DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 2, the reference numerals D1b does not line up with the associated arrow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the following “configured to” language “acquire performance data regarding performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices and tentative operation plan data regarding a tentative operation plan tentatively prepared for the operation plan”, “acquire performance prediction data by predicting the performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices during the planning target period based on the performance data and tentative operation plan data acquired by the acquisition unit”, and “acquire the operation plan by correcting the tentative operation plan based on the performance prediction data acquired by the prediction of the prediction unit” which amounts to generic data acquisition to each general unit without more This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because each unit merely to the ability to acquire data. The decisions based on the data in the claim are nothing more than generic mental processes of acquiring the data and performing judgement based on the date ad described by MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Section III A “In contrast, claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.”. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims attempt to integrate these the acquisition of the date and judgement of the date onto generic “units” and nothing more. The instant specification recites each unit is an arithmetic unit, i.e. computer and storage – see instant specification [0021]. The claims do not integrate this language into specific programming or the like to enable a unit to perform the functions as claimed. In other words, each “unit” merely acquires data. Each step, acquiring, predicting, and correcting are mental processes each can be performed by a human mind when provided data, analyzing the date, and correcting for a desired output. A simplistic example would be acquiring whether a hydrogen system is “on”, determining if it should be “on” or “off” based on the needs of a practitioner, and then turning it off if hydrogen is no longer needed to be produced. Thus, each acquisition performed by each unit does not amount to significantly more as required by MPEP 2106.
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are indicated below with the generic placeholder underlined, transition word bolded, and function italicized
In claim 1:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire performance data regarding performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices and tentative operation plan data regarding a tentative operation plan tentatively prepared for the operation plan
a prediction unit configured to acquire performance prediction data by predicting the performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices during the planning target period based on the performance data and tentative operation plan data acquired by the acquisition unit
a planning unit configured to acquire the operation plan by correcting the tentative operation plan based on the performance prediction data acquired by the prediction of the prediction unit
In claim 4:
a renewable energy power generator for generating and outputting power from renewable energy
In claim 6:
a control unit configured to control the operation of the hydrogen system based on the acquired operation plan prepared by the planning unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1 recites the following limitations which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“an acquisition unit”
“a prediction unit”
“a planning unit”
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Applicant’s specification at [0021] state the planning device includes “arithmetic units (computers) and storage and the arithmetic unit is configured to function as each part using programs stored by the storage”. Thus, the claim language is deemed to invoke computer implemented means-plus-function limitation in accordance with MPEP 2181 II B, as portion of which is cited below:
“To claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function and then to disclose only a general purpose computer as the structure designed to perform that function amounts to pure functional claiming. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d 1328 at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. In this instance, the structure corresponding to a 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation for a computer-implemented function must include the algorithm needed to transform the general purpose computer or microprocessor disclosed in the specification. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239; Finisar Corp. v. DirecTV Group, Inc., 523 F.3d 1323, 1340, 86 USPQ2d 1609, 1623 (Fed. Cir. 2008); WMS Gaming, Inc. v. Int’l Game Tech., 184 F.3d 1339, 1349, 51 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Rain Computing, Inc. v. Samsung Electronics America Co., 989 F.3d 1002, 1007-8, 2021 USPQ2d 284 (Fed. Cir. 2021).”
“The corresponding structure is not simply a general purpose computer by itself but the special purpose computer as programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. Thus, the specification must sufficiently disclose an algorithm to transform a general purpose microprocessor to the special purpose computer. See Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1241. ("Aristocrat was not required to produce a listing of source code or a highly detailed description of the algorithm to be used to achieve the claimed functions in order to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 6. It was required, however, to at least disclose the algorithm that transforms the general purpose microprocessor to a ‘special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’" (quoting WMS Gaming, 184 F.3d at 1349, 51 USPQ2d at 1391.)) An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary, Microsoft Press, 5th edition, 2002. Applicant may express the algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, in a flow chart, or "in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340, 86 USPQ2d at 1623; see also Intel Corp. v. VIA Techs., Inc., 319 F.3d 1357, 1366, 65 USPQ2d 1934, 1941 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Typhoon Touch Inc. v. Dell Inc., 659 F.3d 1376, 1385, 100 USPQ2d 1690, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2011); In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d at 1306, 99 USPQ2d at 1945”
Thus, the instant specification amount to a general purpose computer implemented function without an explanation of appropriate programming to accomplish the tasks.
