Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 3/2/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20180211979 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display device (at least Fig.1 and 6) comprising: a first substrate (50 to 105) comprising pixel circuit units ([0076]); a plurality of light-emitting elements (135 and DA) on the first substrate; wavelength conversion layers (340R/G/B) above the plurality of light-emitting elements; partition walls (110 and 130) filling gaps between the light-emitting elements and spaced between the wavelength conversion layers, wherein a first width of a first portion of a partition wall of the partition walls between the light-emitting elements is greater than a second width of a second portion of the partition wall (372,[0098]) between the wavelength conversion layers.
Lee teaches a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers (340R/G/B) remains substantially ([0100] in Lee) same (see the arrows that show the deviation from the width as claimed)
along a thickness direction of the first substrate, but does not teach: a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains same.
However, it is well known in the art to use either a slightly inclined sides or a perfectly vertical sides of a wavelength conversion layer such that the width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains same along a thickness direction of the first substrate and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the same width along the thickness direction of the first substrate, for the wavelength conversion layer of Lee in order to save space.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches a display device; wherein the partition wall comprises an organic insulating material ([0070).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches a display device; further comprising: a plurality of pixel electrodes on the pixel circuit units; and connecting electrodes between the pixel electrodes and the light-emitting elements (125 and 145, [0136]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches a display device; further comprising: a light-blocking member (362 in [0102]) on the partition wall; and color filters on the wavelength conversion layers.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches a display device, further comprising first reflective layers on sides of each of the light-emitting elements ([0013], [0066], [0121]); and second reflective layers on sides of each of the wavelength conversion layers ([0102]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches a display device, wherein: first surfaces of the second reflective layers 362 are in contact with the sides of each of the wavelength conversion layers (although the light filtering layer 350 is in between the wavelength conversion layer and the reflective layer 362, the light filtering layer is an optional layer, as known in the art); and second surfaces of the second reflective layers 362 are in contact with the partition wall 372.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a display device, wherein: the wavelength conversion layers are longer than the light-emitting elements in a vertical direction perpendicular to a thickness direction; but does not teach the display device further comprises third reflective layers at bottoms of parts of the wavelength conversion layers, the third reflective layer not overlapping with the light-emitting elements.
However, since Lee teaches multiple elements surrounding the light emitting elements that have reflective surfaces and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the location of the reflective element, to the third reflective layers at bottoms of parts of the wavelength conversion layers, the third reflective layer not overlapping with the light-emitting elements, by routine experimentation in order to enhance light.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a display device, wherein: the light-emitting elements comprise first, second, and third light-emitting elements configured to emit first light, second light, and third light, respectively ([0091], [0080]); and the wavelength conversion layers comprise a base resin ([0111]) and a scatterer ([0112], [0100]) configured to scatter light.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a display device, wherein: the light-emitting elements comprise first, second, and third light-emitting elements configured to emit first light, second light, and third light ([0091]), respectively, and are located in first, second, and third emission areas, respectively; and the wavelength conversion layers comprise a light-transmitting pattern ([0098]) in the first emission area and comprise a first base resin and a first scatterer configured to scatter light, a first wavelength conversion pattern in the second emission area and comprising a second base resin, a second scatterer configured to scatter light, and first wavelength conversion particles configured to convert the first light to the second light, and a second wavelength conversion pattern in the third emission area and comprising a third base resin, a third scatterer configured to scatter light, and second wavelength conversion particles configured to convert the first light to the third light (also see rejection in claim 13 above).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choe (US 20200381484 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the invention set forth in claim 4 above, but is silent regarding lenses on the light-emitting elements in the spaces to condense light.
Choe teaches a display device wherein lenses LP ([0102]) are formed on the light-emitting elements (DP-EDL in [0089],[0105]) in the spaces to condense light ([0117] and [0119]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use lens array, as disclosed in Choe, in the device of Lee in order to control the traveling direction.
Regarding claim 6, Choe does not explicitly teach lenses on the color filters to condense light. However, Choe already teaches lens arrange facing the light emitting layer, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the location of the lens from top of the light emitting layer, to the top of the color filter, since the provision of changing of location of the lenses, from the teachings of Choe, to a location of a color filter, involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Jeon (US 20220115564 A1 cited previously) and further in view of Kwak (US 20200212267 A1 cited previously)
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the invention set forth in claim 3 above, but does not teach: a first insulating layer on parts of the first substrate where the pixel electrodes are not located; and a second insulating layer on sides of each of the light-emitting elements, and parts of the first insulating layer where the light-emitting elements are located, wherein the second insulating layer includes openings on the top surfaces of the light-emitting elements.
Jeon teaches display device (Fig.3,5, 12 or 13), further comprising: a first insulating layer (section
of INS as shown above) on parts of the first substrate where the pixel electrodes PXE (see in Choi: The pixel electrodes PXE may be disposed on the insulating layer ISO) are not located; and a second insulating layer (vertical section of INS surrounding the light emitting device LDC1, shown in Drawing above) on sides of each of the light-emitting elements (see in Jeon: since each of the light emitting diode devices LDC is a vertical light emitting diode device), and parts of the first insulating layer where the light-emitting elements are located, wherein the second insulating layer includes openings on the top surfaces of the light-emitting elements and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the insulating layer as disclosed in Jeon, in the device of Lee, in order to keep the electrodes insulated from one another.
Lee in view of Jeon does not teach the second insulating layer on a top surface of the light emitting elements, and sides of each of the connecting electrodes.
Kwak teaches connecting electrodes 131 (Fig.3M) wrapping around the light emitting element 150 ([0052]) wherein an insulating layer (171 and 172) is formed on a top surface of the light emitting elements ([0091]: For example, the first reflector 171 may be formed of an insulating material containing fine particles for reflection of light; [0095] The second reflector 172 may be formed by stacking dielectric layers having different refractive indexes) and sides of each of the connecting electrodes (horizontal portion 131) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the insulating and connecting electrode layers as disclosed in Kwak, in the device of Lee in view of Jeon, in order to provide reflection by using the insulating layers.
Regarding claim 11 Lee in view of Jeon and Kwak) teaches a display device, further comprising: a common electrode (CE, last line of [0103]) on the second insulating layer (171 and 172 of Kwak) and electrically connected to the light-emitting elements through the openings.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Park (US 20200075814 A1, herein after Park,cited previously)
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the invention set forth in claim 1, but does not teach a width of the partition wall between the light-emitting elements is less than or equal to a width of the light-emitting elements.
Park teaches a display device (Fig.3); a width of the partition wall PDL ([0087]) between the light-emitting elements is less than or equal to a width of the light-emitting elements (LD, [0088]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the dimensions, as disclosed in Park, in the device of Lee, in order to reliably connect to the electrodes.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee
in view of Chen (US 20240072018 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the invention set forth in claim 1, but does not teach each of the light-emitting elements comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer on the active layer.
Chen teaches a display device (Fig.5 and 6), wherein each of the light-emitting elements comprises a first semiconductor layer S1, an active layer A1 on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer S2 ([0025],[0049],[0050]) on the active layer and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the layers as disclosed in Chen, in the device of Lee, in order to improve luminous efficiency.
Other art
Cited previously: WO 2022050771 A1; US 20220199682 A1; KR 20220049065 A; US 20220130922 A1
US 20210376192 A1/US 20220068973 A1-insulator; US 20210367104 A1
US 20220165816 A1; CN 113841246 A
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 3/2/26 is acknowledged, however, they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875