DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 02/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 recite the method claims beginning with:
“a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid for decelerating self-sharpening”. The following limitation recites: “a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid for accelerating self-sharpening”. As claimed, it is unclear how the method begins with deceleration prior to acceleration.
Claims 3 and 4 recite:
“a preset second current threshold value”, but does not recite “a preset first current threshold value”, and therefore has been construed as titles/names of the values and not requiring two threshold values.
Claims 7 and 8 recite:
“a preset second thickness threshold value”, but does not recite “a preset first thickness threshold value”, and therefore has been construed as titles/names of the values and not requiring two threshold values.
Claim 14, which depends on claim 1, recites:
“a preset third flow rate” and “a preset fourth flow rate”, but does not recite “a first” or “a second” flow rate, and therefore has been construed as titles/names of the values and not requiring four flow rate values.
Claim 16, which depends on claim 1, recites:
“a fifth flow rate” and “a sixth flow rate”, but does not recite “a first”, “a second”, “a third”, or “a fourth” flow rate, and therefore has been construed as titles/names of the values and not requiring six flow rate values.
Claim 6 recites: “when the thickness measured by the thickness measuring unit”, and lacks antecedent basis since “a thickness measuring unit” has not been introduced in the claim.
Claim 6 recites: “and grinding the wafer to a preset thickness with the grindstones” and “when the thickness measured in the thickness measuring step has not reached a preset first thickness threshold value”. As claimed it is unclear if both preset thicknesses are referring to the same or different threshold. For examination purposes, both preset thicknesses have been construed as the same.
Claim 7 recites: “while measuring a thickness of the wafer” and “a thickness measuring step of measuring a thickness of the wafer”. As claimed, it is unclear if the both measuring of the thickness are the same or different thicknesses. For examination purposes, both thicknesses of the wafer have been construed as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIURA (JP 2018024041 A).
Referring to claim 1: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones; and
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones,
wherein, in the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step when a load current value of a spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2; “each time the load current value of the motor 43 exceeds the predetermined threshold value Th, the amount of grinding water is decreased from the first grinding water amount to the second grinding water amount until the predetermined period t has elapsed. A new abrasive grain projects on the grinding surface of the grinding wheel 47 during the predetermined period t” [0028]) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has reached a preset first current threshold value (“threshold value Th” [0028])
or a predetermined first period of time (“predetermined period t” [0028]) has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor reached the preset first current threshold value (“predetermined threshold value Th” [0028]),
or when a loading value (“For example, the load detecting means 62 may detect a vertical load on the upper surface of the plate workpiece W as a grinding load of the grinding means 40…Further, the load detecting means 62 may detect the vertical load on the upper surface of the plate-like workpiece W with a pressure sensor or the like capable of detecting the pressure of the compressed air in the spindle 42.” [0035]) for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has reached a preset first loading threshold value (“when the grinding load of the grinding means 40 exceeds a predetermined threshold… As described above, until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first amount of grinding water, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0034])
or a predetermined second period of time has elapsed after the loading value reached the preset first loading threshold value,
or when the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in a direction toward the wafer by a predetermined distance after having contacted the wafer in the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step, the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 2: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones; and
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones,
wherein, in the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step when a load current value of a spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2; “each time the load current value of the motor 43 exceeds the predetermined threshold value Th, the amount of grinding water is decreased from the first grinding water amount to the second grinding water amount until the predetermined period t has elapsed. A new abrasive grain projects on the grinding surface of the grinding wheel 47 during the predetermined period t” [0028]) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has reached a preset first current threshold value (“threshold value Th” [0028])
or a predetermined first period of time (“predetermined period t” [0028]) has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor reached the preset first current threshold value (“predetermined threshold value Th” [0028]), and when a loading value (“grinding load”; “In this case, as the grinding load of the grinding means 40 increases, the supply amount of the load current necessary for maintaining the rotation number of the motor 43 constant is increased. A load detecting means 62 is connected to the motor 43, and a load current value flowing to the motor 43 as a grinding load of the grinding means 40 is detected by the load detecting means 62. The load current value is outputted from the load detection means 62 to the control means 60, and the supply amount of the grinding water to the plate-like workpiece W is adjusted by the control means 60 according to the load current value.” [0024]) for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has reached a preset first loading threshold value (“threshold value” [0025])
or a predetermined second period of time has elapsed after the loading value reached the preset first loading threshold value, the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 3: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones; and
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones,
