Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
02/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-19 in the application remain pending. Claims 1 & 7-10 were amended. Claims 14-19 remain withdrawn from consideration. Claim 20 was cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US 2022/0208568 A1) hereinafter Ha in view of Sawachi et al. (US 2018/30180509 A1) hereinafter Sawachi.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Ha in view of Sawachi since Ha in view of Sawachi meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of detecting a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 1, Ha discloses an apparatus for supplying chemicals (abs; fig 1-12), comprising:
a storage tank 4120+4130 storing the chemicals ([0060]-[0071]; [0074]-[0076]; [0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9);
a chemical discharge line 4190 discharging the chemicals from the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0060]-[0071]; [0073]-[0076]; [0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9);
a circulation line 4160 connected to the storage tank 4120+4130 and self-circulating the chemicals from the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0060]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9);
a leak determining line 4165 connected to the circulation line 4160 and configured to supply gas and liquid to the circulation line 4160 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3); and
a measurement unit 41651 configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line 4160 (the inner space is continuously pressurized by the gas introduced through the gas supply line until the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor reaches the predetermined pressure, i.e. measuring a change), including a first adjustment valve 4125+4135 disposed on a storage tank outlet side (fig 3, 5-6, 8-9, 4120+4130 bottom) of the circulation line 4160 and a second adjustment valve 4124+4134 disposed on a storage tank inlet side (fig 3, 5-6, 8-9, 4120+4130 top) of the circulation line 4160 with fluid communication between the circulation line 4160 and the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0010]-[0012]; [0016]; [0019]-[0020]; [0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3-12; clm 1-3, 7, 10-11), however Ha does not disclose wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank.
Sawachi discloses an apparatus for supplying chemicals (abs; fig 1-10), comprising a measurement unit FPM configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line L4, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure change of the supplied gas, wherein in a case where a leak occurs in a first valve located on an upstream side of the second valve which is opened in the first inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge and in addition, in a case where a leak occurs in a second valve located on a downstream side of the first valve which is opened in the second inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge, therefore, it is possible to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of first valves and the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of second valves, wherein the plurality of second valves may be opened in the first inspection state formed in the second step, and the plurality of first valves may be opened in the second inspection state formed in the fourth step ([0008]-[0012]; [0084]; [0089]; [0092]-[0093]; [0099]-[0100]; [0102]-[0104]; [0106]-[0112]; fig 2, 7). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a measurement unit configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank in the apparatus of Ha, because Sawachi teaches the use of a measurement unit FPM configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line L4, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure change of the supplied gas wherein in a case where a leak occurs in a first valve located on an upstream side of the second valve which is opened in the first inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge and in addition, in a case where a leak occurs in a second valve located on a downstream side of the first valve which is opened in the second inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge, therefore, it is possible to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of first valves and the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of second valves, wherein the plurality of second valves may be opened in the first inspection state formed in the second step, and the plurality of first valves may be opened in the second inspection state formed in the fourth step to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of valves ([0009]; [0089]).
As regards to claim 2, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), further comprising a gas supply line 4129+4139 supplying the gas to the storage tank 4120+4130, wherein the leak determining line 4165 is branched from the gas supply line 4129+4139 via the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 3, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein the gas supply line 4129+4139 supplies an inert gas (nitrogen) ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 4, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein at least one of a circulation pump 4167 pumping the chemicals, a heater 4174 heating the chemicals, or a filter ([0078]) filtering the chemicals is disposed in the circulation line 4160 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 5, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein a heater 4174 heating the chemicals and a temperature sensor 41741 measuring temperatures of the chemicals are disposed in the circulation line 4160 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 6, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein a filter ([0078]) filtering the chemicals is disposed in the circulation line 4160, and the circulation line 4160 comprises filter bypass lines 4161+4162+4163+4164 connected to an upstream side and a downstream side of the filter ([0078]) and configured to selectively allow the chemicals to bypass the filter ([0078]) ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 7, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), further comprising a controller connected to the first adjustment valve 4125+4135, the second adjustment valve 4124+4134, the leak determining line 4165, and the measurement unit 41651 ([0010]-[0012]; [0016]; [0019]-[0020]; [0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3-12; clm 1-3, 7, 10-11).
