DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2, 5-9 and 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendment overcome the objections of claim 3, 10, and 17 previously made.
Applicant’s claim amendment overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection made previously.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is based on newly amended limitation of corresponding claims 1, 8 and 15, which have been considered but it is not sufficient to over the 35 U.S.C. 101; and a new detailed 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections on the newly amended claims are written in below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“circuitry to perform current sensing” in claim 3; and
“circuitry to perform current sensing” in claim 10.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In last line of claim 15, “comparison “ should be changed to “comparison.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, claim 1 recites “at least one circuit configured to: compare the additional power signal to the power signal; and carryout one or more response procedures based on the comparison”; and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe any circuit is configured to compare the additional power signal and the power signal directly nor carrying out any respond procedures based on the comparison specifically.
Regarding claims 2-7, claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claims 2-7 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “circuitry to perform current sensing configured to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector based on the voltage drop and/or current sensing”; and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe any circuitry that performs current sensing configured to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector based on the voltage drop and/or current sensing.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claim 4 depends on all claim limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter”.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “at least one circuit configured to correct a current sense signal”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “at least one circuit configured to correct a current sense signal”.
Regarding independent claim 8, claim 8 recites “compare the power signal and the additional power; carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe compare the additional power signal and the power signal directly nor carrying out any respond procedures based on the comparison specifically.
Regarding claims 9-14, claims 9-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claims 9-14 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “determining a voltage drop across the power connector”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “determining a voltage drop across the power connector”.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “circuitry to perform current sensing”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “circuitry to perform current sensing”.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claim 11 depends on all claim limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter”, no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “circuitry to perform current sensing”.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites “at least one circuit configured to correct a current sense signal”, no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “at least one circuit configured to correct a current sense signal”.
Regarding independent claim 15, claim 15 recites “comparing, by at least one processor, the power signal to the additional power signal; and carrying out, by the at least one processor, one or more response procedures based on the comparison ”,
Regarding claims 16-20, claims 16-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claims 16-20 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “determining, by the at least one processor, a voltage drop across the power connector and performing current sensing to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “determining, by the at least one processor, a voltage drop across the power connector and performing current sensing to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector”.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claim 18 depends on all claim limitations of claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites “at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter”, and no support is found from applicant’s specification to describe the claim limitation “at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter”.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, each of claims 2, 9 and 16 recites “compare the additional power signal to a reference voltage and based on the comparison”; claims 2, 9 and 16 depend on corresponding independent claims 1, 8 and 15, and each of the independent claims 1, 8 and 15 recites “the comparison”; therefore, it is not clear which one of “compare the additional power signal to a reference voltage” (of the corresponding claims 2, 9 and 16) and “the comparison” (of the corresponding independent claims 1, 8 and 15) that “the comparison” (of the corresponding claims 2, 9 and 16) is referring to because there are two comparing results one is in current dependent claim and one is in its independent claim.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “circuitry to perform current sensing configured to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector based on the voltage drop and/or current sensing”, it is not clear what structure of the “circuitry” that performs the current sensing as well as being configured to the contacting impedance of the power connector based on the voltage drop and/or current sensing.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because claim 4 depends on all claim limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “further comprising a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection”, but does not describe how the filter is connected to or interacts with the other claimed elements. As written, it is unclear how the recited low-pass filter is configured to achieve the claimed function of avoiding “mis-touching protection.” Because the recitation fails to provide the necessary structural or functional linkage to other claim elements, the metes and bounds of claim 6 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty and the claim is indefinite.
To resolve this issue, it is suggested to change “further comprising a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection” to
“further comprising a low-pass filter
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “employ a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection”, but does not describe how the filter is connected to or interacts with the other claimed elements. As written, it is unclear how the recited low-pass filter is configured to achieve the claimed function of avoiding “mis-touching protection.” Because the recitation fails to provide the necessary structural or functional linkage to other claim elements, the metes and bounds of claim 6 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty and the claim is indefinite.
To resolve this issue, it is suggested to change “employ a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection” to
“employ a low-pass filter
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “circuitry to perform current sensing configured to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector”, it is not clear what structure of the “circuitry” that performs the current sensing as well as being configured to the contacting impedance of the power connector.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because claim 11 depends on all claim limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites “employing, by the at least one processor, a low-pass filter to avoid mis-touching protection”, but does not describe how the filter is connected to or interacts with the other claimed elements. As written, it is unclear how the recited low-pass filter is configured to achieve the claimed function of avoiding “mis-touching protection.” Because the recitation fails to provide the necessary structural or functional linkage to other claim elements, the metes and bounds of claim 6 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty and the claim is indefinite.
