DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 20, 22-26, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ausserlechner (US 2021/0063206 A1, heretofore referred to as Ausserlechner).
Regarding claim 1, Ausserlechner teaches a system (Ausserlechner; Fig 1, Element 100, Fig. 7A-7C and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches a system to measure rotational positions) comprising:
a first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 122) including a first set of first teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth);
a second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 121) that is coupled to the first target via a mechanical link, the second target being concentric with the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged and connected together), the second target including a second set of second teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0052; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth);
one or more transmitting coils (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 113);
one or more first receiving coils (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112) configured to sense a first magnetic field that is associated with the first target and generate one or more first signals in response to the first magnetic field (Ausserlechner; Par 0057; Ausserlechner teaches at least two receiving coils to generate sensing signals);
one or more second receiving coils (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 111) configured to sense a second magnetic field that is associated with the second target and generate one or more second signals in response to the second magnetic field (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals);
a processing circuitry (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element POS) that is operatively coupled to the one or more first receiving coils and the one or more second receiving coils (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches a signal analysis device connected to the coils), the processing circuitry being arranged to detect a first angular position of the first target based on the one or more first signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal), detect a second angular position of the second target based on the one or more second signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a second angle based on the first second), and generate an output signal that is at least in part based on a difference between the first angular position and the second angular position (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement).
Regarding claim 2, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the first target includes a first base and the first teeth extend inwardly from the first base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the first target may be on a first layer of a PCB or separate from the second target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired); and the second target includes a second base and a plurality of second teeth that extend outwardly from the second base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the second target may be on a second layer of a PCB or separate from the first target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired).
Regarding claim 3, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second target is disposed in an opening in the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first).
Regarding claim 4, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more first signals includes a first pair of signals that are out of phase from each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045), and the one or more second signals includes a second pair of signals that are out of phase from each by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other).
Regarding claim 5, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: the first target includes a first substrate that is formed of a dielectric material, and the first set of first teeth is formed on the first substrate (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the first target may be on a first layer of a PCB or separate from the second target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired and the PCB is insulating), and the second target includes a second substrate that is formed of a dielectric material, and the second set of second teeth is formed on the second substrate (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the first target may be on a first layer of a PCB or separate from the second target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired and the PCB is insulating).
Regarding claim 6, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein any of the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field are generated in response to an excitation magnetic field produced by any of the one or more transmitting coils (Ausserlechner; Par 0009-0010; Ausserlechner teaches the exciter coil produces a magnetic field picked up the first and second targets and the receiving coils).
Regarding claim 7, Ausserlechner teaches a system (Ausserlechner; Fig 1, Element 100, Fig. 7A-7C and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches a system to measure rotational positions) comprising: a first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 122) including a first base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the first target may be on a first layer of a PCB or separate from the second target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired) and a plurality of first teeth that extend inwardly from the first base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth), the plurality of first teeth defining an opening in an interior of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first); a second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 121) including a second base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the second target may be on a second layer of a PCB or separate from the first target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired) and a plurality of second teeth that extend outwardly from the second base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0052; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth), the second target being aligned with the opening in the interior of the first target, the second target being coupled to the first target via a mechanical link (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged and connected together), wherein the first base and the second base are each shaped as a loop (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112 and Par 0057; Ausserlechner teaches at least two receiving coils to generate sensing signals which may be loop shaped), and wherein the first target and the second target are configured to generate respective magnetic fields in response to one or more excitation magnetic fields (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 113; Ausserlechner teaches an excitation coil that generates a magnetic field which is guided by the targets to the receiving coils), the respective magnetic fields being usable to measure a twisting force that is incident on the mechanical link that couples the first target to the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement which measures the twisting force).
Regarding claim 8, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of first teeth includes a same count of teeth as the plurality of second teeth (Ausserlechner; Par 0052-0054; Ausserlechner teaches the teeth may be any number as long as they meet the symmetry requirements).
Regarding claim 9, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein each of the first teeth has respective first main surfaces and each of the second teeth has respective second main surfaces, the respective second main surfaces of each of the second teeth being smaller than the respective first main surfaces of any of the first teeth (Ausserlechner; Fig 7A, Fig 7C, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first, which necessitates that the second teeth are smaller).
