Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 11/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (20220006036).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches an light emitting element comprising: a first electrode (11); a second electrode (15) disposed on the first electrode;
a light emitting layer (13) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and including a quantum dot (please see par. 77);
a hole transport region (12) disposed between the first electrode and the light emitting layer; and
an electron transport layer (14) disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode,
wherein the electron transport layer includes an electron transport material (please see par. 100 and 101, and the electron transport material includes:
a metal oxide particle (par. 101); and
a bicarbonate coupled to a surface of the metal oxide particle (par. 114-117 teaches a variety of anions bonded to the surface of metal oxide NP, one of the anions being bicarbonate anion).
Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the electron transport material comprises about 10 mol% to about 20 mol% of the bicarbonate, based on a total number of moles of the metal oxide particle (par. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the metal oxide particle is represented by Formula 1: [Formula 1]
x)MexO wherein in Formula 1, Ox<0.5, and Me includes at least one of Li, Be, Na, Mg, Al, K, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ga, Ge, Rb, Sr, Zr, Nb, Mo, Ru, Rh, Pd, Ag, In, Sn, Sb, and Ba (par. 102-105).
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the electron transport layer is directly disposed on the light emitting layer (par. 101 and 102).
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the quantum dot does not comprise cadmium (par. 77-79).
Regarding claim 6, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the hole transport region comprises: a hole injection layer; and a hole transport layer disposed between the hole injection layer and the light emitting layer (par. 93).
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches an display device comprising a plurality of light emitting elements (par. 146), wherein each of the light emitting elements includes:
a first electrode (11);
a second electrode (15) disposed on the first electrode;
a light emitting layer (13) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and including a quantum dot;
a hole transport region (12) disposed between the first electrode and the light emitting layer; and
an electron transport layer (14) disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode,
wherein the electron transport layer includes an electron transport material, and the electron transport material includes:
a metal oxide particle (par. 101); and
a bicarbonate coupled to a surface of the metal oxide particle (par. 114-117 teaches a variety of anions bonded to the surface of metal oxide NP, one of the anions being bicarbonate anion).
Regarding claim 10, Seo teaches an display device of claim 7, wherein the electron transport material comprises about 10 mol% to about 20 mol% of the bicarbonate, based on a total number of moles of the metal oxide particle (par. 13).
Regarding claim 11, Seo teaches an display device of claim 7, wherein the metal oxide particle is represented by Formula 1: [Formula 1]
x)MexO wherein in Formula 1, Ox<0.5, and Me includes at least one of Li, Be, Na, Mg, Al, K, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ga, Ge, Rb, Sr, Zr, Nb, Mo, Ru, Rh, Pd, Ag, In, Sn, Sb, and Ba (par. 102-105).
Regarding claim 12, Seo teaches an display device of claim 7, wherein the electron transport layer is directly disposed on the light emitting layer (par. 101 and 102).
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 7, wherein the quantum dot does not comprise cadmium (par. 77-79).
Regarding claim 14, Seo teaches an light emitting element of claim 8, wherein the hole transport region comprises: a hole injection layer; and a hole transport layer disposed between the hole injection layer and the light emitting layer (par. 93).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 8.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818