DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2025 and 10/28/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 09/10/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0360083 (A1) to Yoshida et al. (“Yoshida”) in view of US 2017/0166997 (A1) to Arbab et al. (“Arbab”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a method for producing a high-strength aluminum alloy extruded product (method for manufacturing an aluminum alloy extruded material). Para. [0002]. The aluminum alloy contains the following elements in percent by mass (abstract; para. [0011], [0022]-[0033]; FIG. 1):
Element
Claim 1
US 2019/0360083 A1
Zn
6.0 - 8.0
6.0 - 8.0
Mg
1.0 - 1.38
1.0 - 3.5
Cu
0.10 - 0.50
0.2 - 1.5
Zr
0.10 - 0.25
0.10 - 0.25
Ti
0.005 - 0.05
0.005 - 0.05
Si
0.30 or less
0.1 or less
Fe
0.40 or less
0.2 or less
Al
balance
balance
The method for manufacture includes the following steps:
(i) preheating a billet to 400°C-500°C, extruding the billet such that the extruded product has a temperature of 500°C-585°C, and cooling the billet at a rate of 70-500°C/min immediately after extrusion (cooling an extruded material at a cooling rate of 50-750°C/min from an extruded material temperature of 325-550°C directly after extrusion) (para. [0017], [0034], [0038]; FIG. 2), which overlaps the claimed ranges;
(ii) performing two-stage artificial aging where the first stage is performed at 80-130°C for 7 hours or less and where the second stage is performed at 130-160°C for 13 hours or less (performing two-stage artificial aging treatment at 90 to 130oC for 1 to 8 hours and at 130 to 180oC for 1 to 20 hours) (para. [0041]; FIG. 2), which overlaps the claimed ranges.
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Yoshida does not teach using an aluminum alloy containing 20-95% by mass of recycled aluminum material made by collecting and remelting extruded materials of aluminum alloys that are used or scrap materials generated in a manufacturing process.
Arbab is directed to a method for recycling scrap of 2XXX- or 7XXX-series alloys. Title. The invention relates to the fabrication of ingots of aluminum alloys in the 2xxx or 7xxx series from scrap (e.g., machining chips or waste) made of alloys in the corresponding series, the scrap originating from fabrication processes used in the aeronautical and space industries (collecting and remelting scrap materials generated in a manufacturing process). Para. [0001], [0002], [0040]. The ingot is a cast product that can be used directly for extrusion. Para. [0042], [0044]. The proportion of the metal in the ingot derived from melting scrap is equal to at least 5% by weight, even more preferably at least 25% by weight (containing 20 to 95% by mass of recycled aluminum material) (para. [0043]; claim 14), which overlaps the claimed range.
Yoshida is directed to 7000-series aluminum alloys. Para. [0003], [0004]. Arbab teaches that large quantities of waste are generated in industries where finished metal products are fabricated. Para. [0002]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized scrap or recycled aluminum alloy as raw material for extrusion processes, as suggested by Arbab, in the method of manufacturing extruded aluminum alloy of Yoshida because reusing already existing material would decrease landfill waste and reduce the amount of loose metal scrap existing in the environment.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida discloses that the total amount of Mn and Zr [Mn+Zr] is 0.10-0.60% by mass, with Mn preferably being 0.32% or less (para. [0029]; FIG. 1), which falls within the claimed range.
Yoshida does not disclose the intentional addition of Sr; therefore, Sr is either present as an impurity or entirely absent (i.e., zero percent), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yoshida discloses that the tensile strength is 400 MPa or more and that the 0.2% proof stress (yield strength) is 380 MPa or more. Para. [0043]; FIG. 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Shibata (US 2019/0024224 (A1)) have been considered but are moot because Shibata is not relied upon to reject the claims in this Office action.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2018/100867 (A1) to Yoshida et al. (computer-generated translation is attached) discloses an aluminum alloy containing Zn (6.0-7.0%), Mg (1.0-1.6%), Zr (0.15-0.23%), Ti (0.001-0.05%), Cu (0.5% or less), and Mn (0.5% or less). Abstract. The billet is homogenized, preheated, extruded, cooled immediately after extrusion, and artificially aged in two stages thereafter. Para. [0010]; Figures 1-3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
March 26, 2026