DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed March 20th, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/23/2025 are noted.
Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection(s)
previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/23/2025, so the 35 U.S.C. § 112
rejection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 10-17 are now canceled; Claims 1-9 and 18-28 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-9 and 18-28 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0138126A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a device [see fig. 68, 0130], comprising:
a package [see fig. 68, 0133] including:
a die (830) fig. 68 [0120] having a first (top) surface opposite to a second (bottom) surface, the (left end of) first (top) and (right end of) second (bottom) surface being separated by a first dimension (length of top/bottom side) along a first (horizontal) axis, and a first (left) side opposite to a second (right) side, the (bottom of) first (left) and (top of) second (right) sides being separated by a second dimension (length of left/right side) along a second (vertical) axis, the first (horizontal) axis being transverse to the second (vertical) axis [see annotated fig. 68 below];
a first contact (874) fig. 68 [0129] coupled to the die (830) at the first (top) surface and extending (horizontally) past the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) along the first (horizontal) axis, the first contact (874) covering (overlapping) a first area (OA1) [see annotated fig. 68 below] of the die (830) at the first surface (top of 830);
a second contact (876) fig. 68 [0129] coupled to the die (830) at the first (top) surface and extending (horizontally) past the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) along the first (horizontal) axis, the second contact covering (876) a second area (OA2) [see annotated fig. 68 below] of the die at the first surface (top of 830), the first area (OA1) being larger than the second area (OA2) (874 overlaps a greater portion / cross-sectional area of 830 than 876) [see annotated fig. 68 below];
a first molding compound (838) fig. 68 [0121] between the first (left) side of the die (830) and the first contact (874), and between the second (right) side of the die and the second contact (876); and
a second molding compound (840) fig. 68 [0122] on (supported by) the first (top) surface of the die (830) and on the first (874) and second (876) contacts, wherein the first (top) surface of the die (830) is (diagonally) between the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) and the second molding compound (840) (as indicated by diagonal line in annotated fig. 68 below) [see annotated fig. 68 below].
[AltContent: textbox (Diagonal line crossing through bottom and top of 830 and 840)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second dimension)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (First dimension)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Annotated fig. 68 of Chen
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 1. Chen also teaches further comprising:
a first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] on (supported by) the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) fig. 68 [0120];
a second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled to the first contact (874) fig. 68 [0129]; and
a third conductive layer (right 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled to the second contact (876) fig. 68 [0129], the first conductive layer (middle 836) is coplanar with the second conductive layer (left 836) and the third conductive layer (right 836).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 1. Chen also teaches wherein the first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] is spaced from the second conductive layer by a first distance in a first (horizontal) direction, and is spaced from the second conductive layer by a second distance in the first (horizontal) direction.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 3. Chen also teaches wherein the first (874) [0129] and second (876) [0129] contacts are copper [0129].
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 2. Chen also teaches wherein an area (A1) of the first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] is greater than an area (A2) of the second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] (A1>A2, as defined above) [see annotated fig. 68 above].
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 2. Chen also teaches wherein and the area (A2) of the second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] is greater than the area (A3) of the third conductive layer (right 836) fig. 68 [0121] (A2>A3, as defined above) [see annotated fig. 68 above].
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 3. Chen also teaches wherein the first (874) [0129] and second (876) [0129] contacts and first, second, and third conductive layers (836) [0121] are copper plating (made of copper [0121, 0129]; plate bordering layers).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 1. Chen also teaches further comprising an insulator layer (872) fig. 68 [0129] between the first contact (874) [0129] and the second contact (876) [0129] on the first surface of the die (top of 830) [0120], and the second molding compound (840) fig. 68 [0122] is on (supported by) the insulator layer (872).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 8. Chen also teaches wherein the insulator layer (872) fig. 68 [0129] is between an (horizontal) extension of the first contact (874) [0129] and the first surface of the die (top of 830) [0120], and the insulator layer (872) is between an (horizontal) extension of the second contact (876) [0129] and the first surface of the die (top of 830) [0120].
