POSITIIVE ELECTRODE ACTIVE MATERIAL, A PREPARATION METHOD THEREOF, AND A POSITIVE ELECTRODE PLATE, A SECONDARY BATTERY, AND A POWER CONSUMING DEVICE CONTAINING THE SAME
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/337,127 Art Unit: 1727 August 17, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
This is a new Non-Final rejection tor replace the previous Non-Final rejection mailed on April 21, 2026 to correctly examine the preliminary amended claim set filed on January 06, 2026. Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed on March 25, 2026 has been received. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-15 and 17-22 are currently pending. Claims 4, 6, 10, 12 and 15 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 11, 13 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 are newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A and D in the reply filed on March 09, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Accordingly, claim 2 is withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 8-10, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation for the mass ratio, and the claim also recites an optional mass ratio which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation of ratios, and the claim also recites optional ratios which are narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 8 recites an optional structure and it is unclear as to what structure applicant intends to claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites an optional broad recitation for the molar ratio, and the claim also recites an optional molar ratio which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation for each of the coating amounts, and the claim also recites an optional coating amount for each coating layer which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation for each of the contents of the elements of manganese and phosphorus and the weight ratio between the two, and the claim also recites an optional content and weight ratio which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation for the lattice change rate, and the claim also recites optional lattice change rates that are narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation for the compacted density, and the claim also recites an optional an optional compacted density that is the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation for the surface oxygen valence state, and the claim also recites an optional the surface oxygen valence state that is the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9 and 12, 14-15 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa et al. (US 2012/0315512 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103872320 A; using machine translation for citation purposes), Gao et al. (CN 106058225 A; using machine translation for citation purposes) and Wu et al. (CN 109301174 A; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1, 6, 17 and 21-22, Kitagawa discloses a lithium ion battery comprising: positive electrode plate comprising two or more types of active material, such as carbon-coated LiFePO4 and carbon-coated LiMn0.5Fe0.5PO4 which are mixed in a weight ratio of 80:20 (reads on a first active material having a core-shell structure, comprising an inner core and a first coating layer covering the inner core; and wherein a slurry is prepared having 85 wt% of the mixed active material, 7.5 wt% acetylene black, and 7.5 wt% polyacrylonitrile, and wherein the slurry is coated onto an aluminum collector to obtain the positive electrode plate (Abstract, paragraphs [0063-0070, 0081-0082 and 0085). Kitagawa does not specifically disclose wherein the first active material comprises a second coating layer covering the first coating layer and a third coating layer coating the second coating layer; the specific composition of the first and second coating layers, and wherein the inner core comprises a doping element R and the specific composition of the inner core.
However, Zhang teaches of a phosphate such as LiMn1-x-yNixNdyP1-zBzO4; where x=0.15-0.2; y=-0.025-0.04; and z= 0.07-0.13 (paragraphs [0011 and 0018]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the core of Kitagawa to comprise the claimed material because Zhang teaches that the doping of P with B improves the electron migration rate and the activity of the material (paragraph [0018]).
In addition, Gao discloses a positive electrode material having a core-shell structure, wherein the core comprises: LiMn1-xFexPO4 and the shell comprises a mixture of carbon and lithium-metal phosphate and lithium metal pyrophosphate such as LiFeP2O7, LiAlP2O7, and Li3V2(PO4)3 (paragraphs [0011-0013). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of Kitagawa to comprise the claimed lithium metal pyrophosphate coating layer on the core because Gao teaches that the lithium ion diffusion path can be shortened and therefore the ion transmission performance is improved (Abstract).
In addition, Wu taches of having an intermediate transition layer comprising lithium pyrophosphate provided between lithium vanadium phosphate inner core and a carbon surface layer (paragraphs [0016]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of modified Kitagawa to comprise a mixed shell layer of a pyrophosphate layer/a phosphate layer/ and a carbon layer arranged in sequence because Wu teaches that a rate performance of the battery is improved and direct contact between the electrolyte and the core is prevented (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 4, Kitagawa teaches wherein the coating of a conducive carbon is a result-effective variable for improving the low conductivity of the olivine (and without hampering the intended purpose of the active material, thereby negative effecting the energy density) (paragraph [0066]). Kitagawa does not specifically disclose the claimed amount of carbon coating. However, the courts have held that a parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, II, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of carbon coating because Kitagawa teaches that the conductivity can be improved (paragraph [0066]).
As to Claim 9, the courts have held that generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical, see MPEP 2144.05, II, A. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coating amounts to read on the claim because Wu teaches that a rate performance of the battery is improved and direct contact between the electrolyte and the core is prevented (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claims 12 and 14-15, it is the position of the Office that the active material of modified Kitagawa intrinsically satisfies the claimed conditions given that the structure and materials used in the prior art and the claimed invention are the same, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claims 18-20, Zhang teaches of using a battery in a device such as a vehicle (reads on battery module and battery pack) (paragraph [0004]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Kitagawa to be used in a module/pack in a device because Zhang teaches that a device can be powered electrically (paragraph [0004]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa et al. (US 2012/0315512 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103872320 A; using machine translation for citation purposes), Gao et al. (CN 106058225 A; using machine translation for citation purposes) and Wu et al. (CN 109301174 A; using machine translation for citation purposes) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9 and 12, 14-15 and 17-22 above and in further view of Matsuda et al. (US 2013/0295463 A1).
As to Claim 8, modified Kitagawa does not specifically disclose the claimed carbon material.
However, Matsuda teaches of a cathode active material comprising a carbon coating comprising SP2 and SP3 carbon (paragraph [0026]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the carbon coating of modified Kitagawa to comprise the claimed material because Matsuda teaches that electron conductivity of the cathode is improved and a high-capacity material is provided (paragraph [0044]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa et al. (US 2012/0315512 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103872320 A; using machine translation for citation purposes), Gao et al. (CN 106058225 A; using machine translation for citation purposes) and Wu et al. (CN 109301174 A; using machine translation for citation purposes) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9 and 12, 14-15 and 17-22 above and in further view of Jiao et al. (CN 106558698 A; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 10, Jiao teaches wherein the thickness of the positive active material can be 50 microns and is also a result-effective variable in providing an active material that prevents manganese dissolution and is not too expensive (paragraph [0038]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the thickness of the active material components because Jiao teaches that an active material that prevents manganese dissolution and minimizes cost is provided (paragraph [0038]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-15 and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/337,127 in view of Kitagawa. The claims of the copending application and the teachings of the prior at as discussed in the rejections above teach the elements of the claimed invention. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of the copending application with the second active material of Kitagawa because Kitagawa teaches that a conductive cathode with improved rate characteristics can be provided (paragraph [0068]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727