DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 03/09/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3, reading on Fig. 25 in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 6, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/09/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/18/2023 and 12/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-10, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomonari et al. (US 20170155022).
Regarding claim 1, Tomonari teaches a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate Fig. 12: 30 having an electrically conductive pattern Fig. 12: 32 disposed thereon;
a light generator Fig. 12: 10 mounted on the substrate Fig. 12: 30 and electrically connected to the electrically conductive pattern Fig. 12: 32, the light generator Fig. 12: 10 configured to generate light (para. 0036);
a first part Fig. 12: 15 disposed on the light generator Fig. 12: 10;
a second part Fig. 12: 2 disposed on the first part Fig. 12: 15 and including a supporter (para. 0048, light diffusing agent, phosphor) through which light is transmitted and particles dispersed in the supporter;
a barrier Fig. 12: 20D disposed on an upper surface Fig. 12: 32 of the substrate Fig. 12: 30 and surrounding the light generator Fig. 12: 10, the first part Fig. 12: 15 and the second part Fig. 12: 2,
wherein the barrier Fig. 12: 20D exposes at least a part of an upper surface Fig. 12: 3 of the second part Fig. 12: 2, and
the first part Fig. 12: 15 and the second part Fig. 12: 2 include at least one identical material (para. 0048, para. 0055, glass).
Regarding claim 3, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first part Fig. 12: 15 and the second part Fig. 12: 2 include a material having a same index of refraction (para. 0048, para. 0055, glass). Tomonari teaches the first and second part include a glass material. The specification of the claimed invention describes a material of the second part (i.e. light transmitting member) to include glass (para. 0111). These are the same material and would inherently have the same properties, such as the index of refraction as claimed. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in
structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not” MPEP 21120.1(I).
Regarding claim 8, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the second part Fig. 12: 2 has a smaller cross-sectional area than a lower surface of the second part Fig. 12: 2 (shown in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 9, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the second part Fig. 12: 2 includes a pair of first side surfaces Fig. 12: 4 facing each other and another pair of second side surfaces Fig. 12: 6 facing each other, and the pair of first side surfaces is composed of inclined surfaces with an inclination. The side surfaces are shown in Fig. 12, and specifically Fig. 9c to have an upwardly curved inclined surface.
Regarding claim 10, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 9, wherein the pair of first side surfaces includes at least one of a curved surface and a flat surface. Curved surface of Fig. 12: 4 is shown towards the bottom surface of the second part Fig. 12: 2, and the flat surface is shown towards the top surface of the second part.
Regarding claim 13, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the lower surface of the second part Fig. 12: 2 has a same area as or a larger area than an upper surface of the first part Fig. 12: 15 (Fig. 12 shows the bottom surface of the second part has the same area as the top surface of the first part).
Regarding claim 14, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the barrier Fig. 12: 20D includes: a first barrier Fig. 12: 21 covering the light generator Fig. 12: 10 and a side surface of the first part Fig. 12: 15; a second barrier Fig. 12: 22D disposed along a periphery of the substrate Fig. 12: 30 and forming a cavity in which the light generator Fig. 12: 10, the first part Fig. 12: 15, the second part Fig. 12: 2 and the first barrier Fig. 12: 21 are disposed; and a third barrier Fig. 12: 23 filling the cavity of the second barrier Fig. 12: 22D.
Regarding claim 15, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the barrier Fig. 12: 20D includes a reflective material (para. 0083, light reflective substance, light reflective property).
Regarding claim 16, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 14, wherein at least one of the first barrier Fig. 12: 21, the second barrier Fig. 12: 22D and the third barrier Fig. 12: 23 includes a reflective material (para. 0083, light reflective substance, light reflective property).
Regarding claim 17, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 16, wherein the first barrier Fig. 12:21 includes a reflective material (i.e. light reflective member; para. 0076, silicon resin).
Regarding claim 18, Tomonari teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a reflective member Fig. 12: 22D (para. 0083, containing light reflective substance) covering a side surface of the second part Fig. 12: 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomonari et al. (US 20170155022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakamatsu et al. (US 20180040775).
Regarding claim 2, although Tomonari teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Tomonari fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein a spectrum of light emitted from the light emitting device includes an inflection point formed in a region under an imaginary line having a curvature at a wavelength of 610 nm to 650 nm and extending to a wavelength of 550 nm. However, Wakamatsu teaches wherein a spectrum of light emitted from the light emitting device includes an inflection point formed in a region under an imaginary line having a curvature at a wavelength of 610 nm to 650 nm and extending to a wavelength of 550 nm (shown in Fig. 3). Para. 0026 and Fig. 3 teach an emission spectrum including inflection points at the wavelengths between 550nm and 600-650nm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tomonari and Wakamatsu for the purpose of mitigating emission of the first light, and allowing the second light from the phosphor layer to be emitted substantially alone from the LED, preventing color shift (para. 0028).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomonari et al. (US 20170155022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minato et al. (JP 2010157638 A).
Regarding claim 4, although Tomonari teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Tomonari fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device according to claim 3, wherein a region having a different index of refraction than an index of refraction of the first part and the second part is disposed between the first part and the second part. However, Minato teaches wherein a region Fig. 1: 26a having a different index of refraction than an index of refraction of the first part Fig. 4b: 17 and the second part Fig. 1: 15 is disposed between the first part Fig. 4b: 17 and the second part Fig. 1: 15. Minato teaches a member 26a that contains a light reflecting material 2 that is different (i.e. para. 0046, TiO2) from the light transmitting member material of glass (para. 0030), and these would have different indices of refraction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tomonari and Minato and have a region with a different index of refraction for the purpose of increasing the translucency and reflectivity of the device (para. 0046).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomonari et al. (US 20170155022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuyama (US 20210172583).
Regarding claim 7, although Tomonari teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Tomonari fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the particles include first particles and second particles, and some of the first particles contact some of the second particles. However, Furuyama teaches wherein the particles include first particles and second particles, and some of the first particles contact some of the second particles. In para. 0009 Furuyama teaches a wavelength conversion member Fig. 1: 10 with particles Fig. 1: 2 that contact each other and particles of a thermally conductive filler Fig. 1: 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tomonari and Furuyama for the purpose of easily and efficiently conducting the heat generated inside the wavelength converter to the outside (para. 0009).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomonari et al. (US 20170155022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tamaki et al. (US 20170033267).
Regarding claim 11, although Tomonari teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Tomonari fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the lower surface of the second part has a smaller area than an upper surface of the first part. However, Tamaki teaches wherein the lower surface of the second part Fig. 1B: 20 has a smaller area than an upper surface of the first part Fig. 1B: 40 (para. 0020, adhesive member 40 covers lateral surfaces of the wavelength converting member 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tomonari and Tamaki for the purpose of reducing degradation of a fluorescent substance and increasing light extraction efficiency (para. 0021).
Regarding claim 12, Tamaki teaches the light emitting device according to claim 11, wherein at least part of a lower surface periphery of the second part Fig. 1B: 20 is disposed inside an upper surface periphery of the first part Fig. 1B: 40 (shown in Fig. 1B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 27, 2026