DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment/response filed 08/14/2025 has been entered and made of record. Claims 5-7, 13-15, and 17 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2017/0109940) in view of Hoang et al. (US 7711044) and Côté et al. (US 2012/0081577).
Regarding claim 9, Guo teaches/suggests: A system comprising:
one or more processing units (Guo Fig. 3: processor 330) to:
at least one of: (i) a dynamic seam placement that is based at least on one or more locations of one or more detected objects in an environment around an ego-object (Guo [0111] “the electronic device 322 (e.g., image visualization adjuster 336) may adjust 1010 the image visualization based on one or more foreground object distances” [0071] “adjusting the image visualization may be performed based on dynamic data” [0042] “the combined image obtainer 332 may perform image alignment (e.g., registration), seam finding and/or merging”) or (ii) a three-dimensional (3D) bowl that adaptively models the environment with a shape based at least on one or more distances to the one or more detected objects (Guo [0056] “an image (e.g., a combined image) may be rendered in the shape of a bowl”);
Guo does not teach/suggest:
generating one or more visualizations based at least on relaxing or disabling temporal filtering that limits changes to a previous dynamic seam placement or a previous 3D bowl.
Hoang, however, teaches/suggests disabling temporal filtering (Hoang col. 13 ll. 15-20 “it may be beneficial to completely disable temporal filtering (i.e. set all M values to 0) immediately after a change of scene is detected and then to resume normal operation one frame later”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined image of Guo to not be temporally filtered as taught/suggests by Gardner to be beneficial. As such, Guo as modified by Hoang teaches/suggests:
generating one or more visualizations based at least on relaxing or disabling temporal filtering that limits changes to a previous dynamic seam placement or a previous 3D bowl (Guo [0042] “the combined image obtainer 332 may perform image alignment (e.g., registration), seam finding and/or merging” [0056] “an image (e.g., a combined image) may be rendered in the shape of a bowl” [0071] “adjusting the image visualization may be performed based on dynamic data” Hoang col. 13 ll. 15-20 “it may be beneficial to completely disable temporal filtering (i.e. set all M values to 0) immediately after a change of scene is detected and then to resume normal operation one frame later”).
Guo and Hoang are silent regarding:
determine, for at least one future time interval, that a threshold change will occur; and
based at least on the determining that the threshold change will occur, generating one or more visualizations that at least partially conceal the threshold change based at least on relaxing or disabling temporal filtering that limits changes to a previous dynamic seam placement or a previous 3D bowl.
Côté, however, teaches/suggests:
determine, for at least one future time interval, that a threshold change will occur (Côté [0642] “When the difference in the metric is greater than a particular threshold, a scene change is predicted” [The future time interval is an inherent and/or implicit feature of the prediction.]);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scene change of Guo as modified by Hoang to be predicted as taught/suggests by Côté to disable the temporal filtering. As such, Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté teaches/suggests:
based at least on the determining that the threshold change will occur, generating one or more visualizations that at least partially conceal the threshold change based at least on relaxing or disabling temporal filtering that limits changes to a previous dynamic seam placement or a previous 3D bowl (Guo [0042] “the combined image obtainer 332 may perform image alignment (e.g., registration), seam finding and/or merging” [0056] “an image (e.g., a combined image) may be rendered in the shape of a bowl” Hoang col. 13 ll. 15-20 “it may be beneficial to completely disable temporal filtering (i.e. set all M values to 0) immediately after a change of scene is detected and then to resume normal operation one frame later” Côté [0642] “When the difference in the metric is greater than a particular threshold, a scene change is predicted”).
Regarding claim 10, Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté teaches/suggests: The system of claim 9, the one or more processing units further to temporally mask the threshold change based at least on temporarily disabling the temporal filtering (Hoang col. 13 ll. 15-20 “it may be beneficial to completely disable temporal filtering (i.e. set all M values to 0) immediately after a change of scene is detected and then to resume normal operation one frame later” Côté [0642] “When the difference in the metric is greater than a particular threshold, a scene change is predicted”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté teaches/suggests: The system of claim 9, wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for performing real-time streaming;
a system for generating or presenting one or more of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content (Guo [0033] “virtual reality devices (e.g., headsets), augmented reality devices (e.g., headsets), mixed reality devices (e.g., headsets)”);
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system implemented using a robot;
a system for performing conversational AI operations;
a system for generating synthetic data;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Claims 17-18 and 20 recite limitation(s) similar in scope to those of claims 9-10, and 16, respectively, and are rejected for the same reason(s).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2017/0109940) in view of Hoang et al. (US 7711044) and Côté et al. (US 2012/0081577) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gardner et al. (US 2014/0247365).
Regarding claim 11, Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté teaches/suggests: The system of claim 9, wherein the temporal filtering smooths changes to the previous dynamic seam placement or the previous 3D bowl (Guo [0042] “the combined image obtainer 332 may perform image alignment (e.g., registration), seam finding and/or merging” [0056] “an image (e.g., a combined image) may be rendered in the shape of a bowl” Hoang col. 1 line 56 – col. 2 line 11 “Digital video noise can be removed by a variety of known digital processing techniques such as … temporal filters”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein.
Guo, Hoang, and Côté are silent regarding the relaxing of the temporal filtering reduces latency introduced by the temporal filtering. Gardner, however, teaches/suggests the relaxing of the temporal filtering reduces latency introduced by the temporal filtering (Gardner [0064] “a user may select appropriate user settings 219 to partially or completely disable temporal filter 218 to prevent image lag from being exhibited by filtered signals 222 that might be attributable to temporal filtering”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temporal filtering of Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté to be disabled as taught/suggests by Gardner to prevent image lag.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2017/0109940) in view of Hoang et al. (US 7711044) and Côté et al. (US 2012/0081577) as applied to claims 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Vanam et al. (US 11778224).
Regarding claim 12, Guo, Hoang, and Côté are silent regarding: The system of claim 9, the one or more processing units further to temporally mask the threshold change based at least on shortening a temporal window over which the temporal filtering is applied. Vanam, however, teaches/suggests to temporally mask the threshold change based at least on shortening a temporal window over which the temporal filtering is applied (Vanam col. 5 ll. 35-52 “the temporal window may be set to zero, effectively disabling the temporal filter”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temporal filtering of Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté such that the temporal window is set to zero (the shortening) as taught/suggests by Vanam to disable it.
Claim 19 recites limitation(s) similar in scope to those of claim 12, and is rejected for the same reason(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “[t]here is no mention of anticipating changes in the future. The term 'predict' appears to be used here to refer to estimating or inferring a change from existing data, rather than forecasting a future event ... independent claims 9 and 17, and their dependent claims, should also be found patentable over the cited references.” See Remarks, p. 13.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 9 and 17 recite “determining,” not “predicting.” As such, Applicant’s arguments regarding the “predicting” are moot.
Applicant further argues “[t]his does not involve 'at least partially conceal[ing] [a] threshold change to at least one of: (i) a dynamic seam placement ... or (ii) a three-dimensional (3D) bowl' ... the cited passage involves disabling noise filtering, not 'relaxing or disabling one or more constraints on changes to a previous dynamic seam placement or a previous 3D bowl.'” See Remarks, p. 14.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Guo discloses the dynamic seam placement and the 3D bowl. Hoang discloses disabling the temporal filtering during a scene change. Côté discloses the threshold change to predict the scene change. As such, Guo as modified by Hoang and Côté teaches/suggests at least partially concealing the threshold change by disabling the temporal filtering (the relaxing/disabling one or more constraints) as set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0310979 – predict scene change
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH-TUAN V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619