Regarding claim 10, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein each of the first teeth has a respective type-1 end that is coupled to the first base and a respective type-2 end that is opposite the respective type-1 end (Ausserlechner; Figs 106-109; Ausserlechner teaches the targets teeth may be either conductive loops or metal sheets, both are on a substrate, either of these may be grounded which creates a type-1 and type-2 end), and each of the second teeth has a respective type-1 end that is coupled to the second base and a respective type-2 end that is opposite the respective type-1 end (Ausserlechner; Figs 106-109; Ausserlechner teaches the targets teeth may be either conductive loops or metal sheets, both are on a substrate, either of these may be grounded which creates a type-1 and type-2 end), the system further comprising one or more excitation coils that are disposed above or below the respective type-2 ends of the first teeth and the second teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 113; Ausserlechner teaches an excitation coil that may be above or below the targets).
Regarding claim 11, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first base includes a first ring and the second base includes a second ring (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first).
Regarding claim 12, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the second target is disposed, at least partially, inside the opening in the interior of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first).
Regarding claim 13, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first base is centered with the second base (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged so both have the same center).
Regarding claim 14, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first teeth and the second teeth are configured to face each other (Ausserlechner; Fig 7A, Fig 7C, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first, which necessitates that the teeth face each other).
Regarding claim 15, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, further comprising: a first receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 111) configured to generate a first pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first receiving coil array being disposed above or below the first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 111; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the first pair of signals being generated in response to a first magnetic field that is associated with the first target, the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045), and a second receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112) configured to generate a second pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the second target, the second receiving coil array being disposed above or below the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the second pair of signals being generated in response to a second magnetic field that is associated with the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other).
Regarding claim 16, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 7, further comprising: a first receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 111) configured to generate a first pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first receiving coil array being disposed above or below the first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 111; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the first pair of signals being generated in response to a first magnetic field that is associated with the first target, the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other), a second receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112) configured to generate a second pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second receiving coil array being disposed above or below the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the second pair of signals being generated in response to a second magnetic field that is associated with the second target, the second pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); and electronic circuitry (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element POS) that is configured to generate an output signal indicative of a twisting force that is incident on the mechanical link that couples the first target to the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal and a second angle based on the second set of signals), the output signal being generated based on the first pair of signals and the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement).
Regarding claim 17, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 16, wherein: the output signal is generated based on a first signal and a second signal (Ausserlechner; Par 0049 and 0056-0057; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals additional signals), the first signal is a function of a relative angular displacement of the first and second targets (Ausserlechner; Par 0049 and 0056-0057; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are a function of angular displacement), the first signal is generated by mixing the first pair of signals with the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0045-0047; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are mixed in a variety of ways); and the second signal is a function of the relative angular displacement of the first and second targets (Ausserlechner; Par 0049 and 0056-0057; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are a function of angular displacement), the first signal is generated by mixing the first pair of signals with the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0045-0047; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are mixed in a variety of ways), and the first signal and the second signal are out of phase with each other by 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other).
Regarding claim 20, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 17, wherein, the output signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: arctan (secondSignal/firstSignal) (Ausserlechner; Par 0047; Ausserlechner teaches tan(output signal)=secondSignal/firstSignal which is equivalent).
Regarding claim 22, Ausserlechner teaches a system (Ausserlechner; Fig 1, Element 100, Fig. 7A-7C and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches a system to measure rotational positions) comprising: a first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 122) including a plurality of first teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth); and a second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 121) that is coupled to the first target via a mechanical link (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged and connected together), the second target including a plurality of second teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0052; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth), the second target being disposed above or below the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0106; Ausserlechner teaches the targets may be on different levels from each other, either above or below each other), the plurality of first teeth including a different number of teeth than the plurality of second teeth (Ausserlechner; Par 0052-0054; Ausserlechner teaches the teeth may be any number as long as they meet the symmetry requirements, which can be different), wherein the first target and the second target are configured to generate respective magnetic fields in response to one or more excitation magnetic fields (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 113; Ausserlechner teaches an excitation coil that generates a magnetic field which is guided by the targets to the receiving coils), the respective magnetic fields being usable to measure a twisting force that is incident on the mechanical link that couples the first target to the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement which measures the twisting force).
