DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Claim Status
The amendment filed 29 June 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings, specification, and claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed 30 April 2026 except for one objection regarding Claim 4 (see below). Claims 7 and 8 have been canceled. Claims 16–21 has been added. Claims 1–6 and 9–21 are pending in the application. Claim 15 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: “um” should instead read “µm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 references the claim elements “the uncoated region”, “the electrode terminal”, and “the coated region” which were first recited in Claim 1 as being required by both electrode plates. However, Claim 9 also references the claim element “hardness increasing layer” and its spatial relationship to the above claim elements in the electrode plate; “hardness increasing layer” was first recited in Claim 1 as being required by only at least one of the two electrode plates. In light of the above, Claim 9 and dependent Claims 10, 11, 12, and 21 are being interpreted as only limiting the at least one electrode plate which comprises the hardness increasing layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9–12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “after the connecting portion is connected to the adapter piece or the electrode terminal, a weak hardness region is formed between the connecting portion and the coated region, and the hardness increasing layer is arranged on the weak hardness region and between the connecting portion and the coated region”. The language of this limitation is vague, such that it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to e.g.:
(1) claim/define a region between the connecting portion and the coated region which can be understood as being formed after connection of the connecting portion to the adapter piece or the electrode terminal, which has the property of weak hardness, and on which the hardness increasing layer is arranged, or
(2) claim/define a product via a process in which, as a first step, the connecting portion is connected to the adapter piece or the electrode terminal, as a second step, a weak hardness region is formed between the connecting portion and the coated region, and as a third step, the hardness increasing layer is arranged on the weak hardness region and between the connecting portion and the coated portion.
For the purposes of this office action, the above limitation is being interpreted as having the meaning (1). However, it is noted that in the event that the intended interpretation is e.g. meaning (2), such a limitation would be considered a product-by-process limitation, and even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966).
Claims 10–12, and 21 are rejected as they depend upon Claim 9 and do not resolve the indefinite language described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 5, 6, 13, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Shinkawa discloses a battery unit (see lithium ion battery 1, [0028], FIG. 1), comprising:
an electrode assembly (see electrode wound body 20, [0028], FIG. 1) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode 21 and negative electrode 22, [0037], FIG. 1–4, 7), wherein each of the two electrode plates comprise a coated region (see positive electrode active material covered part 21B, [0038], FIG. 1, 2, 4, 7; see negative electrode active material covered part 22B, [0039], FIG. 3, 4, 7) and an uncoated region (see positive electrode active material uncovered part 21C, [0038], FIG. 4, 7, and negative electrode active material uncovered part 22C including first negative electrode active material uncovered part 221A, [0039]–[0040], FIG. 3, 4, 7) connected to each other ([0038], [0044], FIG. 4, 7), the coated region (21B, 22B) being coated with an active material layer ([0038], [0039], FIG. 3, 4, 7), and the uncoated region (21C, 22C) being used for connecting to an electrode terminal of the battery unit (1) ([0046] discloses that the positive electrode plate’s uncoated region (21C) is coupled to positive electrode current collector 24; [0046] further discloses that the negative electrode plate’s uncoated region (221A) is coupled to the negative electrode current collector 25; further, FIG. 1 illustrates that the current collector 24 is connected to the battery cover 14 via safety valve mechanism 30, thus it can be understood that the battery cover 14 serves as the positive electrode terminal for the battery unit (1); further, FIG. 1 and [0050] disclose that the current collector 25 is connected to the battery can 11 via band-shaped part 34, thus it can be understood that the battery can 11 serves as the negative electrode terminal for the battery unit (1)); and,
wherein for at least one of the two electrode plates, a surface of the uncoated region (21C) is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see insulating layer 101, [0044]; note that [0044] discloses the insulating layer 101 has an effect of preventing internal short circuit of battery unit (1) due to foreign matter, as well as an effect of, in the case of an impact to the battery unit (1), preventing part of the uncoated region from bending and short-circuiting with the opposing electrode (22) by absorbing the impact; thus it can be understood that the insulating layer 101 is a hardness increasing layer).
Shinkawa does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) has an elasticity modulus greater than 6 GPa.
