DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species 1 (claims 1-5, 7-10, and 18-20) in the reply filed on is acknowledged.
Claims 6 and 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a plasma source in claims 1 and 7
a holding member in claims 1-3 and 18
a gas supply unit in claims 7 and 18
Paragraphs [0074], [0086]-[0087] of the specification indicates the plasma source is the chuck 210, top edge electrode 510, bottom edge electrode 250.
Paragraphs [0083]-[0084] of the specification indicates the holding member 240 is a ceramic shaped insert that varies in shape depending on the grooves’ shape.
Paragraphs [0096]-[0097] and [0099] of the specification indicates a gas supply unit 700 includes a first gas supply unit 720 and second gas supply unit 740. Each gas supply unit includes a gas supply source, a gas supply line, and a valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (KR102235339B1) in view of Park et al. (KR20110077575A) and .
Referring to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0041]-[0057], Ji disclose a substrate treating apparatus comprising: a housing 100 having a treating space (pars.[0043]-[0044]); a support unit 300 configured to support a substate within the treating space (par.[0045]); and a plasma source 310, 350, 620 for generating a plasma by exciting a gas supplied to the treating space (pars.[0047]-[0049]), and wherein the support unit 300 includes: a chuck 310 having the substrate mounted to a top surface thereof; and a ring member 330 in a ring shape surrounding an outer side of the chuck (par.[0045], [0048])
Ji is silent on a ring member that includes a cut surface which divides the ring member and a holding member positioned at the cut surface which holds a position of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface.
Referring to Figures 2-3, abstract, and page 3, Park et al. teach a substrate treating apparatus wherein a ring member 30 that includes a cut surface which divides the ring member 34, 36 and a holding member 37 positioned at the cut surface which holds a position of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface since it is used to promote plasma uniformity. Additionally, referring to Figures 1-2 and abstract, Shimada teach a substrate treating apparatus wherein a holding member 31 is used between ring members in order to improve the air tightness between the ring members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Ji with a ring member that includes a cut surface which divides the ring member and a holding member positioned at the cut surface which holds a position of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface as taught by Park et al. and Shimada since it would promote plasma uniformity and provide airtightness at the cut surface. The resulting apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. would yield a ring member that includes a cut surface which divides the ring member and a holding member positioned at the cut surface which holds a position of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface.
With respect to claim 2, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein a groove at which the holding member 37 is inserted is formed at the ring member 34 (Park et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 3, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the groove is formed at an inner side of the ring member, and a top end of the groove is positioned lower than a top end of the ring member 34, and a bottom end of the groove is positioned higher than a bottom end of the ring member (Park et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the ring member 34 is divided with respect to the cut surface, and the holding member 37 is inserted in the groove to limit a movement in a lengthwise direction of each divided ring member (Park et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the cut surface is formed in a horizontal direction to the cut surface of the ring member 34, 36 (Park et al.-Fig. 3). .
With respect to claim 7, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further comprising: a dielectric plate 500 positioned to face a top surface of the substrate supported on the support unit 300 (par.[0052]); and a gas supply unit 700 configured to supply a gas to an edge region of the substrate (par.[0055]), and wherein the plasma source includes: a top edge electrode 620 positioned above the edge region; and a bottom edge 350 electrode positioned below the edge region (Ji-par.[0053]).
With respect to claim 8, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the bottom edge electrode 350 is formed in a ring shape, and surrounds an outer side of the ring member 330 (Ji-par.[0049]).
With respect to claim 9, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the chuck 310 and the ring member 330 share a same center, and an inner side of the ring member contacts the outer side of the chuck (Ji-Figure 2).
With respect to claim 10, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the chuck and the ring member have a different thermal expansion rate from one another (i.e. chuck-conductor, ring member-insulator, Ji-par.[0048])).
With respect to claim 18, referring to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0041]-[0057], Ji disclose a substrate treating apparatus comprising: a housing 100 having a treating space (pars.[0043]-[0044]); a support unit 300 configured to support a substate within the treating space (par.[0045]); a dielectric plate positioned to face a top surface of a substrate supported on the support unit; a dielectric plate 500 positioned to face a top surface of the substrate supported on the support unit 300 (par.[0052]); and a gas supply unit 700 configured to supply a gas to an edge region of the substrate (par.[0055]), and wherein the support unit 300 includes: a chuck 310 having the substrate mounted to a top surface thereof; and a ring member 330 in a ring shape surrounding an outer side of the chuck (par.[0045], [0048]).
Ji is silent on the ring member includes: a cut surface which divides the ring member; a groove which is formed at a position corresponding to the cut surface; and a holding member inserted in the groove to limit a movement in a lengthwise direction of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface.
Referring to Figures 2-3, abstract, and page 3, Park et al. teach a substrate treating apparatus the ring member 30 includes: a cut surface which divides the ring member 34, 36; a groove which is formed at a position corresponding to the cut surface; and a holding member 37 inserted in the groove to limit a movement in a lengthwise direction of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface since it is used to promote plasma uniformity. Additionally, referring to Figures 1-2 and abstract, Shimada teach a substrate treating apparatus wherein a holding member 31 is used between ring members in order to improve the air tightness between the ring members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Ji with the ring member includes: a cut surface which divides the ring member; a groove which is formed at a position corresponding to the cut surface; and a holding member inserted in the groove to limit a movement in a lengthwise direction of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface as taught by Park et al. and Shimada since it would promote plasma uniformity and provide airtightness at the cut surface. The resulting apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. would yield the ring member includes: a cut surface which divides the ring member; a groove which is formed at a position corresponding to the cut surface; and a holding member inserted in the groove to limit a movement in a lengthwise direction of the ring member which is divided by the cut surface.
With respect to claim 19, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the chuck 310 and the ring member 330 share a same center, and an inner side of the ring member contacts the outer side of the chuck (Ji-Fig. 2) and the groove is formed at the inner side between a top end of the ring member 34 and a bottom end of the ring member 34 (Park et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 20, the substrate treating apparatus of Ji in view of Park et al. further includes wherein the chuck and the ring member have a different thermal expansion rate from one another (i.e. chuck-conductor, ring member-insulator, Ji-par.[0048])).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koshimizu et al.’970, Kubota et al.’488, and Jun’508 teach a substrate support with ring member having a groove. Sasaki et al.’334 teach a substrate support with ring member. Szapucki et al.’216 teach a ring member with a holding member. Yoo’224, Lee’922, and Kim’014 teach a bevel etcher.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716