wherein, in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step when a load current value of a spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2; “each time the load current value of the motor 43 exceeds the predetermined threshold value Th, the amount of grinding water is decreased from the first grinding water amount to the second grinding water amount until the predetermined period t has elapsed. A new abrasive grain projects on the grinding surface of the grinding wheel 47 during the predetermined period t” [0028]) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has reached a preset second current threshold value (“threshold value Th” [0028])
or a predetermined first period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor reached the preset second current threshold value,
or when a loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has reached a preset second loading threshold value or a predetermined second period of time has elapsed after the loading value reached the preset second loading threshold value,
or when the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in a direction toward the wafer by a predetermined distance after having contacted the wafer in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step, the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 4: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer with contact surfaces of grindstones that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones; and
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones,
wherein, in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step when a load current value of a spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2; “each time the load current value of the motor 43 exceeds the predetermined threshold value Th, the amount of grinding water is decreased from the first grinding water amount to the second grinding water amount until the predetermined period t has elapsed. A new abrasive grain projects on the grinding surface of the grinding wheel 47 during the predetermined period t” [0028]) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has reached a preset second current threshold value (“threshold value Th” [0028])
or a predetermined first period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor reached the preset second current threshold value, and when a loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has reached a preset second loading threshold value
or a predetermined second period of time has elapsed after the loading value reached the preset second loading threshold value, the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 5: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer with contact surfaces of grindstones that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones while measuring a thickness of the wafer (“recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]) with a thickness measuring unit (61 Fig. 1; “Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]); and
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer to a preset thickness (“thinned to a predetermined thickness” [0018]) with the grindstones,
wherein, when the thickness of the wafer measured by the thickness measuring unit (61 Fig. 1) has reached a preset first thickness threshold value (value of the “thinned to a predetermined thickness” [0018]), the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (“grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61, the plate-like workpiece W is ground up to the finished thickness while supplying the grinding watering.” [0018]).
Referring to claim 6: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones until the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in a direction toward the wafer by a predetermined distance (predetermined distance via guide rails 31 shown in Fig. 1; “the grinding means 40 is moved in the Z axis direction along the guide rail 31.” [0015]) after having contacted the wafer (distance until the workpiece is ground to a finished thickness; “Then, the grinding wheel 46 which is driven to rotate is brought into contact with the plate-like workpiece W, is ground fed at a predetermined feed rate while grinding water is supplied at the first grinding water amount, and the plate-like workpiece W is ground to the finished thickness.” [0031]; “the grinding wheel 47 begins to be crushed as time elapses from the start of grinding” [0026]);
a thickness measuring step of measuring a thickness (“Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]) of the wafer ground in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (see continuous self-sharpening- acceleration/deceleration in Fig. 3); and
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer to a preset thickness (“workpiece W is ground to the finished thickness” [0031]) with the grindstones; and
a regrinding step (“The parameters of the first and second amounts of grinding water, the threshold value, and the predetermined time are set to optimal values by actually repeating grinding while adjusting the grinding water.” [0025]; see Fig. 3) of, when the thickness measured in the thickness measuring step has not reached a preset first thickness threshold value (“threshold value” [0025]), supplying the first fluid (“second water amount” [0025]) to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones until the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in the direction toward the wafer by a distance represented by a difference between the thickness measured in the thickness measuring step and the first thickness threshold value,
wherein, when the thickness (“recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]) measured by the thickness measuring unit (61 Fig. 1; “Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]) has reached the preset first thickness threshold value, the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step transitions to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]).
Referring to claim 7: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones while measuring a thickness of the wafer (“recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]) with a thickness measuring unit (61 Fig. 1; “Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W” [0018]);
a thickness measuring step of measuring a thickness of the wafer ground in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]);
and a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer to a preset thickness (“thinned to a predetermined thickness” [0018]) with the grindstones,
wherein, when the thickness of the wafer measured by the thickness measuring unit (“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]) has reached a preset second thickness threshold value (“threshold value Th” [0027]), the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (“first grinding water amount” step) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (“second water amount” step).
