DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 12-15, 21, and 26 are amended.
Examiner finds support for the claim amendments in at least [0060], reciting support for an embodiment where sensor location is “a distance into the subterranean formation”, and [0081]: “Element 14: sensors are wholly positioned with the subterranean formation” and “Element 15:.…sensors are positions outside of an outer diameter of the casing”.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2025 have been fully considered but are directed to the claim amendments and do not apply to the newly added reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11-15, 17, 20-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOUZENOUX (US 20060005965 A1) in view of LAVRUT (US 20100294480 A1).
With respect to Claim 1 (currently amended), CHOUZENOUX teaches:
A system, comprising: one or more sensors capable to collect sensor data
(CHOUZENOUX is in same technical field, [0001]: “relates to systems including such sensors and to methods of installing sensors and systems in wells.”);
a data receiver, capable to receive the sensor data (CHOUZENOUX teaches system components, [0008]: “electronics package…receives data from the sensor elements”);
and one or more processors, capable to communicate with the data receiver and the one or more sensors, to direct operations of the one or more sensors (CHOUZENOUX teaches system components, [0008]: “signal conditioning and analogue to digital conversion…receives data from the sensor elements; a micro-controller and memory unit for receiving data from the signal conditioning stage; a wireless transmission and reception controller”; and [0063]: “embedded micro-controller will manage and schedule the different acquisition, processing and communication functions.”; and data analysis, [0065]: “data acquired…sent up-hole for further analysis.”)
wherein the one or more sensors are located positioned at least partially through a casing of a borehole located in a subterranean formation having a borehole
(CHOUZENOUX teaches sensor placed in casing and protruding into surrounding underground formation, FIG.1, [0058]: “sensor plug 11…permanently deployed in underground formation 10 with embedded sensors 12 and dedicated electronics 14…aimed at deployment in well completion elements such as in casing or tubing”)
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of
to analyze the sensor data;
sensor located in a subterranean formation having a borehole and separated from a casing of the borehole.
LAVRUT teaches:
to analyze the sensor data; (LAVRUT is in same technical field, [0002]: “apparatus and a method for deploying a sensor in the formation down a borehole” and FIG. 1,2,3,4,depicting lateral perforation of borehole for sensor placement; LAVRUT teaches sensor communication with surface, [0009]: “sensor may also be able to communicate with the surface”, and use of data [0010]: “sensor may be able to be interrogated…time lapse survey may be undertaken”; Examiner interprets “analyze” as analogous to “time lapse survey” to mean manipulation of data for informing drilling operation.)
sensor located in a subterranean formation having a borehole and separated from a casing of the borehole. (LAVRUT teaches sensor location outside borehole casing, [0005]: “invention to provide a technique that allows sensors to be positioned outside the casing or very deep”; Examiner interprets “outside the casing” to read on “separated from a casing”, see also [0004].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHOUZENOUX to include analyzing sensor data, and a sensor located in a subterranean formation having a borehole and separated from a casing of the borehole, such as that of LAVRUT, because it would be an advantageous way to avoid issues with sensor communication that could be caused by the casing. Therefore, a permanent sensor placement away from casing would result in the ability to conduct long-term monitoring where the ability to retrieve the sensor is less important than achieving the highest possible signal accuracy.
With respect to Claim 2, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
a sealant injection system, capable of filling in a casing hole after the one or more sensors have been positioned to form a fluid seal. (CHOUZENOUX teaches sealing of opening made for sensor after perforation of casing, Abstract: “sensor body also includes a portion that can be sealed to the casing or tubing to prevent fluid communication between the inside and the outside of the casing or tubing through the hole when the sensor body is installed therein”; and [0021]: “sealing the sensor in the hole such that there is no fluid communication between the inside and the outside of the casing or tubing through the hole” with [0022]: “drilling, installing and sealing can be performed by a tool that can be moved through the well to a number of locations”)
With respect to Claim 4, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
a drilling system, capable of drilling a casing hole through the casing or into the subterranean formation, wherein the one or more sensors are positioned in the subterranean formation through the casing hole. (CHOUZENOUX teaches drilling a hole for sensor placement after casing, [0002]: “install the sensor plug after casing by drilling through the casing and into the formation, installing the sensor plug into the hole extending into the formation and then sealing the hole to prevent fluid entry into the well at that point”; and [0022]: “steps of drilling, installing and sealing can be performed by a tool that can be moved through the well to a number of locations”)
With respect to Claim 6, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
an induction power system, capable of being coupled to the one or more sensors to provide power to the one or more sensors, (CHOUZENOUX teaches inductive power transfer, FIGs. 2,3, with [0006]: “transducer can also be used to provide power to functional elements in the plug”; Examiner notes reference term “plug” is part of deployed sensor in wellbore, FIG.3 with [0037]: “basic circuit elements of the plug, communication and power transfer tool; [0066]: “same antenna 24 can be used both for communication link with the interrogating tool 22 and for power transfer.”)
and receiving power from a device located within an interior of an inner diameter of the casing. (CHOUZENOUX teaches this option for power transmission, FIG. 2, 3, depicting power transmission coil is inside casing.)
