Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 12, filed 09 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 4-8, 10-11, 13, 15, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gronheid et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2014/0231968 A1), hereinafter Gronheid; Claims 2-3, 12, 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gronheid et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2014/0231968 A1), hereinafter Gronheid; utilizing Nakagawa et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2020/0004144 A1), hereinafter Nakagawa as a teaching reference; Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gronheid et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2014/0231968 A1), hereinafter Gronheid; Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gronheid et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2014/0231968 A1), hereinafter Gronheid, in view of Brink et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2016/0244581 A1), hereinafter Brink; have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments made, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hansen et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2022/016128 A1), hereinafter Hansen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansen et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2022/016128 A1), hereinafter Hansen.
6. Regarding Claims 1-16 and 19-20, Hansen teaches (Claim 35, Fig. 2A & 2B) a forming a multilayer molecular film photoresist including plurality of molecular lines extending upwards above a substrate arranged in the horizontal direction. Hansen teaches (Claim 35, Fig. 2A & 2B) wherein each of the molecular lines includes a plurality of inorganic single molecules and an organic single molecule sandwiched between at least some of the inorganic single molecules. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0138], Fig. 3B) these single molecules are connected by bonds. Hansen teaches (Claim 46) exposing a portion of the multilayer molecular film photoresist to radiation. Hansen teaches (Claim 47) developing the exposed multilayer molecular film photoresist to form a multilayer molecular film photoresist pattern. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0138], Fig. 3B) Van der Waals interaction occurs between the organic single molecules in horizontally adjacent molecular lines among the molecular lines and the van der Waals interaction is a van der Waals interaction between the alkylene groups. That said, Gronheid teaches (Paragraphs [0087-0102]) organic single molecules are ethylene glycol in working experimental examples and ethylene glycol comprises a linear alkylene group. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0138], Fig. 3B) each of the organic single molecules has a linear alkylene group, and the van der Waals interaction is a π-π bond between the alkylene groups, therein diacetylene. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0138], Fig. 3B) wherein each of the organic single molecules has a linear alkylene group. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0138], Fig. 3B) wherein, within each of the molecular lines, the inorganic single molecules and the organic single molecules are alternately stacked. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0037]) wherein the inorganic single molecule is an organometallic single molecule containing tin, bismuth, tellurium, cesium antimony, indium, molybdenum, hafnium, iodine, zirconium, iron, cobalt, nickel, copper, zinc, silver, platinum, or lead as a central metal. Hansen teaches (Claim 17) wherein some of identical inorganic single molecules among the inorganic single molecules provided in the molecular lines are located at the same level to form an inorganic monomolecular layer in the horizontal direction, and wherein some of identical organic single molecules among the organic single molecules provided in the molecular lines are located at the same level to form an organic monomolecular layer in the horizontal direction. Hansen teaches (Claim 17) the multilayer molecular film photoresist includes at least one layer of a light-absorbing layer including a light-absorbing inorganic single molecule, a photoreactive layer including a photoreactive inorganic single molecule, and an etch-resistant layer including an etch-resistant inorganic single molecule. Hansen teaches (Claim 17) wherein the light-absorbing inorganic single molecule is an inorganic single molecule having a metal element having a d orbital. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0037]) wherein the photoreactive inorganic molecule has a metal element of tin, antimony, tellurium, or bismuth. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0037]) wherein the etch-resistant inorganic single molecule has a metal element of hafnium, zinc, or lead. Hansen teaches (Claim 37) the multilayer molecular film photoresist is a photoresist for EUV. Hansen teaches (Claim 35, Fig. 2A & 2B) a forming a multilayer molecular film photoresist including plurality of molecular lines extending upwards above a substrate arranged in the horizontal direction. Hansen teaches (Claim 46) exposing a portion of the multilayer molecular film photoresist to radiation. Hansen teaches (Claim 47) developing the exposed multilayer molecular film photoresist to form a multilayer molecular film photoresist pattern. Hansen teaches (Fig. 3B) wherein each of the molecular lines has a portion represented by Formula 1 of the present application. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0198]) wherein the organic single molecule is represented by Formula 3 of the present application. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0198]) wherein the organic single molecule is represented by Formula 2 of the present application. Hansen teaches (Paragraph [0198]) wherein both of na and nb Formula 2 of the present application are 0.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737