DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 10/21/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Standing(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2015/0216054, hereinafter Standing) in view of Peters (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 20140091839, hereinafter Peters).
Re claim 1 Standing discloses in Fig 2A/B/C a semiconductor package, comprising: a lower surface comprising: a high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0027]; a high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0026]; an output contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051]; and at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051]; at least one half-bridge circuit(34) comprising a first transistor device(37/38) having a first major surface(top/bottom) and a second transistor device(37/38) having a first major surface(top/bottom), wherein the first major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38) and the first major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38) are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the lower surface of the semiconductor package.
Standing does not disclose the first and second transistor devices being electrically coupled in series at an output node; and at least one control device electrically coupled to the first transistor device(37/38) and the second transistor device(37/38),
Peters disclose in Fig 1 the first and second transistor devices(31/1) being electrically coupled in series at an output node[0020,0027]; and at least one control device electrically coupled to the first transistor device and the second transistor device[0021],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Peters to the teachings of Standing in order to have low losses [0004, Peters].
Re claim 2 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising: a first lead having an inner surface that extends substantially perpendicularly to the lower surface and a lower side face that forms the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0027]; a second lead having an inner surface that extends substantially perpendicularly to the lower surface and a lower side face that provides the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0026]; and a third lead having a first inner surface and a second inner surface opposing the first inner surface, wherein the first transistor device(37/38) is mounted on the first inner surface, the second transistor device(37/38) is mounted on the second inner surface, and the third lead provides the output node[0020,0027 of Peters], wherein the first lead is arranged at a first package side face, the second lead is arranged at a second package side face that opposes the first package side face, and the third lead has a lower side face that is arranged in the lower surface between the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0027] and the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0026].
Re claim 3 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] is arranged in a common plane with the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0027].
Re claim 4 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0027],the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0026], and the at least one output contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] each have a width that is less than or equal to a thickness[0038,0039] of the first lead, the second lead, and the third lead, respectively, and a length that is less than the length of the lower surface of the package.
Re claim 5 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein:the first transistor device(37/38) comprises a first power pad on the first major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38) and a second power pad on a second major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38) opposing the first major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38); the second transistor device(37/38) comprises a first power pad on the first major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38) and a second power pad on a second major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38) opposing the first major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38); the second power pad of the first transistor device(37/38) is mounted on the first inner surface of the third lead and the first power pad of the second transistor device(37/38) is arranged on the second inner surface of the third lead; and the first lead comprises an inner surface attached to the first power pad of the first transistor device(37/38) and the second lead comprises an inner surface attached to the second power pad of the second transistor device(37/38).
Re claim 6 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the third lead comprises a recess[0041] in which the second transistor device(37/38) is arranged.
Re claim 7 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 5, wherein the first transistor device(37/38) further comprises a first gate pad on the second major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38), and wherein the second transistor device(37/38) further comprises a second gate pad on the second major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38).
Re claim 8 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 7, wherein the at least one control device[0021 of Peters] is mounted on the first lead.
Re claim 9 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 7, wherein the at least one control device[0021 of Peters] is electrically connected to the first gate pad, the second gate pad, and the at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] by bond wires.
Re claim 10 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 5, wherein the first transistor device(37/38) further comprises a first gate pad on the first major surface(top/bottom) of the first transistor device(37/38), and wherein the second transistor device(37/38) further comprises a second gate pad on the second major surface(top/bottom) of the second transistor device(37/38).
Re claim 11 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 10, wherein the third lead is provided by a lead frame that comprises electrically insulating material on which conductive traces and the at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] are formed, andwherein the at least one control device[0021 of Peters] is mounted on the lead frame.
Re claim 12 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the first gate pad and the second gate pad are connected to the conductive traces of the lead frame by a bond wire, and wherein the at least one control device[0021 of Peters] is connected to the at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] and/or the conductive traces by a bond wire.
Re claim 13 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the at least one control contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051] is arranged in a common plane with the high voltage contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0026] and/or with the at least one output contact pad(33/62/63/64)[0050,0051].
Re claim 14 Standing and Peters disclose the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the at least one half-bridge circuit(34) comprises a first half bridge circuit and a second half bridge circuit that are electrically coupled to form a full bridge circuit[0118].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812