DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 14-19 having been withdrawn. Applicant's response filed December 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 and 20 will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006-061227A to Hoshino (see machine translation) in view of WO2018/154142A1 to Bassett and JP2021-132889A to Hirota (see machine translation).
As to claim 1, Hoshino discloses a cordless vacuum cleaner comprising: a body (see Hoshino Fig. 2, ref.#1); a brush device (see Hoshino Fig. 2, ref.#9); and an extension pipe configured to connect the body and the brush device (see Hoshino Fig. 2, ref.#5, 8); wherein the body comprising: a suction motor configured to rotate a fan to suck up dust (see Hoshino paragraph [0013] disclosing an electric blower to suction dust); a processor (see Hoshino paragraph [0013], [0016] disclosing control means 12); and a battery which supplies power to the suction motor (see Hoshino paragraphs [0013]-[0014] disclosing battery pack 3); and wherein the battery from among different types of batteries is detachably connected to the body (see Hoshino paragraphs [0013]-[0014] disclosing various types of detachable battery packs); and the processor is configured to: identify a type of the battery based on the identification of the battery and control an output of the suction motor, based on the type (see Hoshino paragraphs [0009]-[0037]).
Hoshino does not explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery. Bassett discloses that it is known in the art to have a processor be configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery (see Bassett page 6, line 34 to page 7, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino to have the processor be configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery and disclosed by Bassett and the results would have been predictable (identification of the type of battery) (see MPEP 2143(I)(A) where combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious, and MPEP 2143(I)(B) where simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious).
The combination of Hoshino and Bassett does not explicitly disclose that the brush device includes a brush motor and a drum to which a rotating brush is attached to suck up dust and that the extension pipe is rotatably combined with the brush device. Hirota discloses that cordless vacuum cleaners with a brush device that includes a brush motor and drum to which a rotating brush is attached and an extension pipe that is rotatably combined with the brush device are known in the art (see Hirota Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0014]-[0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the control means of Hoshino/Bassett to the cordless stick-type vacuum cleaner disclosed by Hirota in order to improve the consumption efficiency of the battery (see Hoshino paragraph [0005]; see also MPEP 2143(I)(C) and (D) where use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way is prima facie obvious and applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious).
As to claim 2, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the type of battery can comprise a large capacity battery and a small capacity battery and the processor is further configured to identify whether the battery is the large capacity battery or the small capacity battery based on type (see Hoshino paragraphs [0009]-[0037], specifically [0014] and [0019]).
As to claims 3-5, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the body can further comprises a pack detection unit for identifying the type of battery pack; the pack detection unit has a detection output terminal in order to detect the rated capacity of the battery pack and detects the battery pack by a three-terminal type, a magnetic sensor, or a non-contact type such as a photo-sensor and the controller is connected to the pack detection unit which is a determination circuit as a sensing unit for identifying the type of the battery pack as well as use the memory of the battery to store identification and have the battery processor communicate with the processor on the vacuum cleaner (see Hoshino paragraphs [0018], [0034] and [0057]; see Bassett page 6, line 34 to page 7, line 8).
As to claim 6, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the processor is configured to: when the battery is the large capacity battery, control the output of the suction motor to be a first output and when the battery is the small capacity battery, control the output of the suction motor to be a second output lower than the first output (see Hoshino paragraphs [0036]-[0044]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the processor can be configured to have a lower input current in a standard mode than in the high power mode in order to prevent a large current from flowing through the battery pack and causing an overload (read as controlling output of the suction motor in a normal mode and when the battery is in an overload mode, control the output of the suction motor to be lower than the normal mode) (see Hoshino paragraph [0045]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the processor can be configured to operate the suction motor in one of a first mode in which the output has a first strength and a second mode in which the output has a second strength lower than the first strength (see Hoshino paragraphs [0036]-[0044]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota discloses that the controller is configured for controlling the driving of the electric blower and thus is considered as being configured to stop the output in operating mode in a protection mode of the battery (see Hoshino paragraph [0016]; see also Hirota paragraph [0015]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006-061227A to Hoshino (see machine translation) in view of WO2018/154142A1 to Bassett and JP2021-132889A to Hirota (see machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2002-345702A to Yoshioka (see machine translation) and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2014/0151079 to Furui et al.
Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota does not explicitly disclose that the body further comprises a temperature sensor and the processor is further configured to obtain temperature information of the battery from the temperature sensor, gradually decrease the output of the suction motor when the temperature information is equal to or greater than a first threshold temperature and less than a second threshold temperature higher than the first threshold temperature, and stop the suction motor when the temperature information is equal to or greater than the second threshold temperature. Yoshioka discloses that it is known in the art to include a temperature sensor and have the processor is further configured to obtain temperature information of the battery from the temperature sensor, gradually decrease the output of the suction motor when the temperature information is equal to or greater than a first threshold temperature and less than a second threshold temperature higher than the first threshold temperature (see Yoshioka paragraphs [0073, [0077, [0082]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a temperature sensor and processor further configured to obtain temperature information of the battery from the temperature sensor, gradually decrease the output of the suction motor when the temperature information is equal to or greater than a first threshold temperature and less than a second threshold temperature higher than the first threshold temperature as disclosed by Yoshioka in order to efficiently operate the electric blower by the battery (see Yoshioka paragraph [0082]). Furthermore, Furui discloses that it is known in the art to have a maximum temperature threshold (see Furui paragraphs [0025], [0153], [0173]-[0174], [0227]-[0228]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the processor to stop the suction motor when the temperature information is equal to or greater than the second threshold temperature in order to prevent permanent damage by the excessive heat (see, e.g., Furui paragraph [0173]).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006-061227A to Hoshino (see machine translation) in view of WO2018/154142A1 to Bassett and JP2021-132889A to Hirota (see machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2002-345702A to Yoshioka (see machine translation).
Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 11 and 12, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett and Hirota does not explicitly disclose that the processor is further configured to control at least one of a fully-charged voltage of the battery or a final discharge voltage of the battery based on the type and state information of the battery and that the processor is configured to transmit, to a battery circuit included in the battery, a switch control signal for controlling at least one of the fully charged voltage or the final discharge voltage. Yoshioka discloses a similar vacuum cleaner wherein the processor is configured to detect changes in each of the voltage values of a resistor of the battery and the resistance value of the temperature sensor such that the discharge state of the power unit of the battery is detected by the blower control means, and the blower control means changes the boost rate of the output voltage of the battery by the voltage conversion means according to the detected discharge state (see Yoshioka paragraphs [0080]-[0082]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino/Bassett/Hirota as disclosed by Yoshioka in order to efficiently drive the battery (see Yoshioka paragraph [0081]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Hoshino, Bassett, Hirota and Yoshioka discloses that the controller can be further configured to have the conversion operation of a switch be in response to the boost rate in the operation mode by the operation unit and cause the output voltage of the secondary battery be boosted with only one coil or both coils (see Yoshioka paragraph [0094]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006-061227A to Hoshino (see machine translation) in view of WO2018/154142A1 to Bassett.
As to claim 20, Hoshino discloses a cordless vacuum cleaner comprising: a body (see Hoshino Fig. 2, ref.#1) comprising: a suction motor configured to rotate a fan to suck up dust (see Hoshino paragraph [0013] disclosing an electric blower to suction dust); and a processor (see Hoshino paragraph [0013], [0016] disclosing control means 12); and a battery which supplies power to the suction motor (see Hoshino paragraphs [0013]-[0014] disclosing battery pack 3); and wherein the battery from among different types of batteries is detachably connected to the body (see Hoshino paragraphs [0013]-[0014] disclosing various types of detachable battery packs); and the processor is configured to: identify a type of the battery among different types of batteries based on the identification of the battery and control an output of the suction motor, based on the type (see Hoshino paragraphs [0009]-[0037]).
Hoshino does not explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery. Bassett discloses that it is known in the art to have a processor be configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery (see Bassett page 6, line 34 to page 7, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino to have the processor be configured to perform communication with the battery and receive identification of the battery and disclosed by Bassett and the results would have been predictable (identification of the type of battery) (see MPEP 2143(I)(A) where combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious, and MPEP 2143(I)(B) where simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument since Bassett is now relied upon for Applicant’s newly added claim limitations as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714