To resolve this issue, it is suggested to change “employing, by the at least one processor, a low-pass filter to avoid mis-touching protection”, to
“employing, by the at least one processor, a low-pass filter
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 1:
1. A computing device, comprising:
a power connector configured to receive a power signal;
an additional power connector configured to receive an additional power signal;
at least one circuit configured to:
compare the additional power signal to the power signal; and
carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison.
Analysis Steps for claim 1:
Step 1: Is claim 1 claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, claim 1 recites a computing device which is within one of the 4 statutory categories the process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Step 2a) Prong One: Does claim 1 recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, claim 1 recites “compare the additional power signal to the power signal” may be perform though human mental activities by comparing the additional power signal to the power signal mentally through visualization; as a result, human mental activities by comparing the additional power signal to the power signal visually is abstract idea.
Step 2a) Prong Two: Does claim 1 recite additional element that integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application?
No, claim 1 recites additional element “a power connector configured to receive a power signal” which does not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional element does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. The additional element is just only insignificant pre-solution actives for receiving a power signal.
No, claim 1 recites additional element “an additional power connector configured to receive an additional power signal” which does not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional element does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. The additional element is just only insignificant pre-solution actives for receiving an additional power signal.
No, claim 1 recites additional element “a computing device” and “at least one circuit” which do not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea as “a computing device” is computer as shown in figure 2 and paragraph [0035] of applicant’s specification (with receipt date 07/19/2023), and “at least one circuit” which may interpreted as a general component of the computer as shown in figure 2 and paragraph [0035] of applicant’s specification (with receipt date 07/19/2023). Using a component of a computer to compare the additional power signal to the power signal does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
No, claim 1 recites additional element “carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison” which does not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. The additional element is just only an insignificant post-solution activity.
Step 2b): Does claim 1 recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the Judicial Exception?
No, when considering claim 1 as a whole, the computing device having the power connectors and the circuit component do not amount to significantly more than judicial exception.
Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites similar claim limitations as in claim 1; therefore, claim 8 is also anomalously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as in claim 1, where the physical memory comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one physical processor of the system does not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea as physical processor and physical memory are general computer component of the system which is insignificant.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites similar claim limitations as in claim 1; therefore, claim 15 is also anomalously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as in claim 1, where using the at least one physical processor of a computer to implemented the method steps does not integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application because the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea as a processor is general computer component of the computer which is insignificant.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, they recite wherein the at least one circuit is further configured to: compare the additional power signal to reference voltage and based on the comparison: generate a first alarm signal (e.g. general extra-solution activity which is insignificant); and disable a second alarm signal (e.g. general extra-solution activity which is insignificant).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, they recite wherein the one or more response procedures include:
determining a voltage drop across the power connector and circuitry to perform current sense (e.g. insignificant computer software/hardware elements of the computing device (a computer as addressed in claim 1) configured to determine a contacting impedance of the power connector based on the voltage drop and/or current sensing (e.g. determine the contacting impedance may be mental activity based on calculating using voltage drop and/or current sensing measurement values);
determine that the contacting impedance of the power connector exceeds a target reference contacting impedance (e.g. may be mental activity which is abstract); and
generate, in response to the determining, an alarm signal that informs a system control unit that it can carry out one or more additional response procedures (e.g. general extra-solution activity which is insignificant).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, they recite wherein the one or more additional response procedures include at least one of: controlling system loading (e.g. general extra-solution activity which is insignificant); or generating an additional alarm signal that informs at least one of a user or a system administrator (e.g. general extra-solution activity which is insignificant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Fiora et al. (US 2007/0279892), and further in view of Liu (CN 103713685 A).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Della Fiora teaches a computing device (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0020], module 106 may be a computer), comprising:
a power connector (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0038], power connector 146) configured to receive a power signal (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0038], the power connector 146 receives a power signal from power connector 138 of bay 112);
an additional power connector (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0038], power connector 148) configured to receive an additional power signal (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0038], the power connector 148 receives an additional power signal from power connector 140 of bay 112); and
at least one circuit (e.g. figs. 1 and 12, [0020], module 106 may be a computer which inherently has a processor circuit) configured to:
process data (e.g. figs. 1 and 6, [0020], module 106 may be a computer which inherently has a processor circuit to process data).
