DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yu et al (US 2021/0407942).
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]) comprising a first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]) comprising a first through via (Fig.19B (82) and [0061]), a semiconductor element (Fig.19B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]) positioned on a front surface of the first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]), and
a back side wiring layer (Fig.19B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]) comprising a back side power wiring (Fig.19B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]) positioned on a rear surface of the first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]) and electrically connected to the semiconductor element (Fig.19B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]); and
a second chip (Fig.19B (215) and [0062-0063]) bonded to and electrically connected to a front surface of the first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]), and comprising a second through via (Fig.19B (282) and [ 0062]) having a size greater than a size of the first through via (Fig.19B (82) and [0061])
wherein the first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]) has a finer wiring structure or finer pattern (see annotated Fig.19B below) than the second chip (Fig.19B (215) and [0062-0063]).
11. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first chip further comprises a buried wiring (Fig.19B (82) and [0035]) electrically connecting a first transistor of the semiconductor element (Fig.19A-B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]) with the back side power wiring (Fig.19A-B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]).
12. The semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the buried wiring (Fig.19B (82) and [0035]) extends from a back side of the first transistor (Fig.19A-B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]) to the back side power wiring (Fig.19A-B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2021/0407942)
Yu teaches the following claimed limitations as cited below:
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]) comprising a first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]) comprising a first through via (Fig.19B (82) and [0061]), a semiconductor element (Fig.19B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]) positioned on a front surface of the first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]), and
a back side wiring layer (Fig.19B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]) comprising a back side power wiring (Fig.19B (100A and 100B) and [0061 and see also 0046]) positioned on a rear surface of the first semiconductor substrate (Fig.19B (72) and [0060]) and electrically connected to the semiconductor element (Fig.19B (73) and [0061 and see also 0036]); and
a second chip (Fig.19B (215) and [0062-0063]) bonded to and electrically connected to a front surface of the first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]), and comprising a second through via (Fig.19B (282) and [ 0062]) having a size greater than a size of the first through via (Fig.19B (82) and [0061])
Assuming arguendo that Yu fails to teach:
wherein the first chip (Fig.19B (75) and [0060]) has a finer wiring structure or finer pattern (see annotated Fig.19B below) than the second chip (Fig.19B (215) and [0062-0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yu’s teachings to include a finer wiring on the first chip than the second because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the wiring sizes are a matter of design choice and the finest wiring possible would be chosen to effectuate space use efficiency.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2021/0407942).as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Eisherbini et al (US 20210098407).
Yu teaches the limitations of claims 1-2 above, however fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 3 below:
3. The semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the first chip has a first contact gate or wiring pitch equal to about 10 nm or less, and the second chip has a second contact gate or wiring pitch less than 50 nm. {for examination purposes-this modification of the original claim language constitutes the Examiner’s best guess at understanding the intended claim meaning}.
Eisherbini teaches a first contact gate or wiring pitch equal to about 10 nm or less, and a second contact gate or wiring pitch less than 50 nm [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yu’s teachings to include the pitches as low as 1-10 nm and as high as 10-500 nm) because as Eisherbini teaches, such pitches are possible and suitable for gate wirings [0063].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments state that TSV 82 and TSV 282 are made from similar materials and processes- the Examiner interprets this argument to be asserting that the same materials and processes would make the TSVs the same size?- however assuming the silicon substrates are etched to form vias using a patterned mask- the mask openings may be different sizes and would be based upon the figures- this would be similar materials and methods with different sizing and therefore this argument is moot.
The Applicant’s arguments state that the pitches are smaller/bigger respectively- however the pitch is the distance between the wiring layers; Applicant’s claim language is that the wiring layers themselves are finer- not that the pitch is finer. Having a finer wiring suggests a smaller/ more delicate structure of the wiring layer itself- not the pitch i.e. the distance between wiring structures. The Examiner’s annotated drawing above point out the various finer wirings of first chip 75 and bigger wirings of second chip 215 which anticipate Applicant’s limitations.
Moreover the Examiner included an obvious rejection which points out that the size of the wiring layers is a matter of design choice and would be considered an obvious variant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho et al (US 2021/0305130); Henderson et al (US 2014/0225246) and Batra et al (US 9536809) teach similar chip stack wiring and TSV structures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
7/1/26