Detailed Action
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the initial office action based on the application filed on July 11th, 2023, which claim 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application, of which claims 1, 16 and 19 are in independent form and these claims (1-20) are subject to following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) set forth in the following Office Action below.
Examiner Notes
3. (A). Priority: In order to receive foreign priority Applicant(s) must provide a certified copy of the foreign application showing the actual filing date of said foreign application in the indicated foreign country. In regards to the current application no certified copy of priority document has been received by the US PTO (herein after office). The priority date has been considered for the current prosecution is July 12th, 2022, which is earlier than claimed foreign priority. Accordingly, effective filing date that has been considered for this application is July 12th, 2022.
(B). Examiner has cited particular columns with line numbers, and/or paragraph numbers, references, or figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
(C). Claimed limitations are provided with the Bold fonts in the art rejection in order to distinguish from the cited portion.
While responding to the rejections Applicants are suggested to consider the applied arts of record by their entirety, not a single specific feature which may represents less than the entirety of the prior art as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In the instant application, claim 1 recites limitation i.e. "the instances run in a distributed system" in line 8, and in claim 9 “the states of the functions” in line 4. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim. Each limitations in the claim must be precise, coherently linked and adequately provided with pretext in order to determine the definiteness of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Instant claim limitation does not provide a minimum background for “the instances run in a distributed system” and “stores the states of the functions”. All the claims 2-15 depend from claim 1; and therefore, cannot obviate these deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 2-15 are also rejected for same reasons.
Therefore, the applicant is suggested to make appropriate amendment to the claims to present clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appeared in said claims; however, no new matter should be introduced.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
6. Claims 1-3, 5, 11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2013/0212554 A1 herein after Maeda) in view of Oren Winter (US 2010/0064284 A1 herein after Winter).
Per claim 1:
Maeda discloses:
A system including a processor and a memory for providing a decentralized software development environment for function-based executable applications (At least see ¶[0018] -a system for solving ordinary differential equations described in a graphical model with nodes as blocks and dependencies as links that uses the processing of a computer with a plurality of processors) comprising:
a serverless environment core including a user interface providing a plurality of representations of building-block functions configured to be linked as dependencies to form a function-based executable application (At least see ¶[0016] -generating segments of blocks with or without duplication for each block with an internal and for each block without any output by traversing the graphical model from each block with an internal state to each block …converting each segment from the merged results into an executable code).
Maeda sufficiently discloses the invention as set forth above, but Maeda does not explicitly disclose: wherein the building-block functions are provided as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage and the instances run in a distributed system.
However, Winter discloses:
wherein the building-block functions are provided as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage and the instances run in a distributed system (At least see ¶[0003] - dependency finder module monitors the operation of the loader module and identifies any binary files needed to run the one or more software applications being loaded that are missing from the embedded computing device. The dependency finder module determines the location of the identified binary files on one or more file storage devices and obtains the identified binary files from the one or more file storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 2:
Maeda discloses:
wherein the user interface provides visual building tools configured for user configuration and interconnection via the user interface, wherein the plurality of representations of building-block functions are configured to be linked as dependencies by the visual building tools (At least see ¶[0011] -a simulation program can be created by arranging functional blocks on a screen using a graphical interface, and the processing flow is indicated by connecting the function blocks to each other using arrows).
