RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Amendments to the claims, filed 08/13/2026, have been entered in the above identified application.
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
Claim 20 is withdrawn due to applicant’s election.
WITHDRAWN OBJECTIONS/REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §112 rejection of the claim 4, 9 and 16 made of record in the office action mailed on 05/20/2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed 08/13/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an end cap, configured to cover the opening" and "the battery is configured to
provide electrical energy" in claims 1 and 18 respectively. in claims 1 and 18 respectively.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
REJECTIONS
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narbonne et al. (US PG Pub. 20210218095)
Regarding claim 1, Narbonne et al. discloses a battery cell (electrochemical cell),
comprising: a housing (container, ref. 2, figure 1a), on which an opening is made (para.
0008); an end cap (closure part, ref. 3, figure 1a), configured to cover the opening
(abstract) and be seamed (crimped, figure 1a, para 0056) to the housing. Narbonne et al. discloses the end cap comprises an end cap body (figure 1a) and a first hem portion formed around the end cap body, a second hem portion is formed at the opening of the housing, and the first hem portion is connected to the second hem portion (figure 1a-1b, examiner figure A) and an electrode terminal (outer planar surface, ref. 5a, 5b or 5c, figure 1a-1b, para. 0027), disposed on the end cap, wherein a reinforcing portion is disposed on the end cap (inner planar surfaces, ref. 4a, 4b, 4c, figure 1a, para. 0056), and a projection of the electrode terminal on the end cap does not overlap the reinforcing portion (figure 1a-1b). Narbonne discloses the reinforcing portion is located between the electrode terminal and the first hem portion along a radial direction of the end cap (figure 1a-1b).
Examiner figure A
Regarding claim 2, Narbonne et al. discloses a second hem portion is formed at the opening of the housing, and the first hem portion is connected to the second hem portion (figure 1a-1b, examiner figure A); and both the electrode terminal and the reinforcing portion are disposed on the end cap body, (figure 1a-1b).
Regarding claim 4, Narbonne et al. discloses the housing comprises a housing body (ref. 10, figure 1a) and a second hem portion, and the second hem portion is connected to the housing body (figure 1a-1b, examiner figure A); and the first hem portion and the second hem portion do not go beyond an outer surface of the housing body along a radial direction of the housing (figure 1a-1b).
Regarding claim 5, Narbonne et al. discloses the housing further comprises a transition portion (figure 1a-1b, examiner figure A), the second hem portion is connected to the housing body by the transition portion (figure 1a-1b and examiner figure A), the transition portion extends into the housing from the housing body toward the end cap along the radial direction of the housing, the second hem portion is curled outward from the housing, and the first hem portion wraps the second hem portion (figure 1a-1b, examiner figure A).
Regarding claim 6, Narbonne et al. discloses the reinforcing portion (inner planar surfaces, ref. 4a, 4b, 4c, figure 1a) extends along the radial direction of the end cap (closure part, ref. 3, figure 1a) .
Regarding claim 7, Narbonne et al. discloses the reinforcing portion is plural in number, and the plurality of reinforcing portions (4a, 4b, 4c, figure 1a-1b, para. 0056)are distributed at intervals along a circumference of the end cap (figure 1a-2b).
Regarding claim 8, Narbonne et al. discloses the reinforcing portion (inner planar surfaces, ref. 4a, 4b, 4c, figure 1a) extends along a circumference of the end cap and is disposed around the electrode terminal (figure 1a -2b, para. 0056).
Claims 3, 10, 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narbonne (US PG Pub. 20210218095 A1) in view of Yamato (CN 112335100, for purpose of prior art discussion refer to US PG Pub. 2021/0265689).
Narbonne et al. is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 3, Narbonne et al. fails to disclose a sealing element disposed between first hem portion and the second hem portion.
Yamato et al. discloses, a battery cell (ref. 100, figure 1), comprising of a housing (can, ref.10, figure 1), on which an opening is made (para.001, figure 1), an end cap (sealing plate, ref. 20, figure 1), configured to cover the opening (para. 0041, figure 1) and be seamed to the housing (para. 010), and an electrode terminal (ref. 30, figure 1), disposed on the end cap (figure 1, para. 0044). Yamato et al. further discloses a sealing element disposed between the first hem portion and the second hem portion to hermetically connect the end cap and the housing (para. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to dispose a sealing element between first hem portion and the second hem portion seaming of Narbonne et al. as taught by Yamato et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a sealing element to enhance the airtightness of the seaming part of end cover and the housing.
