DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-20 and newly added claims 21-35 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/23 filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dewey et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0098887.
Regarding claim 28, Dewey discloses a method, comprising (See Figs. 1, 2(a)-2(b)):
forming a first 2-D material channel 203 over a substrate 201,
forming first interlayer electrodes 205 over source/drain regions of the channel layer ([0030] – the metal carbides such as hafnium carbide and zirconium carbine are multiple metal layers, so could broadly be plural electrodes),
forming a second channel layer 209 over the first channel layer and covering the first interlayer electrodes, and
forming a gate electrode 211, 217 over the second 2-D material channel layer.
Regarding claim 29, Dewey discloses wherein the interlayer electrodes are made of metal [0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dewey et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0098887, in view of Son et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,569,367.
Regarding claim 30, Dewey fails to disclose that the interlayer electrode is made of graphene. Son discloses the interlayer electrode is made of graphene (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use graphene in Son as interlayer electrode in the method of Dewey because graphene is extremely high in electrical conductivity and extremely high in thermal conductivity.
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dewey et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0098887, in view of Goldsmith et al.., U.S. Publication No. 2022/0155289.
Regarding claim 31, Dewey fails to disclose the method of claim 28, further comprising forming 2-D material electrodes over the substrate, wherein the first 2-D material channel layer is formed over the 2-D material electrodes. Goldsmith discloses forming electrodes 22, 24 over a substrate and forming the channel layer 26 over the material electrodes (Fig. 4C). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form channel layer over electrode material (source/drain) in order to improve current flow and provide a low-resistance path, and for easy connectivity.
Regarding claim 32, Dewey discloses wherein the first interlayer electrodes vertically overlaps the 2-D material electrodes (Fig. 2a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the method of claim 28, further comprising: forming second interlayer electrodes over source/drain regions of the second 2-D material channel layer, and forming a third 2-D material channel layer over the second 2-D material channel layer and covering the second interlayer electrodes.
Claim 33-34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the method of claim 28, wherein the second 2-D material channel layer interfaces the first 2-D material channel layer (Claim 33), wherein the second 2-D material channel layer interfaces sidewalls of the first interlayer electrodes (Claim 34).
Claims 16-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for allowance: None of the references of record teaches or suggests the claimed having a method comprising: forming a graphene layer over a substrate, patterning the graphene layer such that the patterned graphene layer has two separated portions, forming a channel layer over the substrate covering the two separated portions of the patterned graphene layer, forming metal electrodes over the source/drain regions (claim 16).
Claims 21-27 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for allowance: None of the references of record teaches or suggests the claimed having a method comprising: forming an electrode layer over a substrate, patterning the electrode layer to form first source/drain electrodes spaced apart from each other, depositing channel layer over the source/drain electrodes, forming second source/drain electrodes over the channel layer, and forming a gate electrode over the channel layer (Claim 21).
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818