However, Della Fiora is silent with regard to
compare the additional power signal to the power signal; and
carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison.
Liu teaches at least one circuit (e.g. figs. 1A and 4, [0071], controller 15 in Fig 1A having circuit 41 and analog controller 42 forms a circuit shown in fig. 4) configured to:
compare an additional power signal to a power signal (e.g. figs. 1A and 4, compare a power signal Pin to a power reference signal Pref); and
carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison (e.g. figs. 1A and 4, [0071], generate control signal Cs based on the comparison of the power signal Pin to the power reference signal Pref).
It would produce a predictive result of having the processor circuit of the computer to generate a response signal abased the comparison of the additional power signal to the power signal, for the purpose of detecting power stabilities to maintain power level for the computer to operate properly and/or detecting power supply issue for an operator to take further action.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Della Fiora by applying the teaching of Liu to explicitly have at least one circuit configured to: compare the additional power signal to the power signal; and carry out one or more response procedures based on the comparison, for the purpose of detecting power stabilities to maintain power level for the computer to operate properly and/or detecting power supply issue for an operator to take further action.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Fiora et al. (US 2007/0279892) in view of Liu (CN 103713685 A), and further in view of Mao (CN 203455864 U).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, combination of Della Fiora and Liu teaches wherein the at least one circuit is further configured to: compare the additional power signal to a reference voltage and based on the comparison (e.g. as rejected in claims 1, 8 and 15 above, Liu, figs. 1A and 4, compare the power signal Pin to the power reference signal Pref that contains a reference voltage value):
However, combination of Della Fiora and Liu is silent with regard to generate a first alarm signal; and disable a second alarm signal.
Mao teaches generate a first alarm signal (e.g. [0021], acousto-optic alarm having light alarm signal and sound alarm signal);
Although Mao is silent with regard to disable a second alarm signal, it is obvious to try to different combination of light and sound alarm including enabling both light and sound alarm, enabling light alarm and disabling sound alarm, disabling light alarm and enabling sound alarm to represent different risk or emergency levels; and/or in a case of both light alarm and sound alarm are generated, is also obvious to disable the sound alarm while a user is taking action with regard the alarms to eliminate noise while working on this problem.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Della Fiora and Liu by applying the teaching of Mao to explicitly generate a first alarm signal; and disable a second alarm signal, for the purpose of having different alarm combination to represent different risk or emergency levels; and/or eliminating noise while working on this problem by disable the sound alarm signal.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Fiora et al. (US 2007/0279892) in view of Liu (CN 103713685 A), and further in view of Liu_754 (CN 203611754 U)
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, combination of Della Fiora and Liu is silent with regard to further comprising at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter.
Liu_754 teaches at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter (e.g. [0032], controller 120 performing jitter preventing processing to avoid frequency jitter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Della Fiora and Liu by applying the teaching of Liu_754 to explicitly have at least one circuit configured to prevent hysteresis to avoid jitter, for the purpose of improving signal qualities to increase processing accuracy.
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Fiora et al. (US 2007/0279892) in view of Liu (CN 103713685 A), and further in view of Moon et la. (US 2010/0246225).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, combination of Della Fiora and Liu is silent with regard to further comprising a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection.
Moon teaches a circuit comprising a low-pass filter configured to removes noise (e.g. figs. 2-3, [0050]-[0051], low-pass filter 142 is capable of removing noises and/or spikes due to mis-touching which would provide protection from high frequency noises and/or spikes).
It would provide a predictive result of having a low-pass filter to remove noises and/or spikes due to mis-touching which would provide protection from high frequency noises and/or spikes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Della Fiora and Liu by applying the teaching of Moon to further comprising a low-pass filter configured to avoid mis-touching protection, for the purpose of removing high frequency noises and/or spikes that are harmful to computer processing device.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, combination of Della Fiora, Liu and Moon teaches further comprising at least one circuit configured to correct a current sense signal (e.g. as rejected in claims 6 and 13 above, Moon, figs. 2-3, [0050]-[0051], low-pass filter 142 configured to filter noise in detected current signal by current detector 141; as a result, the detected current signal is being corrected by filtering the noise in the detected current signal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and if all rejections are overcome without broadening the scops of the claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIDONG ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858