Sasaki teaches a battery unit (see battery cell, [0040]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode assembly 4, [0041], FIG. 1–3) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode 5 and negative electrode 6, [0042], FIG. 4), a coated region (see positive-electrode active material-coated parts 51, [0043], and negative-electrode active material-coated parts 61, [0044], FIG. 4, 5) and an uncoated region (see positive-electrode active material-uncoated part 52, [0045], and negative electrode active material-uncoated part 62, [0045], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other being formed on the electrode plate, the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0044]–[0045]), and the uncoated region being used for connecting to an electrode terminal of the battery unit ([0064]–[0065]); and, wherein for at least one of the two electrode plates, a surface of the uncoated region is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see porous layer 53, [0045], and porous layer 63, [0048], FIG. 4–6; note that [0046] and [0048] teach that the porous layers 53 and 63 have the property of being less liable to deformation due to physical stress; thus it can be understood that porous layers 53 and 63 are hardness increasing layers). Sasaki teaches ([0049]–[0050]) that the hardness increasing layer should have an elasticity modulus of 0.1 to 300 GPa in order to limit its deformation by external factors such as vibration or impact and secure performance.
Sasaki and Shinkawa are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer has an elasticity modulus of 0.1 to 300 GPa, as taught by Sasaki, for the purpose of limiting its deformation by external factors such as vibration or impact and securing performance.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the elasticity modulus of the hardness increasing layer with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in limited deformation by external factors and secured performance.
Shinkawa does not disclose the composition of the hardness increasing layer (101), and therefore does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is an adhesive or adhesive tape fixed to the surface of the uncoated region (21C).
Sasaki teaches ([0046]–[0047]) that a hardness increasing layer comprising an oxide, a lithium salt, and polyvinylidene fluoride has the benefits of non-participation in charging and discharging, electrochemical stability, and less liability to deformation.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer comprises an oxide, a lithium salt, and polyvinylidene fluoride, for the purpose of ensuring non-participation in charging and discharging, electrochemical stability, and less liability to deformation. Note that as such a hardness increasing layer comprises polyvinylidene fluoride, evidenced by the instant specification ([0073]) to be an adhesive, it can be understood that the hardness increasing layer is an adhesive and is fixed to the surface of the uncoated region as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein a height of the hardness increasing layer (101) is 0.43 times the height of the uncoated region (21C) in a first direction, the first direction being an extending direction of the uncoated region (21C), by disclosing that the hardness increasing layer (101) can have a length in the width direction (y-direction shown in FIG. 4; analogous to the instant first/extending direction) of 3 mm ([0044]), and that the uncoated region (21C) can have a length in the width direction of 7 mm ([0045]); thus 0.43 above is calculated by dividing 3 mm by 7 mm.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein a thickness of the hardness increasing layer (101) is smaller than the thickness of the active material layer (21B).
Sasaki teaches ([0055]) that the hardness increasing layer should be equal to or smaller than the thickness of the active material layer in order to avoid adding to the thickness of the electrode assembly when compared to a scenario where the hardness increasing layer is not present.
KSR Rationale E (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to choose “from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success”. In the instant case, Sasaki teaches two possible options for the thickness of the hardness increasing layer: (1) equal to the thickness of the active material layer, and (2) smaller than the thickness of the active material layer, both of which would provide the solution of not increasing the thickness of the electrode assembly. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select option (2) taught by Sasaki and modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that a thickness of the hardness increasing layer is smaller than the thickness of the active material layer, with a reasonable expectation that doing so would result in not increasing the thickness of the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses (FIG. 7) wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is provided on each of two sides of the uncoated region (21C) in a thickness direction of the electrode plate (21).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses ([0044], FIG. 4 and 7) wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is in abutting connection to the active material layer (21B).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Modified Shinkawa further discloses a battery (see assembled battery 301, Shinkawa [0098]–[0099], FIG. 10) comprising the battery unit according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery as set forth above. Modified Shinkawa further discloses a power consuming device (see electronic equipment and electric transport equipment, Shinkawa [0104], FIG. 11, 12) comprising the battery according to claim 12, the battery being configured to supply electric energy ([0104]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery as set forth above. As already set forth above, modified Shinkawa discloses wherein the hardness increasing layer is the adhesive, the adhesive comprises polyvinylidene fluoride.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, Shinkawa discloses wherein the height of the uncoated region (21C) is 7 mm by disclosing that the uncoated region (21C) can have a length in the width direction (y-direction shown in in FIG. 4; analogous to the instant first/extending direction) of 7 mm ([0045]), and the height of the hardness increasing layer is 3 mm by disclosing that the hardness increasing layer (101) can have a length in the width direction of 3 mm ([0044]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record) as applied to Claim 3 above, in further view of Huh et al. (US 2014/0255778 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) has a thickness greater than or equal to 11 µm.
