DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 27 May 2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimatsu (US 2022/0085335).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shimatsu teaches a display device comprising a light emitting area (Fig. 5, Element 10; ¶ [0238]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 5; area between adjacent light emitting areas); a light emitting element (¶ [0238]) disposed in the light emitting area on a substrate (Fig. 5, Element 11; ¶ [0262]) and including a pixel electrode (Fig. 5, Element 31; ¶ [0260]); a light emitting layer (Fig. 5, Element 33; ¶ [0260]); and an upper electrode (Fig. 5, Element 32; ¶ [0260]), the pixel electrode, the light emitting layer, and the upper electrode being sequentially disposed (Fig. 5); a light blocking layer (Fig. 14, Element BM; ¶ [0120]) disposed on the light emitting element in the non-light emitting area; and a reflection control layer (Fig. 5, Element 50; ¶ [0242]) disposed on the light emitting element, covering the light blocking layer, and including a recess (Fig. 5, Element 55; ¶ [0327]) concavely depressed from an upper surface in the light emitting area in a direction toward the light emitting layer; and an adhesive layer (Fig. 5, Element 38; ¶ [0276]) disposed on the reflection control layer and contacting the recess of the reflection control layer.
Regarding claim 2, Shimatsu teaches a refractive index of the adhesive layer (¶ [0276]; acrylic~1.49) being greater than a refractive index of the reflection control layer (¶ [0166]; 1.25).
Regarding claim 3, Shimatsu teaches a difference between the refractive index of the adhesive layer and the refractive index of the reflection control layer being about 0.05 or more (See above for claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Shimatsu teaches the adhesive layer directly contacting the reflection control layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding independent claim 5, Shimatsu teaches a display device comprising a light emitting area (Fig. 7, Element 10; ¶ [0238]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 7; area between adjacent light emitting areas); a light emitting element (¶ [0238]) disposed in the light emitting area on a substrate (Fig. 7, Element 11; ¶ [0262]) and including a pixel electrode (Fig. 7, Element 31; ¶ [0260]); a light emitting layer (Fig. 7, Element 33; ¶ [0260]); and an upper electrode (Fig. 7, Element 32; ¶ [0260]), the pixel electrode, the light emitting layer, and the upper electrode being sequentially disposed; a light blocking layer (Fig. 14, Element BM; ¶ [0120]) disposed on the light emitting element in the non-light emitting area; a reflection control layer (Fig. 7, Element 50; ¶ [0242]) disposed on the light emitting element, covering the light blocking layer, and including a recess concavely depressed from an upper surface in the light emitting area in a direction away from the light emitting layer; and a filling layer (Fig. 7, Element 34; ¶ [0241]) disposed between the light emitting element and the reflection control layer and contacting the recess of the reflection control layer, wherein a refractive index of the filling layer is greater than a refractive index of the reflection control layer (¶ [0275]; Table).
Regarding claim 6, Shimatsu teaches the filling layer directly contacting the reflection control layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Shimatsu teaches a difference between the refractive index of the filling layer and the refractive index of the reflection control layer is about 0.05 or more (¶ [0275]; Table).
Regarding claim 8, Shimatsu teaches a light absorbing layer disposed on the upper electrode and including an inorganic material (¶ [0122]).
Regarding claim 9, Shimatsu teaches a light absorbing layer (Fig. 5, Element 35; ¶ [0248]) disposed only in the light emitting area (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Shimatsu teaches a light absorbing layer (Fig. 5, Element 36; ¶ [0248]) entirely disposed in the light emitting area and the non-light emitting area (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Shimatsu teaches the light absorbing layer including at least one selected from a group consisting of a metal, a silicon compound, and a metal oxide (¶ [0273]).
Regarding claim 12, Shimatsu teaches the reflection control layer including an inorganic material or an organic material (¶ [0168]).
Regarding claim 13, Shimatsu teaches the reflection control layer including at least one selected from a group consisting of solvent, dye, pigment, and surfactant (¶ [0300]).
Regarding claim 14, Shimatsu teaches the organic material including photoresist (¶ [0300]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimatsu (US 2022/0085335) in view of Lee (US 2020/019113).
Regarding claim 15, Shimatsu teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a touch sensing layer disposed between the light emitting element and the light blocking layer, and including a first touch electrode and a second touch electrode electrically connected to the first touch electrode.
Lee teaches a display device comprising a touch sensing layer (Fig. 4, Element 50a; ¶ [0056]) disposed between the light emitting element and the light blocking layer (Fig. 6), and including a first touch electrode (Fig. 4, Element IE1; ¶ [0056]) and a second touch electrode (Fig. 4, Element IE2; ¶ [0056]) electrically connected to the first touch electrode (Fig. 4, via Element BE; ¶ [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Shimatsu with the touch sensing layer taught by Lee for sensing the touch of a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, in regards to independent claim 1, that the sealing layer 38 of Shimatsu does not contact the light emitting surface 55 of the optical path control unit 50, the Examiner notes that the claim does not require the adhesive layer to contact a surface of the reflection control layer. The claim requires the adhesive layer to contact the recess of the reflection control layer. Figure 5 of Shimatsu shows the sealing layer 38 (analogous to applicant’s adhesive layer) contacting the recess of the optical path control unit 50 (analogous to applicant’s reflection control layer). Thus, Shimatsu teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 as discussed earlier in this Office Action.
In response to applicant’s argument, in regards to independent claim 5, that Shimatsu fails to disclose a filling layer disposed between the light emitting element and the reflection control layer and contacting the recess of the reflection control layer, the notes that Figure 7 of Shimatsu teaches these features, as discussed earlier in this Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 12 June 2026