DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 6/10/2025 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 3-7 are incomplete illustrations of the thermal circuit. The way the figures are currently drawn, it appears to be numerous different thermal management circuits and not just operational modes. The applicant should revise Figures 3-7 so as to use Figure 2 as the base figure, and then bold the active lines and dash the inactive lines of each circuit to illustrate the active components of each mode (see the thermal management modes of Kim for reference).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: it recites phrases which can be implied (first sentence), uses legal phraseology (means), exceeds 150 words, and refers to the purported merits of the invention (last 4 lines). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim 6 recites "throttling means" which invokes 112(f) and is interpreted to be "capillary tubes, throttling valves, and the like" (paragraph 103)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2017/0158081, as previously cited).
Re Claim 1. Kim discloses a thermal management system (Fig.1) for an electric vehicle, the electric vehicle comprising a battery (130) for providing electric energy for the electric vehicle, wherein the thermal management system comprises: a first heat exchanger (115) configured to regulate a temperature of a vehicle interior; and a second heat exchanger (135) configured to regulate a temperature of the battery; wherein the thermal management system is arranged such that the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger can controllably be either coupled in series or in parallel for simultaneously regulating the temperatures of the vehicle interior and the battery (Fig.1; The limitation is recited in the alternative, wherein Kim teaches parallel connections).
Re Claim 2. Kim discloses that the thermal management system comprises a battery first loop (131), the battery first loop comprises the battery and the second heat exchanger, and the battery and the second heat exchanger are can be either coupled in series or are un-coupled from each other using a first four-way valve and a second four-way valve (Fig.1).
Re Claim 3. Kim discloses a motor (125) configured to drive the electric vehicle, wherein the thermal management system is arranged such that the motor and the battery can be either coupled in series or un-coupled from each other using the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve (Fig.1).
Re Claim 4. Kim discloses that the thermal management system further comprises third heat exchanger (113), the third heat exchanger and the first heat exchanger are coupled in series (Fig.1), the third heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between a refrigerant and outdoor air (paragraph 70), the first heat exchanger is configured to regulate the temperature of the vehicle interior through refrigerant circulation (paragraph 57), and the second heat exchanger is configured to regulate the temperature of the battery through the refrigerant circulation (paragraph 59).
Re Claim 14. Kim discloses that the thermal management system is arranged to have a working mode (Fig.2) where the third heat exchanger releases heat to the outdoor air, the first heat exchanger absorbs heat from the vehicle interior, the second heat exchanger absorbs heat, and the battery first loop is on to cool the battery through the second heat exchanger (Fig.2).
Re Claim 15. Kim discloses that the thermal management system further comprises a heat exchange water tank (129), and the heat exchange water tank and the second heat exchanger are coupled in series or are not coupled through the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve (Fig.1); and in the case that the thermal management system is in the said working mode, the motor and the battery are not coupled, the heat exchange water tank and the second heat exchanger are not coupled, and the heat exchange water tank and the motor are coupled in series (Fig.2).
Re Claim 16. Kim discloses that the first heat exchanger comprises an evaporator (115 is an evaporator); the thermal management system further comprises a compressor (112), first throttling means (114), and second throttling means (116); and in the case that the thermal management system is in said working mode, the compressor, the third heat exchanger, the first throttling means and the evaporator are coupled in sequence to form a first refrigerant heating circulation loop (110); and the compressor, the third heat exchanger, the second throttling means and the second heat exchanger are coupled in sequence to form a second refrigerant heating circulation loop (132).
Re Claim 18. Kim discloses that the thermal management system is arranged to have a working mode (Fig.3) where the first heat exchanger releases heat to the vehicle interior while absorbing heat from the vehicle interior to dehumidify the vehicle interior, the third heat exchanger absorbs heat from the outdoor air, the second heat exchanger absorbs heat, and the battery and the second heat exchanger are coupled in series to recover heat of the battery through the second heat exchanger (Fig.3).
Re Claim 20. Kim discloses an electric vehicle, comprising the thermal management system according to claim 1 (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose that the thermal management system has the recited working modes and associated structural configurations as claimed (claim 5, 7, 9, 17, and 19). The remaining claims 8 and 10-13 are allowable based on their dependency from an allowable parent claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 15-17 of the reply that Kim fails to teach the new limitation of “wherein the thermal management system is arranged such that the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger can controllably be either coupled in series or in parallel for simultaneously regulating the temperatures of the vehicle interior and the battery”. The limitation in question is recited in the alternative, wherein Kim teaches parallel connections. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763