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches a power package [see fig. 68, 0130, 0133], comprising:
a die (830) fig. 68 [0120] having a first (top) surface opposite to a second (bottom) surface, the (left end of) first (top) and (right end of) second (bottom) surface being separated by a first dimension (length of top/bottom side) along a first (horizontal) axis, and a first (left) side opposite to a second (right) side, the (bottom of) first (left) and (top of) second (right) sides being separated by a second dimension (length of left/right side) along a second (vertical) axis, the first (horizontal) axis being transverse to the second (vertical) axis [see annotated fig. 68 below];
a first contact (876) fig. 68 [0129] having a first (bottom) end coupled to the first surface (top) of the die (830) and having a second (right side) end that extends (horizontally) past the die (830) along the first (horizontal) axis;
a second contact (874) fig. 68 [0129] having a first (bottom) end coupled to the first surface (top) of the die (830) and a second (left side) end that extends (horizontally) past the die (830);
a first molding compound (838) fig. 68 [0121] between the first (left) side of the die (830) and the first contact (876), and between the second (right) side of the die and the second contact (874);
a second molding compound (840) fig. 68 [0122] on the first (top) surface of the die (830) and the first (876) and second (874) contacts, wherein the first (top) surface of the die (830) is (diagonally) between the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) and the second molding compound (840) (as indicated by diagonal line in annotated fig. 68 below) [see annotated fig. 68 below];
a first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled (electrically coupled through 830 semiconductive material) [0121] to the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) fig. 68 [0120];
a second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled to the second (right) end of the first contact (876); and
a third conductive layer (right 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled (electrically coupled through 874 conductive material) to the second (left) end of the second contact (874), the first conductive layer (middle 836) is coplanar with the second conductive layer (left 836) and the third conductive layer (right 836).
[AltContent: textbox (Diagonal line crossing through bottom and top of 830 and 840)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second dimension)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (First dimension)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Annotated fig. 68 of Chen
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the power package [see fig. 68, 0119, 0133] of claim 18. Chen also teaches wherein a first area (total cross-sectional area in CA1) of the first contact (876) [0129] is greater than a second area (total cross-sectional area in CA2) of the second contact (874) [0129] (OA1>OA2 as defined [see annotated fig. 68 of Chen above].
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the power package [see fig. 68, 0119, 0133] of claim 18. Chen also teaches the first conductive layer (middle 836) [0121] is coplanar with the second (left 836) and third (right 836) conductive layers, an area of the first conductive layer (A1) is greater than an area (A2) of the second conductive layer (836) (A1>A2, as defined in annotated fig. 68 above), and the area (A2) of the second conductive layer (left 836) is greater than an area (A3) of the third conductive layer (right 836) (A2>A3, as defined in annotated fig. 68 above) [see annotated fig. 68 of Chen above].
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches a device [see fig. 68, 0130], comprising:
a package [se fig. 68, 0133], including:
a die (830) fig. 68 [0120] having a first (top) surface opposite to a second (bottom) surface, the (left end of) first (top) and (right end of) second (bottom) surface being separated by a first dimension (length of top/bottom side) along a first (horizontal) axis, and a first (left) side opposite to a second (right) side, the (bottom of) first (left) and (top of) second (right) sides being separated by a second dimension (length of left/right side) along a second (vertical) axis, the first (horizontal) axis being transverse to the second (vertical) axis [see annotated fig. 68 below];
a first contact (874) fig. 68 [0129] coupled to the die (830) at the first (top) surface and extending (horizontally) past the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) along the first (horizontal) axis, the first contact (874) covering a first area (OA1) [see annotated fig. 68 below] of the die (830) at the first (top) surface,
a second contact (876) fig. 68 [0129] coupled to the die (830) at the first (top) surface and extending (horizontally) past the second (bottom) surface of the die (830), the second contact covering a second area (OA2) [see annotated fig. 68 below] of the die (830) at the first surface (top of 830), the first area being larger than the second area (OA1>OA2; see annotated fig. 68 below),
a first insulating layer (850) fig. 68 [0127] covering a first (left) edge of the first (top) side of the die (830), the first contact (874) overlapping the first insulating layer (850);
a second insulating layer (872) fig. 68 [0127] covering a second (right) edge of the first (top) side of the die (830), the second contact (876) overlapping the second insulating layer (872);
a first molding compound (838) fig. 68 [0121] between the first (top) side of the die (830) and the first contact (874), and between the second (bottom) side of the die and the second contact (876); and
a second molding compound (840) fig. 68 [0122] on (supported by) the first (top) surface of the die (830) and on the first (874) and second (876) contacts [see annotated fig. 68 below], wherein the first (top) surface of the die (830) is (diagonally) between the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) and the second molding compound (840) (as indicated by diagonal line in annotated fig. 68 below) [see annotated fig. 68 below].
Annotated fig. 68 of Chen
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 21. Chen also teaches further comprising:
a first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] on (supported by) the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) fig. 68 [0120];
a second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled to the first contact (874) fig. 68 [0129]; and
a third conductive layer (right 836) fig. 68 [0121] coupled to the second contact (876) fig. 68 [0129], the first conductive layer (middle 836) is coplanar with the second conductive layer (left 836) and the third conductive layer (right 836).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 21. Chen also teaches wherein the first (874) [0129] and second (876) [0129] contacts are copper [0129].
