DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ROTATING ELECTRIC MACHINE WITH ROTOR FIELD WINDING COMPRISING AN INCLINED PORTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by JP2020054157A (Pub. Date: 2020-04-02, hereinafter ‘JP’157’).
JP’157 discloses a rotating electric machine (figs. 3 and 17-18), comprising: a stator [50]; a rotor [60] (see figs. 42-46) having a rotor core [61] and main pole portions [62] that are provided at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction and protrude radially from the rotor core toward the stator, and a field winding [70: 71a, 71b] wound around each of the main pole portions; wherein (see the below included figures of JP’157with the examiner’s annotations): a center axis of the main pole portion extending in a radial direction passing through a rotation center axis of the rotor is defined as a first axis [B1],
an axis passing through a center position in the circumferential direction of the first axis adjacent in the circumferential direction and the rotation center axis and extending in a radial direction is defined as a second axis [B2],
an axis passing through a center position in the circumferential direction of the first axis and the second axis that are adjacent in the circumferential direction and the rotation center axis and extending in the radial direction is defined as a third axis [B3], and
an outer end portion of the field winding [70] in the circumferential direction in each of the main pole portions is positioned between the second axis [B2] and the third axis [B3]in the circumferential direction.
wherein the field winding [70] is configured by multiple windings of rectangular wires (Figs. 17-18 and para [0069]) so that the rectangular wires are arranged in the radial direction and the circumferential direction, and
in each of the main pole portions, an inclined portion (fig 17 & below) inclined along the second axis B2 is formed at the outer end portion of the field winding in the circumferential direction (figs 17 & below, outer end portion of the field winding forms tooth shape; tooth shape is the inclined portion & has potions inclined w/ respect to B2 & B3).
RE claim 9, JP’157 discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the outer end portion has a shape different from that of a circumferentially inner side of the rectangular wires (figs 17 & above for claim 1, outer end forms a tooth shape where the inner side of the wires forms a straight shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’157, as applied to the base claims 1-2.
JP’157 discloses the claimed invention, except for claim 3.
JP’157 particularly discloses the claimed rotor’s field winding is rectangular wires, and the rectangular wires are arranged radially and circumferentially adjacent to one another (see Figs. 17-18 of JP’157).
Those skilled in the art would understand that, based on the rotor field winding’s rectangular wires being wound with or without pressing/compressing process(es), a difference between a circumferential length of a contact portion between respective adjacent rectangular wires and a circumferential length of the rectangular wire is determined.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the JP’157 machine by changing size(s) of the prior art rotor field winding’s rectangular wires such that a circumferential length dimension of a contact portion between the rectangular wires adjacent to each other in the radial direction is defined as WF, a circumferential length dimension of the rectangular wire is defined as WT, and WF and WT are set so as to satisfy 0.2≤WF/WT<1, as in claim 3. Doing so would prevent any potential damage to the rectangular wires during process(s) of configuring the field winding of the rotor. Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). In this instant case, the general conditions of a claim that are the rotor field winding has rectangular wires arranged adjacent in both radial and circumferential direction, as disclosed in the prior art JP’157; hence, figuring the optimum ratio range 0.2≤WF/WT<1 of the circumferential length (WF) of a contact portion between the rectangular wires adjacent to each other in the radial direction, and a circumferential length (WT) of the rectangular wire would involve only routine skill in the art.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’157, as applied to the base claims 1-2, in view of US 9647505 (hereinafter US’7505).
JP’157 discloses the claimed invention, except for claim 4.
However, US’7505 discloses a rotor’s winding field of rectangular wires [22], each wire is configured with a groove extending from one end to the other end of the field winding in the radial direction is formed in a portion of the field winding (see Fig. 2 provided below) for forming a radial cooling passage [22a] to remove heat from the field winding facing the main pole portion.
Those skilled in the art would understand that the US’7505 important teaching concept is, for removing generated heat from the rotor, the rotor winding would be configured with groove therein extending from one end to the other end of the field winding in the radial direction to define cooling flow channel for cooling the rotor.
Furthermore, those skilled in the art would understand that whether or not the groove facing the main pole portion would be a matter of obvious engineering design choice based on a particular cooling configuration for the rotor, for non-limiting examples: a radial cooling configuration with a radially cooling flow channel, a circumferential cooling configuration with a circumferential cooling flow channel and an axial cooling configuration with axial cooling flow. The grooves defining respective cooling channels of these three cooling configurations would be arranged accordingly to the cooling flow direction thereof.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the JP’157 machine by configuring the prior art rotor field winding of rectangular wires with groove extending from one end to the other end of the field winding in the radial direction is formed in a portion of the field winding facing the rotor main pole. Doing so would provide cooling means for removing generated heat from the rotor, where the arrangement of the groove defining the corresponding cooling flow passage would be based on an amount of generated heat in a particular size/shape of the field winding and/or size/shape of the rotor, which are in turn based on an overall size/shape of the machine itself.
Furthermore, re-arranging the field winding’s groove facing the main pole portion, as claimed, would involve only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
RE claim 10, JP’157 in view of US’7505 discloses claim 4 as discussed above. JP’157 further discloses the outer end portion has a shape different from that of a circumferentially inner side of the rectangular wires (figs 17 & above for claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg 7, last paragraph to pg 8, filed 1/16/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 under USC 35 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of JP’157. JP’157 is being reinterpreted as the inclined portion is a tooth shaped portion of the field winding along the B2 axis and has portions inclined with respect to B2 and B3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The main reason for indicating claim 8 as allowable is the inclusion of, inter alia, the limitations:
“The rotating electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the inclined portion 72 of the outer end portion has a surface parallel to the second axis B2.”
The closest prior art JP2020054157A does not disclose the above limitation.
Specifically it is not clear if the tooth shaped portion can be determined to be parallel with B2. It could be interpreted as closely aligned with B2, but not parallel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834