With respect to Claim 7, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
a power junction device, capable of being coupled to the one or more sensors, providing power to the one or more sensors, and located along an inner diameter of the casing. (CHOUZENOUX teaches power system for sensors, [0006]: “communication elements can comprise a transducer…communication device inside the casing…transducer can also be used to provide power to functional elements in the plug”
With respect to Claim 8, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors include one or more batteries or one or more capacitors. (CHOUZENOUX teaches options for powering sensor apparatus, [0007]: “can also be provided to functional elements of the sensor by means of a battery installed in the sensor body…battery can be recharged by power supplied from the communication device via the transducer”)
With respect to Claims 9 and 23, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 21.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
further comprising: a communication device, capable of being communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors using a wired or a wireless coupling, and coupled to the data receiver, wherein the communication device is located along an inner diameter of the casing. (CHOUZENOUX teaches such communication protocols, Abstract: “communication elements located within the body and capable of communicating information between the sensor elements and a communication device in the well”; and FIGs. 2, 3 with [0006], as cited above)
With respect to Claims 11 and 17, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors and the data receiver are located with a surface controller. (CHOUZENOUX teaches a control system located on surface, [0002]: “sensor plug contains sensing elements and a communication system that allows measurement from the sensing elements to be collected and returned to the surface for analysis”; and [0089]: “data are sent up hole to a surface computer 68 by the tubing cable 66 for later analysis”)
With respect to Claim 12, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
wherein the one or more sensors are wholly positioned within the subterranean formation.
LAVRUT further teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors are wholly positioned within the subterranean formation. (LAVRUT teaches, as above, sensor placement outside casing, [0005]; and FIGs1-4, with [0025]: “single sensor, to a few hundred feet, which allows installing a full array of sensors far in the formation”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to include wherein the one or more sensors are wholly positioned within the subterranean formation, such as that of LAVRUT.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to include wherein the one or more sensors are wholly positioned within the subterranean formation, as further taught by LAVRUT because it would be understood as a way to acquire real-time data regarding the formation surrounding the borehole to provide real-time information regarding condition and properties. One of ordinary skill would understand the combination of providing exterior information with the method of CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as improving the ability to make informed decisions about drilling or production, along with well maintenance needs or issues.
With respect to Claim 13, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
one or more sensors are positioned at least one foot outside of an outer diameter of the casing.
LAVRUT further teaches:
one or more sensors are positioned at least one foot outside of an outer diameter of the casing. (As cited directly above, LAVRUT teaches sensor placement exterior to casing, [0025]: “single sensor, to a few hundred feet, which allows installing a full array of sensors far in the formation”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to include wherein the one or more sensors are positioned outside of an outer diameter of the casing, such as that further disclosed by LAVRUT.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to include wherein the one or more sensors are positioned outside of an outer diameter of the casing, as further taught by LAVRUT for the same reasons as above. Placing a sensor exterior to casing, outside outer diameter of casing means a sensor can acquire data directly from formation. As noted above, one of ordinary skill would understand this as an advantage for making informed decisions about drilling or production operations.
With respect to Claim 14, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
sensor data includes data of at least one characteristic of the subterranean formation or at least one characteristic of a reservoir proximate the one or more sensors.
LAVRUT teaches:
sensor data includes data of at least one characteristic of the subterranean formation or at least one characteristic of a reservoir proximate the one or more sensors. (As above, LAVRUT teaches placement of sensors outside casing, [0004]: “buried some distance in formation around the borehole outside the casing or tubing in the borehole”, and further teaches, [0026]: “sensors may be used to measure and monitor parameters such as, for example, density, viscosity, pressure, temperature, resistance, permeability or seismic measurements”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include sensor data of at least one characteristic of the subterranean formation or at least one characteristic of a reservoir proximate the one or more sensors, such as that further disclosed by LAVRUT.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include sensor data of at least one characteristic of the subterranean formation or at least one characteristic of a reservoir proximate the one or more sensors, as taught by LAVRUT because it would be understood as way to achieve the goal of better managing drilling or well performance by understanding surround subterranean environment.