As regards to claim 8, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein a circulation pump 4167 pumping the chemicals in the circulation line 4160 between a downstream side of the first adjustment valve 4125+4135 and an upstream side of the second adjustment valve 4124+4134 is disposed in connection with the circulation line 4160 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 9, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein at least one of a filter ([0078]) filtering the chemicals, a heater 4174 heating the chemicals, a temperature sensor 41741 measuring temperatures of the chemicals, or a concentration measurement unit measuring concentrations of the chemicals is disposed in the circulation line 4160 between a downstream side of the first adjustment valve 4125+4135 and an upstream side of the second adjustment valve 4124+4134 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 10, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein a drain line 4181+4182 discharging the chemicals externally is connected via the storage tank 4120+4130 to at least one of the first adjustment valve 4125+4135 or the second adjustment valve 4124+4134 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 11, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), further comprising a gas supply line 4129+4139 connected to the storage tank 4120+4130, and supplying gas pressurizing an internal space of the storage tank 4120+4130, to supply the chemicals in the storage tank 4120+4130 to the chemical discharge line 4190, wherein the leak determining line 4165 is branched via the storage tank 4120+4130 from the gas supply line 4129+4139 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 12, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein the measurement unit 41651 is disposed in the leak determining line 4165 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
As regards to claim 13, Ha discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), wherein the storage tank 4120+4130 is provided as a plurality of storage tanks 4120&4130 connected to each other, wherein the chemical discharge line 4190 is connected to one of the plurality of storage tanks 4120&4130, and the circulation line 4160, the leak determining line 4165, and the measurement unit 41651 are connected to each of the plurality of storage tanks 4120&4130 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) As amended, independent claim 1 now includes a particular leak-determining configuration and operation that is neither taught nor suggested by Ha, Sawachi, or their proposed combination. In particular, amended claim 1 includes wherein a leak is determined based on a pressure decrease of gas supplied to the circulation line, while the circulation line is isolated from the storage tank by closing both (i) a first adjustment valve on the tank outlet side and (ii) a second adjustment valve on the tank inlet side. (Emphasis added). This limitation is expressly supported by Applicant's disclosure.
Neither Ha nor Sawachi teaches or suggests this isolated-segment gas leak test for a chemical circulation loop, and the Examiner's rationale for combining the references does not cure this deficiency.
The Office Action asserts that Ha teaches a "leak determining line" connected to a circulation line and configured to supply gas and further asserts that Ha teaches a "measurement unit" configured for measuring a change in pressure of gas supplied to the circulation line.
However, the Ha passages relied upon in the rejection describe a liquid supply unit in which the inner space of a tank is pressurized with nitrogen to control boiling point and maintain process conditions, and in which the circulation line includes pressure sensors and pressure-providing members/regulators used for controlling liquid pressure in normal circulation operation. For example,
Ha describes that a first pressure sensor measures the pressure of the liquid flowing through the shared line of the circulation line and that the regulator adjusts liquid pressure based on that measurement.
The Ha pressure sensors are not a "measurement unit configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line" to determine a leak, as claimed. Rather, Ha's sensors measure liquid pressure during circulation for operational control. Ha's nitrogen supply is disclosed as pressurizing the internal tank space to prevent boiling/volatilizing and to enable proper flow; it is not disclosed as being supplied to a circulation line via a dedicated leak determining line for leak detection based on gas pressure change.
Accordingly, Ha does not teach the claimed configuration, particularly as amended, requiring leak determination based on pressure change of gas supplied to the circulation line while the circulation line is isolated from the tank.
The Office Action relies on Sawachi for the general concept of using a measurement unit (pressure gauge) to detect pressure increases indicative of leakage. However, Sawachi relates to a gas supply system and a method for inspecting leaks in valves (e.g., first valves and second valves) using a pressure gauge associated with a flow rate controller, under controlled inspection states.
Sawachi does not teach or suggest supplying gas to a chemical circulation line connected to a chemical storage tank for determining leakage in a chemical circulation loop, as required by claim 1. Sawachi's leak inspection is directed to gas line valves and exhaust piping conditions and is carried out by forming "inspection states" by opening/closing valves of a gas supply system and determines leakage based on a pressure increase measured downstream of the valve (See Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0085]-[0092].
Further, even assuming Sawachi teaches detecting pressure change in a gas line, Sawachi does not teach or suggest Applicant's amended limitation requiring determination of a leak based on pressure decrease of gas supplied to the circulation line when the circulation line is isolated from the storage tank by closing both the tank outlet-side valve and tank inlet-side valve.
Thus, Sawachi does not cure Ha's failure to teach the amended claim limitation, and the combination still does not disclose or suggest the claimed invention.
Furthermore, the combination of Ha and Sawachi is based on an overbroad characterization and lacks a reasoned motivation to arrive at Applicant's claimed isolated-segment leak test. The Office Action states that it would have been obvious to include a measurement unit configured for measuring a change in pressure of gas supplied to the circulation line in Ha based on Sawachi's teachings.