Huh teaches a battery unit (see secondary battery, [0050], FIG. 7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see cathode 100, [0022], [0050], FIG. 3, 7, and anode 200, [0050], FIG. 7), a coated region (see cathode active material coating portion 10, [0033], FIG. 3) and an uncoated region (see cathode tab 20, [0033], FIG. 3) connected to each other being formed on the electrode plate ([0033], FIG. 3), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0033]); and, wherein a surface of the uncoated region is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see insulation layer 40, [0033], FIG. 3; note that [0013] and [0058] discloses that the insulation layer reduces the possibility of physical short circuit due to cell deformation or sharp edges, thus it can be understood that insulation layer 40 is a hardness increasing layer). Huh teaches ([0042]) that the thickness of the insulation layer can be in a range of 1 to 100 µm to ensure sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoid excessive solidification time and thickness.
Huh is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer has a thickness of 1 to 100 µm, as taught by Huh, for the purpose of ensuring sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoiding excessive solidification time and thickness.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the thickness of the hardness increasing layer with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoidance of excessive solidification time and thickness.
Claims 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 2008/0311479 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein the uncoated region (21C) comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 24, [0046], FIG. 1, 5, 6) of the battery unit (1) ([0046]–[0047], FIG. 1, 7; note that [0046]–[0047] discloses that a portion of the uncoated portion (21C) located at an end face 41 of the electrode assembly is connected to the positive electrode current collector 24), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region (21C) (see flat surfaces… formed by bending of the uncoated region (21C), [0067], FIG. 1, 6), after the connecting portion (21C) is connected to the adapter piece (24), a region is formed between the connecting portion (21C) and the coated region (21B) (FIG. 1; note that FIG. 1 shows a region between the connecting portion of the uncoated region (21C) which is connected to the adapter piece (24) and the coated region (21B)), and the hardness increasing layer (101) is arranged on the region and between the connecting portion (21C) and the coated region (21B) (FIG. FIG. 7; note that FIG. 7 shows the hardness increasing layer (101) arranged between the end of the uncoated region (21C) and the coated region (21B), i.e. in the region defined above).
Modified Shinkawa does not disclose wherein the region set forth above is a weak hardness region. However, it is well-known in the field of battery unit design that the boundary between an uncoated region and a coated region of an electrode plate is particularly weak and vulnerable to internal short circuit, as evidenced by Lee ([0019]). As the region defined above includes such a boundary, it can be understood that it is a weak hardness region.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein one end of the adapter piece (24) is connected to the electrode terminal (14) (FIG. 1), and the other end of the adapter piece (24) is press-fitted with the tab (FIG. 6, [0066], [0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the adapter piece (24) can be coupled to the flat surface of the tab as well as grooves 43 formed in the tab; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that this amounts to press-fitting).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein a recessed region (see grooves 43, [0066], [0070], FIG. 6) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece (24) ([0066], FIG. 6), and the adapter piece (24) is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the recessed region (43) can be coupled to, i.e. can partially accommodate, the adapter piece (24)).
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record) and as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 2008/0311479 A1) as applied to Claims 11 and 10 above, further in view of Yokoyama et al. (JP 2007/265846 A; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the recessed region (43) has a depth greater than or equal to 1 mm.
Further, Yokoyama teaches a battery unit (see cylindrical battery, [0007]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode body, [0007], also referred to as spiral electrode group 10, [0017], FIG. 1–7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode core 11a, [0014], and negative electrode core body 12a, [0016], FIG. 1), a coated region (see positive electrode mixture layer 11b, [0014], FIG. 1) and an uncoated region (see uncoated region 11c, [0014], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other ([0014], FIG. 1), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0014]), wherein the uncoated region comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 14, [0007], [0020], FIG. 3–7), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region ([0019], FIG. 2–5), wherein one end of the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab ([0021], FIG. 3–7), wherein a recessed region (see bent grooves 11d, [0007], [0019], FIG. 2–7) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece, and the adapter piece is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0009], [0021], FIG. 3–7). Yokoyama teaches that the recessed region can have a depth of 2 mm ([0018]; note that [0018] discloses the slits made to form the recessed regions can have a depth of 2 mm, and one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the resultant recessed region will have a depth substantially equal to that of the slits).