Regarding claim 10, Yamato et al. discloses the second wall and the first wall close in to form an accommodation cavity (figure 1 para. 0041), and an electrode lead-out hole is made on the first wall; and a part of the electrode terminal is located in the accommodation cavity (figure 1), and another part of the electrode terminal is threaded out through the electrode lead-out hole (figure 1, para. 0044).
Regarding claim 12, Yamato et al. discloses an insulator (ref. 40, figure 1), disposed between the electrode terminal (ref. 30, figure 1) and the end cap (ref. 20, figure 1) to insulate the electrode terminal from the end cap (para. 0044).
Regarding claim 18, Yamato et al. discloses electrical device (portable devices, hybrid vehicles etc., para. 0085) comprising: an electrical device body; and a battery; wherein the battery comprises the battery cell and the battery is configured to provide electrical energy to the electrical device body (para. 0085).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Narbonne discloses the end cap comprises an end cap body and a first hem portion, and the first hem portion is formed around the end cap body, a reinforcing portion is disposed on the end cap, and the reinforcing portion is located between the electrode terminal and the first hem portion along a radial direction of the end cap.
Narbonne fails to discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell.
Yamato et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell, comprising: providing a housing, wherein an opening is made on the housing; providing an end cap and an electrode terminal disposed on the end cap (figure 1, para. 0044, 0068-0069), covering the opening with the end cap (figure 1, para. 0050-0051, 0064-0070),and seaming the end cap to the housing (4A-4F, para. 0052-0061). Yamato further discloses such a manufacturing method improves the airtightness and the impact resistance of the sealing part of the battery having a double seaming structure (para. 0013, 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to manufacture the battery cell of Narbonne as taught by Yamato. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the manufacturing method of Yamato to improve the airtightness and the impact resistance of the battery.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narbonne et
al. (US PG Pub. 20210218095 A1) in view of Yamato et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0265689) as applied to claims 1-8,10,12,18, and 19 above, and further in view of
Tan et al. (CN 212182376 for purpose of prior art discussion refer to attached translation).
Narbonne et al. and Yamato et al. are relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 9, Narbonne et al. discloses the end cap body comprises a first wall, a second wall, and a third wall (figure 1b and examiner figure A); the second wall touches the first wall; the second wall extends from an edge of the first wall into the housing along an axial direction of the housing; the third wall touches the second wall; the third wall extends along a radial direction of the housing from an end of the second wall, the end being away from the first wall; the third wall is connected to the second wall and the first hem portion; the electrode terminal is disposed on the first wall (figure 1b and examiner figure A).
Narbonne et al. fails to disclose the reinforcing portion is disposed on the third wall.
Tan et al. discloses a battery safety cap having an end cap (top cover ref. 2, figure 2) which has several reinforcing portion (ribs, ref. 4, figure 1- 2) along the radial direction.
The combination of Narbonne et al. and Tan et al. disclose the reinforcing portion is disposed on the third wall of the end cap body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify end cap body of Narbonne et al reinforcing portion is disposed on the third wall as taught by Tan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to dispose the reinforcing portion on the third wall of end cap body to provide rupture resistant safety cap for lithium batteries.
Claims 11, 13, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narbonne et al. (US PG Pub. 20210218095 A1) in view of Yamato et
al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0265689) as applied to claim1-8,10,12,18 above, and
further in view of Kitaoka et al. (US PG Pub. 2016/0293929 A1).
Narbonne et al. and Yamato et al. are relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 11, Yamato et al. discloses the electrode terminal (ref. 30, figure 1) comprises a terminal body (ref. 51, figure 1), a second flange (head portion, ref. 52, figure 1), the terminal body is threaded through the electrode lead-out hole (figure 1, para. 0044); the second flange is located on an outer side of the first wall (figure 1);
The combination of Narbonne et al. and Yamato et al. fails to disclose a first flange, the first flange and the second flange protrude beyond an outer peripheral surface of the terminal body, the first flange is located on an inner side of the first wall, first flange is at least partly accommodated in the accommodation cavity and the first flange and the second flange jointly restrict the electrode terminal from moving along the axial direction of the housing.