Per claim 3:
Winter also discloses:
wherein the environment core includes core primitive functions providing the visual building tools which are provided as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core when required, wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage (At least see ¶[0014] - file storage devices 106, 108 are storage devices that are accessible through a network, also see ¶[0022] - obtaining files, it is often more efficient to obtain a software component that contains the file rather than obtaining each file separately. Often a software component may include more than one needed file, making the processes of obtaining files more efficient. To this end, the example dependency finder module 304 may map each needed binary file into a software component that contains the binary file).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 5:
Winter also discloses:
wherein the environment core includes internal functions provided as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core when required by the environment, wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage and wherein internal processes of the environment core are provided by executable applications generated using the environment (At least see ¶[0020] - one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, also see ¶[0027] - loading of a software application is initiated on an embedded computing device during runtime. At operation 404, one or more binary files that are needed to load the software application are identified and located on the embedded computing device).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 11:
Winter also discloses:
wherein the building-block functions of the function-based executable application are called, compiled, instantiated and run as needed during runtime, and wherein dependent building-block functions of the building-block functions are called, compiled, instantiated and run as needed during runtime (At least see ¶[0027] - At operation 402, the loading of a software application is initiated on an embedded computing device during runtime. At operation 404, one or more binary files that are needed to load the software application are identified and located on the embedded computing device; also see ¶[0028] - a particular dynamic link library component is being requested, a file storage device may determine that an additional component such as Internet Explorer needs to be added to the embedded computer device. In this example, Internet Explorer is provided by the file storage device in addition to the mapped software components).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 16:
Maeda discloses:
A computer-implemented method of providing a software development environment for function-based executable applications (At least see ¶[0006] - method for solving ordinary differential equations is described in a graphical model with nodes as blocks and dependencies as links) comprising:
providing a serverless environment core including a user interface providing a plurality of representations of building-block functions configured to be linked as dependencies to form a function-based executable application (At least see ¶[0016] -generating segments of blocks with or without duplication for each block with an internal and for each block without any output by traversing the graphical model from each block with an internal state to each block …converting each segment from the merged results into an executable code).
Maeda sufficiently discloses the invention as set forth above, but Maeda does not explicitly disclose: providing the building-block functions as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage.
However, Winter discloses:
providing the building-block functions as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage (At least see ¶[0003] - dependency finder module monitors the operation of the loader module and identifies any binary files needed to run the one or more software applications being loaded that are missing from the embedded computing device. The dependency finder module determines the location of the identified binary files on one or more file storage devices and obtains the identified binary files from the one or more file storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 17:
Maeda discloses:
wherein the user interface provides visual building tools configured for user configuration and interconnection via the user interface, wherein the plurality of representations of building-block functions are configured to be linked as dependencies by the visual building tools, and wherein the method includes receiving user manipulation of the visual building tools to link representations of the building-block functions to build a function-based executable application (At least see ¶[0011] -a simulation program can be created by arranging functional blocks on a screen using a graphical interface, and the processing flow is indicated by connecting the function blocks to each other using arrows; also see ¶[0043] -block diagram code 204 created by the operator using a simulation modeling tool 202 is stored in hard disk drive 116. As shown in FIG. 3, block diagram code 204 is written in graphic format in which blocks with functions are treated as nodes, and dependencies are treated as links. Preferably, the dependencies are written in a format such as XML, also see ¶[0016] -in a graphical model with nodes as blocks and dependencies as links that uses the processing of a computer with a plurality of processors).
Per claim 18:
Winter also discloses:
generating a function-based executable application using the environment by linking required template files; and, running the function-based executable application using the environment by instantiating the required template files from decentralized storage locations and converting the template files into running parts linked together to form the application (At least see ¶[0014] - file storage devices 106, 108 are storage devices that are accessible through a network, also see ¶[0022] - obtaining files, it is often more efficient to obtain a software component that contains the file rather than obtaining each file separately. Often a software component may include more than one needed file, making the processes of obtaining files more efficient. To this end, the example dependency finder module 304 may map each needed binary file into a software component that contains the binary file).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
Per claim 19:
Winter also discloses:
calling the building-block functions as remote template files in decentralized storage that are compiled unless they are precompiled, linked, instantiated and run and dependent building-block functions of the building-block functions are called, compiled unless they are precompiled, linked, instantiated and run, as needed during runtime, wherein the remote template files are retrieved from decentralized storage and run in a distributed system with nodes provided on multiple computing devices (At least see ¶[0020] - one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed. These binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load. The one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading. The needed binary files may include library files, for example dynamic link library files, executable files, etc. The loader module 302 operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module 304 to identify and obtain the needed binary files).