Yokoyama is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. Furthermore, KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, modified Shinkawa discloses recessed regions which must necessarily have some depth, and Yokoyama teaches a recessed region serving the same purpose of partially accommodating an adapter piece with a depth of 2 mm. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of modified Shinkawa such that the recessed region has a depth of 2 mm, as taught by Yokoyama, to yield the predictable result of an operational battery unit with an adapter piece appropriately partially accommodated in the recessed region.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the adapter piece comprises a raised portion facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion. However, Shinkawa does disclose wherein a recessed region (see grooves 43, [0066], [0070], FIG. 6) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece (24) ([0066], FIG. 6), and the adapter piece (24) is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the recessed region (43) can be coupled to, i.e. can partially accommodate, the adapter piece (24)). One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the adapter must necessarily have a raised portion in order to be coupled with this recessed region, and that the two portions would be press-fitted together in order for this coupling to occur.
Further, Yokoyama teaches a battery unit (see cylindrical battery, [0007]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode body, [0007], also referred to as spiral electrode group 10, [0017], FIG. 1–7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode core 11a, [0014], and negative electrode core body 12a, [0016], FIG. 1), a coated region (see positive electrode mixture layer 11b, [0014], FIG. 1) and an uncoated region (see uncoated region 11c, [0014], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other ([0014], FIG. 1), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0014]), wherein the uncoated region comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 14, [0007], [0020], FIG. 3–7), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region ([0019], FIG. 2–5), wherein one end of the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab ([0021], FIG. 3–7), wherein a recessed region (see bent grooves 11d, [0007], [0019], FIG. 2–7) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece, wherein the adapter piece comprises a raised portion (see substantially U-shaped groove 14c, [0018], [0020], [0021], FIG. 3–7) facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion ([0021], FIG. 3–7). Yokoyama teaches ([0021], FIG. 3–5, 7) that the fit between the raised portion and the recessed region provides contact surfaces for welding which result in good contact between the uncoated region and the adapter, and thus reduced internal resistance ([0030], [0031], FIG. 4, 5).
Yokoyama is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the adapter piece comprises a raised portion facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion, as taught by Yokoyama, for the purpose of achieving a fit between the raised portion and the recessed region that provides contact surfaces for welding which result in good contact between the uncoated region and the adapter, thus reducing internal resistance.
***
Claims 1–3, 5, 6, 13, 14, and 16–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record), and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2004/0202928 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shinkawa discloses a battery unit (see lithium ion battery 1, [0028], FIG. 1), comprising:
an electrode assembly (see electrode wound body 20, [0028], FIG. 1) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode 21 and negative electrode 22, [0037], FIG. 1–4, 7), wherein each of the two electrode plates comprise a coated region (see positive electrode active material covered part 21B, [0038], FIG. 1, 2, 4, 7, and negative electrode active material covered part 22B, [0039], FIG. 3, 4, 7) and an uncoated region (see positive electrode active material uncovered part 21C, [0038], FIG. 4, 7; see negative electrode active material uncovered part 22C including first negative electrode active material uncovered part 221A, [0039]–[0040], FIG. 3, 4, 7) connected to each other ([0038], [0044], FIG. 4, 7), the coated region (21B, 22B) being coated with an active material layer ([0038], [0039], FIG. 3, 4, 7), and the uncoated region (21C, 22C) being used for connecting to an electrode terminal of the battery unit (1) ([0046] discloses that the positive electrode plate’s uncoated region (21C) is coupled to positive electrode current collector 24; [0046] further discloses that the negative electrode plate’s uncoated region (221A) is coupled to the negative electrode current collector 25; further, FIG. 1 illustrates that the current collector 24 is connected to the battery cover 14 via safety valve mechanism 30, thus it can be understood that the battery cover 14 serves as the positive electrode terminal for the battery unit (1); further, FIG. 1 and [0050] disclose that the current collector 25 is connected to the battery can 11 via band-shaped part 34, thus it can be understood that the battery can 11 serves as the negative electrode terminal for the battery unit (1)); and,
wherein for at least one of the two electrode plates, a surface of the uncoated region (21C) is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see insulating layer 101, [0044]; note that [0044] discloses the insulating layer 101 has an effect of preventing internal short circuit of battery unit (1) due to foreign matter, as well as an effect of, in the case of an impact to the battery unit (1), preventing part of the uncoated region from bending and short-circuiting with the opposing electrode (22) by absorbing the impact; thus it can be understood that the insulating layer 101 is a hardness increasing layer).
Shinkawa does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) has an elasticity modulus greater than 6 GPa.
