DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen et al. does not disclose a “identical current path… through the electrical component”.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points to fig. 5, which shows that the two control circuits ultimately redundantly communicate with electrical components (actuator 1 and actuator 2), and that the electrical connection therethrough is the same (motors or solenoid valves; par. 0090). Similar to applicant’s invention, the current path from the first and second power supplies and through the first and second electronic units, do not share an identical current path, as they are separate components.
Applicant argues that the “common area” of Chen et al. does not include a shared current path.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out that, similar to applicant’s invention, the current path from the first and second power supplies and through the common area (42), do not share an identical current path, as they are separate components that are separated by diodes (fig. 7).
Applicant argues that the “common area” of Chen et al. does not include shared evaluation and measurement elements (claim 4).
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out that the claims are broader than applicant is arguing; and that the components are not claimed as being shared, but are merely disposed within the common area.
Applicant argues that the two power supplies and diodes of Chen et al. are not equivalent to applicant’s invention.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out that the power supplies and diodes function in substantially the same fashion and exist to provide the exact same function. Although the block diagram of fig. 7 of Chen et al. shows the first and second power supplies in a stacked relationship, it would function exactly the same if the power supplies were disposed on opposing sides of the control circuits (4111, 4121), in a similar fashion to applicant’s drawing.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Shah et al. is related to the art of redundant electronic control systems in a vehicle braking system, and is merely relied upon to show that it was known to use wheel speed sensors in combination with a redundant vehicle electronic control units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2021/232316 A1). US 2023/0356761 is referenced herein as an English translation.
In Re claim 1, Chen et al. disclose a control unit (figs. 5-8) in a vehicle (figs. 1 and 2), comprising: at least one electrical component (actuators 1 and 2); and first and second circuits (upper half and lower half of figs. 5-8), each containing: first and second electronic units (411, 412); and first and second power supplies (power supply component 1 and 2), wherein the at least one actuator contains identical circuit pathways therethrough (redundant electrical control system connected to motors or solenoid valves not described as having different current paths therethrough; Title; Abstract; par. 0090).
In Re claim 2, see single redundant electronic control system housing (40).
In Re claims 3 and 16, see common area (42) and connected electrical components (actuators 1 and 2).
In Re claim 4, see evaluation units (switch units 1-4).
In Re claims 5 and 17, see diodes (D1 - D4) in fig. 7, and pars. 0140-0141.
In Re claims 6 and 18, see communications components 1 and 2 (par. 0036).
In Re claim 7, see first and second power supplies (power supply component 1 and 2) and actuators (actuator 1 and 2).
In Re claim 8, Chen et al. disclose that the actuators may be solenoid valves (pars. 0090-0091).
In Re claim 9, Chen et al. disclose that the actuators may be hydraulic solenoid valves (par. 0090-0091).
In Re claims 10, 12-14, and 19, see separately provided (see 431 and 432) sensors (sensor components 1 and 2) redundantly connected to the control units (411, 412) in fig. 8.
In Re claim 15, Chen et al. disclose that the system is used for controlling wheel brakes (par. 0079), and that the actuators may be solenoid control valves (pars. 0090-0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2021/232316 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shah et al. (US 2019/0054909).
In Re claim 11, Chen et al. teach a vehicle brake system (par. 0079), but fail to specifically mention the use of wheel speed sensors.
Shah et al. is related to the art of redundant electronic control systems in a vehicle braking system (Abstract). Shah et al. teach that it was known to use wheel speed sensors (106, 110) in combination with a redundant vehicle electronic control units (see 102 and 104), to determine the vehicle’s speed and individual wheel speeds to improve vehicle stability through accurate braking control (Summary). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of Chen et al. by employing wheel speed sensors, as taught by Shah et al., to accurately determine the vehicle’s speed and individual wheel speeds, for proper braking control, and thus improved vehicle stability.
In Re claim 20, see separately provided (see 431 and 432) sensors (sensor components 1 and 2) redundantly connected to the control units (411, 412) in fig. 8 of Chen et al..
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616