LVEDP, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0265163 A1 (Marmor) (cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 12 above, in view of US 10,729,337 B2 (Liu)
With regards to claim 13, Marmor teaches the arterial-pressure estimation apparatus according to claim 12. See the above rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. §102. Marmor is silent regarding whether the parameter includes a pulmonary artery pressure or a pulmonary wedge pressure.
In the same field of endeavor of determining blood pressure measurements, Liu teaches estimating a parameter related to intracardiac hemodynamics based on an estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time, wherein the parameter includes a pulmonary artery pressure or a pulmonary wedge pressure (Col. 2, lines 1-18 depict determination of pulmonary capillary wedge pressure (PCWP) from a trained machine learning model based on a plurality of signals including at least one signal correlated with left ventricular blood pressure and at least one signal correlated with timing of heartbeat cycles of said subject’s heart; Col. 6, lines 22-31 depict determination PCWP of based on an artery blood pressure). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marmor to incorporate estimating a parameter related to intracardiac hemodynamics based on an estimation result of the change in the arterial pressure over time, wherein the parameter includes a pulmonary artery pressure or a pulmonary wedge pressure as taught by Marmor. The motivation would have been to provide a more complete diagnostic analysis of the patient.
No prior art rejections of claims 2-3 and 17-19
Claims 2-3 and 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claims 2 and 17, the prior art does not teach or suggest “perform weighting according to an elapsed time in the inspiration period of the respiratory cycle to correct the value of the pressure corresponding to the blood flow timing included in the inspiration period”.
There are no prior art rejections of claims 3, 18, and 19 by virtue of their dependence from claims 2 and 17, respectively.
US 2015/0245772 A1 (Kawamoto)(cited by applicant) teaches obtain the parameters of the respiratory variation on the waveform of artery and the venous pressure at once based on the applied pressure and the pulse wave components overlapping with the applied pressure in one-time blood pressure measurement (¶ [0008]). However, Kawamoto does not teach or suggest a weighting according to an elapsed time in the inspiration period of the respiratory cycle to correct the value of the pressure corresponding to the blood flow timing included in the inspiration period.
US 2016/02133332 A1 (Ukawa)(cited by applicant) teaches measuring a respiration-induced blood pressure fluctuation (¶ [0003]) and the respiration-induced blood pressure fluctuation is calculated by measuring the difference, between the expiratory and inspiratory phases, of the cuff pressure at which a Korotkoff sound begins to be heard (¶ [0006]). However, Ukawa does not teach or suggest a weighting according to an elapsed time in the inspiration period of the respiratory cycle to correct the value of the pressure corresponding to the blood flow timing included in the inspiration period.
US 2016/0073905 A (Murai) teaches reducing the influence of respiratory variation of blood pressure by estimating a breathing period BP (combination of one inhalation and one exhalation) corresponding to the breathing cycle from changes in blood pressure, and determining averages of blood pressure values of consecutive breathing periods (¶ [0045]). However, Murai does not teach or suggest a weighting according to an elapsed time in the inspiration period of the respiratory cycle to correct the value of the pressure corresponding to the blood flow timing included in the inspiration period.
Conclusion
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791