Per claim 20:
Maeda discloses:
A computer program product for providing a software development environment for function-based executable applications comprising a computer-readable medium having stored computer-readable program code (At least see ¶[0017] - a non-transitory article of manufacture is provided which tangibly embodies the processing of a computer with a plurality of processors which when implemented, causes a computer to perform the steps of the method for solving ordinary differential equations in a graphical model with nodes as blocks and dependencies as links)for performing the steps of:
providing a serverless environment core including a user interface providing a plurality of representations of building-block functions configured to be linked as dependencies to form a function-based executable application (At least see ¶[0016] -generating segments of blocks with or without duplication for each block with an internal and for each block without any output by traversing the graphical model from each block with an internal state to each block …converting each segment from the merged results into an executable code).
Maeda sufficiently discloses the invention as set forth above, but Maeda does not explicitly disclose: providing the building-block functions as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage.
However, Winter discloses:
providing the building-block functions as remote template files called and instantiated by the environment core as required when the executable application is run and wherein the template files are provided in decentralized storage (At least see ¶[0003] - dependency finder module monitors the operation of the loader module and identifies any binary files needed to run the one or more software applications being loaded that are missing from the embedded computing device. The dependency finder module determines the location of the identified binary files on one or more file storage devices and obtains the identified binary files from the one or more file storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Winter into Maeda’s invention because Winter would provide enhance capability to Maeda when one or more binary files needed to load the software application that are not included in the subset of operating system components installed; and therefore, binary files need to be identified and obtained before the software application can load, and one or more binary files that are needed are called dependencies because the software application is dependent on them for loading, which binary files may include library files, dynamic link library files, executable files; as such, loader module operates in conjunction with the dependency finder module to identify and obtain the needed binary files (please see ¶[0020]).
7. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2013/0212554 A1 herein after Maeda) in view of Oren Winter (US 2010/0064284 A1 herein after Winter), and further in view of Banerjee et al. (US Patent No. 10705835 B2 herein after Banerjee).
Per claim 4:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the core primitive functions include: a container function for creating services, an action and reaction function for pointing to flows, a role function for limiting entities to provide the role, and flow functions.
However, Banerjee discloses:
wherein the core primitive functions include: a container function for creating services, an action and reaction function for pointing to flows, a role function for limiting entities to provide the role, and flow functions (At least see Col. 7:47-54 - affinities for architectures or platforms may be determined or derived for application containers based on the runtime profile, which may include characteristics of the input file. The runtime profile may contain data regarding characteristics of the compiled input file with regard to a first, second, and/or third software architecture, the generated code allowing the first input file to utilize the respective software architecture).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Banerjee into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because container technology provides lightweight abstractions for applications including their own file system and network stack, wherein in container usage model and application development and deployment has made containers a viable alternative deployment model over virtual machine instances, and advantageously container provide high density of workload instances when compared to virtualization technology since they may share underlying operation system (OS) infrastructure, and may not have a need to run a full OS kernel within each instance (please see Col. 1:9-18).
Per claim 6:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the building-block functions are discrete text files with definitions in a data interchange format providing a scaffolding for the functions and supporting internal code in one or more programming languages.
However, Banerjee discloses:
wherein the building-block functions are discrete text files with definitions in a data interchange format providing a scaffolding for the functions and supporting internal code in one or more programming languages (At least see Col. 7:50-54 - runtime profile may contain data regarding characteristics of the compiled input file with regard to a first, second, and/or third software architecture, the generated code allowing the first input file to utilize the respective software architecture, and Col. 17:16-17 - source code or object code written in any combination of one or more programming languages).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Banerjee into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because container technology provides lightweight abstractions for applications including their own file system and network stack, wherein in container usage model and application development and deployment has made containers a viable alternative deployment model over virtual machine instances, and advantageously container provide high density of workload instances when compared to virtualization technology since they may share underlying operation system (OS) infrastructure, and may not have a need to run a full OS kernel within each instance (please see Col. 1:9-18).
8. Claims 7-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2013/0212554 A1 herein after Maeda) in view of Oren Winter (US 2010/0064284 A1 herein after Winter), and further in view of Brunel et al. (PCT WO 2007/136684 A2 herein after Brunel).
Per claim 7:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the core primitive functions are discrete text files with definitions in a data interchange format providing a scaffolding for the functions in the data interchange format and supporting internal code in the data interchange format or in other languages.
