Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Fan (US 20210151702 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches a display device (Fig.2-4) comprising: a first substrate 1 comprising pixel circuit units ([0029], circuits that drive the sub-pixels 10); a plurality of light-emitting elements 10 on the first substrate; wavelength conversion layers 20 ([0031]) above the plurality of light-emitting elements; partition walls (31,32) filling gaps between the light-emitting elements and spaced between the wavelength conversion layers, wherein a first width of a first portion 32 of a partition wall of the partition walls between the light-emitting elements 10 is greater than a second width of a second portion 31 of the partition wall between the wavelength conversion layers, the first portion of the partition wall being integral with the corresponding second portion of the partition wall (as 31 and 32 are attached together without any in between layers), and wherein a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains same along a thickness direction of the first substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamura (US 20160372528 A1) in view of Fan (US 20210151702 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kamura teaches a display device (at least Fig.22,2B) comprising: a first substrate 21 comprising pixel circuit units 22; a plurality of light-emitting elements (45-47) on the first substrate; wavelength conversion layers (152,142,[0197]) above the plurality of light-emitting elements; partition walls (bank 48 or 13 in other figures) filling gaps between the light-emitting elements and spaced between the wavelength conversion layers, wherein a first width of a first portion of a partition wall of the partition walls between the light-emitting elements is greater than a second width of a second portion of the partition wall between the wavelength conversion layers, the first portion of the partition wall being integral with the corresponding second portion of the partition wall.
Regarding a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains same along a thickness direction of the first substrate, Kamura teaches a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers (142,152 in Fig.22) remains substantially the same (also see in Fig.2B) and Kamura teaches multiple shapes for the bank layer/partitions walls, one of which, that is Fig.4B/2B, has a top portion that faces the wavelength conversion layer on the sides, to be almost vertical but does not teach: a width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains completely same.
However, it is well known in the art to use either a slightly inclined sides or a perfectly vertical sides of a wavelength conversion layer such that the width of a wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion layers remains same along a thickness direction of the first substrate, and this feature is disclosed in Fan (see shape of wavelength conversion layers 20) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the same width along the thickness direction of the first substrate, as disclosed in Fan, for the wavelength conversion layer of Kamura in order to save space and ease of manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device; wherein the partition wall comprises an organic insulating material ([0137] of Kamura).
Regarding claim 3, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device; further comprising: a plurality of pixel electrodes 45 ([0412] in Kamura) on the pixel circuit units; and connecting electrodes (cathodes 47 in Kamura and [0412]) between the pixel electrodes and the light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 4, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device; further comprising: a light-blocking member (10 in [0120] in Kamura) on the partition wall; and color filters ([0197] and throughout Kamura) on the wavelength conversion layers.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches a display device, further comprising first reflective layers (lower side of 10) on sides of each of the light-emitting elements (surface of 10 in Kamura and [0175]); and second reflective layers (upper side of 10 in Kamura) on sides of each of the wavelength conversion layers.
Regarding claim 8, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device, wherein: first surfaces of the second reflective layers are in contact with the sides of each of the wavelength conversion layers and second surfaces of the second reflective layers are in contact with the partition wall (see portions of 10 in Kamura).
Regarding claim 9, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device, wherein: the wavelength conversion layers (142,152 in Fig.22 of Kamura) are longer than the light-emitting elements (45-47 of Kamura) in a vertical direction perpendicular to a thickness direction; but does not teach the display device further comprises third reflective layers at bottoms of parts of the wavelength conversion layers, the third reflective layer not overlapping with the light-emitting elements.
However, since Kamura in view of Fan teaches multiple elements surrounding the light emitting elements that have reflective surfaces and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the location of the reflective element, to the third reflective layers at bottoms of parts of the wavelength conversion layers, the third reflective layer not overlapping with the light-emitting elements, by routine experimentation in order to enhance light.
Regarding claim 13, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device, wherein: the light-emitting elements comprise first, second, and third light-emitting elements configured to emit first light, second light, and third light, respectively ([0003]-[0005] in Kamura); and the wavelength conversion layers comprise a base resin ([0182] in Kamura) and a scatterer ([0162] in Kamura) configured to scatter light.
