DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H09-310141 (A) to Yatsukura et al. (“Yatsukura”) (computer-generated translation is attached) in view of US 2017/0166997 (A1) to Arbab et al. (“Arbab”).
Regarding claim 1, Yatsukura discloses a method for producing a high-strength Al-Zn-Mg alloy excellent in extrudability (method for manufacturing an aluminum alloy extruded material). Abstract; para. [0001]. The aluminum alloy contains the following elements in percent by mass (abstract; para. [0005], [0007]-[0010]):
Element
Claim 1
JP H09-310141 A
Zn
6.0 - 8.0
6 - 7
Mg
1.0 - 1.38
0.9 - 1.3
Cu
0.10 - 0.50
0.1 - 0.4
Zr
0.10 - 0.25
0.05 - 0.25
Ti
0.005 - 0.05
0.005 - 0.1
at least one of
Si
0.25 - 0.30
0.05 - 0.2
Fe
0.35 - 0.40
0.1 - 0.4
Al
balance
base
The Fe content overlaps the claimed range and meets the claim limitation with respect to Fe and Si because a minimum of one elemental range (“at least one of” from among Fe and Si) needs to be satisfied.
The method for manufacture includes the following steps:
(i) casting a casting in the shape of a billet (homogenizing a billet cast from the aluminum alloy) (para. [0012], [0013]);
(ii) homogenizing the billet and cooling thereafter at a rate of 100°C/hour or more (cooling the billet after homogenizing at a cooling rate of 50°C/hr or higher) (para. [0013]);
(iii) preheating a billet to 430°C-520°C and ensuring a temperature of the extruded material is controlled within a range of 500°C and 565°C, followed by cooling at a rate of 50°C/min or more (cooling an extruded material at a cooling rate of 50-750°C/min from an extruded material temperature of 325-550°C directly after extrusion) (para. [0014], [0015]); and
(iv) performing a two-stage aging treatment at 80°C-110°C for 2-12 hours and then at 140°C-180°C for 4-12 hours (performing two-stage artificial aging treatment at 90 to 130°C for 1 to 8 hours and at 130 to 180°C for 1 to 20 hours) (para. [0016]).
The elemental, temperature, and temporal ranges overlap the claimed ranges. The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Yatsukara does not teach using an aluminum alloy containing 20-95% by mass of recycled aluminum material made by collecting and remelting extruded materials of aluminum alloys that are used or scrap materials generated in a manufacturing process.
Arbab is directed to a method for recycling scrap of 2XXX- or 7XXX-series alloys. Title. The invention relates to the fabrication of ingots of aluminum alloys in the 2xxx or 7xxx series from scrap (e.g., machining chips or waste) made of alloys in the corresponding series, the scrap originating from fabrication processes used in the aeronautical and space industries (collecting and remelting scrap materials generated in a manufacturing process). Para. [0001], [0002], [0040]. The ingot is a cast product that can be used directly for extrusion. Para. [0042], [0044]. The proportion of the metal in the ingot derived from melting scrap is equal to at least 5% by weight, even more preferably at least 25% by weight (containing 20 to 95% by mass of recycled aluminum material) (para. [0043]; claim 14), which overlaps the claimed range.
Yatsukara’s alloys belong to the field of 7000-series aluminum alloys (Al-Zr-Mg). Para. [0002], [0004], [0006]. Arbab teaches that large quantities of waste are generated in industries where finished metal products are fabricated. Para. [0002]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized scrap or recycled aluminum alloy as raw material for extrusion processes, as suggested by Arbab, in the method of manufacturing extruded aluminum alloy of Yatsukara because reusing already existing material would decrease landfill waste and reduce the amount of loose metal scrap existing in the environment.
Regarding claim 2, Yatsukara discloses that it is not necessary to add Cr (para. [0009]), which falls within the claimed range. Yatsukara does not disclose the intentional addition of Sr; therefore, Sr is either present as an impurity or entirely absent (i.e., zero percent), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yatsukara discloses examples in which the tensile strength and 0.2% yield strength exceeds 400 MPa (e.g., 475 N/mm2) and 380 MPa (e.g., 445 N/mm2). Para. [0018]; Table 2 – Examples 1-4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Yoshida (US 2019/0360083 (A1)) have been considered but are moot because Yoshida is not relied upon to reject the claims in this Office action.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
June 25, 2026