Sasaki teaches a battery unit (see battery cell, [0040]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode assembly 4, [0041], FIG. 1–3) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode 5 and negative electrode 6, [0042], FIG. 4), a coated region (see positive-electrode active material-coated parts 51, [0043], and negative-electrode active material-coated parts 61, [0044], FIG. 4, 5) and an uncoated region (see positive-electrode active material-uncoated part 52, [0045], and negative electrode active material-uncoated part 62, [0045], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other being formed on the electrode plate, the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0044]–[0045]), and the uncoated region being used for connecting to an electrode terminal of the battery unit ([0064]–[0065]); and, wherein a surface of the uncoated region is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see porous layer 53, [0045], and porous layer 63, [0048], FIG. 4–6; note that [0046] and [0048] teach that the porous layers 53 and 63 have the property of being less liable to deformation due to physical stress; thus it can be understood that porous layers 53 and 63 are hardness increasing layers). Sasaki teaches ([0049]–[0050]) that the hardness increasing layer should have an elasticity modulus of 0.1 to 300 Gpa in order to limit its deformation by external factors such as vibration or impact and secure performance.
Sasaki and Shinkawa are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer has an elasticity modulus of 0.1 to 300 Gpa, as taught by Sasaki, for the purpose of limiting its deformation by external factors such as vibration or impact and securing performance.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the elasticity modulus of the hardness increasing layer with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in limited deformation by external factors and secured performance.
Shinkawa does not disclose the composition of the hardness increasing layer (101), and therefore does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is an adhesive or adhesive tape fixed to the surface of the uncoated region (21C). However, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the hardness increasing layer of Shinkawa must necessarily have some composition.
Miyamoto teaches a battery unit (see non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, [0019]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see coiled electrode assembly, [0019]) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode and negative electrode, [0019], FIG. 1), wherein each of the two electrode plates comprises a coated region (see region of positive electrode collector 76 coated with positive electrode active material mixture layer 78, [0006], FIG. 1, and see region of negative electrode collector 82 coated with negative electrode active material mixture layer 84, [0006], FIG. 1) and an uncoated region (see exposed regions of positive electrode collector 76 and negative electrode collector 82, [0006], FIG. 1) connected to each other (FIG. 1), the coated region being coated with an active material layer, and the uncoated region being used for connecting to an electrode terminal of the battery unit ([0003], [0006]–[0007]); wherein for at least one of the two electrode plates, a surface of the uncoated region is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see insulating layer 100, [0017], FIG. 1; note that e.g. [0017] discloses that the insulating layer 100 reduces the possible occurrence of short circuit caused by electrically conductive microparticles, and therefore can be understood to be a hardness increasing layer; furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the presence of insulating layer 100 necessarily serves to reinforce the area of the uncoated region on which it is provided, and therefore the insulating layer 100 can be considered hardness increasing), wherein the hardness increasing layer is an adhesive (see insulating layer 100 formed through the dried coating method or the hot melt coating method, [0017], [0022]; note that [0022] discloses materials for the insulating layer formed via these methods such as polyvinylidene fluoride and ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, i.e. a vinyl acetate resin, which are evidenced by the instant specification ([0073]) to be adhesives; also note that [0022] specifically discloses that ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer is an adhesive material) or an adhesive tape (see insulating layer 100 formed through the heat seal tape method, [0017], [0022]; note that [0022] discloses the insulating layer formed via this method is a heat seal tape with adhesiveness at elevated temperatures, i.e. an adhesive tape) fixed to the surface of the uncoated region ([0017], FIG. 1). Such adhesives and adhesive tapes taught by Miyamoto for the hardness increasing layer provide the additional benefit of not sticking to manufacturing equipment, as they have low adhesiveness at ordinary temperatures ([0016]–[0022]).
Miyamoto is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer has the composition taught by Miyamoto and thus is an adhesive or adhesive tape, which has the additional benefit of not sticking to manufacturing equipment due to low adhesiveness at ordinary temperatures.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein a height of the hardness increasing layer (101) is 0.43 times the height of the uncoated region (21C) in a first direction, the first direction being an extending direction of the uncoated region (21C), by disclosing that the hardness increasing layer (101) can have a length in the width direction (y-direction shown in FIG. 4; analogous to the instant first/extending direction) of 3 mm ([0044]), and that the uncoated region (21C) can have a length in the width direction of 7 mm ([0045]); thus 0.43 above is calculated by dividing 3 mm by 7 mm.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein a thickness of the hardness increasing layer (101) is smaller than the thickness of the active material layer (21B).