However, Brunel discloses:
wherein the core primitive functions are discrete text files with definitions in a data interchange format providing a scaffolding for the functions in the data interchange format and supporting internal code in the data interchange format or in other languages (At least see page 13:32-33 – page 14:1-3 - a UML model may be exported into a text-based format, such as the XML Metadata Interface (XMI) format. The graphical programming or modeling environment may import the UML model and represent the UML model using behavioral blocks provided in the graphical programming or modeling environment).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
Per claim 8:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the function-based executable application generated by the environment is a decentralized application that uses file-based compiling and linking.
However, Brunel discloses:
wherein the function-based executable application generated by the environment is a decentralized application that uses file-based compiling and linking (At least see page 30:26-30 - If this stage is performed, then the stages that follow use the generated code during the execution of the block diagram. If code is not generated, the block diagram may execute in interpretive mode in which the compiled and linked version of the block diagram may be directly utilized to execute the model over the desired time-span).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
Per claim 9:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the function-based executable application generated by the environment is defined by addresses of linked instances of customer building-block functions managed by the environment and backed by an in-memory data state machine that stores the states of the functions.
However, Brunel discloses:
wherein the function-based executable application generated by the environment is defined by addresses of linked instances of customer building-block functions managed by the environment and backed by an in-memory data state machine that stores the states of the functions (At least see page 13:15-19 - class, component, datatype, interface, node, signal, as well as extensions of these modeling elements such as a subsystem that can be described as a stereotype of a class. It also includes instances of those classifiers such as objects that are instances of classes and links that are instances of association).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
Per claim 13:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the environment core includes files stored on a distributed file system node on a user computing device with a local version on the file system, wherein when running executable applications the environment talks through the node on the user computing device, and wherein the environment core pulls needed library code of the text files at runtime from a separate library repository.
However, Brunel discloses:
wherein the environment core includes files stored on a distributed file system node on a user computing device with a local version on the file system, wherein when running executable applications the environment talks through the node on the user computing device, and wherein the environment core pulls needed library code of the text files at runtime from a separate library repository (At least see page 21:20-29 - configuration mechanisms include directives for the code generation such as whether a function in software should have its arguments passed in or whether it should be global and whether the function data should be kept local to the function or whether it can be stored at the model level. Similarly, it can be specified whether a function should be reusable, the order of the arguments on the argument list, whether structured data types should be employed for each of the arguments or whether it should be a flat list, which include files to use to obtain externally defined data types, and the like).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
Per claim 14:
Brunel also discloses:
wherein the user computing device is a dedicated computing device providing a base processing unit with multiple lower-processing capacity devices providing distributed compute layers and providing an application to a lower-processing device driven from the base processing unit for remote connection (At least see page 11:19-27 - graphical programming or modeling environment may simulate a UML deployment diagram that enables a user to assess performance, load, reliability, and schedulability requirements of the run-time processing nodes against the time and numerical resolution of control and signal-processing algorithms with safety and reliability constraints. The simulation may include a discrete event model of the implementation part. The parameters of this implementation model may be generated by reading an architecture description from a UML profile such as AADL describing objects such as CPUs, physical buses, memory layout, and device driver performance).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
Per claim 15:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the decentralized software development environment includes an environment library of software code components shared by or to projects developed in the environment, wherein the library components include one or more of: function components written in various computer languages, flow components of processes of a series of functions; and space components as a container component of a domain of work including functions, roles, interactions, flows and/or functions.
