DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 3/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palanchon (US 2013/0244077 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Palanchon discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of layers of battery cell groups 102(i) stacked in a first direction (vertical direction of Figure 1), wherein each layer comprises a plurality of cells 106 arranged in an array (paragraph 50); a plurality of thermal management components 110/210 provided between adjacent two layers of battery cell groups 102(i) in the same vertical direction (see Figure 1); wherein the thermal management components 110/210 can contain thermal transfer fluid (paragraph 54), the thermal management components 110/210 considered a plurality for containing multiple components 216(i) joined in a second direction perpendicular to the stack (paragraph 68 and Figure 15).
Regarding claim 2, Palanchon discloses that the components 216(i) are connected via connecting portions (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 3, Palanchon discloses that the thickness of the connecting portion is smaller than the thickness of other parts of the thermal management component in the first direction, such that there is a gap between the connecting portion and the battery cell, and the gap is configured to get out of the way of connection position between an end cover and a side wall of the battery cell (see Figure 23).
Regarding claim 5, Palanchon discloses that one of the two connected connecting portions is provided with a first step structure, and the other is provided with a second step structure, the first step structure and the second step structure are provided opposite to each other in the first direction, and overlap each other to form a plane (see Figure 23).
Regarding claim 6, Palanchon discloses one of the two connected connecting portions is provided with a protrusion in the second direction, and the other is provided with an groove in the second direction, the protrusion is provided corresponding to the groove, and the protrusion is accommodated in the groove to achieve the connection of the two connecting portions (claim 50).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Palanchon discloses that the connecting portion is provided with a reinforcing rib 324/326 protruding towards the battery cell and that the reinforcing rib is accommodated in space formed by the end cover and an electrode terminal of the battery cell (see Figure 23).
Regarding claim 9, Palanchon discloses that a surface shape of the thermal management component matches a surface shape of the battery cell (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 10, Palanchon discloses that the plurality of the battery cells of the battery cell group are bonded to the thermal management component in the first direction (paragraph 105).
Regarding claim 12, Palanchon discloses that the battery is configured to supply electrical energy to the power consumption apparatus (paragraph 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanchon as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of German (US 2009/0301700 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Palanchon does not disclose welds. German—in an invention for battery arrays with heat exchanger plates—discloses the use of welding to join the heat exchanger plates for its low error rate, production of heat exchanger tube bundles with virtually no leakage, and its rapidity (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to weld the components of Palanchon together for the advantages described in German.
Regarding claim 11, Palanchon does not disclose an insulating layer. German discloses utilizing plastic for its heat exchanger plate materials for their electrically insulating properties, low weight, and long-term durability (paragraph 51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize electrically insulating materials in Palanchon for their advantages properties as discussed in German.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725