DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 01/02/2026 amended claims 1, 3, 11, 13 and cancelled claims 2 and 12. Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are pending and rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 11.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the wavelength conversion element” on line 4. It appears that “the phosphor wheel” is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20050174658 A1) in view of Kawasumi (US 20170307969 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Long teaches a projection device (Fig. 1-7; [0018], [0025], [0028], [0041], [0049], [0051]-[0054]), comprising an illumination system, at least one light valve and a projection lens ([0054]), wherein the illumination system is configured to provide an illumination beam, and comprises a first light source module (111, 170), a second light source module (112, 113, 114, 171), a light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) and a light homogenizing element (121), wherein the first light source module (111, 170) is configured to provide a first light beam; the second light source module (112, 113, 114, 171) is configured to provide a second light beam; the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) is disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam, wherein the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) has a first surface (122, 106, 107, 18), a second surface (124, 107, 108, 110) and a third surface (123, surfaces facing 112, 113, 114), the first light beam from the first light source module (111, 170) enters the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) from the first surface (122, 106, 107, 18) and is transmitted to the second surface (124, 107, 108, 110) to emit light, the second light beam from the second light source module (112, 113, 114, 171) enters the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) from the third surface (123, surfaces facing 112, 113, 114), is totally reflected on the first surface (122, 106, 107, 18) of the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174), and is transmitted to the second surface (124, 107, 108, 110) to emit the light; and the light homogenizing element (121) is disposed on the transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam from the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174), the light homogenizing element (121) has a light incident surface, wherein an illumination beam comprises at least one of the first light beam and the second light beam, and a light spot of the first light beam on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (121) overlaps with a light spot of the second light beam on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (121; Fig. 1-7); wherein the at least one light valve is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam and is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; and the projection lens is disposed on a transmission path of the image beam, and is configured to project the image beam out of the projection device ([0018], [0025], [0028], [0041], [0049], [0051]-[0054]).
Long does not teach the first light source module is different from the second light source module, one of the first light source module and the second light source module is an excitation phosphor module, and the other of the first light source module and the second light source module is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module, wherein the excitation phosphor module comprises a laser light emitting element and a phosphor wheel, and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam.
Kawasumi teaches the first light source module (100) is different from the second light source module (200), one of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is an excitation phosphor module (100), and the other of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module (200), wherein the excitation phosphor module (100) comprises a laser light emitting element (1BL) and a phosphor wheel (7PH), and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam (Fig. 12 and 13; [0111]-[0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Long with Kawasumi; because it allows output of a desired color gamut.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination of Long and Kawasumi consequently results in the, the laser light-emitting element (1BL of Kawasumi) is configured to provide an excitation beam, and the excitation beam is transmitted to the wavelength conversion element (7PH of Kawasumi) to be converted into the first light beam or the second light beam ([0111]-[0128] of Kawasumi).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Long further teaches the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) comprises an anti-reflection coating formed on the first surface (122, 106, 107, 18), the second surface (124, 107, 108, 110) and the third surface (123, surfaces facing 112, 113, 114; [0024], [0026]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Long further teaches an optical path compensation element (air gap, 101, 104, 128, or last 120), which is disposed between the first light source module (111, 170) and the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) or between the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) and the light homogenizing element (121; Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Long further teaches a refractive index of the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) is greater than a refractive index of the optical path compensation element (air gap).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Long further teaches the optical path compensation element (air gap, 101, 104, 128, or last 120) and the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174) are spaced apart.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Long further teaches when the optical path compensation element (air gap, 101, 128) is disposed between the first light source module (111, 170) and the light combiner (120, 101-104, 174), the optical path compensation element (air gap, 101, 128) is not located on a transmission path of the second light beam (Fig. 2-4).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 5796526 A) in view of Kawasumi (US 20170307969 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Anderson teaches a projection device (Fig. 3-4), comprising an illumination system, at least one light valve (36) and a projection lens (38), wherein the illumination system is configured to provide an illumination beam, and comprises a first light source module (31 on OA), a second light source module (one of 31s off of OA), a light combiner and a light homogenizing element (34), wherein the first light source module (31 on OA) is configured to provide a first light beam; the second light source module (one of 31s off of OA) is configured to provide a second light beam; the light combiner is disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam, wherein the light combiner has a first surface, a second surface and a third surface, the first light beam from the first light source module (31 on OA) enters the light combiner from the first surface and is transmitted to the second surface to emit light, the second light beam from the second light source module (one of 31s off of OA) enters the light combiner from the third surface, is totally reflected on the first surface of the light combiner, and is transmitted to the second surface to emit the light; and the light homogenizing element (34) is disposed on the transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam from the light combiner, the light homogenizing element (34) has a light incident surface, wherein an illumination beam comprises at least one of the first light beam and the second light beam, and a light spot of the first light beam on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (34) overlaps with a light spot of the second light beam on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (34; Fig. 3); wherein the at least one light valve (36) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam and is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; and the projection lens (38) is disposed on a transmission path of the image beam, and is configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (Fig. 3).