However, Brunel discloses:
wherein the decentralized software development environment includes an environment library of software code components shared by or to projects developed in the environment, wherein the library components include one or more of: function components written in various computer languages, flow components of processes of a series of functions; and space components as a container component of a domain of work including functions, roles, interactions, flows and/or functions (At least see page; 10:1-17 - Different versions of code can be automatically generated from the graphical action language and deployment artifacts of the corresponding elements of the UML model. A deployment artifact is a combination of requirements and instructions for compiling and/or executing the UML model. These different versions may vary between highly instrumented code for debugging, profiling, and prototyping purposes, which may include functionality for data logging and the like, to highly optimized, optionally fixed- point, code to be used in the production version of a system under design. Optimizations that may be employed are the inlining and outlining of functionality, constant propagation, expression folding, unrolling of iteration loops, merging of iteration loops, limiting the scope of local variables by reordering assignments, and the like. In one embodiment, the graphical programming or modeling environment provides search facilities for the UML model and the model designed using the action language. These search facilities include but are not limited to facilities for searching specific properties of model elements, facilities for searching for strings, facilities for searching for types, facilities for searching for certain parameter values and settings, and facilities for performing customizable searches using a query language such as the Object Constraint Language (OCL) and XQuery).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunel into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because a UML modeling environment that enables a user to build a UML model, which a client may send the UML model to the server for converting the UML models into a different format so that the UML model can be used in other modeling environments, wherein a block that has explicitly specified its block (or its ports') functional attributes, propagation helps ensure that the attributes of this block are compatible with the attributes of the blocks connected to it, in many cases blocks are implemented to be compatible with a wide range of attributes; as such, blocks adapt their behavior in accordance with the attributes of the blocks connected to them in object-oriented programming languages (please see Page 19-:11-14 and page 30:1-7).
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2013/0212554 A1 herein after Maeda) in view of Oren Winter (US 2010/0064284 A1 herein after Winter), and further in view of Biesdorf et al. (EP 4089526 A1 herein after Biesdorf).
Per claim 10:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the template files are configured to be called, compiled, linked, instantiated, and run when required.
However, Biesdorf discloses:
wherein the template files are configured to be called, compiled, linked, instantiated, and run when required (At least see Col. 853-55 - developer may also be provided with one or more code templates. The developer may further insert code fragments into the code template in order to build the building block. Further, the building block may be containerized, also see Col:916-34 - configuration file is linked by providing a link to the configuration file in a metadata file associated with the building block).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Biesdorf into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because in order to develop custom software services in minimum time, it may be essential to reuse existing software services for building the custom software service; as such, building block may be enhanced or modified using other software components, which the building block is built by a developer based on at least one of predefined code templates and guidelines for developing building blocks, and storing software packages, metadata files and configuration files associated with one or more building blocks; therefore, Biesdorf teaching would advantageously enables a user to search for building blocks stored in a repository using natural language queries (please see Col. 1:2-58).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2013/0212554 A1 herein after Maeda) in view of Oren Winter (US 2010/0064284 A1 herein after Winter), and further in view of Alan A. Katz (US 2003/0120711 A1 herein after Katz).
Per claim 12:
Maeda modified by Winter discloses the system as set forth above, but Maeda modified by Winter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the environment cores is operated as compiled code directly on a user computing device with the template files provided in decentralized peer-to-peer distributed systems, wherein the user computing device includes a memory for storing computer-readable program code and executable on one or more processors to execute the computer-readable program code.
Katz discloses:
wherein the environment cores is operated as compiled code directly on a user computing device with the template files provided in decentralized peer-to-peer distributed systems, wherein the user computing device includes a memory for storing computer-readable program code and executable on one or more processors to execute the computer-readable program code (At least see ¶[0062] - an interpreting software program (interpreter) converts compiled object code into machine code and resolves class inheritances, polymorphic behaviors, and encapsulation behaviors of the compiled executable objects, classes, methods, and attributes, across the client computers or the peer-to-peer computers, at the time of the application's request for invocation of the executable objects, classes, methods, and attributes).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Katz into Maeda modified by Winter’s invention because Object technology enriches applications with the ability to create and use objects which are variations and combinations of classes of objects, wherein developer can create an instance of an object as a variation on a general class of objects, and if the class of this instance of an object possesses a set of attributes, any object or subclass of this class will possess these attributes as well, this characteristic of object technology is termed inheritance. An object of a given class may be given individual attributes which override or augment the attributes of the class; as such, use of attributes provides for variation of treatment among objects of a class (please see ¶[0005]).
CONCLUSION
Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Public Search tool (for all users) – A link to the Patent Public Search Tool is available at www. Uspto.gov/PatentPublicSearch. To find a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, open the Patent Public Search tool by selecting “Start search”. Type the U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication number in the “Search” panel without any punctuation and followed by an”.pn.”.
Should you have questions on access to the system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZIAUL A CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192
05/31/2025