DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. US 20210046972 A1 in view of Isoh DE 102010000397 A.
Regarding independent claim 1, Fujita et al. discloses [a steering control system 1 comprising a plurality of control circuits 51, 52 configured to control a reaction force motor 103] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0027) and [a turning motor 11 in coordination with one another,] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0027) [the reaction force motor generating a steering reaction force applied to a steering wheel from which power transmission to turning wheels of a vehicle is cut off,] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0019) [the turning motor generating a turning force for turning the turning wheels.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0029)
Fujita et al. does not disclose wherein when at least one control circuit among the control circuits that are operating normally is reset, the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute a process for stopping travel of the vehicle upon restarting after completion of the reset.
Isoh teaches [wherein when at least one control circuit among the control circuits that are operating normally is reset, the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute a process for stopping travel of the vehicle upon restarting after completion of the reset.] (Page 5, lines 26-39; Isoh discloses monitoring a control device to determine whether it is operating normally and executing restart control when the control device is not in a normal operating state, wherein the restart control is performed from a vehicle-stopped condition. Thus, teaching a restart-related safety process that ensures vehicle travel is stopped when control is resumed after an abnormal condition, corresponding to the claimed limitation for stopping travel of the vehicle upon restarting after completion of a reset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the reset-related stop process of Isoh with the steering control system of Fujita et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the dual-motor and control system to safely handle a control circuit reset without risking vehicle travel, thus improving the safety and reliability of the steering system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains the limitation wherein: the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute, upon restarting after completion of the reset, a process for stopping driving of the reaction force motor or the turning motor that is a control target of the at least one control circuit that is reset; and a control circuit of the control circuits that is operating normally without being reset is configured to execute, in synchronization with the at least one control circuit that is reset, a process for stopping driving of the turning motor or the reaction force motor that is a control target of the control circuit that is operating normally without being reset. The closest prior art, Fujita et al. US 20210046972 A1, discloses the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute, upon restarting after completion of the reset, a process for stopping driving, but does not disclose the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute, upon restarting after completion of the reset, a process for stopping driving of the reaction force motor or the turning motor that is a control target of the at least one control circuit that is reset; and a control circuit of the control circuits that is operating normally without being reset is configured to execute, in synchronization with the at least one control circuit that is reset, a process for stopping driving of the turning motor or the reaction force motor that is a control target of the control circuit that is operating normally without being reset.
Claim 5 contains the limitation wherein: the reaction force motor has dual-system winding sets that are a winding set of a first system and a winding set of a second system; the turning motor has dual-system winding sets that are a winding set of the first system and a winding set of the second system; the plurality of control circuits includes dual-system reaction force control circuits that are a reaction force control circuit of the first system and a reaction force control circuit of the second system, the reaction force control circuit of the first system controlling power supply to the winding set of the first system included in the reaction force motor, the reaction force control circuit of the second system controlling power supply to the winding set of the second system included in the reaction force motor, and dual-system turning control circuits that are a turning control circuit of the first system and a turning control circuit of the second system, the turning control circuit of the first system controlling power supply to the winding set of the first system included in the turning motor, the turning control circuit of the second system controlling power supply to the winding set of the second system of the turning motor; each of the plurality of control circuits is configured to have, as a driving mode of the reaction force motor and the turning motor, a single-system driving mode in which the reaction force motor and the turning motor are controlled by only the reaction force control circuit and the turning control circuit of one of the first system and the second system; and in a case where the driving mode is the single-system driving mode, the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute the process when the at least one control circuit among the control circuits that are operating normally is reset. The closest prior art, Fujita et al. US 20210046972 A1 and Akutsu US 20200102007 A1, discloses wherein: the reaction force motor has dual-system winding sets that are a winding set of a first system and a winding set of a second system; the turning motor has dual-system winding sets that are a winding set of the first system and a winding set of the second system; the plurality of control circuits includes dual-system reaction force control circuits that are a reaction force control circuit of the first system and a reaction force control circuit of the second system, the reaction force control circuit of the first system controlling power supply to the winding set of the first system included in the reaction force motor, the reaction force control circuit of the second system controlling power supply to the winding set of the second system included in the reaction force motor, and dual-system turning control circuits that are a turning control circuit of the first system and a turning control circuit of the second system, the turning control circuit of the first system controlling power supply to the winding set of the first system included in the turning motor, the turning control circuit of the second system controlling power supply to the winding set of the second system of the turning motor; each of the plurality of control circuits is configured to have, as a driving mode of the reaction force motor and the turning motor, but does not disclose a single-system driving mode in which the reaction force motor and the turning motor are controlled by only the reaction force control circuit and the turning control circuit of one of the first system and the second system; and in a case where the driving mode is the single-system driving mode, the at least one control circuit that is reset is configured to execute the process when the at least one control circuit among the control circuits that are operating normally is reset.