Referring to claim 8: MIURA discloses a method of grinding a wafer (“silicon carbide or silicon” [0004]) with contact surfaces of grindstones (47 Figs. 1, 2 and 4; “whetstones 47” [0013]) that are rotated, comprising:
a self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step of supplying a second fluid (first grinding water amount; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) for decelerating self-sharpening (friction is decreased and therefore decelerating of self-sharpening; “face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented” [0007]) of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones until the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in a direction toward the wafer by a predetermined distance (distance until the workpiece is ground to a finished thickness; “Then, the grinding wheel 46 which is driven to rotate is brought into contact with the plate-like workpiece W, is ground fed at a predetermined feed rate while grinding water is supplied at the first grinding water amount, and the plate-like workpiece W is ground to the finished thickness.” [0031]) after having contacted the wafer;
a thickness measuring step of measuring a thickness of the wafer (“Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W”… “The recognition unit 61 and the control unit 60 are configured by a processor, a memory, and the like that execute various processes”…“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]) ground in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step;
a self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step of supplying a first fluid (second water amount; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) for accelerating self-sharpening of the contact surfaces of the grindstones to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer to a preset thickness (“is ground to the finished thickness” [0031]) with the grindstones; and
a regrinding step (shown in Fig. 3) of, when the thickness measured in the thickness measuring step (“The recognition unit 61 and the control unit 60 are configured by a processor, a memory, and the like that execute various processes”…“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]) has not reached a preset second thickness threshold value (“Th” Fig. 3 [0027]), supplying the second fluid (first grinding water amount [0007]); see Fig. 3) to the wafer and the grindstones and grinding the wafer with the grindstones until the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in the direction toward the wafer (“the grinding wheel 46 which is driven to rotate is brought into contact with the plate-like workpiece W, is ground fed at a predetermined feed rate while grinding water is supplied at the first grinding water amount” [0031]) by a distance represented by a difference between the thickness (“Also, the grinding apparatus 1 is provided with a recognition unit 61 for recognizing the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W”… “The recognition unit 61 and the control unit 60 are configured by a processor, a memory, and the like that execute various processes”…“the grinding unit 40 is fed by grinding based on the thickness of the plate-like workpiece W recognized by the recognition unit 61” [0018]) measured in the thickness measuring step and the second thickness threshold value (“Th” Fig. 3 [0027]), wherein,
when the thickness measured by the thickness measuring unit has reached the preset second thickness threshold value (“Th” Fig. 3 [0027]), the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (first grinding water amount step; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (second water amount step; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3).
Referring to claim 9: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (second water amount step; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (first grinding water amount step; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) when the load current value of the spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has become smaller (“While the load current value is less than the threshold value, the flow path of the flow rate control valve 51 is expanded so that the first grinding water amount suppresses surface burning” [0025]) than the preset first current threshold value
or a third predetermined period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor became smaller than the preset first current threshold value,
or when the loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has become smaller than the preset first loading threshold value
or a fourth predetermined period of time has elapsed after the loading value became smaller than the preset first loading threshold value,
or when the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in the direction toward the wafer by the predetermined distance after having contacted the wafer in the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 10: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 2, wherein the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (second water amount step; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (first grinding water amount step; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) when the load current value of the spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has become smaller (“While the load current value is less than the threshold value, the flow path of the flow rate control valve 51 is expanded so that the first grinding water amount suppresses surface burning” [0025]) than the preset first current threshold value
or a third predetermined period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor became smaller than the preset first current threshold value, and when the loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has become smaller than the preset first loading threshold value or a fourth predetermined period of time has elapsed after the loading value became smaller than the preset first loading threshold value.
Referring to claim 11: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 3, wherein the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (first grinding water amount step; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (second water amount step; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) when the load current value of the spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has become larger (“When the load current value exceeds the threshold value, the flow path of the flow rate control valve 51 is narrowed only for a predetermined time so that the second grinding water amount at which the flow rate is decreased than the first grinding water amount occurs is generated.” [0025]) than the preset second current threshold value
or a third predetermined period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor became larger than the preset second current threshold value,
or when the loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has become larger than the preset second loading threshold value
or a fourth predetermined period of time has elapsed after the loading value became larger than the preset second loading threshold value,
or when the contact surfaces of the grindstones have further been moved in the direction toward the wafer by the predetermined distance after having contacted the wafer in the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step.