Sasaki teaches ([0055]) that the hardness increasing layer should be equal to or smaller than the thickness of the active material layer in order to avoid adding to the thickness of the electrode assembly when compared to a scenario where the hardness increasing layer is not present.
KSR Rationale E (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to choose “from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success”. In the instant case, Sasaki teaches two possible options for the thickness of the hardness increasing layer: (1) equal to the thickness of the active material layer, and (2) smaller than the thickness of the active material layer, both of which would provide the solution of not increasing the thickness of the electrode assembly. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select option (2) taught by Sasaki and modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that a thickness of the hardness increasing layer is smaller than the thickness of the active material layer, with a reasonable expectation that doing so would result in not increasing the thickness of the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses (FIG. 7) wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is provided on each of two sides of the uncoated region (21C) in a thickness direction of the electrode plate (21).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses ([0044], FIG. 4 and 7) wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is in abutting connection to the active material layer (21B).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Modified Shinkawa further discloses a battery (see assembled battery 301, Shinkawa [0098]–[0099], FIG. 10) comprising the battery unit according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery as set forth above. Modified Shinkawa further discloses a power consuming device (see electronic equipment and electric transport equipment, Shinkawa [0104], FIG. 11, 12) comprising the battery according to claim 12, the battery being configured to supply electric energy ([0104]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, modified Shinkawa discloses wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is the adhesive (see insulating layer 100 formed through the dried coating method or the hot melt coating method, Miyamoto [0017], [0022]; note that Miyamoto [0022] discloses materials for the insulating layer formed via these methods such as polyvinylidene fluoride and ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, i.e. a vinyl acetate resin, which are evidenced by the instant specification ([0073]) to be adhesives; also note that Miyamoto [0022] specifically discloses that ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer is an adhesive material). Modified Shinkawa further discloses wherein the adhesive comprises one selected from polyvinylidene fluoride (Miyamoto [0022]) and vinyl acetate resin (see ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, Miyamoto [0022]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, modified Shinkawa discloses wherein the adhesive comprises vinyl acetate resin (see ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, Miyamoto [0022]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, modified Shinkawa discloses wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) is the adhesive tape (see insulating layer 100 formed through the heat seal tape method, Miyamoto [0017], [0022]; note that Miyamoto [0022] discloses the insulating layer formed via this method is a heat seal tape with adhesiveness at elevated temperatures, i.e. an adhesive tape), the adhesive tape comprises one selected from polypropylene (Miyamoto [0022]), polyethylene (Miyamoto [0022]), polyester fiber (see polyester such as polyethylene terephthalate, Miyamoto [0022]), and polyvinyl chloride (Miyamoto [0022]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, modified Shinkawa discloses wherein the adhesive tape comprises one selected from polypropylene (Miyamoto [0022]), polyethylene (Miyamoto [0022]), and polyester fiber (see polyester such as polyethylene terephthalate, Miyamoto [0022]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. As already set forth above, Shinkawa discloses wherein the height of the uncoated region (21C) is 7 mm by disclosing that the uncoated region (21C) can have a length in the width direction (y-direction shown in in FIG. 4; analogous to the instant first/extending direction) of 7 mm ([0045]), and the height of the hardness increasing layer is 3 mm by disclosing that the hardness increasing layer (101) can have a length in the width direction of 3 mm ([0044]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record), and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2004/0202928 A1), as applied to Claim 3 above, further in view of Huh et al. (US 2014/0255778 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the hardness increasing layer (101) has a thickness greater than or equal to 11 µm.
Huh teaches a battery unit (see secondary battery, [0050], FIG. 7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see cathode 100, [0022], [0050], FIG. 3, 7, and anode 200, [0050], FIG. 7), a coated region (see cathode active material coating portion 10, [0033], FIG. 3) and an uncoated region (see cathode tab 20, [0033], FIG. 3) connected to each other being formed on the electrode plate ([0033], FIG. 3), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0033]); and, wherein a surface of the uncoated region is provided with a hardness increasing layer (see insulation layer 40, [0033], FIG. 3; note that [0013] and [0058] discloses that the insulation layer reduces the possibility of physical short circuit due to cell deformation or sharp edges, thus it can be understood that insulation layer 40 is a hardness increasing layer). Huh teaches ([0042]) that the thickness of the insulation layer can be in a range of 1 to 100 µm to ensure sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoid excessive solidification time and thickness.