Regarding claim 24, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 22. Chen also teaches wherein an area (A1) of the first conductive layer (middle 836) fig. 68 [0121] is greater than an area (A2) of the second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] (A1>A2, as defined above) [see annotated fig. 68 above].
Regarding claim 25, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 22. Chen also teaches wherein and the area (A2) of the second conductive layer (left 836) fig. 68 [0121] is greater than the area (A3) of the third conductive layer (right 836) fig. 68 [0121] (A2>A3, as defined above) [see annotated fig. 68 above].
Regarding claim 26, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 23. Chen also teaches wherein the first (874) [0129] and second (876) [0129] contacts and first, second, and third conductive layers (836) [0121] are copper plating (made of copper [0121, 0129]; plate bordering layers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0138126A1) (of record), as applied in claim 21 above, in view of Lin (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0098382A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 27, Chen teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 21. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose further comprising a third insulating layer between the first contact (872) fig. 68 [0129] and the second contact (872) fig. 68 [0129] on the first (top) surface of the die (830) fig. 68 [0121], and the second molding compound (840) fig. 68 [0122] is on the third insulating layer.
Lin teaches a device [see fig. 1I, 0041] further comprising a third insulating layer (DL1) fig. 1I [0037] between the first contact (right 110A) [0023] and the second contact (left 110A) [0023] on the first (top) surface of the die (112A) [0024], and the second molding compound (116) [0028] is on the third insulating layer (DL1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chen such that the package includes at least a third dielectric layer [0037] above the molding compound [0028], die [0024], and contacts [0023] in order to enable the formation of additional circuitry above the contacts [0036-0040] which support package operations, as taught by Lin.
Regarding claim 28, Chen in view of Lin teaches the device [see fig. 68, 0119] of claim 27. Chen also teaches wherein the second (872) fig. 68 [0127] insulating layer is polyimide [0129].
Further, Chen in view of Lin (with refence to Lin) teaches wherein the first (DL2) fig. 1I [0037] and third (DL1) fig. 1I [0037] insulating layers are each one of a polyimide and a polybenzoxazole (PBO) [0026].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “The first axis corresponds to a vertical axis in Figure 68 of Chen. Accordingly, Chen fails to disclose, at least, "a first contact coupled to the die at the first surface and extending past the second surface of the die along the first axis" and "a second contact coupled to the die at the first surface and extending past the second surface of the die along the first axis" as recited in amended claim 1” – it is noted that the newly-recited “first axis” does not necessarily correspond to a vertical axis in Chen. The (left end of) first (top of 830) surface and (right end of) second (bottom of 830) surface are separated by a first dimension (length of top/bottom side) along a horizontal axis, as illustrated in annotated fig. 68 of Chen reproduced below – that is, some portions of the first surface / top of 830 are separated from other portions of the second surface / bottom of 830 in the horizontal direction, Because portions of the first (top of 830) and second (bottom of 830) surface are separated by a non-zero dimension in the horizontal direction, the first (top of 830) and second (bottom of 830) can be considered as partially separated in the horizontal direction, and in the absence of other, more specific limitations on the “first axis” and “second axis”, the first axis can be defined as a ‘horizontal’ axis and the second axis can be defined as a ‘vertical’ axis in a manner consistent with the rejection of record.
In order to definitively overcome this interpretation, Applicant would need to be more specific with the definitions of the “first axis” and “second axis”, such as claiming that the “first surface” is entirely separated from the “second surface” along the “first axis”, defining the “first axis” more specifically relative to other device features (i.e, first axis is transverse to the first and/or second surface), or explicitly claiming the “first axis” as a “horizontal” axis.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “Chen fails to disclose that "the first surface of the die is between the second surface of the die and the second molding compound" --- it is visually apparent from the diagonal line in annotated fig. 68 reproduced below that “the first (top) surface of the die (830) is (diagonally) between the second (bottom) surface of the die (830) and the second molding compound (840)”. Portions of the top of 830 lie in the diagonal space between portions of the bottom of 830 and portions of the second molding compound 840. In order to definitively overcome this “diagonally between” interpretation – Applicant would need to be more limiting with respect to the direction in which “the first surface of the die is between the second surface of the die and the second molding compound” – such as specifying “horizontally” between and/or “between … along the first/second axis”.
Annotated fig. 68 of Chen
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All references made available on the PTO-892 form (of record) are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they feature die-packages with contact structures.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 04/07/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892