DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/355269 by Yoshimura et al.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 2012/0003590 A1), herein referred to as Hirano.
Regarding claim 1, Hirano teaches [0012-0018] an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising a resin (A) that contains a repeating unit which can have an aryl group (aromatic ring) wherein the aryl group [0054-0058] may further include a halogen atom and the aryl group may also have a halogen atom-free substitutent (shown below):
Additionally, Hirano teaches the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising an ionic compound with a cationic structural moiety [0112-0113] which can include a halogen atom as a substituent. Hirano further teaches [0420-0421 and 0435] the ionic compound (referred to as compound (PA) by Hirano) is present in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition in a range of 0.1 to 10 mass percent, preferably 1 to 8 mass percent based on the entire solid content of the composition.
The mass percent range of the ionic compound content taught by Hirano overlaps the claimed range of 5 mass percent or more recited in claim 1. In view of MPEP Chapter 2144.05, Section I which states “In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”, the overlapping mass percent range of the ionic compound taught by Hirano renders claim 1 as being unpatentable and a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 2, Hirano teaches [0283] the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition further comprising an ionic compound having an acid-decomposable group in a cationic moiety.
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 10-13, Hirano teaches [0271-0272] the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition wherein the resin (A) may include a lactone structure which includes a 5 to 7 membered ring (polycyclic lactone structure).
Regarding claims 5 and 14-20, Hirano teaches [0283-0289]] the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition wherein the resin (A) may have a repeating unit shown below:
The repeating unit may further include two R groups that are bonded together to form a ring, shown below:
Regarding claim 6, Hirano teaches [0420-0421 and 0435] the ionic compound (referred to as compound (PA) by Hirano) may be present in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition in an amount of 10 mass percent.
Regarding claim 7, Hirano teaches (Claim 9) the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of claim 1 being included in a resist film.
Regarding claim 8, Hirano teaches (Claim 10) a pattern forming method comprising exposing and developing the resist film.
Regarding claim 9, Hirano teaches [0483] forming an integrated circuit device with the pattern forming method.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724