Referring to claim 12: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 4, wherein the self-sharpening-decelerated grinding step (first grinding water amount step; “until the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value, face burning due to frictional heat during grinding is prevented by the first grinding water amount, and when the grinding load exceeds a predetermined threshold value” [0007]; see Fig. 3) transitions (shown transitioning in Fig. 3; [0027]) to the self-sharpening-accelerated grinding step (second water amount step; “supplying a second grinding water amount that is lower than the first grinding water amount during the grinding step and grinding the grinding water to accelerate the grinding of the grinding wheel” [0006]; see Fig. 3) when the load current value of the spindle motor (43 Figs. 1 and 2) that rotates the grindstones while the grindstones are grinding the wafer has become larger (“When the load current value exceeds the threshold value, the flow path of the flow rate control valve 51 is narrowed only for a predetermined time so that the second grinding water amount at which the flow rate is decreased than the first grinding water amount occurs is generated.” [0025]) than the preset second current threshold value
or a third predetermined period of time has elapsed after the load current value of the spindle motor became larger than the preset second current threshold value, and when the loading value for pressing the grindstones against the wafer has become larger than the preset second loading threshold value or a fourth predetermined period of time has elapsed after the loading value became larger than the preset second loading threshold value.
Referring to claim 13: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid (second grinding water amount [0007]; see Fig. 3) includes a liquid supplied at a preset first flow rate (“the second grinding water amount (for example, 1.0 [ml / s])” [0027]), and the second fluid (first grinding water amount [0007]); see Fig. 3) includes a liquid supplied at a second flow rate (“the first amount of grinding water (for example, 3.0 [ml / s])” [0026]) higher than the preset first flow rate (“the second grinding water amount (for example, 1.0 [ml / s])” [0027]).
Referring to claim 15: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid (second grinding water amount [0007]; see Fig. 3) or the second fluid (first grinding water amount [0007]); see Fig. 3) includes a mixture of a liquid (“water” [0007]) and air (once either water amount is applied to the upper surface of the workpiece, it is a mixture of a liquid and air; “a grinding water supply means 50 for supplying grinding water to the upper surface of the plate-like workpiece W” [0017]).
Referring to claim 16: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid (second grinding water amount [0007]; see Fig. 3) and the second fluid (first grinding water amount [0007]); see Fig. 3) include a mixture of a liquid (“water” [0007]) and air (once both water amounts are applied to the upper surface of the workpiece, they’re a mixture of a liquid and air; “a grinding water supply means 50 for supplying grinding water to the upper surface of the plate-like workpiece W” [0017]), and the first fluid is supplied at a total flow rate as a fifth flow rate (“the second grinding water amount (for example, 1.0 [ml / s])” [0027]), and the second fluid is supplied at a total flow rate as a sixth flow rate (“the first amount of grinding water (for example, 3.0 [ml / s])” [0026]) higher than the fifth flow rate (“the second grinding water amount (for example, 1.0 [ml / s])” [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIURA (JP 2018024041 A) and Kondratenko (US 5759088 A).
Referring to claim 14: MIURA discloses the method of grinding a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the first fluid (second grinding water amount [0007]) at a preset third flow rate (“the second grinding water amount (for example, 1.0 [ml / s])” [0027]), and the second fluid (first grinding water amount [0007]); see Fig. 3) includes a liquid supplied at a preset fourth flow rate (“the first amount of grinding water (for example, 3.0 [ml / s])” [0026]).
But is silent on the first fluid specifically including air.
Kondratenko in an analogous self-sharpening method (Col. 5, lines 45-52) and teaches a mixture of fluid specifically including air (“An air-water mixture fed to the heating zone under pressure of 2.5.times.10.sup.5 Pa was used as a coolant.” Col. 20, lines 48-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of grinding a wafer of MIURA with the fluid/air mixture as taught by Kondratenko for the purpose of having the appropriate mixture amount necessary for keeping the intended temperature/sharpening speed.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723