DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a case conveying unit, a case identification information reading unit, a case opening unit, a cutting blade conveying unit, an input interface in claim 1 and a case moving part and a case conveying part in claim 2.
A case conveying unit is interpreted as a belt conveyor (24) and guide rail (32) according to paragraph [0049] or equivalents thereof.
A case identification information reading unit is interpreted as a barcode reader according to paragraph [0064] or equivalents thereof.
A case opening unit is interpreted as clamps or claws according to paragraph [0073] or equivalents thereof.
An input interface is interpreted as a touch panel, a mouse or a keyboard according to paragraph [0043] or equivalents thereof.
A case moving part is interpreted as a guide rail (32) and a moving component (34) according paragraph [0049] or equivalents thereof.
A case conveying part is interpreted as a guide rail according paragraph [0056] or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawara (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0172345).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohkawara teaches a cutting blade stock apparatus that stocks a
plurality of cutting blades (Fig. 17, 82) used for cutting of a workpiece (Fig. 1, 11), the cutting blade stock apparatus comprising:
a case placement stage (Fig. 17, 214) at which a case (Fig. 17, 216) capable of housing the cutting blade (Fig. 17, 82) is placed ([0145]);
a case conveying unit (Fig. 17, 206) that conveys the case (Fig. 17, 216) placed at the case placement stage ([0171]: cause the automated blade conveying vehicle 206 to travel along the conveyance passage 6);
a shelf (Fig. 16, 6) that supports and stocks the case conveyed by the case conveying unit (Fig. 18 shows that the blade conveying unit (206) stocked with the cases are supported by the conveyance passage (6).);
a case identification information reading unit (Fig. 17, 214b) that reads case identification information given to the case ([0146]);
a cutting blade conveying unit (Fig. 18, 226, 228, 230) that carries out the cutting blade (Fig. 18, 82) from the case (Fig. 17, 216) ([0174]: The control apparatus 96 controls operation of the blade conveying arm 230 … to carry out the cutting blade 82 from the chassis 214 …); and
an input interface (Fig. 18, 98) to which information that specifies the cutting blade to be carried out by the cutting blade conveying unit (Fig. 18, 230) is input ([0174]: When receiving the control signal from the control unit 12, the receiver 98…; it would have been obvious that the control signal from the control unit 12 includes information on which cutting blade to be carried out in order for the cutting blade conveying unit to perform the operation).
Although Ohkawara does not explicitly teach a case opening unit that opens the case, examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to store workpiece(s) in a case with a cover that would be need to be opened with a case opening unit to access the workpiece(s) to perform a work.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single cover over all recesses in the chassis 214 or a plurality of covers each covering one of multiple recesses in the chassis 214 which would be opened later with a case opening unit (e.g. device or human) in order to securely store the blade within the recess and prevent foreign objects from entering into the recess
Regarding Claim 4, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cutting blade conveying unit (Fig. 18, 226, 228, 230) carries in the cutting blade that has been used ([0177]: the used cutting blade 82 is placed on the blade case 216).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the cutting blade conveying unit (Fig. 18, 226, 228, 230) carries in the cutting blade (Fig. 17, 82) that has been used through a conveyance port (Fig. 18, 92d) ([0150]: Each opening 92d is formed with a size that allows the cutting blade 82 to pass through the opening 92d) ([0177]: it would been obvious that the blade holding part 228 would transfer the blade to the blade holding part 228 through an opening 92d).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to
claim 5, wherein the cutting blade conveying unit (Fig. 18, 226, 228, 230) carries out the specified cutting blade through the conveyance port (Fig. 18, 92d) ([0150]: Each opening 92d is formed with a size that allows the cutting blade 82 to pass through the opening 92d).
Regarding Claim 8, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to
claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of the case placement stages (Fig. 17, 214) ([0142]: two automated conveying vehicles).
Regarding Claim 9, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to
claim 1, wherein the case (Fig. 17, 216) is allowed to be placed at an optional position in the case placement stage (Fig. 17, 214) (In Fig. 17, the case can be one of a plurality of cases (216) in the chassis (214).).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawara (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0172345) in view of Su et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0234156).
Regarding Claim 7, Ohkawara teaches the cutting blade stock apparatus according to
claim 1, but do not explicitly teach further comprising:
a blade identification information reading unit that reads blade identification information given to the cutting blade.
Su teaches a blade identification information reading unit ([0222]: camera, barcode reader) that reads blade identification information (Fig. 11A, 212) given to the cutting blade (Fig. 11A, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a blade identification information to the cutting blade and a blade identification information reading unit to read the blade identification information in the apparatus of Ohkawara as taught by Su in order to ensure that a cutting blade is correctly stored in its corresponding case as suggested in Su [0225].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sekiya (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0070701) teaches a case placement stage (18), a blade conveying unit (28), a shelf (30), a cutting blade conveying unit (8) and other limitations such as a shelf, a case opening unit, and an input unit would be either well known or obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. However, it does not teach or suggest “a case conveying unit that conveys the case capable of housing the cutting blade and a case identification information reading unit that reads case identification information given to the case”.
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 3/3/2026