DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 17 July 2023 for application 18353572 filed 17 July 2023. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Huge et al. (Differential Machine Learning).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Huge discloses: A method comprising:
identifying, by a framework and based on a model script, a model that generates an output based on a set of inputs, wherein the inputs include a plurality of parameters (“The evaluation of the twin network returns a predicted value y, and its differentials ¯x wrt the n0 = n inputs x” p6 §1.2 ¶3) p7, Fig 2 input x and output after first feedforward);
selecting, by the framework, a first plurality of parameter values (Fig 2 inputs z, see also p21 §2.1 d learnable parameters);
assembling, by the framework, a set of training samples by observing outputs generated by the model in response to each of the first plurality of parameter values
(p8 last ¶);
training, by the framework and based on the set of training samples, a surrogate model, wherein the surrogate model is trained to predict outputs of the model (p8 last ¶, Fig 2, the second model of the twin model is interpreted as the surrogate model, it is trained with differentials);
generating, by the framework and using the surrogate model, predicted outputs of the model, wherein each of the predicted outputs of the model is based on a different parameter value in a second plurality of parameter values (Fig 2 multiple outputs of the model);
selecting, by the framework and based on the predicted outputs of the model, a desired parameter value (“The twin network, therefore, predicts prices and risk sensitivities for twice the computation complexity of value prediction alone, irrespective of the number of risks. Hence, a trained twin net approximates prices and risk sensitivities, wrt potentially many states, in a particularly efficient manner.” P7); and
applying the model, using the desired parameter value, to predict a value of interest for an input value (“The twin network, therefore, predicts prices and risk sensitivities for twice the computation complexity of value prediction alone, irrespective of the number of risks. Hence, a trained twin net approximates prices and risk sensitivities, wrt potentially many states, in a particularly efficient manner.” P7).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Huge discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein selecting the first plurality of parameter values includes:
performing adaptive sampling to mitigate effects caused by variances across the first plurality of parameter values (“In low dimension, the training states X(i) may be put on a regular grid over a relevant domain. In higher dimension, they may be sampled over a relevant domain with a low discrepancy sequence like Sobol. When the exposure date T1 is today or close, sampling XT1 with Monte-Carlo is nonsensical, an appropriate sampling distribution must be applied depending on context” p19 §Training inputs, note: Sobol sequence is a quasi-MonteCarlo method which is used to achieve variance reduction).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Huge discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein assembling the set of training samples includes:
assembling training samples that each include a state value, a parameter value of the first plurality of parameter values, the observed output value, and a derivative of the observed output value with respect to the parameter value (p3 last ¶ - p4 ¶2 disclose a an input x having a parameter value and a state value, an observed output y and a derivative dy/dx).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Huge discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein training the surrogate model includes:
training a deep neural network using least square regression regularized with derivatives of the observed output values with respect to parameter values (p35 the method used is a least square linear regression using differentials).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Huge discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein selecting the desired parameter value includes:
selecting an optimal parameter value from the second plurality of parameter values, wherein the optimal parameter value tends to maximize the output from the model (§2.1, 2.2 and 2.3 disclose various methods of selecting parameters for training to achieve the desired result, interpreted as maximizing correct output from the model).
Regarding claim 10, Huge discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein predicting the value of interest includes:
predicting a payoff of an interest rate option contract (p2 §online approximation with sampled payoffs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huge in view of Lock et al. (US 7627543).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Huge does not explicitly disclose, however, Lock teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by a control system, the value of interest; interpreting, by the control system, the value of interest to determine an action to take; and outputting, by the control system and over a network to a downstream system, a control signal to control the operation of the downstream system (“, facts of interest and functions for calculating values of interest from items of data, d) evaluating the more specific rule generalisation by applying it to the training data set to identify vulnerabilities, and e) incorporating the more specific rule generalisation in the rule set if it classifies vulnerabilities in the training data set adequately in terms of covering at least some of the positive vulnerability examples, f) applying the rule set to a test program for vulnerability detection therein, and g) providing an alert or a report to a user regarding vulnerability detection in the test program resulting from operation of the method in order to enable corrective action to be taken.” Claim 11).
Huge and Lock are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning and are analogous. Huge discloses a differential machine learning system with a surrogate model. Lock teaches exemplary machine learning which responds to a value of interest with an action. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known differential ML system of Huge to take an action in response to a value as taught by the known system of Lock to yield predictable results of taking automated actions to received data.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lock in view of Dushatskiy et al. (A novel surrogate-assisted evolutionary algorithm applied to partition based ensemble learning).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Huge does not explicitly disclose, however, Dushatskiy teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein training the surrogate model includes:
training a plurality of surrogate models, where each surrogate model is trained starting with a different random seed (Algorithm 2 and §2.4, multiple surrogate models are trained in parallel and evaluated for fitness, a best surrogate model is selected, “when the same dataset partitioning can result in different ensemble accuracy scores because learners in ensembles are initialized with different random seeds.” P589 ¶1).
Huge and Dushatskiy are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning and are analogous. Huge discloses a differential machine learning system with a surrogate model. Dushatskiy teaches a system for generating a plurality of parallel surrogate models from a random seed and selecting the best one. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known differential ML system of Huge to include multiple differential models to select the best one to yield predictable results of optimizing the surrogate model.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Huge does not explicitly disclose, however, Dushatskiy teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein generating predicted outputs of the model includes:
executing each of the surrogate models in parallel to generate different sets of predicted outputs of the model (Algorithm 2 and §2.4, multiple surrogate models are trained in parallel and evaluated for fitness, a best surrogate model is selected).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Huge does not explicitly disclose, however, Dushatskiy teaches: The method of claim 7, wherein selecting a desired parameter value includes:
selecting a desired one of the plurality of surrogate models based on an assessment of the robustness of the predicted outputs generated by each of the plurality of surrogate models (Algorithm 2 and §2.4, multiple surrogate models are trained in parallel and evaluated for fitness, a best surrogate model is selected); and
selecting the desired parameter value based on the predicted outputs generated by the desired surrogate model (Algorithm 2 and §2.4, multiple surrogate models are trained in parallel and evaluated for fitness, a best surrogate model is selected).
Conclusion
/ERIC NILSSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151