DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on March 3, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Acknowledgments
Applicant’s amendments filed on March 3, 2026, in the response to the office action mailed on December 3, 2025 is acknowledged. The present office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this office action are claims 1-21. Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 13, 15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR .1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0226366) in view Yu (US 2018/0226349).
With respect to Claim 1, Kim shows (Fig. 1) most aspects of the current invention including an electronic device comprising:
a first redistribution structure (20)
a first electronic component (1 left) on a first side (upper side) of the first redistribution structure;
a first passive component (2b left) with a first side of the first passive component coupled to a second side (bottom side) of the first redistribution structure, wherein the first redistribution structure is between the first passive component and the first electronic component;
a first internal interconnect (48) adjacent a lateral side of the first electronic component and coupled to the first redistribution structure
a second internal interconnect (54) adjacent a lateral side of the first passive component and coupled to the first redistribution structure
an antenna substrate (M2) over a first side of the first electronic component
Furthermore, although Kim discloses connectional terminals (60) over a second side of the first electronic component and connected to a bottom end of the second internal interconnect (54) to electrically and physically connect the electronic device to a main board which the electronic device is mounted, Kim fails to explicitly show a second redistribution structure coupled to a side of the first passive component facing away from the first redistribution structure.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches (Fig 10) an electronic device comprising a first redistribution structure (114), a first electronic component (104A) on a first side (upper side) of the first redistribution structure, a first passive component (118) with a first side of the first passive component coupled to a second side (bottom side) of the first redistribution structure, wherein the first redistribution structure is between the first passive component and the first electronic component, and further comprising a second redistribution structure (132) coupled to a side (bottom side) of the first passive component facing away from the first redistribution structure. Yu teaches the wherein the second redistribution structure may be used to fan out electrical connections from the integrated circuit dies and/or the passive device (par 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second redistribution structure coupled to a side of the first passive component facing away from the first redistribution structure, in the device of Kim, as taught by Yu because the second redistribution structure may be used to fan out electrical connections from the integrated circuit dies and/or the passive device.
With respect to Claim 3, Kim shows (Fig. 1) further comprising a second passive component (2b right) adjacent the first passive component, wherein the first redistribution structure is between the second passive component and the first electronic component.
With respect to Claim 5, Yu teaches (Fig 10) wherein the first passive component is between the first redistribution structure and the second redistribution structure. Also, see comments stated above in Par. 7-9 with regards to Claim 1, which are considered repeated here
With respect to Claim 8, Yu teaches (Fig 10) further comprising an active side of the first electronic component (104A) coupled to the second redistribution structure.
With respect to Claim 9, Kim shows (Fig. 1) further comprising an active side of the first electronic component coupled to the first redistribution structure.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Yu and in further view of Wu (US 2023/0402398).
With respect to Claim 10, Kim in view Yu shows most aspects of the current invention. Further Kim shows (Fig. 1) comprising a second electronic component (1 right) with a lateral side of the second electronic component facing towards the first internal interconnect. However, the combination of references do not show further comprising wherein the first internal interconnect is between the first electronic component and the second electronic component.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches (Fig 2D,2H) an electronic device comprising a first electronic component (20 left) on a first side of a first redistribution structure (25), a first internal interconnect (24 middle) adjacent a lateral side of the first electronic component redistribution structure and coupled to the first redistribution structure, further comprising a second electronic component (20 right) with a lateral side of the second electronic component facing towards the first internal interconnect (24 middle), wherein the first internal interconnect is between the first electronic component (20 left) and the second electronic component (20 right).
Wu teaches using the internal interconnect as a shielding body disposed between the electronic elements, thus to more effectively protect the electronic elements from being affected by electromagnetic interference, so that the reliability of the product becomes better (par 28,47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first internal interconnect is between the first electronic component and the second electronic component in the device Kim in view Yu, as taught by Wu because the internal interconnect acts as a shielding body disposed between the electronic elements, thus to more effectively protect the electronic elements from being affected by electromagnetic interference, so that the reliability of the product becomes better.
