DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/19/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that a serious examination burden may exist where a different field of search is required. In the instant case, an examination burden exists because the claims of each invention are independent from each other and would require a separate examination for non-prior art issues as well as prior art issues such as differing broadest reasonable interpretations. Claims 1-9 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0376451 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4, Ono et al. teach a film obtained by photocuring a photocurable inkjet ink composition, which correspond to the coating composition (abstract), wherein the composition comprises a compound B represented by the formulas below ([0041],[0060])(which correspond to the first monomer), a (meth) acrylate monomer E [0078] (which correspond to the second monomer), a photopolymerization initiator (claim 4), a surfactant ([0044], claim 1) and a solvent ([0044], claim 5).
wherein X is an oxygen atom and R18 and R19 are selected from the following groups:
wherein R20 is a divalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbons, R21 is a hydrogen or a methyl group ([0060]- [0062]), thereby reading on the first monomer represented by chemical formulas 1 or 2, as required by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Ono et al. teach the compound B represented by
[0060], wherein R18 is
, wherein R20 is a divalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbons, R21 is a hydrogen or a methyl group ([0060]-[0062]), thereby reading on the first monomer represented by chemical formula 1, as required by the instant claim. This disclosure of the claimed subject matter is sufficiently specific to constitute anticipation under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claim 5, Ono et al. teach the composition comprises a (meth)acrylate monomer (E) for adjusting viscosity [0044], wherein specific examples of the (meth)acrylate monomer (E) are tricyclodecanedimethanol di(meth)acrylate, 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol di(meth)acrylate [0081], thereby reading on a diol diacrylate as the second monomer. Although Ono et al. listed as one possible selection out of many acrylate monomers, the MPEP 2131.02 teaches: II. A REFERENCE THAT CLEARLY NAMES THE CLAIMED SPECIES ANTICIPATES THE CLAIM NO MATTER HOW MANY OTHER SPECIES ARE NAMED. A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). Therefore, the above claim is anticipated.
Regarding claim 7, Ono et al. teach the composition comprises 50-75 wt.% of solvent relative to the total composition [0077], as required by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Ono et al. are silent on the surface tension of the composition. However, in view of the substantially identical composition of Ono et al., it is reasonable to infer that the composition of Ono et al. would possess the recited surface tension because surface tension is an inherent property.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0376451 A1).
Ono et al. teach the composition according to claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 6, Ono et al. teach the composition comprises 1-60 wt.% of the first monomer (compound B) [0065], 1- 60 wt.% of the second monomer (methacrylate monomer E) [0083], 1-10 wt.% of the photoinitiator [0072], 50-75 wt.% of solvent [0077], 0.1-1 wt.% of surfactant, relative to the total weight of the composition. Thus, by examiner’s calculation the solid content of the composition per 100 wt.%, excluding the solvent is approximately 2-95.8 wt.% of first monomer, 2-95.8 wt.% of second monomer, 2- 82.6 wt.% of the photoinitiator and 0.2-25 wt.% of surfactant.
Ono et al. and the claims differ in that Ono et al. do not teach the exact claimed ranges for the first monomer, second monomer, photoinitiator and surfactant as recited in the instant claims. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the ranges taught by Ono et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Ono et al. teach the viscosity of the composition is in a range of 2-25 mPa.s (cps), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Ono et al. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/OLGA LUCIA DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1763