CTNF 18/352,840 CTNF 95538 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restriction 08-08 AIA Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121: I. Claim s 1-11 and 14-16 , drawn to method of manufacturing a terminal for connecting at least one electrical or electronic component , classified in H01R 43/16 . II. Claim s 12-13 , drawn to an apparatus for manufacturing a terminal , classified in H01R 43/00 . 08-13 AIA The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because: 08-19 AIA Inventions II and I are related as apparatus and product made. The inventions in this relationship are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the apparatus as claimed is not an obvious apparatus for making the product and the apparatus can be used for making a materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different apparatus (MPEP § 806.05(g)). In this case, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different apparatus such as a hand tool and/or the product as claimed can be made without a processing device configured to execute and/or actuate by outputting signals to cause bending of a pre-machined sheet metal element , as claimed in claim 12 . Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention . 08-23 AIA During a telephone conversation with Joshua Smith on 18 March 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I , claim 1-11 and 14-16 . Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim s 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. 08-23-02 AIA Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i). 08-21-04 AIA The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined. In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 July 2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 and 14-16 during the interview on 18 March 2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 Claims 12-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse on 18 March 2026. Specification The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities : Abstract line 2 : “at least one electrical or electronica component” should read: -- at least one electrical or electronic component -- A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Title and Specification : Examiner recommends amending all occurrence of “terminal apparatus” to: -- terminal device -- and all occurrence of “terminal device” to: -- terminal -- Note: as best understood, this invention pertains to “a terminal device” for connecting an electrical or electronic component, not a terminal apparatus (for example, for making a terminal device). Therefore, appropriate correction is required in Title, Specification and claims. A device in general, is a tool that performs a specific function. However, apparatus in general, are complex machinery that works together for a specific task. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 4, 7, 9 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 1 and 14 : all occurrence of “terminal apparatus” should read: -- terminal device -- In claims 1, 4, 7 and 9 : all occurrence of “terminal device” should read: -- terminal -- In claim 16 , the limitation “A motor vehicle , comprising” should read: -- A motor vehicle, comprising -- See the Note above . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 6, the limitation “comprising bending a further first path of the path section , which is arranged in parallel with the first path, for contact-connection with a further terminal for the first potential of the electrical or electronic component” renders claim indefinite because is confusing. See, claim 1 recites “a second electric terminal device arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential wherein the second electric terminal device has a path section which comprises a first path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of the electrical or electronic component”, which deemed to read as: a first path connected to a second electrical potential . However, claim 6 recites a further first path …for the first potential . In claim 7, the limitation “a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component ”, renders the claim indefinite because, claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends recites, “at least one electrical or electronic component ”. Therefore, it is unclear what the recited “second electrical or electronic component” is. Further, claim 7 recites, “a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component”, which is confusing because, claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends recites “the second electric terminal device…comprises a first path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential ”, which deemed to read as the second terminal connects with second potential. However, claim 7 recites “a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential ”. In claim 9 the same issue is there for the recited limitation “a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component”. Claim 8 depends on claim 7 and claim 10 depends on claim 9. Therefore, claims 6-10 are rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 6, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Rowden (US 20170294373) . [AltContent: textbox (further path)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (component)] [AltContent: textbox (second path)] [AltContent: textbox (first path)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (second electric terminal)] [AltContent: textbox (first electric terminal)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (control terminal)] PNG media_image1.png 426 734 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 13, Rowden. Regarding claim 1, Rowden teaches, a method of manufacturing a terminal apparatus for connecting at least one electrical or electronic component for an electrical or electronic module (power module 100, or 1100, Figs. 1, 11 and 13, para. [0029, 0078]), the method comprising: bending a pre-machined sheet metal element (see Fig. 11, planar metal traces…planar interconnect bonding to copper traces routed on insulating substrates, para. [0003-0004]) comprising: a first electric terminal (first terminal 108, see annotated Fig. 13 above) device configured to connect to a first electrical potential (first terminal 108 is a positive DC terminal, para. [0040]); a control terminal (second terminal 112) having at least one control contact (second terminal 112 is a negative DC terminal, para. [0040]); and a second electric terminal (output terminal 144) device arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential (output terminal 144 is an AC output terminal, para. [0041]), wherein the second electric terminal device has a path section (see annotated Fig. 13 above) which comprises a first path (see annotated Fig. 13) for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of the electrical or electronic component (output terminal 144 configured to be coupled to and provide power to an electrical load), and at least one second path (see annotated Fig. 13) which is arranged in parallel with the first path (see Fig. 13), and wherein the bending includes bending a first bending section of the first path into a lower plane than a second bending section of the second path in order to form the terminal apparatus (see the bending of first path and the second path, annotated Fig. 13). Regarding claim 2, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein, in the bending, a first section length of the first bending section and/or a second section length of the second bending section essentially correspond to a first component length (see the component in annotated Fig. 13 above) of the electrical or electronic component. Regarding claim 6, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden further teaches, the method according to claim 1, comprising bending a further first path of the path section (see annotated Fig. 13 above), which is arranged in parallel with the first path, for contact-connection with a further terminal for the first potential of the electrical or electronic component, in a corresponding manner to the first bending section. Regarding claim 11, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden further teaches, the method according to claim 1, comprising: contact-connecting the first bending section with the terminal for the second electrical potential of the electrical or electronic component to produce the electrical or electronic module (output terminal 144 configured to be coupled to and provide power to an electrical load, para. [0041]). Regarding claim 14, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden further teaches, a power converter (power module 100, 1100, see Fig. 11, Abstract) comprising a terminal apparatus which has been manufactured according to the method according to claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tada (US 20160057881) . Regarding claim 3, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden does not teach, bending section into a wave shape. However, Tada teaches in Fig. 1, a method of manufacturing a terminal for a power module including bending a pre-machined sheet metal element; a first electric terminal device 21 configured to connect to a first electrical potential; a control terminal 15 having at least one control contact; and a second electric terminal device 22 arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential; and in Figs. 4A and 4B, a path section which comprises a first path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of the electrical or electronic component, and at least one second path which is arranged in parallel with the first path, in which, [AltContent: textbox (wave shape)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image2.png 229 501 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 4A, Tada. the method according to claim 1, comprising bending the first bending section and/or the second bending section into a wave shape (see the bending portions 21d, in annotated Fig. 4A and Fig. 10A). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Tada, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the terminal device of Rowden and to include a wave shape bending as Tada taught in Figs. 4A and 10A so that it enables reducing the stress due to U-shaped bending configuration as Tada disclosed in para. [0118]. [AltContent: textbox (control terminal)] [AltContent: ] [AltContent: textbox (second terminal)] [AltContent: ] PNG media_image3.png 492 427 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 1, Tada. Regarding claim 5, Tada further teaches, the method according to claim 1, comprising bending the control contact in a direction opposite to the path section (see Figs. 1 and 2). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Tada, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the terminal device of Rowden and to include bending the control contact opposite direction of the first path so that it enables selectively stacking the terminal conductors . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Copperthite (US 20190115704) . Regarding claim 4, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden does not teach, die-stamping and/or laser-cutting a sheet metal blank. However, Copperthite teaches a method of manufacturing a terminal device for a power module for an electric vehicle, in which, the method according to claim 1, comprising: prior to bending, die-stamping (each of the terminals and/or related busbars…may be formed by pressing operations e.g., stamping, para. [0051]) and/or laser-cutting a sheet metal blank to obtain the pre-machined sheet metal element such that a gap between the first electric terminal device and the path section is generated. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Copperthite, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the terminal device of Rowden and to include die stamping the sheet metal blank as Copperthite taught in para. [0051] so that it enables forming the terminals to a desire profile of the contact portion. Regarding claims 15-16, Rowden teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Rowden does not teach, an electric axle drive for a motor vehicle. However, Copperthite further teaches, 15. An electric axle drive for a motor vehicle comprising at least one electrical machine, a transmission device, and the power converter according to claim 14 (para. [0003]). 16. A motor vehicle, comprising an electric axle drive according to claim 15 (para, [0003]). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 8 and 10 are allowable by virtue of its dependency. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: Claim 7 would be allowable for disclosing a method of manufacturing a terminal device, comprising: bending the pre-machined sheet metal element such that it further comprises at least one second path section which is arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal, which comprises a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component, and at least one fourth path, which is arranged in parallel with the third path, wherein, a third bending section of the third path is bent into a lower plane than a fourth bending section of the fourth path. Claim 9 would be allowable for disclosing a method of manufacturing a terminal device, comprising: bending the pre-machined sheet metal element such that it further comprises at least one second path section which is arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal, which comprises a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component, and at least one fourth path, which is arranged in parallel with the third path, wherein, a third bending section and a fourth bending section are bent in a corresponding manner to the first bending section. Though, prior art Rowden teaches a terminal device including the second electric terminal device has a path section which comprises a first path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of the electrical or electronic component, and at least one second path which is arranged in parallel with the first path, and wherein the bending includes bending a first bending section of the first path into a lower plane than a second bending section of the second path in order to form the terminal apparatus, Rowden does not teach, bending the pre-machined sheet metal element such that it further comprises at least one second path section which is arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal, which comprises a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component, and at least one fourth path, which is arranged in parallel with the third path, wherein, a third bending section of the third path is bent into a lower plane than a fourth bending section of the fourth path; or a third bending section and a fourth bending section are bent in a corresponding manner to the first bending section. Though, prior art Tada and Copperthite teach forming a terminal device including a path section, Tada or Copperthite does not teach a second path section or a third path for contact-connection with a terminal for the second electrical potential of a second electrical or electronic component, and at least one fourth path, which is arranged in parallel with the third path, wherein, a third bending section of the third path is bent into a lower plane than a fourth bending section of the fourth path; or a third bending section and a fourth bending section are bent in a corresponding manner to the first bending section. Therefore, claims 7 and 9 would be allowable. Claims 8 and 10 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Prior art Azuma (US 20100157640) teaches a method of manufacturing a terminal for an electronic module, including bending a pre-machined sheet metal; a first electric terminal device configured to connect to a first electrical potential; a control terminal having a contact; and a second electric terminal device arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential, wherein the second electric terminal device has a path section. Prior art Geil (US 20010031583) teaches a method of manufacturing a terminal for an electronic module, including bending a pre-machined sheet metal; a first electric terminal device; a control terminal; and a second electric terminal device arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential, wherein the second electric terminal device has a path section. Prior art Hirano (US 20150189784) teaches a method of manufacturing a terminal for an electronic module, including bending a pre-machined sheet metal; a first electric terminal device; a control terminal; and a second electric terminal device arranged between the first electric terminal device and the control terminal and configured to connect to a second electrical potential, wherein the second electric terminal device has a path section. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSE K. ABRAHAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1087. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, THOMAS J. HONG can be reached at (571) 272-0993. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 2 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 3 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 5 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 6 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 7 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 8 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 9 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 10 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 11 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 12 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 13 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 14 Art Unit: 3729 Application/Control Number: 18/352,840 Page 15 Art Unit: 3729