Claim 7 contains the limitation wherein: the control circuit of which a control target is the turning motor is configured to control the turning motor such that the turning wheels turn according to an amount of rotating operation of the steering wheel; the control circuit of which a control target is the reaction force motor is configured to execute a specified preparation process at start-up; and the preparation process includes: a midpoint learning process of learning a steering neutral position of the steering wheel by making the steering wheel rotate automatically through driving of the reaction force motor; and a steering angle synchronization process of correcting a rotational position of the steering wheel such that the rotational position of the steering wheel becomes a rotational position that corresponds to a turning position of the turning wheels. The closest prior art, Fujita et al. US 20210046972 A1, discloses wherein: the control circuit of which a control target is the turning motor is configured to control the turning motor such that the turning wheels turn according to an amount of rotating operation of the steering wheel, but does not disclose the control circuit of which a control target is the reaction force motor is configured to execute a specified preparation process at start-up; and the preparation process includes: a midpoint learning process of learning a steering neutral position of the steering wheel by making the steering wheel rotate automatically through driving of the reaction force motor; and a steering angle synchronization process of correcting a rotational position of the steering wheel such that the rotational position of the steering wheel becomes a rotational position that corresponds to a turning position of the turning wheels.
Claim 8 contains the limitation wherein: each of the control circuits is configured to store information indicating whether control was stopped as a vehicle power source was turned off; and at start-up, each of the control circuits is configured to determine that the control circuit has not been reset when the information indicating that control was stopped as the vehicle power source was turned off is stored, and determine that the control circuit has been reset when the information indicating that control was stopped as the vehicle power source was turned off is not stored. The closest prior art, Isoh DE 102010000397 A, discloses a controller that execute restart of an engine when the main controller is not in a normal operating state, but does not disclose wherein: each of the control circuits is configured to store information indicating whether control was stopped as a vehicle power source was turned off; and at start-up, each of the control circuits is configured to determine that the control circuit has not been reset when the information indicating that control was stopped as the vehicle power source was turned off is stored, and determine that the control circuit has been reset when the information indicating that control was stopped as the vehicle power source was turned off is not stored.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akutsu US 20200102007 A1 – comprises an electric power steering apparatus having independent turning mechanisms for respective four wheels of a vehicle, has a problem in that, when a turning motor fails, a turning mechanism for a corresponding wheel stop functioning, resulting in reduction in the maneuverability and the stability of the vehicle. Turning motors of turning mechanisms independently disposed for respective four wheels of a vehicle, each have a redundant configuration. Specifically, each turning motor is configured as three-phase duplexing motors having two three-phase windings and two inverters for separately driving the three-phase windings.
Yao et al. US 20040236487 A1– comprises a method for initial synchronization of steering wheel and a road wheel in a steer-by-wire system of a vehicle when the system is first powered. The method includes providing a steering wheel control system and a road wheel control system. The method further includes sensing relative angles and the absolute angles of the steering wheel, road wheel, and right road wheel. The method further includes generating an augmented steering wheel angle, an augmented left road wheel angle, and an augmented right road wheel angle based on the relative angle and initial value of the absolute angles of the steering wheel and road wheels. The method further includes using the augmented steering wheel angle as a feedback signal to the steering wheel control system and the augmented left and right road wheel angles feedback signals to the road wheels control system. The method further includes controlling the steering wheel and the road wheels to perform initial synchronization of the steering wheel and the road wheels, thereby allowing the vehicle to be operable during the initial synchronization.
Yoshikawa US 20190263444 A1 – comprises a steering control device capable of suitably handling a temporary drop in a supply voltage of a vehicle is provided. An ECU includes a microcomputer, a pre-driver, and an inverter. The microcomputer generates a command signal for the pre-driver. Upon being initialized by the microcomputer, the pre-driver becomes operable to generate a drive signal for the inverter based on the command signal. The inverter converts direct current power supplied from a battery into alternating current power for a motor by operating based on the drive signal. When a drop in a voltage of the battery is detected, the pre-driver transmits an abnormal-condition detection signal to the microcomputer and stops operating by resetting a state of the pre-driver to an initial state where the pre-driver is not initialized yet. When the abnormal-condition detection signal is received, the microcomputer re-initializes the pre-driver.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611