Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/07/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-13 in the reply filed on 03/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 20150340669 A1) in view of Schurz et al. (US 20240079668 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches a battery frame (box) that has a support member, 81f, with an expansion member, 71, that presses against the support member and can make it move. This is shown by comparing figs. 11C and 11D, Fig. 11D is without 71 pushing against the contact face, 82, and Fig, 11C is with 71 pushing against the contact face. Fig. 11C also shows that the expansion member abuts against the support member to push it towards the cell. While an accommodating space is not specified, the support member, 81f, is said to be brought into contact with the cells via the contact part, 82, this phrasing means that the support member is not static and is brought up to the cells during their manufacture or assembly and there would be an accommodating space present before the support member is pressed against the cells (Aoki 0054). Aoki is silent to a binder present in the accommodating space between the support member and the cells. Schurz teaches a battery box (housing) that has an adhesive that connects the side wall of the battery box to the cells within, directly supporting them so that there is a higher shearing resistance (Schurz 0009). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take the battery box of Aoki with its expansion and support member, and bind the support member to the side of the cells via an adhesive in the accommodating space in order to have a higher shearing resistance as discussed in Schurz.
Regarding claim 2, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 1 as described above and Aoki further teaches 81f and 21, as shown in figs. 2 and 3, connect together to form an accommodating cavity in which the expansion member, 71, sits.
Regarding claim 3, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 2 as described above and Aoki further teaches in figs. 4 and 11 that the support member can have a gap and the expansion member goes through that gap.
Regarding claim 4, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 2 as described above and Aoki further teaches that the support member has a first wall, 82 and a second wall, 21 which are opposite each other and the first wall, 82, is connected to the cells via a binder as described regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 4 as described above and Aoki further teaches that the cell holder, 81f, which consists of the first wall, 82, is made of a resin material and elastically deforms near the ends when pressed by the spring, 71 (Aoki fig. 8, 0062).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 5 as described above and Aoki further teaches that the deformable wall has an arc.
Regarding claim 7-9, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 4 as described above and Aoki further teaches that the expansion member has a third and fourth wall opposite each other and the fourth wall abuts against the second wall. Further, there is a connecting wall connecting the third and fourth wall and all of them together form a hollow cavity.
Regarding claim 10, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 4 as described above and Aoki further teaches that the distance between the third and fourth wall is greater than the distance between the first and second wall (Aoki fig. 11).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 1 as described above and Aoki further teaches a secondary battery within the box that releases stored energy to a device (Aoki 0001).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 20150340669 A1) in view of Schurz et al. (US 20240079668 A1) and further in view of Hettrich
(US 20200168959 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Aoki in view of Schurz teaches claim 4 as described above but is
silent to the expansion member comprising a gas bag that inflates to press against the first or
second wall. Hettrich teaches a battery module housing (box) that contains multiple battery
cells which are connected to the side wall of the housing via a compressible element that
modulates isostatic pressure against the battery cells (Hettrich 0007 0008). Hettrich further
goes on to define the compressible element as anything that has the capacity to contract or
expand such as a coil or leaf spring as well as a bladder filled with gas (Hettrich 0034). It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art at the time the invention was effectively
filed to take the simple spring of Aoki in view of Schurz and simply replace it with a gas bag
as described in Hettrich as a simple matter of substituting a component with another
equivalent component for the same purpose as known in the art, See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743