Huh is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the hardness increasing layer has a thickness of 1 to 100 µm, as taught by Huh, for the purpose of ensuring sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoiding excessive solidification time and thickness.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the thickness of the hardness increasing layer with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in sufficient electrical insulation properties and avoidance of excessive solidification time and thickness.
Claims 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record), and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2004/0202928 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 2008/0311479 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein the uncoated region (21C) comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 24, [0046], FIG. 1, 5, 6) of the battery unit (1) ([0046]–[0047], FIG. 1, 7; note that [0046]–[0047] discloses that a portion of the uncoated portion (21C) located at an end face 41 of the electrode assembly is connected to the positive electrode current collector 24), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region (21C) (see flat surfaces… formed by bending of the uncoated region (21C), [0067], FIG. 1, 6), after the connecting portion (21C) is connected to the adapter piece (24), a region is formed between the connecting portion (21C) and the coated region (21B) (FIG. 1; note that FIG. 1 shows a region between the connecting portion of the uncoated region (21C) which is connected to the adapter piece (24) and the coated region (21B)), and the hardness increasing layer (101) is arranged on the region and between the connecting portion (21C) and the coated region (21B) (FIG. FIG. 7; note that FIG. 7 shows the hardness increasing layer (101) arranged between the end of the uncoated region (21C) and the coated region (21B), i.e. in the region defined above).
Modified Shinkawa does not disclose wherein the region set forth above is a weak hardness region. However, it is well-known in the field of battery unit design that the boundary between an uncoated region and a coated region of an electrode plate is particularly weak and vulnerable to internal short circuit, as evidenced by Lee ([0019]). As the region defined above includes such a boundary, it can be understood that it is a weak hardness region.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein one end of the adapter piece (24) is connected to the electrode terminal (14) (FIG. 1), and the other end of the adapter piece (24) is press-fitted with the tab (FIG. 6, [0066], [0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the adapter piece (24) can be coupled to the flat surface of the tab as well as grooves 43 formed in the tab; one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that this amounts to press-fitting).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above. Shinkawa further discloses wherein a recessed region (see grooves 43, [0066], [0070], FIG. 6) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece (24) ([0066], FIG. 6), and the adapter piece (24) is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the recessed region (43) can be coupled to, i.e. can partially accommodate, the adapter piece (24)).
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinkawa (US 2023/0335804 A1; art already of record) in view of Sasaki (US 2012/0237810 A1; art already of record), further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2004/0202928 A1), as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 2008/0311479 A1), as applied to Claims 11 and 10 above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (JP 2007/265846 A; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the recessed region (43) has a depth greater than or equal to 1 mm.
Yokoyama teaches a battery unit (see cylindrical battery, [0007]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode body, [0007], also referred to as spiral electrode group 10, [0017], FIG. 1–7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode core 11a, [0014], and negative electrode core body 12a, [0016], FIG. 1), a coated region (see positive electrode mixture layer 11b, [0014], FIG. 1) and an uncoated region (see uncoated region 11c, [0014], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other ([0014], FIG. 1), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0014]), wherein the uncoated region comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 14, [0007], [0020], FIG. 3–7), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region ([0019], FIG. 2–5), wherein one end of the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab ([0021], FIG. 3–7), wherein a recessed region (see bent grooves 11d, [0007], [0019], FIG. 2–7) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece, and the adapter piece is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0009], [0021], FIG. 3–7). Yokoyama teaches that the recessed region can have a depth of 2 mm ([0018]; note that [0018] discloses the slits made to form the recessed regions can have a depth of 2 mm, and one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the resultant recessed region will have a depth substantially equal to that of the slits).
Yokoyama is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. Furthermore, KSR Rationale A (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to combine “prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, modified Shinkawa discloses recessed regions which must necessarily have some depth, and Yokoyama teaches a recessed region serving the same purpose of partially accommodating an adapter piece with a depth of 2 mm. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of modified Shinkawa such that the recessed region has a depth of 2 mm, as taught by Yokoyama, to yield the predictable result of an operational battery unit with an adapter piece appropriately partially accommodated in the recessed region.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Shinkawa discloses the battery unit as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the adapter piece comprises a raised portion facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion. However, Shinkawa does disclose wherein a recessed region (see grooves 43, [0066], [0070], FIG. 6) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece (24) ([0066], FIG. 6), and the adapter piece (24) is partially accommodated in the recessed region ([0070]; note that [0070] discloses that the recessed region (43) can be coupled to, i.e. can partially accommodate, the adapter piece (24)). One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the adapter must necessarily have a raised portion in order to be coupled with this recessed region, and that the two portions would be press-fitted together in order for this coupling to occur.
