DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet head comprising: an ink supply part (104, 102, 105) configured to supply an ink (Figure 4; Paragraph 0054)
A nozzle plate (130) connected to the ink supply part and having a nozzle configured to drop the ink provided from the ink supply part (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0053-0054; 0061-0063)
A nozzle plate heating part (134) adjacent to the nozzle plate (nozzle plate is integrally formed with the heater 134) and configured to heat the nozzle plate [the heater 134 may be formed in any pattern that can uniformly heat the entire surface of the nozzle plate 130] (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0062-0063)
An insulation member (insulating member 131b) between the nozzle plate (130) and the ink supply part (104, 102, 105) (Figure 4; Paragraph 0061)
Regarding claim 7, wherein the nozzle plate heating part comprises a heater on one surface of the nozzle plate (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0062-0063)
Regarding claim 11, wherein the nozzle plate heating part comprises: electrode terminals electrically connected to the nozzle plate; and an electrode control part configured to apply power to the electrode terminals (Paragraphs 0058-0063)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (U.S. Pub. 2007/0273719) in view of Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232)
Regarding claim 14, an ink jet printing apparatus comprising: a stage (platen) configured to receive a substrate thereon (Paragraph 0029)
An ink jet head configured to drop ink on the substrate; a reservoir configured to store the ink (Abstract; Paragraphs 0036)
Lee discloses: the ink jet head comprises: an ink supply part configured to be supplied with the ink from the reservoir (Abstract; Paragraph 0054)
A nozzle plate (130) connected to the ink supply part and having a nozzle configured to drop the ink provided from the ink supply part (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0053-0054; 0061-0063)
A nozzle plate heating part (134) adjacent to the nozzle plate and configured to heat the nozzle plate [the heater 134 may be formed in any pattern that can uniformly heat the entire surface of the nozzle plate 130] (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0062-0063)
An insulation member (insulating member 131b) between the nozzle plate (130) and the ink supply part (104, 102, 105) (Figure 4; Paragraph 0061)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lee into the device of Yamashita, for the purpose of heating ink to a uniform temperature (Paragraph 0013)
Regarding claim 15, further comprising a pressure actuator in the ink supply part and configured to vibrate the ink in the nozzle (Abstract; Paragraphs 0006, 0011)
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the nozzle plate heating part comprises a heater on one surface of the nozzle plate (Figure 4; Paragraphs 0062-0063)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lee into the device of Yamashita, for the purpose of heating ink to a uniform temperature (Paragraph 0013)
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232) view of Ueda et al (U.S. Pub. 2015/0158300)
Regarding claim 6, Ueda discloses it is known in the art to use one of glass and silica fiber in the insulation member (Paragraph 0032)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ueda into the device of Lee, for the purpose of providing high insulation
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the nozzle plate comprising a conductive material (Paragraphs 0062-0063)
Ueda discloses it is known in the art to use one of glass and silica fiber in the insulation member (Paragraph 0032)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ueda into the device of Lee, for the purpose of providing high insulation
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232) in view of Paschkewitz (U.S. Pub. 2015/0273849)
Regarding claim 10, Paschkewitz discloses it is known in the art to use an induction heating device having a coil (Abstract; Paragraphs 0003-0004; 0032)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paschkewitz into the device of Lee, for the purpose of achieving precise heating
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232) in view of Sim et al (U.S. Pub. 2021/0332256)
Regarding claim 12, Sim discloses ink comprising at least one of a light emitting element, a conductor metal particle, and a light conversion particle, and wherein the light emitting element comprises a first semiconductor layer, a second semiconductor layer, and an active layer between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer (Abstract; Paragraph 0156)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sim into the device of Lee, for the purpose of improving product reliability
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (U.S. Pub. 2007/0273719) as modified by Lee (U.S. 2005/0190232) and further in view of Paschkewitz (U.S. Pub. 2015/0273849)
Regarding claim 19, Paschkewitz discloses it is known in the art to use an induction heating device having a coil (Abstract; Paragraphs 0003-0004; 0032)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paschkewitz into the device of Yamashita as modified by Lee, for the purpose of achieving precise heating
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 16-17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 February 19, 2026