With respect to Claim 15, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
the sensor data includes data of at least one characteristic of the casing or at least one characteristic of a bond between the subterranean formation and the casing. (CHOUZENOUX teaches measurement of casing features, [0014]: “sensing elements comprise strain sensing elements, a strain gauge being mounted in the sensor body near to the portion that is sealed to the tubing or casing. The strain gauge can be oriented to measure vertical or tangential deformation of the tubing or casing”)
With respect to Claim 20, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors are one or more of magnetic resonance sensors, resistivity sensors, acoustic sensors, nuclear sensors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or seismic sensors. (CHOUZENOUX teaches a variety of sensing elements throughout disclosure, for example, [0011]: “body can have an insulating coating on the outer surface with at least one current injection electrode and at least one monitoring electrode provided on the outside of the body…pairs of current and monitoring electrodes are provided”, or FIG.9 with [0103]: “example of pressure sensor integration in the sensor plug is shown in FIG. 9”)
With respect to Claim 21, CHOUZENOUX teaches:
A method, comprising: determining a downhole location where one or more sensors can be positioned in a borehole through a subterranean formation (CHOUZENOUX teaches positioning a sensor in a borehole, see FIG. 1, and [0018]-[0019]: “invention provides a method of installing a sensor, comprising: drilling a hole through the casing or tubing at a location of interest”);
drilling a hole through a casing of the borehole using a drilling system at the downhole location, (CHOUZENOUX teaches drilling hole for placement of sensor, [0022]: “steps of drilling, installing and sealing can be performed by a tool that can be moved through the well to a number of locations”);
positioning the one or more sensors in the hole, (CHOUZENOUX teaches sensor placement in drilled opening, FIG. 1);
establishing a power coupling and a communication coupling between the one or more sensors and one or more devices located within an inner diameter of the casing, (As above, CHOUZENOUX teaches power and communication for sensors, inside casing, see FIG. 3 with [0037]: “FIG. 3 shows the basic circuit elements of the plug, communication and power transfer tool”; [0066] The same antenna 24 can be used both for communication link with the interrogating tool 22 and for power transfer”);
filling sealant into the hole to form a fluid seal between the inner diameter of the casing and an outer diameter of the casing, (CHOUZENOUX teaches sealing of opening made for sensor, cited above, [0021]);
enabling a collection of sensor data from the one or more sensors at a downhole controller or a surface controller, (CHOUZENOUX teaches a control system located on surface, [0002]: “sensor plug contains sensing elements and a communication system that allows measurement from the sensing elements to be collected and returned to the surface for analysis”; and [0089]: “data are sent up hole to a surface computer 68 by the tubing cable 66 for later analysis”).
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
positioning the one or more sensors through the hole and within the subterranean formation, wherein the one or more sensors are separated from the casing of the borehole.
LAVRUT teaches:
positioning the one or more sensors through the hole and within the subterranean formation, wherein the one or more sensors are separated from the casing of the borehole, (LAVRUT teaches sensor location outside borehole casing, [0005]: “invention to provide a technique that allows sensors to be positioned outside the casing or very deep”; Examiner interprets “separated from a casing” to be analogous to reference of “outside the casing”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHOUZENOUX to include sensor located in a subterranean formation having a borehole and separated from a casing of the borehole, such as that of LAVRUT.
because it would be an advantageous way to avoid issues with sensor communication that could be caused by the casing. Therefore a permanent sensor placement away from casing would result in the ability to conduct long-term monitoring where the ability to retrieve the sensor is less important than achieving the highest possible signal accuracy.
With respect to Claim 22, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 21.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the drilling the hole includes drilling into the subterranean formation a specified distance.
(CHOUZENOUX teaches specified depth for deployment of sensor, [0073]: “one or more plugs 11, is deployed in the well and positioned at the targeted depth”)
With respect to Claim 25, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 21.
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the sensor data is at least one of one or more of casing characteristics, one or more casing-subterranean formation bond characteristics, one or more subterranean formation characteristics, or one or more reservoir characteristics.
(CHOUZENOUX teaches sensing formation characteristics as an objective of claimed invention, Abstract: “sensor elements located within the body and capable of sensing properties of an underground formation surrounding the well”)
Claims 3 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOUZENOUX (US 20060005965 A1) in view of LAVRUT (US 20100294480 A1) as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of MONTARON (US 20120186809 A1)
With respect to Claim 3, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 2:
CHOUZENOUZZ is silent to the language of:
wherein the sealant injection system utilizes a resin.
