DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (7/18/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-18) were subject to an election requirement. Applicant elected claims 1-9 without travers in a response dated 7/2/2025. Therefore claims 1-9 were examined in a Non-Final on 8/27/2025. Claims 10-18 were withdrawn from consideration.
This office action is in response to Applicants submission of 11/25/2025. Claims were amended, so that claims 1, 6 and 9 are pending and being examined.
Response to Amendment and arguments
Applicant’s arguments are related to the latest amendments and addressed below. It is noted that detection of abnormality by a sensor will depend upon its current measurement compared to its historical measurement when the plasma was stable. The limitation of the threshold being smaller at high power or larger at higher pressure is inherent to plasma behavior since these factors affect the stability of plasma with normally smaller or larger range expected. This however does not point to a structural distinction. As discussed below determination of threshold range would turn up small or large depending upon process parameters. This does not point to any structure or an instruction which could be characterized as structure but only a result of a determination of threshold which method is disclosed in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims recite an arithmetic device configured to determine a threshold depending upon the value of high frequency power in claim 1, depending upon chamber pressure as in claim 6 and depending upon substrate information as in claim 9. While the specification appears to repeat the above statements several times, it does not state what the threshold is and how it is obtained when the plasma is stable.
There is no drawing to clearly explain the determination of threshold and detection of abnormality.
The term “threshold” is interpreted according to the specification as best understood as below.
The specification states several related terms
1 Predetermined value (a), which is an average value of measured values from sensor when the plasma is stable (See Para 17 or 31).
2 Measured value (b), is the current value from the sensor during the processing.
3 Threshold appears to be a range of expected values around the predetermined value (a) of the sensor output when the plasma is stable. The threshold depends upon process condition so that for a different process condition threshold will be different.
4 Abnormal condition of plasma is detected when the (a~b) > Th.
In practice this means that abnormal discharge exists when the actual measured value is above or below the threshold value range.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an arithmetic device”.
The limitation, “arithmetic device” is disclosed as a part which determines the presence or absence of abnormal discharge by comparing the two values 1 and 2 as below.
Value (1) is the difference of actual sensor value and a predetermined value. Predetermined value corresponds to average sensor values when the plasma is stable (as indicated in para 19 or 33).
Value (2) is the threshold which is the normal deviation around the predetermined value where plasma is considered stable indicating absence of abnormal discharge.
This is how “arithmetic device” is interpreted as to its functioning and structure.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims recite a plasma sensor to evaluate and judge the plasma to determine if an abnormal discharge exists. Observation, evaluation and judgement under its broadest reasonable interpretation is akin to a mental process. The fact that a sensor is used to identify a plasma state instead of a possible visual observation does not change the fact of it being abstract since using sensors of this type are so ubiquitous. A judgment depending upon a comparison of the observed value from sensor to a threshold is a mental exercise. Using a processor does also not change the fact of it being abstract.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) do not include any additional elements to use that observation to any practical use. Therefore, the claim as a whole does not include anything sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaru Nomura (US 20110277933) supplemented by Imatake et al (US 5759424) and Kamaji et al (US 20190237309).
Masaru Nomura discloses a plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1), comprising:
a chamber in which plasma processing is performed (3);
an electrode part configured to be applied with a high-frequency power for generating a plasma in the chamber (5);
a plasma sensor for measuring a measured value corresponding to an electric potential of the plasma (23); Nomura teaches that the sensor monitors the state of the plasma through plasma potential (Para 30).
Determination of a threshold, depending on a plasma processing condition is disclosed as an upper limit V1(+) and a lower limit V2(-) (See Fig 5(b) description at para 40-41) and the events W1 or W2 corresponding to abnormality. Determination of numerical value of the threshold is discussed in para 40 through Fig 5(a). Determined threshold is stored in (34c). The determination depends upon operating condition parameter (Fig 4, 38).
Nomura teaches that a change in plasma discharge induces a change in sensor (Abstract). Therefore, the determination of threshold will depend upon the plasma state when the plasma is stable.
Regarding amendments to claims 1, 6 and 9, since operating parameters like RF power, chamber pressure, gas and substrate information will determine electrical parameters of the plasma in its the stable state, the potential detected by the sensor will be dependent upon such parameters.
Imatake et al teaches this dependence and its use in determination of threshold more explicitly.
Imatake teaches that in order to detect an apparatus error it is necessary to define a normal apparatus state and a range thereof (corresponds to threshold) and to determine operating parameters like power, gas, pressure and other factors as discussed in (Col 18 lines 33-56).
Stating further:
“Items representing a number of apparatus states are recorded over a period and a mean value and a standard deviation of the apparatus state may be determined based on those data. If the apparatus state is near the average value, it is determined normal, and if it is distant, it is determined abnormal. Whether it is close to or distant from the average value, that is, the threshold for determining the error may be determined with reference to the standard deviation. The average value and the standard deviation may be determined based on the number of data, a total sum of data and a square sum of data.” (Col 18 lines 57-67)
Here the average value corresponds to predetermined value and distance corresponds to threshold.
Imatake et al teach the dependence of plasma characteristics on process conditions like pressure, gas flow and power (See also col 7 lines 19-36).
Still further, Kamaji et al disclose a plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1), comprising:
a chamber in which plasma processing is performed (101); an electrode part configured to be applied with a high-frequency power for generating a plasma in the chamber (109); a plasma sensor (voltage/current probe) for measuring a measured value corresponding to an electric potential of the plasma (301 and Para 40); and a threshold determination section (631) for determining a threshold, depending on a plasma processing condition obtained from (621).
Regarding claims 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that plasma characteristics are dependent upon RF power. Therefore, threshold determination would obviously be dependent upon RF power.
Regarding claims 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that plasma characteristics are dependent upon chamber pressure. Therefore, threshold determination would obviously be dependent upon pressure.
Regarding claim 9, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that plasma characteristics are dependent upon contents of the plasma affected by the type of processing, etching or deposition. Therefore, threshold determination would obviously be dependent upon substrate information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizukami et al (US 20100163182) disclose similar sensor in a similar plasma chamber for measuring a measured value corresponding to an electric potential of the plasma (23) and a threshold determination section for determining a threshold, depending on a plasma processing condition is disclosed implicitly (See Fig 4, 6 and its description).
Johnson et al (US 6332961) discloses sensing voltage/current using a threshold to detect abnormal discharge (Col 2 lines 46-64).
Roche et al (US 20060171848) discloses sensing voltage using a threshold to detect plasma status (Para 22).
Ito et al (US 20070058322) discloses sensing voltage using a threshold to detect abnormal plasma discharge (Para 4, 44 and 50).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716