With respect to Claim 11, Kim shows (Fig. 1), further comprising a first encapsulant (L1) disposed around the first internal interconnect, the first electronic component, and the second electronic component. Furthermore, Wu teaches (Fig 2D,2H) a first encapsulant (23) disposed around the first internal interconnect, the first electronic component, and the second electronic component.
With respect to Claim 12, Kim shows (Fig. 1), further comprising a second encapsulant (52) disposed around the second internal interconnect and the first passive component, wherein the first redistribution structure (20) is between the first encapsulant and the second encapsulant.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Yu and in further view of Chiang (US 2018/0166405).
With respect to Claim 21, Kim in view Yu shows most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the antenna substrate comprises an antenna pattern covered by a dielectric.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chiang teaches (Fig 1J) an electronic device comprising a first redistribution structure (126), a first electronic component (118A) on a first side (upper side) of the first redistribution structure, an antenna substrate (108) over a first side of the first electronic component, wherein the antenna substrate comprises an antenna pattern (104) covered by a dielectric (108/102). Chiang teaches the dielectric serves as a protection layer that surrounds the antenna elements, and protects the antenna elements (par 20,28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the antenna substrate comprises an antenna pattern covered by a dielectric in the device Kim in view Yu, as taught by Chiang because the dielectric serves as a protection layer that surrounds the antenna elements, and protects the antenna elements.
Claims 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2018/0226349) in view of Chiang (US 2018/0166405).
With respect to Claim 14, Yu shows (Fig 1-10) most aspects of the current invention including a method of making an electronic device comprising:
providing a first substrate (132)
providing a first internal interconnect (116) over the first substrate
providing a first passive component (118) over the first substrate and adjacent a lateral side of the first internal interconnect, wherein a first side of the first passive component is coupled to the first substrate
providing a second substrate (114) over the first passive component and the first internal interconnect, wherein the second substrate comprises a redistribution structure (114) coupled to a second side of the first passive component opposite the first side of the first passive component
providing an electronic component (104A) over the second substrate
However, Yu does not show providing a second internal interconnect adjacent a lateral side of the electronic component, providing a third substrate over the electronic component and the second internal interconnect, wherein the third substrate comprises an antenna pattern covered by a dielectric.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chiang teaches (Fig 1J) an electronic device comprising a first redistribution structure (126), a first electronic component (118A) on a first side (upper side) of the first redistribution structure, providing an internal interconnect (114) adjacent a lateral side of the electronic component, and further providing a second substrate (108) over the electronic component and the second internal interconnect, wherein the second substrate comprises an antenna pattern (104) covered by a dielectric (108/102). Chiang teaches the dielectric serves as a protection layer that surrounds the antenna elements, and protects the antenna elements (par 20,28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate providing a second internal interconnect adjacent a lateral side of the electronic component, providing a third substrate over the electronic component and the second internal interconnect, wherein the third substrate comprises an antenna pattern covered by a dielectric, in the device Yu, as taught by Chiang because the dielectric serves as a protection layer that surrounds the antenna elements, and protects the antenna elements.
With respect to Claim 16, Yu shows (Fig 1-10) further comprising providing a first encapsulant (130) over the first substrate and around the first passive component and the first internal interconnect.
With respect to Claim 17, Yu shows (Fig 1-10) further comprising providing a second encapsulant (124) over the second substrate and around the electronic component. Furthermore, Chiang teaches (Fig 1J) further comprising providing a second encapsulant (124) over the substrate and around the electronic component and the second internal interconnect. Also, see comments stated above in Par. 30-31 with regards to Claim 14, which are considered repeated here.
With respect to Claim 18, Chiang teaches (Fig 1J) wherein providing the third substrate further comprises patterning a conductive layer to form the antenna pattern. Also, see comments stated above in Par. 30-31 with regards to Claim 14, which are considered repeated here.
With respect to Claim 19, Chiang teaches (Fig 1J) wherein the electronic device may further comprise a second passive component adjacent the first passive component. Also, see comments stated above in Par. 30-31 with regards to Claim 14, which are considered repeated here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection provided above which is applied to all matters specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Q.A.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814