MONTARON teaches:
wherein the sealant injection system utilizes a resin.
(MONTARON is in same technical field, Abstract: “method of installing a sensor system for making pressure measurements in downhole formations”; and teaches sensor protruding through well casing, sealing opening made through casing for sensor, FIG. 1, Abstract: “isolating the sensor with an elastomeric sealing means”, and [0025]: “material for the isolating means is …made from materials such as rubber, resin fibre”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to use a sealant system utilizing a resin material, such as that of MONTARON.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to use a sealant system utilizing a resin material, to use a sealant system utilizing a resin material, as taught by MONTARON because it would be understood as a readily available and manageable material that would meet the goal of forming a resilient fluid-tight seal that would hold up to typical conditions in a cased wellbore. MONTARON teaches the need for a fluid-tight seal (see [0004]), pointing out that leakage would “affect integrity of the casing”, to ensure that sensor is insulated from pressure variations that may occur inside casing. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a resin material because such materials have a wide range of properties making them cost-effective, useful and readily available.
With respect to Claim 26, CHOUZENOUX teaches:
A sensor placement system, comprising: a transceiver, capable of communicating with a surface controller; a drilling system, located downhole a borehole through a subterranean formation, (CHOUZENOUX teaches sensors placed in a well borehole made by drilling, as above, [0001], [0002], [0022]; teaches of sensor communication with surface controller, [0008]: “digital conversion stage which receives data from the sensor elements; a micro-controller and memory unit for receiving data from the signal conditioning stage; a wireless transmission and reception controller” and [0088] “interrogating tool 64 is permanently deployed with the production tubing 38 proximate the remote sensors location 11…ensure the link with the surface equipment”;
wherein the drilling system is capable of drilling a casing hole through a casing of the borehole and drilling into the subterranean formation; (CHOUZENOUX teaches system for drilling through casing, as cited above, [0002] and [0022].)
one or more sensors, capable of communicating with the transceiver, being positioned within the subterranean formation; and are coupled to a power source located within the borehole and communicatively coupled to a communication device located within the borehole; (CHOUZENOUX teaches sensors positioned into subterranean formation, as above, and coupled with communication device, FIG. 3 with [0037]: “FIG. 3 shows the basic circuit elements of the plug, communication and power transfer tool”; and [0066]: “same antenna 24 can be used both for communication link with the interrogating tool and for power transfer”.)
a sealant injection system, capable of injecting sealant into the casing hole to fluidly seal an inner diameter of the casing and an outer diameter of the casing; (CHOUZENOUX teaches sealing of perforation made for sensor, as cited above, Abstract and [0021]-[0022].)
and wherein the drilling system, the transceiver, and the sealant injection system are part of a downhole tool. (CHOUZENOUX teaches a downhole system with recited components, as cited above, Abstract and [0001], [0002], [0021-22].)
CHOUZENOUZ is silent to the language of
one or more sensors, capable of communicating with the transceiver, being positioned within the subterranean formation and separated from the casing of the borehole,
a sealant injection system, capable of injecting resin into the casing hole
LAVRUT teaches:
one or more sensors, capable of communicating with the transceiver, being positioned within the subterranean formation and separated from the casing of the borehole, (LAVRUT teaches sensor location outside borehole casing, as above, [0005]; Examiner interprets “separated from a casing” to be analogous to reference of “outside the casing”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHOUZENOUX to include in a system, one or more sensors, capable of communicating with the transceiver, being positioned within the subterranean formation and separated from the casing of the borehole, such as that of LAVRUT, because it would be understood as an advantageous way to avoid issues with sensor communication that could be caused by the casing. This combination would take advantage of combing the sensor placement taught by LAVRUT with the downhole sensor measurements taught by CHOUZENOUX because a permanent sensor placement away from casing would result in the ability to conduct long-term monitoring where the ability to retrieve the sensor is less important than achieving the highest possible signal accuracy.
MONTARON teaches:
a sealant injection system, capable of injecting resin into the casing hole
(MONTARON explicitly teaches use of resin for sealing casing hole, as cited above, [0025].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, as taught above, to use a sealant system utilizing a resin material, such as that of MONTARON, because it would be understood as a readily available and manageable material that would meet the goal of forming a fluid-tight seal that would hold up to typical conditions in a cased wellbore. MONTARON teaches the need for a fluid-tight seal (see [0004]), pointing out that leakage would “affect integrity of the casing”, to ensure that sensor is insulated from pressure variations that may occur inside casing. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a resin material because such materials have a wide range of properties making them useful and readily available.