Anderson does not teach the first light source module is different from the second light source module, one of the first light source module and the second light source module is an excitation phosphor module, and the other of the first light source module and the second light source module is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module, wherein the excitation phosphor module comprises a laser light emitting element and a phosphor wheel, and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam.
Kawasumi teaches the first light source module (100) is different from the second light source module (200), one of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is an excitation phosphor module (100), and the other of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module (200), wherein the excitation phosphor module (100) comprises a laser light emitting element (1BL) and a phosphor wheel (7PH), and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam (Fig. 12 and 13; [0111]-[0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Anderson with Kawasumi; because it allows output of a desired color gamut.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination of Anderson and Kawasumi consequently results in the, the laser light-emitting element (1BL of Kawasumi) is configured to provide an excitation beam, and the excitation beam is transmitted to the wavelength conversion element (7PH of Kawasumi) to be converted into the first light beam or the second light beam ([0111]-[0128] of Kawasumi).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Anderson further teaches an optical path compensation element, which is disposed between the first light source module (31 on OA) and the light combiner or between the light combiner and the light homogenizing element (34; Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Anderson further teaches when the optical path compensation element is disposed between the light combiner and the light homogenizing element (34), an optical-path-length of the first light beam in the optical path compensation element is greater than an optical-path-length of the second light beam in the optical path compensation element.
Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20060146296 A1) in view of Kawasumi (US 20170307969 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lin teaches a projection device (Fig. 4, 8, 10), comprising an illumination system, at least one light valve (550) and a projection lens (560), wherein the illumination system is configured to provide an illumination beam, and comprises a first light source module (810-2, 1014-2), a second light source module (810-1, 1014-1), a light combiner (bottom prism of 820) and a light homogenizing element (130), wherein the first light source module (810-2, 1014-2) is configured to provide a first light beam (OB2); the second light source module (810-1, 1014-1) is configured to provide a second light beam (OB1); the light combiner (bottom prism of 820) is disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam (OB2) and the second light beam (OB1), wherein the light combiner (bottom prism of 820) has a first surface (822), a second surface (light exit surface) and a third surface (OB1 incident surface), the first light beam (OB2) from the first light source module (810-2, 1014-2) enters the light combiner (bottom prism of 820) from the first surface (822) and is transmitted to the second surface (light exit surface) to emit light, the second light beam (OB1) from the second light source module (810-1, 1014-1) enters the light combiner (bottom prism of 820) from the third surface (OB1 incident surface), is totally reflected on the first surface (822) of the light combiner (bottom prism of 820), and is transmitted to the second surface (light exit surface) to emit the light; and the light homogenizing element (130) is disposed on the transmission path of the first light beam (OB2) and the second light beam (OB1) from the light combiner (bottom prism of 820), the light homogenizing element (130) has a light incident surface, wherein an illumination beam comprises at least one of the first light beam (OB2) and the second light beam (OB1), and a light spot of the first light beam (OB2) on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (130) overlaps with a light spot of the second light beam (OB1) on the light incident surface of the light homogenizing element (130; Fig. 4, 8, 10); wherein the at least one light valve (550) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam and is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; and the projection lens (560) is disposed on a transmission path of the image beam, and is configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (Fig. 4).
Lin does not teach the first light source module is different from the second light source module, one of the first light source module and the second light source module is an excitation phosphor module, and the other of the first light source module and the second light source module is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module, wherein the excitation phosphor module comprises a laser light emitting element and a phosphor wheel, and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam.
Kawasumi teaches the first light source module (100) is different from the second light source module (200), one of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is an excitation phosphor module (100), and the other of the first light source module (100) and the second light source module (200) is a laser diode module or a light-emitting diode module (200), wherein the excitation phosphor module (100) comprises a laser light emitting element (1BL) and a phosphor wheel (7PH), and a wavelength range of the first light beam at least partially overlaps with a wavelength range of the second light beam (Fig. 12 and 13; [0111]-[0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Lin with Kawasumi; because it allows output of a desired color gamut.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination of Lin and Kawasumi consequently results in the, the laser light-emitting element (1BL of Kawasumi) is configured to provide an excitation beam, and the excitation beam is transmitted to the wavelength conversion element (7PH of Kawasumi) to be converted into the first light beam or the second light beam ([0111]-[0128] of Kawasumi).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lin further teaches a converging element (1016-1 or 1016-2), disposed between the first light source module (810-2, 1014-2) and the light combiner (bottom prism of 820) or between the second light source module (810-1, 1014-1) and the light combiner (bottom prism of 820).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882