DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention II, claims 7-13, in the reply filed on 4-13-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich (USPN 5517809) in view of Beal (USPN 7712751) and in view of Bartel (US 2018/0037183) .
Regarding claim 7, Rich discloses an outdoor power equipment, comprising: a frame (14); a plurality of drive wheels (18) rotatable about a drive wheel rotation axis; an operator seat (20) secured to the frame; drive controls (seen in figure 1 in front of seat 20) for operator-initiated drive and steering functions of the outdoor power equipment; wherein the drive controls comprise left drive controls and right drive controls (Figure 3 shows left and right controls for a typical zero turn lawn mower, columns 10-11 lines 63-67 and 1-15), wherein the left drive controls and the right drive controls are both movable between an associated sitting configuration and an associated standing configuration of the outdoor power equipment (As seen in figures 1 and 2).
The mower of Rich is lacking roll over protection (ROP).
Bartel discloses a riding lawnmower and teaches the use of a ROP bar (100) attached to a frame (192) of the mower.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rich by attaching a ROP bar to the frame of the mower as taught by Bartel for the purpose of adding a ROP safety feature to the mower during riding operation.
The mower of Rich is usable between a riding mode and a walking mode to allow the operator to mow where vertical clearance is limited (Column 1 lines 33-40). Rich is lacking the use of a standing platform rearward of the mower.
Beal discloses a mower and teaches the use of a standing platform (figure 1) that may be attached to the rear of the mower.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rich by attaching a standing platform to the rear end of the frame of the mower as taught by Beal for the purpose of allowing the operator to ride during operation behind the mower while still allowing the operator to avoid fatigue during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wynn (USPN 11297766).
/ADAM J BEHRENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671