Claims 5, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOUZENOUX, in view of LAVRUT, as applied to Claims 4, 1, and 21 above, and further in view of FIELDS (US 20110107830 A1).
With respect to Claim 5, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 4:
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
wherein the drilling system has a first drilling system capable of drilling through the casing and a second drilling system capable of drilling into the subterranean formation.
FIELDS teaches:
wherein the drilling system has a first drilling system capable of drilling through the casing and a second drilling system capable of drilling into the subterranean formation. (FIELDS is in same technical area, Abstract: “apparatus comprising a downhole tool configured for conveyance within a borehole penetrating a subterranean formation”; FIELDS teaches a dual drill bit assembly for perforation of casing and penetration into surrounding formation, FIGs. 2,3, and FIGs. 9-12, with [0068]: “FIGS. 9-12 depict alternative versions of a dual drill bit assembly usable in connection with perforating tools, such as the perforating tools of FIGS. 2 and 3…FIG. 9A, the dual bit assembly may be used to penetrate the wall 912 of a borehole 906 penetrating a subsurface formation 905.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include wherein the drilling system has a first drilling system capable of drilling through the casing and a second drilling system capable of drilling into the subterranean formation, such as that of FIELDS.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT, to include wherein the drilling system has a first drilling system capable of drilling through the casing and a second drilling system capable of drilling into the subterranean formation, as taught by FIELDS because it would improve accuracy and control over the drilling process. One of ordinary skill would see the advantage of separating the casing and formation drilling phases as taught by FIELDS as an improvement to the drilling method disclosed by CHOUZENOUX because it would allow operators to accurately control drilling speeds, as well as selection of drill bit types specific to the formation, which may be significantly different from that required for penetrating casing materials.
With respect to Claim 18, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1:
CHOUZENOUX further teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors further comprise: a fluid system, (CHOUZENOUX teaches a fluid system as part of drilling operation, [0027]: “measuring the time varying flow rate of fluids from the well over a period of time”; and [0106]: “Resistivity sensors are of interest to identify the fluid type and differentiate water from oil and gas”)
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
a fluid system, capable of injecting into or retrieving a fluid from the subterranean formation, wherein the fluid that is injected is monitored or the fluid that is retrieved is analyzed by the one or more sensors.
FIELDS teaches:
a fluid system, capable of injecting into or retrieving a fluid from the subterranean formation, wherein the fluid that is injected is monitored or the fluid that is retrieved is analyzed by the one or more sensors. (FIELDS teaches fluid injection system through sensor port, Abstract: “probe assembly configured to seal a region of a wall of the borehole; a perforator configured to penetrate a portion of the sealed region of the borehole wall by projecting through the probe assembly; a fluid chamber comprising a fluid; and a pump configured to inject the fluid from the fluid chamber into the formation through the perforator”; and teaches analysis of fluid, [0013]: “fluid analysis module D includes an optical fluid analyzer 99…purpose of indicating where the fluid in flow line 54 is acceptable for collecting a high quality sample…optical fluid analyzer 99 is equipped to discriminate between various oils, gas, and water.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include a fluid system, capable of injecting into or retrieving a fluid from the subterranean formation, wherein the fluid that is injected is monitored or the fluid that is retrieved is analyzed by the one or more sensors, such as that of FIELDS.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include a fluid system, capable of injecting into or retrieving a fluid from the subterranean formation, wherein the fluid that is injected is monitored or the fluid that is retrieved is analyzed by the one or more sensors, as taught by FIELDS because it would be understood as an advantage to broaden the analysis capacity of a downhole sensor to provide valuable information regarding pressures and fluid status inside and outside of a wellbore. One of ordinary skill would find the teaching of FIELDS describing a fluid injection system to probe well parameters as an advantageous combination with the method and system as taught by CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT to take advantage of downhole sensor placement and ultimately allow for better informed decisions regarding actions which should or should not be taken.
With respect to Claim 19, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 18:
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
wherein the fluid is a tracer that is injected into the subterranean formation.