Kitaoka et al. discloses a battery cell comprising of a housing (prismatic outer body, ref.1, figure 2, para. 0013) that has an opening and that houses the electrode body, an end cap (sealing plate, ref. 2, figure 2) that seals the opening (para. 0060), an electrode terminal (ref. 7, figure 2). Kitaoka et al. further discloses the electrode terminal has second flange (ref. 7a figure 2) and a first flange (insert portion, ref. 7b. figure 2 para. 0078) and the second flange protrude beyond the outer peripheral surface of the terminal body (figure 2). Kitaoka et al. further discloses first flange is at least partly accommodated in the accommodation cavity (figures 2-3) and the first flange and the second flange jointly restrict the electrode terminal from moving along the axial direction of the housing (para. 0078).
The combination of Yamato et al., Narbonne et al. and Kitaoka et al. disclose the first flange is located on an inner side of the first wall of the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify electrode terminal of Yamato et al. with a first flange as taught by Kitaoka et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a first flange to the electrode terminal of Yamato et al. to provide a high-capacity secondary battery having a high-volume energy density.
Regarding claim 13, Kitaoka et al. discloses the insulator comprises a first part (gasket, ref. 11. Figure 3, 18, and examiner figure B) and a second part (gasket, ref. 11, figure 3, 18, and examiner figure B); and the first part is disposed between the second flange and the first wall (figure 2, examiner figure B), and the second part extends from the first part along the axial direction of the housing and wraps an outer peripheral surface of the second flange (figure 2, examiner figure B). Kitaoka et al. further discloses the gasket (ref. 11, figure 2) and insulating member (ref. 10, figure 2) are preferably composed of an insulating resin member (para. 0063)
Examiner figure B
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Yamato et al. and Kitaoka et al. discloses an end of the second part, away from the first part, goes beyond the first hem portion along the axial direction of the housing (figure 2, examiner figure B).
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above Kitaoka et al. discloses the insulator comprises a first part and a second part; and the first part is disposed between the second flange and the first wall. Kitaoka et al. further discloses the second part extends from the first part along the axial direction of the housing and wraps an outer peripheral surface of the second wall (figure 2, examiner figure B).
Regarding claim 16, Yamato et al. discloses an insulating member (ref. 40, figure 1) is disposed on the end cap (lid portion, ref. 21. Figure 1).
Narbonne et al. and Yamato et al. fails to disclose the disclose an end of the second part, away from the first part, in the axial direction of the housing abuts on the reinforcing portion.
The combination of Narbonne et al. and Yamato et al., and Kitaoka et al. disclose an end of the second part, away from the first part, in the axial direction of the housing would abuts on the reinforcing portion.
Regarding claim 17, Kitaoka et al. discloses the insulator comprises a third part and a fourth part, the third part is disposed between the outer peripheral surface of the terminal body (figure 2 and examiner figure B) and a hole wall of the electrode lead-out hole, (para. 0078) and the fourth part (insulating member, ref. 10, figure 2) is disposed between the first wall and the first flange and located in the accommodation cavity (figure 2 and examiner figure B).
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed on 08/13/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. §112b rejections of record have been considered but are moot since the rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding applicants argument “reinforcing portion is located on the end cap, not that it forms part of the end cap” on page 9 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 as presented does not require the reinforcing portion to be a component separate from the end cap. The limitation merely recites that a “reinforcing portion is disposed on the end cap”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation this language encompasses a reinforcing portion formed integrally with or as a portion of the end cap.
Regarding applicants’ argument both the electrode terminal and the reinforcing portions are disposed on the end cap” on page 10 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 as presented does not require the electrode terminal and reinforcing portion to be a components separate from the end cap. The limitation merely recites that a “the electrode terminal and the reinforcing portion is disposed on the end cap”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation this language encompasses an electrode terminal and reinforcing portion formed integrally with or as a portion of the end cap.
Regarding applicants argument “Narbonne does not disclose the reinforcing portion is located between the electrode terminal and the first hem portion along a radial direction of the end cap” have been considered but they are not persuasive. Along the radial direction reinforcing portion (figure 1a-1b) 4c is positioned between electrode terminal 5c and peripheral portion (ref. 9, figure 1a-1c, examiner figure A) thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788
09/16/2026
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788