DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Thirty-three sheets for formal drawings were filed July 19, 2023 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 with respect to Group III, in the reply filed on May 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant traverses the restriction of Group I with respect to Group II. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 has now been amended to further recite at least one fiber optic equipment tray is extendable relative to the chassis. This is not found persuasive because the invention of Group I still does not require at least one side ledge as recited in the invention of Group II and thus the combination still does not require the particulars of the subcombination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 13 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,452,148. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 13 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,452,148 teach or suggest all of the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 11.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,606,014. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 5, 7 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,606,014 teach or suggest all of the limitations of claims 1-11.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, “and extendable relative to the chassis the chassis” should be changed to “and extendable relative to the chassis” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smrha et al. (US 7,570,860) in view of Coburn et al. (US 2009/0214171 A1) in view of Wagner et al. (US 7,689,089 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Smrha discloses a fiber optic apparatus (10 in Fig. 1), comprising: a chassis (12) configured to be disposed in an equipment rack (paragraph 0053), the chassis comprising opposite front and rear chassis ends that are spaced apart from one another in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 1); at least one fiber optic equipment tray (34) configured to be disposed in and extendable relative to the chassis the chassis; a plurality of module guides (66) disposed in the chassis; and a plurality of fiber optic modules (60) configured to be supported adjacent to each other on the at least one fiber optic equipment tray, wherein each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules is slideably mounted onto the chassis, wherein each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules is configured to move and be guided between a different pair of laterally spaced module guides of the plurality of module guides, wherein each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules is configured to be independently movable in the longitudinal direction relative to the chassis (see Fig. 1), and wherein each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules comprises a plurality of first fiber optic adapters (58).
Still regarding claims 1 and 11, Smrha teaches the claimed invention except for an enclosed module. Coburn discloses a chassis (see Fig. 6), comprising a plurality of fiber optic modules which each comprise a front end, a rear end, opposing sides, an enclosed interior (34 in Fig. 2) disposed intermediate to the front end and the rear end and intermediate to the opposing sides, and a plurality of first fiber optic adapters (14) disposed through the front end and a fiber optic adapter (16) disposed at the rear. Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use an enclosed module as disclosed by Coburn in the device of Smrha for the purpose of providing enhanced protection for the optical fibers.
Still regarding claims 1 and 11, Smrha further discloses detents 72, 74 engaging with projections 70 on the guides 66 to selectively retain or lock the module 60 to the tray in paragraphs 0033-0034. The proposed combination of Smrha and Coburn teaches the claimed invention except for a front module latch. Wagner discloses a fiber optic module (150 in Fig. 19) comprising a locking feature which comprises a front module latch (128) adjacent a plurality of fiber optic adapters (156) for releasably retaining (122) the fiber optic module. Since all of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a front module latch as disclosed by Wagner in the device of the proposed combination of Smrha and Coburn for the purpose of securing retaining the module. Further, in the proposed combination, locking the module would necessarily involve interlocking the fiber optic module with the at least one fiber optic equipment tray since all of the components of the chassis are fastened together.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Smrha further discloses the chassis comprises a rear section, and a rear portion of each module guide of the plurality of module guides defines at least one guide channel (64) in Fig. 1. The proposed combination of Smrha, Coburn and Wagner teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating modules configured to be installed from the rear chassis end. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to permit each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules to be installed in the chassis from the rear chassis end and from the front chassis end for the purpose of enhancing the convenience for a user and maintaining the benefits of rear installation features.
Regarding claim 3, Smrha discloses the plurality of module guides are configured to support the plurality of fiber optic modules in different levels, with each level of the different levels supporting multiple fiber optic modules of the plurality of fiber optic modules in Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 4-6, Coburn further discloses duplex LC adapters in Fig. 1 and paragraph 0022. The proposed combination of Smrha, Coburn and Wagner teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the number of connectors and modules. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive six duplex LC fiber optic connectors, and each level of the plurality of levels is configured to receive four fiber optic modules of the plurality of fiber optic modules for the purpose of coupling a larger number of fibers and increasing the density of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Smrha further discloses supporting modules in three different levels in Fig. 1. The proposed combination of Smrha, Coburn and Wagner teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the dimensions and number optical connections. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed dimensions and optical connections in order to increase the density of the device, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 8, Coburn in view of the rejection above, further discloses each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules further comprises: at least one second fiber optic adapter (16) disposed through the rear end of the fiber optic module; and optical fibers (36) establishing connections between the plurality of first fiber optic adapters and the at least one second fiber optic adapter in Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 10, Smrha discloses each fiber optic module of the plurality of fiber optic modules comprises at least one laterally extending protrusion configured to cooperate with at least one module guide of the plurality of module guides (paragraph 0033 discloses that the projections 70 can be formed on the rail members 64 while the detents are formed on the guides 66).
Concise Description of Relevance
The additional references listed in the Notice of References Cited relate to fiber optic distribution frames and auxiliary devices mounted within.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 July 31, 2026