Applicant respectfully submits that this rationale is insufficient to support obviousness as amended, because it does not provide any articulated reasoning as to why a skilled artisan would modify Ha's liquid circulation system -which uses pressure sensors to control liquid pressure for operational reasons to implement Applicant's claimed leak determination operation that involves: supplying gas to the circulation line via a leak determining line, determining leakage based on pressure change of that gas in the circulation line, and doing so specifically while the circulation line is isolated from the storage tank by closing both the tank outlet-side valve and the tank inlet-side valve.
The references do not recognize, let alone address, Applicant's technical problem and solution of enabling efficient leak checking of the chemical circulation line using gas (as opposed to circulating deionized water), thereby avoiding cleanup and flushing delays. Neither Ha nor Sawachi teaches or suggests this approach, and the Office Action does not provide an explanation that would have led a person of ordinary skill to implement Applicant's specific isolated-segment gas leak test in Ha based on Sawachi's valve leak inspection in a separate gas system. Accordingly, the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight.
(b) For at least the reasons set forth above, as amended, independent claim 1 includes limitations that are not taught or suggested by Ha, Sawachi, or their proposed combination. Claims 2-13 depend from claim 1 and are patentable for at least the same reasons.
6. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1, the recitation “a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Ha in view of Sawachi since Ha in view of Sawachi meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of detecting a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
Further, as regards to claim 1, Ha discloses a circulation line 4160 connected to the storage tank 4120+4130 and self-circulating the chemicals from the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0060]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9); a leak determining line 4165 connected to the circulation line 4160 and configured to supply gas and liquid to the circulation line 4160 ([0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3, 5-6, 8-9; clm 1-3); and a measurement unit 41651 configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line 4160 (the inner space is continuously pressurized by the gas introduced through the gas supply line until the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor reaches the predetermined pressure, i.e. measuring a change), including a first adjustment valve 4125+4135 disposed on a storage tank outlet side (fig 3, 5-6, 8-9, 4120+4130 bottom) of the circulation line 4160 and a second adjustment valve 4124+4134 disposed on a storage tank inlet side (fig 3, 5-6, 8-9, 4120+4130 top) of the circulation line 4160 with fluid communication between the circulation line 4160 and the storage tank 4120+4130 ([0010]-[0012]; [0016]; [0019]-[0020]; [0059]-[0071]; [0074]-[0079]; [0081]-[0085]; fig 3-12; clm 1-3, 7, 10-11), however Ha does not disclose wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank.
Sawachi discloses an apparatus for supplying chemicals (abs; fig 1-10), comprising a measurement unit FPM configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line L4, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure change of the supplied gas, wherein in a case where a leak occurs in a first valve located on an upstream side of the second valve which is opened in the first inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge and in addition, in a case where a leak occurs in a second valve located on a downstream side of the first valve which is opened in the second inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge, therefore, it is possible to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of first valves and the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of second valves, wherein the plurality of second valves may be opened in the first inspection state formed in the second step, and the plurality of first valves may be opened in the second inspection state formed in the fourth step ([0008]-[0012]; [0084]; [0089]; [0092]-[0093]; [0099]-[0100]; [0102]-[0104]; [0106]-[0112]; fig 2, 7). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a measurement unit configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure decrease of the supplied gas when a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line are closed to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank in the apparatus of Ha, because Sawachi teaches the use of a measurement unit FPM configured for measuring a change in pressure of the gas supplied to the circulation line L4, wherein a leak is determined based on detection of a pressure change of the supplied gas wherein in a case where a leak occurs in a first valve located on an upstream side of the second valve which is opened in the first inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge and in addition, in a case where a leak occurs in a second valve located on a downstream side of the first valve which is opened in the second inspection state, a pressure increase is detected by the pressure gauge, therefore, it is possible to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of first valves and the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of second valves, wherein the plurality of second valves may be opened in the first inspection state formed in the second step, and the plurality of first valves may be opened in the second inspection state formed in the fourth step to detect the occurrence of a leak in any of the plurality of valves ([0009]; [0089]).
Examiner recommends incorporating the controller of claim 7 with controller functions wherein the controller is connected to the first adjustment valve, the second adjustment valve, the leak determining line, and the measurement unit, wherein the is configured to determine if a leak is present based on detection of a pressure decrease of the supplied gas by closing a first adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank outlet side of the circulation line and closing a second adjustment valve disposed on a storage tank inlet side of the circulation line to block fluid communication between the circulation line and the storage tank to check whether the circulation line leaks, wherein the liquid supply device discharges the liquid remaining in the circulation line, the controller closes the first control valve and the second control valve, and controls the gas to be supplied to the circulation line through the leak check line to determine if a leak is present based on detection of a pressure decrease to remove the intended use to these limitations from claim 1.
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 2-13 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717