DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on July 18, 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0044], all instances of “um” must be corrected to “[Symbol font/0x6D]m”;
In paragraph [0061], all instances of “um” and “um2” must be corrected to “[Symbol font/0x6D]m” and “[Symbol font/0x6D]m2” respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0373079 A1 (hereinafter “Yeh”).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses in Figs. 8A-8D and related text an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (301; [0073]);
a metal layer (330; [0077]) disposed on the substrate and comprising a sensing line (333, 334; [0077]) and a drain electrode (331D; [0077]);
a first insulating layer (340; [0078]; note: reference numeral 340 is present in Figs. 6A and 7A but is omitted from Fig. 8A) disposed on the metal layer;
a first conductive layer (a transparent conductive layer such as an indium tin oxide (ITO) layer; [0078] and [0089]) disposed on the first insulating layer and comprising a touch electrode (350; [0003] and [0078]);
a second insulating layer (360; [0079]) disposed on the first conductive layer; and
a second conductive layer (370; [0082]) disposed on the second insulating layer and comprising a conductive pattern (371; [0083]);
wherein the conductive pattern is electrically connected to the sensing line and the touch electrode ([0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh discloses the second insulating layer further comprises a first opening (363; Fig. 8A; [0080]), and the first opening exposes at least a portion of the sensing line and at least a portion of the touch electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Yeh shows at least a portion of the conductive pattern covers the first opening (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh discloses the second insulating layer further comprises a second opening (366; Fig. 8A; [0080]), and the second opening exposes at least a portion of the drain electrode.
Regarding claim 5, Yeh discloses the second conductive layer further comprises a pixel electrode (372; Fig. 8A; [0083]), and at least a portion of the pixel electrode covers the second opening and is electrically connected to the drain electrode.
Regarding claim 6, Yeh discloses a third insulating layer disposed between the first insulating layer and the first conductive layer (“one insulation layer [e.g., insulation layer 340] shown in the figures may include two or more than two insulation layers stacked with each other with different material” as described in paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh shows the touch electrode covers a side surface (a top side surface) of the third insulating layer (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 8, Yeh shows the touch electrode exposes a side surface (a lateral side surface) of the third insulating layer (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 9, Yeh shows a projection of the third insulating layer on the substrate is located within a projection of the second insulating layer on the substrate (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh shows a projection of the third insulating layer on the substrate partially overlaps a projection of the second insulating layer on the substrate (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 11, Yeh discloses the second insulating layer further comprises a second opening (363; Fig. 8A; [0080]), and the second opening exposes a side surface (a lateral side surface) of the third insulating layer.
Regarding claim 12, Yeh discloses the second insulating layer further comprises a second opening (366; Fig. 8A; [0080]), and the second opening does not expose the third insulating layer.
Regarding claim 13, Yeh shows at least a portion of the first insulating layer and at least a portion of the second insulating layer are in direct contact (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 14, Yeh shows the second insulating layer covers a side surface (a left side surface in Fig. 8A) of the touch electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Yeh shows the second insulating layer exposes a side surface (a top side surface in Fig. 8A) of the touch electrode.
Regarding claim 16, Yeh discloses in Figs. 8A-8D and related text an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (301; [0073]);
a metal layer (330; [0077]) disposed on the substrate and comprising a sensing line (333, 334; [0077]);
a first insulating layer (340; [0078]; note: reference numeral 340 is present in Figs. 6A and 7A but is omitted from Fig. 8A) disposed on the metal layer;
a first conductive layer (a transparent conductive layer such as an indium tin oxide (ITO) layer; [0078] and [0089]) disposed on the first insulating layer and comprising a touch electrode (350; [0003] and [0078]);
a second insulating layer (360; [0079]) disposed on the first conductive layer and comprising a first opening (363; [0080]); and
a second conductive layer (370; [0082]) disposed on the second insulating layer;
wherein the first opening exposes at least a portion of the sensing line and at least a portion of the touch electrode ([0080]).
Regarding claim 17, Yeh discloses the metal layer further comprises a drain electrode (331D; Fig. 8A; [0077]), the second insulating layer further comprises a second opening (366; Fig. 8A; [0080]), and the second opening exposes at least a portion of the drain electrode.
Regarding claim 18, Yeh discloses the second conductive layer further comprises a pixel electrode (372; Fig. 8A; [0083]), and at least a portion of the pixel electrode covers the second opening and is electrically connected to the drain electrode.
Regarding claim 19, Yeh discloses a third insulating layer disposed between the first insulating layer and the first conductive layer (“one insulation layer [e.g., insulation layer 340] shown in the figures may include two or more than two insulation layers stacked with each other with different material” as described in paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claim 20, Yeh discloses a method for forming an electronic device, comprising:
forming a sensing line (333, 334; Fig. 5A; [0077]) on a substrate (301; [0073]; note: reference numeral 301 is present in Fig. 3A but is omitted from Fig. 5A);
forming a first insulating layer (340; Fig. 6A; [0078]) on the sensing line;
forming a touch electrode (350; Fig. 6A; [0003] and [0078]) on the first insulating layer;
forming a second insulating layer (360; Fig. 7A; [0079]) on the touch electrode;
removing a portion of the second insulating layer and a portion of the first insulating layer to expose the sensing line and the touch electrode ([0080]); and
forming a conductive pattern (371; Fig. 8A; [0083]) on the second insulating layer, so that the conductive pattern is electrically connected to the sensing line and the touch electrode (Fig. 8D; [0083]-[0084]).
Conclusion
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811