As to the acquisition unit at [0023] of the as filed specification, the mere listing of possible types of data is not sufficient to establish the structure associated with the means plus function. [0024] discloses using a demand prediction model created by learning past demand, but does not disclose any discernable method or structure associated with the model outside of generic computer implemented means plus function.
As to the prediction unit disclosed at [0026]-[0029], the instant specification discloses what the data does or how it is uses, but fails to disclose associated structure with the function as claimed outside of a generic implemented computer means plus function. The disclosure describes generic process relationship, i.e. operation time and efficiency, without describing the associated structure in determining processing the function as claimed.
As to the planning unit disclosed at [0032]-[0036], the instant specification discloses using the same prediction model as the prediction unit and further making corrections without disclosure of the structure associated with making the correction. The instant specification discloses use of a mixed-integer linear programming problem but fails to disclose the specific types of relationships between all the possible the combinations of planning. The specification does not relate this to any particular structure or specific special purpose computer.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagino (US 2020/0226482 A1) .
As to claim 1, Nagino discloses a hydrogen system operation planning device, which prepares an operation plan for operating a plurality of hydrogen production devices during a planning target period in a hydrogen system including the plurality of hydrogen production devices that produce hydrogen by being supplied with power (Title “planning apparatus…hydrogen production method…” Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), the hydrogen system operation planning device comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire performance data regarding performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices and tentative operation plan data regarding a tentative operation plan tentatively prepared for the operation plan (Fig. 1 #10 “obtaining unit” [0018] “The obtaining unit 10 obtains parameters, learning data, and the like used for learning. The obtaining unit 10 obtains, for example, learning data including an ideal operating plan of the electrolytic apparatus 1000 in a predetermined target period in the future and values of factors available before the target period. The target period is a predetermined period in the future. The target period may be a period including the first period. The obtaining unit 10 may obtain, as a first factor, a parameter related to the electricity rate available before the target period. In addition, the obtaining unit 10 may obtain, as a second factor, a parameter related to the electrolytic apparatus 1000 available before the target period.” Emphasis added to identify operation plan and performance data);
a prediction unit configured to acquire performance prediction data by predicting the performance of the plurality of hydrogen production devices during the planning target period based on the performance data and tentative operation plan data acquired by the acquisition unit (#40 with specific #130 and 220 [0027] [0030] “The second factor includes at least one of operating data of the electrolytic apparatus 1000…” and [0039] “The second model update unit 220 updates the operating plan generation model by learning.” = tentative operation plan), and
a planning unit configured to acquire the operation plan by correcting the tentative operation plan based on the performance prediction data acquired by the prediction of the prediction unit (#50 [0043] “The operating plan generation unit 50 generates an operating plan of the electrolytic apparatus 1000 in the first period in the future based on the transition of the future electricity rate predicted by the electricity rate prediction unit 130. The operating plan generation unit 50 has a first operating plan generation unit 230.” = the operation plan…based on performance prediction data…”).
As to claim 2, Nagino further discloses wherein the prediction unit acquires the performance prediction data by predicting a deterioration state in which the plurality of hydrogen production devices deteriorate during the planning target period. ([0074] via considering the operating state due to maintenance)
As to claim 3, Nagino further discloses the tentative operation plan data are data regarding the tentative operation plan prepared based on a prediction result of a hydrogen demand amount during the planning target period.([0067] “supply plan”).
As to claim 4, Nagino further discloses wherein
the hydrogen system includes
a renewable energy power generator for generating and outputting power from renewable energy ([0005] “…weather and wind power.” [0028]) ,
the plurality of hydrogen production devices are configured to produce hydrogen using the power output from the renewable energy power generator ([0024] “plurality of electrolyte apparatus..”), and
the tentative operation plan data are data regarding the tentative operation plan that is prepared based on a prediction result of the power output by the renewable energy power generator during the planning target period ([0028] “power supply amount…”).
As to claim 5, Nagino further discloses the tentative operation plan data are data regarding the tentative operation plan that is prepared in response to demand response. ([0052] via fluctuations in the storage amount and supply plan, [0128]).
As to claim 6, Nagino further discloses the acquired operation plan prepared by the planning unit. (Fig. 1 #60 [0137] “Thereby, the control unit 60 can control electrolytic apparatus 1000 according to the operating plan”).
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795