Further, Yokoyama teaches a battery unit (see cylindrical battery, [0007]), comprising: an electrode assembly (see electrode body, [0007], also referred to as spiral electrode group 10, [0017], FIG. 1–7) comprising two electrode plates that have opposite polarities (see positive electrode core 11a, [0014], and negative electrode core body 12a, [0016], FIG. 1), a coated region (see positive electrode mixture layer 11b, [0014], FIG. 1) and an uncoated region (see uncoated region 11c, [0014], FIG. 1–6) connected to each other ([0014], FIG. 1), the coated region being coated with an active material layer ([0014]), wherein the uncoated region comprises a connecting portion for connecting to an adapter piece (see positive electrode current collector 14, [0007], [0020], FIG. 3–7), the connecting portion is obtained by flattening a tab formed by convergence of the uncoated region ([0019], FIG. 2–5), wherein one end of the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab ([0021], FIG. 3–7), wherein a recessed region (see bent grooves 11d, [0007], [0019], FIG. 2–7) is formed in a side of the tab facing the adapter piece, wherein the adapter piece comprises a raised portion (see substantially U-shaped groove 14c, [0018], [0020], [0021], FIG. 3–7) facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion ([0021], FIG. 3–7). Yokoyama teaches ([0021], FIG. 3–5, 7) that the fit between the raised portion and the recessed region provides contact surfaces for welding which result in good contact between the uncoated region and the adapter, and thus reduced internal resistance ([0030], [0031], FIG. 4, 5).
Yokoyama is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery unit design. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery unit of modified Shinkawa such that the adapter piece comprises a raised portion facing the electrode plate, and the adapter piece is press-fitted with the tab by means of the raised portion, as taught by Yokoyama, for the purpose of achieving a fit between the raised portion and the recessed region that provides contact surfaces for welding which result in good contact between the uncoated region and the adapter, thus reducing internal resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 29 June 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections in the office action mailed 30 April 2026 with respect to amended Claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicant argues on p. 11 of Remarks that a skilled artisan reading the reference Sasaki would not believe that the porous layer of Sasaki is for adhesive fixation or local reinforcement of a weak uncoated-region portion, but rather for electrolyte uptake, because Sakaki discloses the porous layers as electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers characterized by their porosity, binder content, and electrolyte uptake function, and that they need only be formed across an area from a position where the layers abut the electrolytic solution to the upper portion of the electrode assembly.
This argument is not persuasive. While Sasaki does disclose ([0046], [0048]) sucking up of the electrolytic solution as one function of the porous layer, Sasaki also discloses ([0046], [0048], [0049]) that another property of the porous layer is less liability to deformation due to stress such as compression; it is noted that [0049] refers to this property as “an extremely important factor” and further details that the porous layer is meant to be free from the effects of, i.e. withstand, “external force, such as vibration or impact”. Considering the above, it can necessarily be understood by a skilled artisan upon reading the reference Sasaki that the porous layer, in addition to having the function of sucking up of the electrolytic solution, in having the above-described property, also serves as a hardness increasing layer.
Applicant argues on p. 11 of Remarks that while Sasaki states that the active material layers and the electrolytic solution sucking up layers may each contain binder, it does not teach that the layer itself is an adhesive, an adhesive tape, or a hardness increasing layer fixed to the uncoated region, and that a porous electrolyte-sucking layer containing binder is structurally and functionally different from the claimed adhesive or adhesive tape fixed to the surface of the uncoated region.
This argument is not persuasive. As set forth in the rejection, Sasaki teaches ([0046]–[0047]) that the porous layer, i.e. the hardness increasing layer, comprises an oxide, a lithium salt, and polyvinylidene fluoride, and while polyvinylidene fluoride is referred to by Sasaki as a binder, it is noted that the instant specification evidences ([0073]) that polyvinylidene fluoride is an adhesive. Furthermore, it is noted that Sasaki teaches ([0051]) that the polyvinylidene fluoride can be included in the porous layer in an amount of up to 80% by mass. A person of ordinary skill in the art would thus necessarily understand that a porous layer as set forth by Sasaki comprising polyvinylidene fluoride, an adhesive, can be structurally and functionally considered an adhesive itself that can be fixed to the surface of the uncoated region.
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 29 June 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections in the office action mailed 30 April 2026 with respect to amended Claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725