Nevertheless, FIELDS teaches:
wherein the fluid is a tracer that is injected into the subterranean formation. (FIELDS teaches fluid as a trace tool in [0021]: “once the tool engages the wellbore wall, fluid communication is established between the formation and the downhole tool. Various testing and sampling operations may then be performed…cycling of the piston through a drawdown and buildup phase provides a pressure trace that is analyzed to evaluate the downhole formation pressure”; Examiner interprets “tracer” as analogous to use in reference, to mean generally, a means of tracking flow and gather crucial information about the wellbore and surrounding geological formation, analogous to reference teaching of “pressure trace”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include in a fluid system, fluid is a tracer that is injected into the subterranean formation, such as that of FIELDS.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include in a fluid system, fluid is a tracer that is injected into the subterranean formation, as taught by FIELDS because it would be understood as an advantage to allow for increased information regarding flow or status of fluids in a reservoir surrounding a borehole, including information regarding subterranean hydrocarbon status. One of ordinary skill would find the teaching of FIELDS describing a using a trace element in a fluid injection system to be an improvement to the method and system as taught by CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT to broaden the range of analysis and troubleshooting in a downhole sensor deployment system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of LONGFIELD (US 20060219401 A1).
With respect to Claim 10, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
wherein the one or more processors and the data receiver are located downhole the borehole as part of downhole tools.
LONGFIELD teaches:
wherein the one or more processors and the data receiver are located downhole the borehole as part of downhole tools. (LONGFIELD is in same technical field, Abstract: “sensor plug positionable in a perforation extending into a wall of a wellbore penetrating a subterranean formation”; LONGFILED teaches sensor apparatus with processor and receiver onboard in downhole location, FIG. 7 with [0055]: “antenna 737 is positioned in pin 732 and adapted to communicate with a receiver, for example, in a tool in the borehole”; and [0061]: “ processor may be provided in the sensor plug, or in a downhole tool or surface unit in communication with the sensor plug”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above to include wherein the one or more processors and the data receiver are located downhole the borehole as part of downhole tools, such as that of LONGFIELD.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above to include wherein the one or more processors and the data receiver are located downhole the borehole as part of downhole tools, as taught by LONGFIELD because it would be understood as an efficient way to take advantage of efficient data collection and analysis at the location of a sensor in a borehole. One of ordinary skill would see this modification taught by LONGFIELD to the method/system of CHOUZENOUX modified by LAVRUT as an improvement that would address potential issues with latency, limited data transfer bandwidth, and the possibility of additional noise that may be introduced in a data stream due to transmission to surface electronics. One of ordinary skill would see this an obvious combination which would have a reasonable expectation of success in mitigating data stream corruption and ultimately lead to more accurate and reliable data analysis and decision making capacity.
Claims 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of RASHEED (US 20150167393 A1).
With respect to Claims 16 and 24, CHOUZENOUX in view of LAVRUT teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 21
CHOUZENOUX is silent to the language of:
wherein the one or more processors are further capable to adjust an operation plan of the borehole or direct operations of borehole equipment utilizing the analysis of the sensor data.
Nevertheless, RASHEED teaches:
processor/controller) capable to adjust an operation plan of the borehole or direct operations of borehole equipment utilizing the analysis of the sensor data. (RASHEED is in pertinent technical field, Abstract: “investigates the formation or formation characteristic in advance of the drill-bit before the formation or formation feature of interest has been penetrated or traversed” , using sensors in a downhole drilling operation, [0001]: “advance formation evaluation while drilling apparatus…configured with electromagnetic sensors to provide other types of downhole characterization”; RASHEED explicitly teaches use of processor/controller for detection and control based on sensor data analysis, [0042]: “verifying such measurements through a processor…to detect formation parameters”, [0045]: “allows up and downlink of the tool in order to receive and transmit data and commands so as to optimize wellbore placement”; or [0048]: “increase hydrocarbon recovery rates by optimizing wellbore trajectory based on formation data acquired”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include processor/controller which are further capable to adjust an operation plan of the borehole or direct operations of borehole equipment utilizing the analysis of the sensor data, such as that of RASHEED.
One of ordinary skill would to further modify CHOUZENOUX, as modified by LAVRUT as taught above, to include wherein the one or more processors are further capable to adjust an operation plan of the borehole or direct operations of borehole equipment utilizing the analysis of the sensor data, as taught by RASHEED because it would be understood as the obvious way to use acquired and analyzed data to improve outcomes of a drilling or production operation. One of ordinary skill would see the advantage of using acquired sensor data to inform decisions regarding well operations, and see the combination of the disclosure of RASHEED with the method and system of CHOUZENOUX as modified by LAVRUT as an obvious way to improve reliability and accuracy decisions regarding well management, either for production or drilling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are included in previous office action, dated 10/27/2025.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863