DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when these claims recite "with the a-butyl-o-(2- trimethoxysilylethyl)polydimethylsiloxane having an adhesion percentage to the filler of from 20.0 to 50.0% by mass”, because the base for the adhesion percentage as claimed is not clear. In this office action, it is taken that the silane adhesive percentage as claimed is based on the total silane being used to treat the filler. The claims 2-9 are also rejected for depending from claim 1 thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Double Patenting
file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8-10 of copending Application No 18/272669. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application claims a heat conductive composition comprising a polymer component (A); a surface-treated filler (B-3) obtained by surface-treating a filler with a- butyl-o-(2-trimethoxysilylethyl)polydimethylsiloxane; and a silicon-containing oxide-coated aluminum nitride (B-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious that the instantly claimed invention is unpatentable over the conflicting patent application 18/272669.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as being anticipated by Satoh et al (WO 2023119903, English equivalent US 2024/0101885, ‘885 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 1-6, ‘885 discloses a heat conducting composition comprising a polymer component being a curable silicone which is a thermosetting resin and has a viscosity satisfying present claim 6 ([0028]-[0049]); a surface-treated filler (B-3) obtained by surface-treating a metal oxide filler with α-butyl-ω-(2-trimethoxysilylethyl) polydimethylsiloxane having a weight average molecular weight of 1400 with an silane adhesion percentage to the filler of 50.0% by mass, which has D50 particle size of 1 to 20 microns; ([0098]-[0116], [0163], [0165]); and a silicon-containing oxide-coated aluminum nitride having D50 particle size being 15 to 150 micron (B 1 or/and B2, [0060]-[0097]).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, ‘885 discloses a cured product of the heat conducting composition having a thermal conductivity of 3.0 W/m-K or more ([0114]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horikoshi et al (US 2004/0242762, ‘762 hereafter) in view of Satoh et al (WO 2023119903, English equivalent US 2024/0101885, ‘885 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 1-7, ‘762 discloses a heat conducting composition comprising a polymer component being a curable silicone which is a thermosetting resin and has a viscosity satisfying present claim 6 ([0012]-[0016], [0022]-[0027]); a surface-treated filler (C) obtained by surface-treating a metal oxide filler with a hydrolysable group containing organopolysiloxane represented by following chemical formula ([0017]-[0018], hydrolysable groups in component (B) will react and being chemically connected on to the surface of alumina particle when they are mixed together as in [0056]):
wherein R3 can be a methyl or butyl group ([0031]), b can be 0 ([0033] , R4 can be a methyl group ([0032]), m can be 5 to 200, which render a compound reads upon α-butyl-ω-(2-trimethoxysilylethyl) polydimethylsiloxane having a weight average molecular weight significantly overlaps presently claimed range (molecular weight of SiO(CH3) is 77, when m is 10, molecular weight is about 800), wherein the mean particle size of one of the fillers can be 0.1 to 3 microns and another filler can be 5 to 40 microns satisfying present claim 3 ([0039]-[0040]); and the total content of polymer component and filler contents satisfying present claim 7 (Examples 1-3). ‘762 does not set forth the surface treated filler having silane adhesion percentage as present claimed, and the other filler is a silicon-containing oxide coated alumina nitride; however, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘885 discloses a heat conducting composition comprising a polymer component ([0028]-[0049]); a surface-treated filler (B-3) obtained by surface-treating a metal oxide filler with α-butyl-ω-(2-trimethoxysilylethyl) polydimethylsiloxane having a weight average molecular weight of 1400 with an silane adhesion percentage to the filler of 50.0% by mass ([0098]-[0116], [0163], [0165]); and a silicon-containing oxide-coated aluminum nitride having D50 particle size being 15 to 50 micron (B2, [0068]-[0097]); to render a heat conducting composition having high thermal conductivity with good fluidity ([0026], [0144]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to use the surface treated filler and silicon-containing oxide-coated aluminum nitride filler as taught by ‘885, in order to render a heat conducting composition having high thermal conductivity and good fluidity for handling.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified 762 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘885 also discloses a cured product of the heat conducting composition having a thermal conductivity of 3.0 W/m-K or more ([0114]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782