Regarding claim 14, Kamura in view of Fan teaches a display device, wherein: the light-emitting elements comprise first, second, and third light-emitting elements configured to emit first light, second light, and third light (three sub-pixels in Kamura and Fan), respectively, and are located in first, second, and third emission areas, respectively; and the wavelength conversion layers comprise a light-transmitting pattern (162 in Kamura) in the first emission area and comprise a first base resin and a first scatterer configured to scatter light, a first wavelength conversion pattern 152 in the second emission area and comprising a second base resin, a second scatterer configured to scatter light, and first wavelength conversion particles configured to convert the first light to the second light, and a second wavelength conversion pattern 142 in the third emission area and comprising a third base resin, a third scatterer configured to scatter light, and second wavelength conversion particles configured to convert the first light to the third light (since Kamura already teaches scatterer in light transmissive layer 162, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the light scatterers in the other wavelength conversion layers in order to spread output light).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamura in view of Fan in view of Choe (US 20200381484 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 5, Kamura in view of Fan teaches the invention set forth in claim 4 above, but is silent regarding lenses on the light-emitting elements in the spaces to condense light.
Choe teaches a display device wherein lenses LP ([0102]) are formed on the light-emitting elements (DP-EDL in [0089],[0105]) in the spaces to condense light ([0117] and [0119]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use lens array, as disclosed in Choe, in the device of Kamura in view of Fan in order to control the traveling direction.
Regarding claim 6, Kamura in view of Fan does not explicitly teach lenses on the color filters to condense light. However, Choe already teaches lens arrange facing the light emitting layer, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the location of the lens from top of the light emitting layer, to the top of the color filter, since the provision of changing of location of the lenses, from the teachings of Choe, to a location of a color filter, involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamura in view of Fan and further in view of Jeon (US 20220115564 A1 cited previously) and Kwak (US 20200212267 A1 cited previously)
Regarding claim 10, Kamura in view of Fan teaches the invention set forth in claim 3 above, but does not teach: a first insulating layer on parts of the first substrate where the pixel electrodes are not located; and a second insulating layer on sides of each of the light-emitting elements, and parts of the first insulating layer where the light-emitting elements are located, wherein the second insulating layer includes openings on the top surfaces of the light-emitting elements.
Jeon teaches display device (Fig.3,5, 12 or 13), further comprising: a first insulating layer (section
of INS as shown above) on parts of the first substrate where the pixel electrodes PXE on sides of each of the light-emitting elements (see in Jeon: since each of the light emitting diode devices LDC is a vertical light emitting diode device), and parts of the first insulating layer where the light-emitting elements are located, wherein the second insulating layer includes openings on the top surfaces of the light-emitting elements and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the insulating layer as disclosed in Jeon, in the device of Kamura in view of Fan, in order to keep the electrodes insulated from one another.
Kamura in view of Fan and Jeon does not teach the second insulating layer on a top surface of the light emitting elements, and sides of each of the connecting electrodes.
Kwak teaches connecting electrodes 131 (Fig.3M) wrapping around the light emitting element 150 ([0052]) wherein an insulating layer (171 and 172) is formed on a top surface of the light emitting elements ([0091]: For example, the first reflector 171 may be formed of an insulating material containing fine particles for reflection of light; [0095] The second reflector 172 may be formed by stacking dielectric layers having different refractive indexes) and sides of each of the connecting electrodes (horizontal portion 131) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the insulating and connecting electrode layers as disclosed in Kwak, in the device of Kamura in view of Fan and Jeon, in order to provide reflection by using the insulating layers.
Regarding claim 11 Kamura in view of Fan, Jeon and Kwak teaches a display device, further comprising: a common electrode (CE, last line of [0103]) on the second insulating layer (171 and 172 of Kwak) and electrically connected to the light-emitting elements through the openings.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamura in view of Fan and further in view of Park (US 20200075814 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 12, Kamura in view of Fan teaches the invention set forth in claim 1, but does not teach a width of the partition wall between the light-emitting elements is less than or equal to a width of the light-emitting elements.
Park teaches a display device (Fig.3); a width of the partition wall PDL ([0087]) between the light-emitting elements is less than or equal to a width of the light-emitting elements (LD, [0088]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the dimensions, as disclosed in Park, in the device of Kamura in view of Fan, in order to reliably connect to the electrodes.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamura in view of Fan and further in view of Chen (US 20240072018 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 15, Kamura in view of Fan teaches the invention set forth in claim 1, but does not teach each of the light-emitting elements comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer on the active layer.
Chen teaches a display device (Fig.5 and 6), wherein each of the light-emitting elements comprises a first semiconductor layer S1, an active layer A1 on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer S2 ([0025],[0049],[0050]) on the active layer and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the layers as disclosed in Chen, in the device of Kamura in view of Fan, in order to improve luminous efficiency.
Other art
Fig.6 of US 20230232509 A1 teaches the limitations of claim 1.
US 20030011302 A1, US 20220139999 A1
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 8/19/26 is acknowledged, however, they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875