Regarding claim 23, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 22, wherein the first target includes a different number of periods than the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0052-0054; Ausserlechner teaches the targets are preferably different periods).
Regarding claim 24, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 22, further comprising an excitation coil that is disposed between the first target and the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 113).
Regarding claim 25, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 22, further comprising: a first receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112) that is disposed above or below the first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the first receiving coil array being configured to generate a first pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals being generated in response to a first magnetic field that is produced by the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals); and a second receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 111) disposed above or below the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 111; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the second receiving coil array being configured to generate a second pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second pair of signals being generated in response to a second magnetic field that is produced by the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other.
Regarding claim 26, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 22, further comprising: a first receiving coil array (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element 112) configured to generate a first pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first receiving coil array being disposed above or below the first target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the first pair of signals being generated in response to a first magnetic field that is produced by the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other), a second receiving coil array configured to generate a second pair of signals that are indicative of an angular position of the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second receiving coil array being disposed above or below the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets), the second pair of signals being generated in response to a second magnetic field that is produced by the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other; and electronic circuitry (Ausserlechner; Fig 9, Element POS) that is configured to generate an output signal indicative of a twisting force that is incident on the mechanical link that couples the first target to the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal and a second angle based on the second set of signals), the output signal being generated based on the first pair of signals and the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement).
Regarding claim 35, Ausserlechner teaches a method, comprising: receiving a first pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals being generated based on a first magnetic field that is associated with a first target (Ausserlechner; ; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 122 and Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); receiving a second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second pair of signals being generated based on a second magnetic field that is associated with a second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 121 and Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); generating a first signal by mixing the first pair of signals with the second pair of signals, the first signal being a function of a relative angular displacement of the first and second targets (Ausserlechner; Par 0049 and 0056-0057; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are a function of angular displacement); generating a second signal by mixing the first pair of signals with the second pair of signals, the second signal being a function of a relative angular displacement of the first and second targets (Ausserlechner; Par 0049 and 0056-0057; Ausserlechner teaches the signals are a function of angular displacement), the second signal being out of phase with the first signal by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); and generating an output signal based on the first signal and the second signal (Ausserlechner; Par 0094-0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines based at least on the Vernier principle, i.e. the difference in the angles is used to output the measurement which measures the twisting force), the output signal being indicative of a twisting force that is incident on a mechanical link that couples the first target with the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged and connected together),, wherein first target includes a first base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the first target may be on a first layer of a PCB or separate from the second target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired) and a plurality of first teeth that extend inwardly from the first base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth), the second target includes a base (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0053, Par 0106, Par 0108, and Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged, the second target may be on a second layer of a PCB or separate from the first target, and the teeth/indentations may be arrange as desired) and a plurality of second teeth (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, and Par 0052; Ausserlechner teaches the target contains teeth) that extend outwardly from the second base, the second target being aligned with an opening in an interior of the first target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged with the second target being in the middle of the first).
Regarding claim 38, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 35, wherein, the output signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: arctan (secondSignal/firstSignal) (Ausserlechner; Par 0047; Ausserlechner teaches tan(output signal)=secondSignal/firstSignal which is equivalent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 21, 27-34, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner.
Regarding claim 18, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 17.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: firstSignal=cos(θinner-θouter)=VcosInner*VcosOuter+VsinInner*VsinOuter where θinner is an angular position of the second target, θouter is an angular position of the first target, VcosOuter is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinOuter is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals, VcosInner is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinInner is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 19, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 17.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: secondSignal=sin(θinner-θouter)=VcosInner*VcosOuter-VsinInner*VsinOuter where θinner is an angular position of the first target, θouter is an angular position of the second target, VcosOuter is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinOuter is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals, VcosInner is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinInner is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 16, wherein: the electronic circuitry is configured to: calculate a first angle signal θ1 based on the first pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal), calculate a second angle signal θ2 based on the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a second angle based on the second set of signals).
