DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 11/10/2025 "Reply" elects without traverse and identifies claims 1-11 as being drawn to invention I. The Reply cancels claims 12-20.
The 9/8/2025 restriction requirement is proper, is maintained, and is hereby made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Pub. No. 2020/0152841) in view of Lowes (US Pub. No. 2012/0049214).
Regarding claim 1, in FIG. 1A, Han discloses an apparatus, comprising: a first nanoporous structure (114, paragraph [0055]) fabricated on a first surface of a first light-emitting device (rightmost 102), wherein a first plurality quantum dots (116, paragraph [0055]) are placed in the first nanoporous structure for converting light emitted by the first light-emitting device into light of a first color (e.g. red; paragraph [0057]); a second nanoporous structure fabricated (114) on a second surface of a second light-emitting device (middle 102), wherein a second plurality quantum dots (116) are placed in the second nanoporous structure for converting light emitted by the second light-emitting device into light a second color (e.g. green; paragraph [0057]); a third light-emitting device that emits light of a third color (e.g. blue, leftmost 102; paragraphs [0056] and [0057]).
Han appears not to explicitly disclose a conductive layer comprising a conductive material, wherein at least a portion of the conductive layer is fabricated in a first trench between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device, and wherein the conductive layer contacts the first surface of the first light-emitting device, the second surface of the second light-emitting device, and a third surface of the third light-emitting device.
In FIGs. 21A-21B, Lowes discloses a similar light-emitting apparatus wherein to interconnect the light-emitting devices a conductive material (e.g. 80a, 82a, etc.) is formed in a trench between light-emitting devices wherein the conductive material contacts the emissive side (top) of the light-emitting devices.
To interconnect the first, second, and third light-emitting devices it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form a conductive layer comprising a conductive material, wherein at least a portion of the conductive layer is fabricated in a first trench between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device, and wherein the conductive layer contacts the first surface of the first light-emitting device, the second surface of the second light-emitting device, and a third surface of the third light-emitting device.
Regarding claim 2, in FIG. 1A, Han discloses that a first lateral dimension of the first light-emitting device is greater than a second lateral dimension of the first nanoporous structure (104/106/108 is wider than 114).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Han and Lowes discloses (see FIG. 1A of Han), a substrate (Han, 110) comprising a CMOS circuit (Han, paragraph [0061]); and a dielectric layer (Han 120, paragraph [0062]; Lowes FIG. 21B, element 74, paragraph [0088]), wherein at least a first portion of the dielectric layer is positioned between the substrate and the conductive layer (see Lowes FIG. 21B).
Regarding claim 4, in FIG. 1A, Han discloses a color filter on the first nanoporous structure and the second nanoporous structure (color tinting, paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Han and Lowes discloses that the conductive material comprises a metallic material (conductive metal interconnects, Lowes paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 7, in FIG. 1B, Han discloses a third nanoporous structure on the third light-emitting device, wherein no quantum dots are placed in the third nanoporous structure (“electrochemically etched n-GaN layer 114 nanoporous surfaces that does not include any embedded quantum dots,” paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Han and Lowes discloses that at least a portion of the conductive layer is fabricated in a second trench between the second light-emitting device and the third light-emitting device.
Regarding claim 10, in FIG. 1B, Han discloses that the first surface of the first light-emitting device is a top surface of an n-GaN layer (108) of the first light-emitting device (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 11 in FIG. 1B, Han discloses insulating materials (120/122, paragraph [0062]) disposed on the conductive layer and in a plurality of trenches between the first nanoporous structure, the second nanoporous structure.
Claims 4-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Pub. No. 2020/0152841) in view of Lowes (US Pub. No. 2012/0049214) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Iguchi (US Pub. No. 2019/0267357).
Regarding claims 4-5, the combination of Han and Lowes appears not to explicitly disclose a color filter on the first nanoporous structure and the second nanoporous structure and a plurality of micro-lenses fabricated on the color filter.
However, in FIG. 14, Iguchi discloses a similar light-emitting apparatus wherein a color filter (28) is formed on the first nanoporous structure (7) and the second nanoporous structure (8) to absorb blue light (paragraph [0133]) and a plurality of micro-lenses (25Lx) are fabricated on the color filter to converge the emitted light (paragraph [0070]).
To absorb blue light in the red and green pixels and to converge the emitted light it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form a color filter on the first nanoporous structure and the second nanoporous structure and form a plurality of micro-lenses fabricated on the color filter.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Pub. No. 2020/0152841) in view of Lowes (US Pub. No. 2012/0049214) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim (US Pub. No. 2023/0170448).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Han and Lowes appears not to explicitly discloses that each of the first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device, and the third light-emitting device is a micro light-emitting device.
The art however well recognized micro light-emitting devices to be suitable for use as LEDs in a high-resolution display. See, for example, Kim, paragraph [0003].
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the Han disclosed light-emitting devices as micro light-emitting devices for their recognized suitability as LEDs in a high-resolution display.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891