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein generate a modified angle signal θ2,mod by adjusting the second angle signal θ2 to match an amplitude and frequency of the first angle signal θ1, and generate and a difference signal θdiff based on a difference between the first angle signal θ1 and the modified angle signal θ2,mod, and the output signal is based on the difference signal θdiff.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 27, Ausserlechner teaches the system of claim 26, wherein: the electronic circuitry is configured to: calculate a first angle signal θ1 based on the first pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal), calculate a second angle signal θ2 based on the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a second angle based on the second set of signals).
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein generate a modified angle signal θ2,mod by adjusting the second angle signal θ2 to match an amplitude and frequency of the first angle signal θ1, and generate and a difference signal θdiff based on a difference between the first angle signal θ1 and the modified angle signal θ2,mod, and the output signal is based on the difference signal θdiff.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 28, Ausserlechner teaches a method comprising: receiving a first pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals being generated based on a first magnetic field that is associated with a first target (Ausserlechner; ; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 122 and Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); receiving a second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the second pair of signals being generated based on a second magnetic field that is associated with a second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7A, 7C, Element 121 and Par 0056; Ausserlechner teaches at least two additional receiving coils to generate sensing signals), the first pair of signals including signals that are out of phase with each other by approximately 90 degrees (Ausserlechner; Par 0045; Ausserlechner teaches the first and seconds signals may be 90º phase shifted from each other); calculating a first angle signal θ1 based on the first pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a first angle based on the first signal), calculating a second angle signal θ2 based on the second pair of signals (Ausserlechner; Par 0096; Ausserlechner teaches the signal analysis device determines a second angle based on the second set of signals) and the output signal being indicative of a twisting force that is incident on a mechanical link that couples the first target with the second target (Ausserlechner; Par 0122; Ausserlechner teaches the two targets are radially arranged and connected together), wherein the first target is disposed above or below the second target (Ausserlechner; Figs 7B, 9, Element 112; Ausserlechner teaches the receiving coils that may be above or below the targets).
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein generating a modified angle signal θ2,mod by adjusting the second angle signal θ2 to match an amplitude and frequency of the first angle signal θ1, and generating an output signal based on a difference θdiff between the first angle signal θ1 and the modified angle signal θ2,mod.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 29, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 28.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein wherein adjusting the second angle signal θ2 includes adding or subtracting a correction factor from the modified angle signal θ2,mod depending on whether the second angle signal θ2 is greater than a threshold value, the threshold value being based on a period of the first target, and the correction factor being based on a period of the second target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 30, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 29.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein wherein the threshold value is approximately equal to one half of the period of the first target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 31, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 29.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein wherein the correction factor is approximately equal to one half of a period of the second target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 32, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 28.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein further comprising generating the output signal by offsetting the difference θdiff, the difference θdiff being offset by adding or subtracting a correction factor from the difference θdiff depending on whether the difference θdiff is greater than a threshold value, the threshold value being based on a period of the first target, and the correction factor being based on the period of the first target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 33, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 32.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein wherein the correction factor is approximately equal to the period of the first target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 34, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 32.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein wherein the threshold value is approximately equal to one half of the period of the first target.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 36, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 35.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: firstSignal=cos(θinner-θouter)=VcosInner*VcosOuter+VsinInner*VsinOuter where θinner is an angular position of the second target, θouter is an angular position of the first target, VcosOuter is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinOuter is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals, VcosInner is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinInner is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Regarding claim 37, Ausserlechner teaches the method of claim 35.
Ausserlechner does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal is generated in accordance with the equation of: secondSignal=sin(θinner-θouter)=VcosInner*VcosOuter-VsinInner*VsinOuter where θinner is an angular position of the second target, θouter is an angular position of the first target, VcosOuter is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinOuter is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals, VcosInner is one of the signals in the first pair of signals, VsinInner is the other of the signals in the first pair of signals.
However, in Par 0070-0083, Ausserlechner describes how the signals of the coils are adjusted for the desired outputs. The applicant's claimed equation appears to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in Ausserlechner, and in the same environment.
In light hereof, the examiner has concluded that because the recited steps involve only a small, finite number of variables, and these variables and their relationships are known in the art as is clear from the disclosure of Ausserlechner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to determine a signal to satisfy the above equation based on the positions of the targets, as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions for such conversion of known variables with a reasonable expectation of success based on the taught variables of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Heo et al teaches an angular position sensor.
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858